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DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION     [4910-EX-P] 

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 

[Docket No. FMCSA–2019-0048] 

California’s Meal and Rest Break Rules for Drivers of Passenger-Carrying Commercial 

Motor Vehicles; Petition for Determination of Preemption 

AGENCY: Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), DOT. 

ACTION: Order; Grant of Petition for Determination of Preemption. 

SUMMARY: The FMCSA grants the petition submitted by the American Bus Association 

(ABA) requesting a determination that the State of California’s Meal and Rest Break rules (MRB 

rules) are preempted under 49 U.S.C. 31141 as applied to passenger-carrying commercial motor 

vehicle drivers subject to FMCSA’s hours of service regulations. Federal law provides for 

preemption of State laws on commercial motor vehicle safety that are additional to or more 

stringent than Federal regulations if they (1) have no safety benefit; (2) are incompatible with 

Federal regulations; or (3) would cause an unreasonable burden on interstate commerce. The 

FMCSA has determined that California’s MRB rules are laws on commercial motor vehicle 

(CMV) safety, that they are more stringent than the Agency’s hours of service regulations, that 

they have no safety benefits that extend beyond those already provided by the Federal Motor 

Carrier Safety Regulations, that they are incompatible with the Federal hours of service 

regulations, and that they cause an unreasonable burden on interstate commerce. The California 

MRB rules, therefore, are preempted under 49 U.S.C. 31141(c). 
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FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Charles J. Fromm, Deputy Chief Counsel, 

Office of the Chief Counsel, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey 

Avenue SE., Washington, DC 20590, (202) 493-0349; email Charles.Fromm@dot.gov. 

Electronic Access 

You may see all the comments online through the Federal Document Management 

System (FDMS) at http://www.regulations.gov. 

Docket: For access to the docket to read background documents or comments, go to 

http://www.regulations.gov or Room W12-140 on the ground level of the West Building, 1200 

New Jersey Avenue SE., Washington, DC, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, 

except Federal holidays. The FDMS is available 24 hours each day, 365 days each year. 

Privacy Act: Anyone may search the FDMS for all comments received into any of our 

dockets by the name of the individual submitting the comment (or of the person signing the 

comment, if submitted on behalf of an association, business, labor union, etc.). You may review 

DOT’s Privacy Act Statement for the FDMS published in the Federal Register on December 29, 

2010. 75 FR 82132.  

Background 

On January 10, 2019, ABA petitioned FMCSA to preempt California statutes and rules 

requiring employers to give their employees meal and rest breaks during the work day, as applied 

to drivers of passenger-carrying CMVs subject to FMCSA’s hours of service (HOS) regulations. 

For the reasons set forth below, FMCSA grants the petition. 

California Meal and Rest Break Rules 

Section 512, Meal periods, of the California Labor Code reads, in part, as follows: 

“(a) An employer may not employ an employee for a work period of more than five hours 

per day without providing the employee with a meal period of not less than 30 minutes, except 
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that if the total work period per day of the employee is no more than six hours, the meal period 

may be waived by mutual consent of both the employer and employee. An employer may not 

employ an employee for a work period of more than 10 hours per day without providing the 

employee with a second meal period of not less than 30 minutes, except that if the total hours 

worked is no more than 12 hours, the second meal period may be waived by mutual consent of 

the employer and the employee only if the first meal period was not waived.” 

“(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), the Industrial Welfare Commission may adopt a 

working condition order permitting a meal period to commence after six hours of work if the 

commission determines that the order is consistent with the health and welfare of the affected 

employees.” 

Section 516 of the California Labor Code reads, in relevant in part, as follows: 

“(a) Except as provided in Section 512, the Industrial Welfare Commission may adopt or 

amend working condition orders with respect to break periods, meal periods, and days of rest for 

any workers in California consistent with the health and welfare of those workers.” 

Section 226.7 of the California Labor Code reads, in relevant part, as follows: 

“(b) An employer shall not require an employee to work during a meal or rest or recovery 

period mandated pursuant to an applicable statute, or applicable regulation, standard, or order of 

the Industrial Welfare Commission….” 

“(c) If an employer fails to provide an employee a meal or rest or recovery period in 

accordance with a state law, including, but not limited to, an applicable statute or applicable 

regulation, standard, or order of the Industrial Welfare Commission, ... the employer shall pay 

the employee one additional hour of pay at the employee's regular rate of compensation for each 

workday that the meal or rest or recovery period is not provided.” 
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Section 11090 of Article 9 (Transport Industry) of Group 2 (Industry and Occupation 

Orders) of Chapter 5 (Industrial Welfare Commission) of Division 1 (Department of Industrial 

Relations) of Title 8 (Industrial Relations) of the California Code of Regulations, is entitled 

“Order Regulating Wages, Hours, and Working Conditions in the Transportation Industry” 

[hereafter: “8 CCR section 11090” or “section 11090.”
1
 Section 11090(11). Meal Periods, reads 

as follows: 

“(A) No employer shall employ any person for a work period of more than five (5) hours 

without a meal period of not less than 30 minutes, except that when a work period of not more 

than six (6) hours will complete the day’s work the meal period may be waived by mutual 

consent of the employer and the employee.” 

“(B) An employer may not employ an employee for a work period of more than ten (10) 

hours per day without providing the employee with a second meal period of not less than 30 

minutes, except that if the total hours worked is no more than 12 hours, the second meal period 

may be waived by mutual consent of the employer and the employee only if the first meal period 

was not waived.” 

“(C) Unless the employee is relieved of all duty during a 30 minute meal period, the meal 

period shall be considered an “on duty” meal period and counted as time worked. An “on duty” 

meal period shall be permitted only when the nature of the work prevents an employee from 

being relieved of all duty and when by written agreement between the parties an on-the-job paid 

meal period is agreed to. The written agreement shall state that the employee may, in writing, 

revoke the agreement at any time.” 

                                                           
1
 California Industrial Welfare Commission Order No. 9-2001 is identical to 8 CCR Section 

11090. 
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“(D) If an employer fails to provide an employee a meal period in accordance with the 

applicable provisions of this order, the employer shall pay the employee one (1) hour of pay at 

the employee’s regular rate of compensation for each workday that the meal period is not 

provided.” 

“(E) In all places of employment where employees are required to eat on the premises, a 

suitable place for that purpose shall be designated.” 

Section 11090(12). Rest Periods, reads as follows: 

“(A) Every employer shall authorize and permit all employees to take rest periods, which 

insofar as practicable shall be in the middle of each work period. The authorized rest period time 

shall be based on the total hours worked daily at the rate of ten (10) minutes net rest time per 

four (4) hours or major fraction thereof. However, a rest period need not be authorized for 

employees whose total daily work time is less than three and one-half (3½) hours. Authorized 

rest period time shall be counted as hours worked for which there shall be no deduction from 

wages.” 

“(B) If an employer fails to provide an employee a rest period in accordance with the 

applicable provisions of this order, the employer shall pay the employee one (1) hour of pay at 

the employee’s regular rate of compensation for each workday that the rest period is not 

provided.” 

Although section 11090(3)(L) provides that “[t]he provisions of this section are not 

applicable to employees whose hours of service are regulated by: (1) The United States 

Department of Transportation, Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, sections 395.1 to 395.13, 

Hours of Service of Drivers,” the California courts have interpreted the word “section” to refer 

only to section 11090(3), which regulates “hours and days of work,” not to all of section 11090, 
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including meal and rest breaks in section 11090(11) and (12). See Cicairos v. Summit Logistics, 

Inc., 133 Cal App.4th 949 (2006). 

Federal Preemption Under the Motor Carrier Safety Act of 1984 

Section 31141 of title 49, United States Code, a provision of the Motor Carrier Safety Act 

of 1984 (the 1984 Act), 49 U.S.C. Chap. 311, Subchap. III, prohibits States from enforcing a law 

or regulation on CMV safety that the Secretary of Transportation (Secretary) has determined to 

be preempted. To determine whether a State law or regulation is preempted, the Secretary must 

decide whether a State law or regulation: (1) has the same effect as a regulation prescribed under 

49 U.S.C. 31136, which is the authority for much of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations; (2) is less stringent than such a regulation; or (3) is additional to or more stringent 

than such a regulation. 49 U.S.C. 31141(c)(1). If the Secretary determines that a State law or 

regulation has the same effect as a regulation based on section 31136, it may be enforced. 

49 U.S.C. 31141(c)(2). A State law or regulation that is less stringent may not be enforced. 

49 U.S.C. 31141(c)(3). And a State law or regulation the Secretary determines to be additional to 

or more stringent than a regulation based on section 31136 may be enforced unless the Secretary 

decides that the State law or regulation (1) has no safety benefit; (2) is incompatible with the 

regulation prescribed by the Secretary; or (3) would cause an unreasonable burden on interstate 

commerce. 49 U.S.C. 31141(c)(4). To determine whether a State law or regulation will cause an 

unreasonable burden on interstate commerce, the Secretary may consider the cumulative effect 

that the State’s law or regulation and all similar laws and regulations of other States will have on 

interstate commerce. 49 U.S.C. 31141(c)(5). The Secretary need only find that one of the 

conditions set forth at paragraph (c)(4) exists to preempt the State provision(s) at issue. The 

Secretary may review a State law or regulation on her own initiative, or on the petition of an 
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interested person. 49 U.S.C. 31141(g). The Secretary’s authority under section 31141 is 

delegated to FMCSA Administrator by 49 C.F.R. 1.87(f). 

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) Concerning HOS for Drivers of 

Passenger-Carrying CMVs, Fatigue, and Coercion 

For drivers operating a passenger-carrying CMV in interstate commerce, the Federal 

HOS rules allow up to 10 hours of driving time following 8 consecutive hours off duty, and 

driving is prohibited after the operator has accumulated 15 hours of on-duty time.
2
 49 C.F.R. 

395.5(a). The 15-hour on-duty limit is non-consecutive; therefore, any time that a driver spends 

off-duty does not count against the 15-hour window.
3
 While the HOS rules for passenger-

carrying CMVs impose limits after which driving is prohibited, they do not mandate a 30-minute 

rest period within the drive-time window, unlike the HOS rules for property-carrying CMVs. 

The HOS rules also impose weekly driving limits. In this regard, drivers are prohibited from 

operating a passenger-carrying CMV after having been on duty 60 hours in any 7 consecutive 

days, if the employing motor carrier does not operate CMVs every day of the week; or after 

having been on duty 70 hours in any period of 8 consecutive days, if the employing motor carrier 

operates CMVs every day of the week. 49 C.F.R. 395.5(b).  

Additionally, the FMCSRs prohibit a driver from operating a CMV, and a motor carrier 

from requiring a driver to operate a CMV, while the driver is impaired by illness, fatigue, or 

                                                           
2
 Subject to certain conditions, a driver who is driving a passenger-carrying CMV that is 

equipped with a sleeper berth, may accumulate the equivalent of 8 consecutive hours of off-duty 

time by taking a combination of at least 8 consecutive hours off-duty and sleeper berth time; or 

by taking two periods of rest in the sleeper berth. 49 C.F.R. 395.1(g)(3). 

3
 “Off-duty” time is not specifically defined in the HOS rules; however, the Agency issued 

guidance stating that a driver may record time as off-duty provided: (1) the driver is relieved of 

all duty and responsibility for the care and custody of the vehicle, its accessories, and any cargo 

or passengers it may be carrying, and (2) during the stop, and for the duration of the stop, the 

driver must be at liberty to pursue activities of his/her own choosing. 78 FR 41852 (July 12, 

2013). 



 

8 
 

other cause, such that it is unsafe for the driver to begin or continue operating the CMV. 

49 C.F.R. 392.3. The FMCSRs also prohibit a motor carrier, shipper, receiver or transportation 

intermediary from coercing a driver to operate a CMV in violation of this and other provisions of 

the FMCSRs. 49 C.F.R 390.6. 

The ABA Petition and Comments Received 

As set forth more fully below, ABA argues that California’s MRB rules are within the 

scope of the Secretary’s preemption authority under section 31141 because they are laws “on 

commercial motor vehicle safety.” In this regard, ABA cites the Agency’s 2018 Decision finding 

that the MRB rules are preempted under section 31141, as applied to drivers of property-carrying 

CMVs subject to the HOS rules. Additionally, ABA argues that the MRB rules “undermine 

existing Federal fatigue management rules” and “require drivers to take breaks that might be 

counterproductive to safety.” The ABA also contends that the MRB rules “conflict with driver 

attendance needs,” that they are “untenable” due to inadequate parking for CMVs, and that they 

make it difficult to comply with the Federal regulations governing passenger service 

responsibility and terminal facilities. Lastly, ABA argues that “compliance costs create an 

unreasonable burden on interstate commerce.” The ABA’s petition seeks an FMCSA 

determination that California’s MRB rules, as applied to passenger-carrying CMV drivers who 

are subject to the HOS rules, are preempted pursuant to 49 U.S.C. 31141 and, therefore, may not 

be enforced.  

The FMCSA published a notice in the Federal Register on May 9, 2019, seeking public 

comment on whether California’s MRB rules, as applied to drivers of passenger-carrying CMVs, 

are preempted by Federal law. 84 FR 20463. Although preemption under section 31141 is a legal 

determination reserved to the judgment of the Agency, FMCSA sought comment on issues raised 
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in ABA’s petition or otherwise relevant. While the public comment period ended on June 10, 

2019, the Agency accepted all public comments submitted through November 7, 2019. The 

Agency received 28 comments, with 20 in support of the petition and 8 in opposition.
4
 The 

Agency considered all the comments received. They are discussed more fully below.  

The Agency’s Prior Decisions Regarding Preemption Under Section 31141 

I. FMCSA’s Decision Rejecting a Petition for a Preemption Determination. 

On July 3, 2008, a group of motor carriers
5
 petitioned FMCSA for a determination under 

49 U.S.C. 31141(c) that: (1) the California MRB rules are regulations on CMV safety, (2) the 

putative State regulation imposes limitations on a driver’s time that are different from and more 

stringent than Federal “hours of service” regulations governing the time a driver may remain on 

duty, and (3) that the State law should therefore be preempted. 73 FR 79204. 

On December 24, 2008, the Agency denied the petition for preemption, reasoning that the 

MRB rules are merely one part of California’s comprehensive regulation of wages, hours, and 

working conditions, and that they apply to employers in many other industries in addition to 

motor carriers. 73 FR 79204. The FMCSA concluded that the MRB rules were not regulations 

“on commercial motor vehicle safety” within the meaning of 49 U.S.C. 31141 because they 

applied broadly to all employers and not just motor carriers, and that they therefore were not 

                                                           
4
 A comment letter submitted by the Center for Justice and Democracy, opposing ABA’s 

petition, was joined by 23 organizations. 

5
 Affinity Logistics Corp.; Cardinal Logistics Management Corp.; C.R. England, Inc.; Diakon 

Logistics (Delaware), Inc.; Estenson Logistics, LLC; McLane Company, Inc.; McLane/Suneast, 

Inc.; Penske Logistics, LLC; Penske Truck Leasing Co., L.P.; Trimac Transportation Services 

(Western), Inc.; and Velocity Express, Inc. 
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within the scope of the Secretary’s statutory authority to declare unenforceable a State motor 

vehicle safety regulation that is inconsistent with Federal safety requirements.
6
 Ibid. at 79205-06. 

II. FMCSA’s 2018 Decision Granting Petitions to Preempt the MRB Rules  

In 2018, the American Trucking Associations (ATA) and the Specialized Carriers and 

Rigging Association (SCRA) petitioned FMCSA to reconsider its 2008 Decision and declare 

California’s MRB rules preempted under section 31141 insofar as they apply to drivers of CMVs 

subject to the Federal HOS rules. The ATA acknowledged that FMCSA had previously 

determined that it could not declare the California MRB rules preempted under section 31141 

because they were not regulations “on commercial motor vehicle safety.” The 2018 petitioners 

urged the Agency to revisit that determination, noting that, by its terms, the statute did not limit 

the Agency’s preemption authority to those State laws that directly targeted the transportation 

industry. Rather, the appropriate question was whether the State law targeted conduct already 

covered by a Federal regulation designed to ensure motor vehicle safety. The 2018 petitioners 

also provided evidence that California’s meal and rest break laws were detrimental to the safe 

operation of CMVs. 

The FMCSA published a notice in the Federal Register seeking public comment on 

whether the California MRB rules should be declared preempted. 83 FR 50142 (Oct. 4, 2018). 

The Agency sought public comments in order to make an informed decision on issues relevant to 

the determination, including what effect California’s rules had on interstate motor carrier 

                                                           
6
 In a 2014 amicus brief in the matter of Dilts v. Penske Logistics, LLC, United States Court of 

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, No. 12-55705 (2014), the United States explained that FMCSA 

continued to adhere to the view expressed in the 2008 Decision that California’s MRB rules were 

not preempted by section 31141 because they were not laws “on commercial motor vehicle 

safety.” 2014 WL 809150, 26-27. The Ninth Circuit made no determination whether the MRB 

rules were within the scope of the Secretary’s preemption authority under section 31141 because 

that question was not before the Court. See 769 F.3d 637. 
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operations. Ibid. In total, FMCSA received more than 700 comments, and several letters from 

members of Congress.  

On December 21, 2018, FMCSA issued a determination declaring the MRB rules 

preempted with respect to operators of property-carrying motor vehicles subject to the Federal 

HOS rules. 83 FR 67470. The Agency first acknowledged that it was departing from its 2008 

Decision finding that the MRB rules were not laws “on commercial motor vehicle safety” 

because they were laws of broad applicability and not specifically directed to motor vehicle 

safety. Ibid. at 67473-74. The Agency explained that its 2008 Decision was “unnecessarily 

restrictive” and not supported by either the statutory language or legislative history. Ibid. The 

Agency considered the fact that language of section 31141 mirrors that of 49 U.S.C. 31136, 

which instructs the Secretary to “prescribe regulations on commercial motor vehicle safety.” 

49 U.S.C. 31136(a). The Agency explained that Congress, by tying the scope of the Secretary’s 

preemption authority directly to the scope of the Secretary’s authority to regulate the CMV 

industry, provided a framework for determining whether a State law or regulation is subject to 

section 31141. The Agency concluded that “[I]f the State law or regulation imposes requirements 

in an area of regulation that is already addressed by a regulation promulgated under 31136, then 

the State law or regulation is a regulation “on commercial motor vehicle safety.” Ibid. at 67473. 

The Agency further determined that because California’s MRB rules plainly regulated the same 

conduct as the Federal HOS regulations, they were laws “on commercial motor vehicle safety.”  

Having concluded that the California MRB rules were laws “on commercial motor 

vehicle safety,” under section 31141, the Agency next determined that they are additional to or 

more stringent than the Federal HOS regulations. 83 FR 67474-75. The FMCSA found that the 

MRB rules require employers to provide property-carrying CMV drivers with more rest breaks 
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than the Federal HOS regulations; and allow a smaller window of driving time before a break is 

required. Ibid. 

The Agency next explained that because the MRB rules are more stringent, they may be 

preempted if the Agency determined that that MRB rules have no safety benefit, that they are 

incompatible with HOS regulations, or that enforcement of the MRB rules would cause an 

unreasonable burden on interstate commerce. 83 FR 67475. The FMCSA found that the MRB 

rules provided no safety benefit beyond the Federal regulations, and that given the current 

shortage of available parking for CMVs, the required additional breaks adversely impacted 

safety because they exacerbated the problem of CMVs parking at unsafe locations. Ibid. at 

67475-77. The Agency also determined that the MRB rules were incompatible with the Federal 

HOS regulations because they required employers to provide CMV drivers with more breaks, at 

less flexible times, than the Federal HOS regulations. Ibid. at 67477-78. 

Lastly, the Agency determined that enforcing the MRB rules would impose an 

unreasonable burden on interstate commerce. 83 FR 67478-80. In this regard, the 2018 

petitioners and other commenters provided information demonstrating that the MRB rules 

imposed significant and substantial costs stemming from decreased productivity and 

administrative burden. Ibid. at 67478-79. The Agency also considered the cumulative effect on 

interstate commerce of similar laws and regulations in other States. Currently 20 other States 

have varying applicable break rules. The Agency determined that the diversity of State regulation 

of meal and rest breaks for CMV drivers has resulted in a patchwork of requirements that the 

Agency found to be an unreasonable burden on interstate commerce. Ibid. at 67479-80. 
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Accordingly, FMCSA granted the petitions for preemption and determined that 

California “may no longer enforce” its meal and rest break rules with respect to drivers of 

property-carrying commercial motor vehicles subject to the HOS rules.  

Decision  

I. Section 31141 Expressly Preempts State Law Therefore the Presumption Against Preemption 

Does Not Apply 

In their comments, the International Brotherhood of Teamsters (the Teamsters) and the 

American Association for Justice contend that California’s MRB rules are subject to a 

presumption against preemption. Citing the Agency’s amicus brief in Dilts v. Penske, the 

Teamsters argue that the MRB rules fall within an area of California’s traditional police power 

and thus are subject to the presumption. The American Association of Justice argues that the 

presumption requires FMCSA to adopt “the reading that disfavors pre-emption” in interpreting 

section 31141. 

The presumption against preemption is a canon of statutory interpretation employed by 

courts that favors reading ambiguous Federal statutes in a manner that avoids preempting State 

law absent clear congressional intent to do so. See, e.g., Association des Eleveurs de Canards et 

d’Oies du Quebec v. Becerra, 870 F.3d 1140, 1146 (9th Cir. 2017). The FMCSA acknowledges 

that “in all preemption cases, and particularly in those in which Congress has legislated in a field 

which the States have traditionally occupied, [there] is an assumption that the historic police 

powers of the States were not to be superseded by the Federal Act unless that was the clear and 

manifest purpose of Congress.” Wyeth v. Levine, 555 U.S. 555, 565 (2009) (alterations omitted). 

Where, however, a provision at issue constitutes an area of traditional State regulation, “that fact 

alone does not ‘immunize’ state employment laws from preemption if Congress in fact 

contemplated their preemption.” Dilts v. Penske Logistics, LLC, 769 F.3d 637, 643 (9
th

 Cir. 
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2014).  And here there is no dispute that Congress has given FMCSA the authority to review and 

preempt State laws; the only questions concern the application of that authority to specific State 

laws.  The FMCSA is aware of no authority suggesting that the presumption against preemption 

limits an agency’s ability to interpret a statute authorizing it to preempt State laws.   

In any event, when a “statute contains an express pre-emption clause, [courts] do not 

invoke any presumption against pre-emption but instead focus on the plain wording of the 

clause, which necessarily contains the best evidence of Congress’ pre-emptive intent.” Puerto 

Rico v. Franklin California Tax-Free Trust, 136 S. Ct. 1938, 1946 (2016) (quotations omitted); 

see also Atay v. County of Maui, 842 F.3d 688, 699 (9th Cir. 2016). Section 31141 expressly 

preempts State laws on commercial motor vehicle safety. Thus, the MRB rules are not subject to 

a presumption against preemption, and the question that FMCSA must answer is whether the 

MRB rules, as applied to drivers of passenger-carrying CMVs, should be preempted under 

section 31141.  

II. The California MRB Rules, as Applied to Drivers of Passenger-Carrying CMVs, are Laws or 

Regulations “on Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety” Within the Meaning of 49 U.S.C. 31141. 

The initial question in a preemption analysis under section 31141 is whether the State 

provisions at issue are laws or regulations “on commercial motor vehicle safety.” 49 U.S.C. 

31141(c)(1). In the 2008 Decision, the Agency narrowly construed section 31141 to conclude 

that because the MRB rules are “one part of California’s comprehensive regulations governing 

wages, hours and working conditions,” and apply to employers in many other industries in 

addition to motor carriers, the provisions are not regulations “on commercial motor vehicle 

safety,” and, thus, were not within the scope of the Secretary’s preemption authority. 73 FR 

79204, 79206. The FMCSA reconsidered this conclusion and explained in its 2018 Decision that 

both the text of section 31141 and its structural relationship with other statutory provisions make 
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it clear that Congress’s intended scope of section 31141 was broader than the construction the 

Agency gave it in the 2008 Decision. In this regard, the Agency explained:  

The “on commercial motor vehicle safety” language of section 31141 mirrors that of 

section 31136, and by tying the scope of the Secretary’s preemption authority directly to 

the scope of the Secretary’s authority to regulate the CMV industry, the Agency believes 

that Congress provided a framework for determining whether a State law or regulation is 

subject to section 31141. In other words, if the State law or regulation imposes 

requirements in an area of regulation that is already addressed by a regulation 

promulgated under 31136, then the State law or regulation is a regulation “on commercial 

motor vehicle safety.” Because California’s MRB rules impose the same types of 

restrictions on CMV driver duty and driving times as the FMCSA’s HOS regulations, 

which were enacted pursuant to the Secretary’s authority in section 31136, they are 

“regulations on commercial motor vehicle safety.” Thus, the MRB rules are “State law[s] 

or regulation[s] on commercial motor vehicle safety,” and are subject to review under 

section 31141. 83 FR 67470. 

Consistent with the reasoning in the 2018 Decision, the Agency finds that if the State law or 

regulation at issue imposes requirements in an area of regulation that is within FMCSA’s section 

31136 regulatory authority, then the State law or regulation is a regulation “on commercial motor 

vehicle safety.  

Regarding California’s MRB rules, as applied to drivers of passenger-carrying CMVs, 

ABA argues that the MRB rules “require[] meal and rest breaks of fixed durations and at 

mandated intervals throughout the work day so as to prevent fatigue-related incidents.” The ABA 

further contends that, “The fact that the FMCSA has promulgated regulations for commercial 

truck and bus drivers in 49 C.F.R. Part 395 addressing the very hours of service and break issues 

encompassed in the California MRB Rules underscores that the State rules are requirements ‘on 

commercial motor vehicle safety.’” The Agency agrees. As explained above, the Federal HOS 

rules for passenger-carrying CMVs have long imposed drive time limits for drivers. While the 

HOS rules do not include a mandated 30-minute rest period, they regulate how long a driver may 

operate a passenger-carrying CMV before an off-duty period is required. The Federal regulations 

also prohibit drivers from operating CMVs when fatigued, and thus require drivers to take any 
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additional breaks necessary to prohibit fatigued driving, and prohibit employers from coercing 

drivers into operating a CMV during these required breaks. Thus, both the HOS and MRB rules 

impose requirements for off-duty periods. Therefore, the Agency determines that, because the 

HOS and MRB rules cover the same subject matter, the MRB rules, as applied to drivers of 

passenger-carrying CMVs, are laws on CMV safety. 

California’s Labor Commissioner, California’s Attorney General, the American 

Association for Justice, the Teamsters, and other commenters who oppose ABA’s petition argue 

that the Agency’s analysis and conclusions in the 2018 Decision were incorrect and that FMCSA 

should revert to the legal position articulated in the 2008 Decision and in the Government’s 

amicus brief in Dilts v. Penske. California’s Labor Commissioner and Attorney General further 

contend the Agency’s 2018 Decision “improperly changed the agency’s position and expanded 

the preemptive scope of the statute” and that the MRB rules are “are employment laws of general 

applicability rather than regulations on commercial motor vehicles” as the Agency determined in 

2008 and in its Dilts amicus brief. The FMCSA disagrees with this argument. As the Agency 

explained in the 2018 Decision, its prior position articulated in 2008 need not forever remain 

static. When an Agency changes course, it must provide a “reasoned analysis for the change.” 

See Motor Vehicle Manufacturers v. State Farm, 463 U.S. 29, 42 (1983). The Agency’s 2018 

Decision acknowledged the changed interpretation of section 31141 and provided a reasoned 

explanation for the new interpretation. See FCC v. Fox Television Stations, Inc., 556 U.S. 502, 

514-16 (2009). Similarly, this decision explains the basis for the Agency’s conclusion that the 

MRB rules are laws on CMV safety, as applied to drivers of passenger-carrying CMVs. 

Irrespective of the whether the MRB rules have general applicability to employers and workers 
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in the State, when they are applied to CMV drivers, they govern the same conduct as the Federal 

HOS rules. Therefore, they are laws on CMV safety. 

FMCSA’s interpretation of section 31141 is consistent with the legislative history of the 

1984 Act. As originally enacted, the 1984 Act granted the Agency authority to promulgate 

regulations “pertaining to” CMV safety, and likewise to review State laws “pertaining to” CMV 

safety. Pub. L. 98-554 §§ 206(a), 208(a) (originally codified at 49 U.S.C. App. 2505, 2507). 

Congress amended these provisions during the 1994 recodification of Title 49 of the United 

States Code.  See Pub. L. No. 103-272 (July 5, 1994), 108 Stat. 1008. As recodified, the law 

allows the Agency to promulgate regulations and review State laws “on commercial motor 

vehicle safety,” rather than “pertaining to commercial motor vehicle safety.” Compare 49 U.S.C. 

app. 2505 and 49 U.S.C. app. 2507 (1984) with 49 U.S.C. § 31136 and 49 U.S.C. § 31141(c)(1) 

(1994). Congress made clear, however, that any changes made during their comprehensive effort 

to restructure and simplify Title 49 “may not be construed as making a substantive change in the 

laws replaced.”  Pub. L. No. 103-272 §§ 1(e), 6(a). The change in wording therefore did not 

narrow the Agency’s rulemaking authority or the scope of the State laws subject to preemption 

review. California’s MRB rules clearly “pertain to” CMV safety as applied to drivers of 

passenger-carrying CMVs subject to the HOS rules, and therefore fall within the scope of section 

31141. See, e.g., “Pertain,” Dictionary.com, https://www.dictionary.com/browse/pertain 

(definition 1) (“to have reference or relation; relate.”). 

The Agency’s interpretation is also consistent with congressional purposes. Congress was 

concerned that a lack of uniformity between Federal and State laws on the same subject matter 

could impose substantial burdens on interstate truck and bus operations, and potentially hamper 

safety. See, e.g., 1984 Cong. Rec. 28215 (Oct. 2, 1984) (statement of Sen. Packwood); ibid. at 
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28219 (statement of Sen. Danforth). Accordingly, as the Senate Report on the bill that became 

the 1984 Act explained, the preemption review provision was designed to ensure “as much 

uniformity as practicable whenever a Federal standard and a State requirement cover the same 

subject matter.” S. Rep. 98-424 at 14 (1984). The fact that a State regulation may be broader than 

a Federal safety regulation and impose requirements outside the area of CMV safety does not 

eliminate Congress’s concerns. Such laws may still be incompatible with Federal safety 

standards or unduly burden interstate commerce when applied to the operation of a CMV. 

In their comments, the Labor Commissioner and Attorney General also argue that the 

Agency should not preempt the MRB rules because the “FMCSA specifically declined to 

regulate rest periods for drivers of passenger-carrying commercial motor vehicles and the 

Federal commercial motor vehicle safety regulations are only intended to be ‘minimum safety 

standards.’” The Agency finds this argument unpersuasive. As explained above, both the MRB 

rules, as applied to drivers of passenger-carrying CMVs, and the Federal HOS rules limit the 

amount of time that a driver may work before an off-duty period is required. In comments on 

ABA’s petition, the ATA correctly pointed out that the Agency made the affirmative decision in 

2003 not to subject drivers of passenger-carrying CMVs to the same HOS rules as property-

carriers because of operational considerations that distinguish bus drivers from truck drivers with 

respect to fatigue. See 68 FR 22456, 22462 (Apr. 28, 2003). Irrespective of the fact that the HOS 

rules for passenger-carrying CMVs do not include a provision requiring a 30-minute rest break, 

both the HOS and the MRB rules govern the same subject matter—how long a driver may drive 

before a required off-duty period. The absence of a 30-minute break provision in the HOS rules 

for passenger carriers does not mean that California’s MRB rules are not laws on CMV safety. 
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As the Agency noted in the 2018 Decision, in response to the ATA and SCRA petitions 

regarding property-carrying CMVs, the California Labor Commissioner acknowledged that the 

MRB rules improve driver and public safety. Here, in response to ABA’s petition, the Labor 

Commissioner and the Attorney General “reaffirm that California’s meal and rest period 

requirements promote driver and public safety.” These statements further demonstrate that the 

MRB rules are rules “on CMV safety” and, therefore, fall squarely within the scope of the 

Secretary’s preemption authority.  

III. The MRB Rules Are “Additional to or More Stringent Than” the Agency’s HOS Regulations 

for Passenger-Carrying Vehicles Within the Meaning of Section 31141  

Having concluded that the MRB rules, as applied to drivers of passenger-carrying CMVs, 

are laws “on commercial motor vehicle safety,” under section 31141, the Agency next must 

decide whether the MRB rules have the same effect as, are less stringent than, or are additional 

to or more stringent than the Federal HOS regulations for passenger-carrying CMVs. 

49 U.S.C. 31141(c)(1).  

As explained above, the HOS rules prohibit a driver from operating a passenger-carrying 

CMV for more than 10 hours following 8 consecutive hours off duty, or for any period after 

having been on duty 15 hours following 8 consecutive hours off duty. 49 C.F.R. 395.5(a). The 

15-hour on-duty limit is non-consecutive; therefore, any time that a driver spends off-duty does 

not count against the 15-hour duty window. While the HOS regulations permit drivers of 

passenger-carrying CMVs to take time off duty in the middle of a duty period for a rest break 

and extend the 15-hour window in which they may drive, the rules do not require that they do so. 

Conversely, not only do the MRB rules require employers to provide passenger-carrying CMV 

drivers with meal and rest breaks, they are required to provide them at specified intervals. 

Therefore, California’s MRB rules are additional to or more stringent than the HOS regulations.  
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California’s Labor Commissioner and Attorney General do not deny that the MRB rules 

require employers to provide for breaks during the work day while the Federal HOS regulations 

for passenger-carrying CMVs do not. Citing Augustus v. ABM Security Services, Inc., 385 P.3d 

823 (Cal. 2016), and Murphy v. Kenneth Cole Prods., Inc., 155 P.3d 284 (Cal. 2007), they argue 

in their comments that the MRB rules are not “additional to or more stringent than” the Agency’s 

HOS regulations because under the MRB rules, employers may either provide the required meal 

and rest periods or pay additional wages. The Labor Commissioner and Attorney General assert 

that California law permits employers to pay higher wages as an alternative to complying with 

the MRB rules, and that the MRB rules therefore are not more stringent that the HOS 

regulations. 

The Agency disagrees. As FMCSA explained in its December 2018 Decision, California 

law prohibits an employer from requiring an employee to work during a mandated meal or rest 

break, and provides for additional pay as a remedy for violating that prohibition. Cal. Labor 

Code 226.7(b)-(c). The California Supreme Court has held that section 226.7 “does not give 

employers a lawful choice between providing either meal and rest breaks or an additional hour 

of pay,” and that “an employer’s provision of an additional hour of pay does not excuse a section 

226.7 violation.” Kirby v. Immoos Fire Protection, Inc., 274 P.3d 1160, 1168 (Cal. 2012) 

(emphasis in original).
7
 This ruling is not undercut by the two cases cited by the Labor 

Commissioner and Attorney General. While it is true that the California Supreme Court stated in 

                                                           
7
 In Kirby, the California Supreme Court addressed, inter alia, the question of whether a section 

226.7 claim alleging an employer’s failure to provide statutorily mandated meal and rest periods, 

constituted an action brought for the nonpayment of wages. See 274 P.3d at 1167. The Court 

held that it did not and explained that the premium pay “is the legal remedy for a violation … but 

whether or not it has been paid is irrelevant to whether section 226.7 was violated. In other 

words, section 226.7 does not give employers a lawful choice between providing either meal and 

rest breaks or an additional hour of pay.” Ibid.  
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Augustus v. ABM Security Services, Inc. that “employers who find it especially burdensome to 

relieve their employees of all duties during rest periods” could provide the extra hour of pay, it 

emphasized that this “option[] should be the exception rather than rule, to be used” only in the 

context of “irregular or unexpected circumstances such as emergencies.” 385 P.3d at 834 & n.14. 

And while the California Supreme Court in Murphy v. Kenneth Cole Prods., Inc. held that the 

extra hour of pay is “wages” for statute of limitations purposes, that ruling predated Kirby by six 

years, and is not inconsistent with Kirby’s holding that an employer does not have a lawful 

choice to ignore the MRB rules. Indeed, the California Supreme Court in Kirby specifically 

noted that its decision was consistent with Murphy. See Kirby, 274 P.3d at 1168 (“[T]o say that a 

section 226.7 remedy is a wage … is not to say that the legal violation triggering the remedy is 

nonpayment of wages. As explained above, the legal violation is nonprovision of meal or rest 

breaks….”). Accordingly, the MRB rules do not give employers the option of either complying 

with the requirements or providing the additional hour of pay.
8
  

Employers of passenger-carrying CMV drivers complying with the minimum 

requirements of the HOS regulations would nevertheless be violating the MRB rules on their 

face.  That alone is dispositive of the relevant inquiry. See, e.g., S. Rep. No. 98-424, at 14 (“It is 

the Committee’s intention that there be as much uniformity as practicable whenever a Federal 

standard and a State requirement cover the same subject matter.  However, a State requirement 

and a Federal standard cover the same subject matter only when meeting the minimum criteria of 

                                                           
8
 Even if employers did have an option of either complying with the MRB Rules or paying 

additional wages, the MRB Rules would still be “additional to or more stringent than” the HOS 

regulations, since the MRB Rules would either: (1) require that employers provide for breaks not 

required by the HOS regulations; or (2) provide the remedy of additional pay not required by the 

HOS regulations. 
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the less stringent provision causes one to violate the other provision on its face.”). The MRB 

rules therefore are “additional to or more stringent than” the HOS regulations. 

IV. The MRB Rules Have No Safety Benefits that Extend Beyond Those Provided by the FMCSRs 

Because the MRB rules, as applied to drivers of passenger-carrying CMVs, are more 

stringent than the Federal HOS regulations, they may be enforced unless the Agency also decides 

either that the MRB rules have no safety benefit, that they are incompatible with the HOS 

regulations, or that enforcement of the MRB rules would cause an unreasonable burden on 

interstate commerce. 49 U.S.C. 31141(c)(4). The Agency need only find that one of the 

aforementioned conditions exists to preempt the MRB rules. Ibid.  

Section 31141 authorizes the Secretary to preempt the MRB rules if they have “no safety 

benefit.” 49 U.S.C. 31141(c)(4)(A). Consistent with the 2018 Decision, FMCSA continues to 

interpret this language as applying to any State law or regulation that provides no safety benefit 

beyond the safety benefit already provided by the relevant FMCSA regulations. The statute tasks 

FMCSA with determining whether a State law that is more stringent than Federal law, which 

would otherwise undermine the Federal goal of uniformity, is nevertheless justified. There would 

be no point to the “safety benefit” provision if it were sufficient that the more stringent State law 

provides the same safety benefit as Federal law.  A State law or regulation need not have a 

negative safety impact to be preempted under section 31141(c)(4)(A); although, a law or 

regulation with a negative safety impact could be preempted. 

The ABA argues that California’s MRB rules “undermine existing federal fatigue 

management rules.” In this regard, ABA contends: 

Under the MRB rules, drivers are required to take periodic breaks at certain times 

regardless of whether the driver feels fatigued. At other times, when the driver might 

actually feel fatigued, the driver might feel obligated to continue the trip because of the 

delay already caused by taking the designated break under California law. FMCSA has 

determined that providing the driver with flexibility to determine when to take a break, 
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based on the driver’s own physiology, traffic congestion, weather and other factors, will 

encourage safer driving practices than simply mandating a break at designated intervals. 

The MRB Rules act counter to this FMCSA mandate and the flexibility the FMCSA rules 

allow. 

In its comments on ABA’s petition, ATA agreed, stating that “specifying multiple arbitrary 

breaks, even when a driver is not fatigued, makes it less likely that a driver will take a break 

when he or she is fatigued.” The Truckload Carriers Association also noted that “flexibility will 

empower drivers to rest when they are feeling fatigued, regardless of how long they have been in 

the driver’s seat that day or how far they are from their final destination.” This sentiment was 

also echoed by other commenters, such as the Greater California Livery Association and the 

National Limousine Association. Additionally, the United Motorcoach Association stated, “The 

application of the California Meal and Rest Break rules clearly endangers passengers and the 

traveling public. Any suggestion that a bus or motorcoach driver can simply pull off to the side 

of the road and ‘rest’ while 50+ passengers sit patiently behind the driver is wildly mistaken.”  

Citing several National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) studies, safety 

recommendations, and the NTSB 2019-2020 Most Wanted List addressing issues surrounding 

fatigue-related highway accidents, the California Labor Commissioner and Attorney General 

contend that the MRB rules support the public safety goal of reducing fatigue-related accidents. 

In addition, the Labor Commissioner and Attorney General point out that FMCSA commissioned 

an Evidence Report to assess and characterize the relationship between crash and fatigue in 

generally healthy motorcoach drivers.
9
 They contend that the Evidence Report described studies 

that showed “that a 30-minute rest break reduced the incidence of ‘safety critical events’ while 

others showed that long-haul truck drivers who napped had a significantly lower incidence of 

                                                           
9
 Manila Consulting Group, Inc. Evidence Report, Fatigue and Motorcoach/Bus Driver Safety. 

McLean, VA: Manila Consulting Group, Inc; December 2012.  
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crash or near-crash.” The Labor Commissioner and Attorney General added that “the timeframe 

for incidence of crash maps closely to the timeframe for California’s meal and rest periods.” 

They argue that because the HOS rules for passenger-carrying CMVs do not require drivers to 

take the same 30-minute rest period applicable to property-carrying CMVs, “FMCSA cannot 

conclude, as it did in the December 2018 preemption determination regarding property-carrying 

commercial motor vehicles, that California’s meal and rest period requirements ‘do not provide 

additional safety benefits.’” Accordingly, they conclude that “it defies logic to suggest that the 

safety of bus drivers and their precious human cargo is not enhanced by the State’s break 

requirements.” The Amalgamated Transit Union, the Transportation Trades Department/AFL-

CIO, the Teamsters, and the American Association for Justice make similar arguments and cite 

publications by the NTSB and others to show that CMV drivers’ safety performance can easily 

deteriorate due to fatigue.  

The Agency disagrees that the absence of a 30-minute break requirement in the HOS 

rules for drivers of passenger-carrying CMVs, unlike property-carriers, renders it impossible for 

the Agency to find that that the MRB rules provide no safety benefit beyond the Federal 

regulations. The FMCSA has long recognized that there are operational differences between 

commercial passenger carriers and commercial freight carriers and that those differences require 

different fatigue management measures. In this regard, the Agency’s 2003 HOS final rule did not 

propose any changes to the Federal HOS rules for drivers of passenger-carrying CMVs because 

the Agency determined that the nature of passenger-carrier operations requires a different 

framework for fatigue management than the HOS rules for property-carrier operations which 

includes more flexibility to accommodate operational challenges presented in passenger carrier 

transportation. 68 FR 22456, 22461 (Apr. 28, 2003). In addition, when the Agency revised the 



 

25 
 

HOS rules in 2011 to mandate a 30-minute off-duty rest period for drivers operating property-

carrying CMVs, the Agency did not impose a similar requirement on drivers of passenger-

carrying CMVs. 76 FR 81134, 81186. In response to a commenter who opposed different HOS 

rules for property- and passenger-carriers, the Agency explained, “[T]he HOS rules are not one-

size-fits-all.” Ibid. at 81165. The Agency’s decision in 2011 not to impose a 30-minute rest 

period requirement for passenger-carrying CMVs was appropriate given the nature of bus 

operations, where drivers may stop and rest at times that coincide with passenger rest stops.  

The ABA and several commenters have described the operational differences. In this 

regard, ABA points out, “In looking at a bus driver’s schedule in practice, a scheduled service 

driver often will take multiple breaks during intermediate stops along a schedule. These will 

occur whenever practical, such as when all passengers disembark for a food or restroom break.” 

Similarly, the United Motorcoach Association explains that “most charter drivers take their 

meals with the groups.” Coach USA notes that “charter/tour drivers are able to take breaks while 

their passengers are out sightseeing” and further explains that “buses operating on long trips take 

pre-scheduled breaks for the benefit of the drivers and passengers.…” Greyhound Lines 

(Greyhound) noted that a typical schedule would be “structured to provide the driver and 

passenger a safe and comfortable meal and rest stop at the approximate half-way point of the 

trip.”  

The Federal regulations establish a fatigue management framework for drivers of 

passenger-carrying CMVs that prohibits a driver from operating a CMV if she feels too fatigued 

or is otherwise unable to safely drive and that prohibits employers from coercing a driver too 

fatigued to operate the CMV safely to remain behind the wheel. 49 C.F.R. 392.3, 390.6. In 

addition, the Federal HOS rules provide for a nonconsecutive 15-hour duty window that gives 
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drivers flexibility to schedule off-duty breaks at times that accord with the passenger itinerary or 

travel schedule and with the driver’s actual level of fatigue. 49 C.F.R. 395.5(a). The HOS rule in 

conjunction with FMCSRs prohibiting fatigued driving and coercion sufficiently mitigate the 

risk that fatigued driving would lead to crashes. Additionally, the Agency believes that this 

framework is appropriate because it provides the flexibility needed for passenger carrier 

operations while still prohibiting a driver from operating a CMV when too fatigued to safely do 

so. Interposing the MRB rules on top of the Agency’s framework eliminates the regulatory 

flexibilities provided and requires the driver to stop the bus and log off duty at fixed intervals 

each day regardless of the driver’s break schedule or actual level of fatigue. The Agency 

determines that the MRB rules provide no safety benefit beyond the safety benefit already 

provided by the Federal regulatory framework for passenger-carrying CMVs.  

The Agency acknowledges the dangers of fatigued driving. However, the Labor 

Commissioner and the Attorney General mischaracterize one of the statements quoted from the 

Evidence Report. In evaluating the question “How much rest does a fatigued professional driver 

need to resume driving unimpaired,” the Evidence Report did, in fact, state that studies found 

that “a 30-minute rest break reduced the incidence of ‘safety critical events.’” However, that 

statement was made in relation to drivers of property-carrying CMVs. Evidence Report: Fatigue 

and Motorcoach/Bus Driver Safety at 84. With regard to passenger-carrying CMVs, the 

Evidence Report explained that, “No included studies assessed only motorcoach drivers or 

presented data in a manner that allowed us to specifically address this driver group.” Ibid. The 

Agency notes that the Labor Secretary has provided no data or research to show that California’s 

MRB rules have led to a reduction in fatigue-related crashes among passenger-carrying CMVs. 
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The ABA further argues that a “lack of adequate parking also makes the MRB rules 

untenable.” In this regard, ABA cites the Agency’s finding in the 2018 Decision that the increase 

in required stops to comply with the MRB Rules, when the driver may not be fatigued, will 

exacerbate the problem of property-carrying CMV drivers parking at unsafe locations. The ABA 

contends that “[b]us drivers face an even more difficult task than truck drivers to find a parking 

space and safely park the vehicle several times each day in order to comply with the California 

requirements while ensuring that the passengers are safely accommodated.” The United 

Motorcoach Association explained, “[A] bus or motorcoach parked on the side of the road while 

a driver ‘rests’ poses a crash risk from traffic.” The Truckload Carrier’s Association stated, 

“While the lack of safe truck parking is already an issue at the forefront of our industry, it is 

conceivably even worse for buses as they are more restricted than trucks as to where they can 

park given that they are transporting human cargo.” The National Limousine Association, Coach 

USA and other commenters also advanced similar arguments.  

The Agency agrees that California’s enforcement of the MRB rules could exacerbate the 

problem of CMV drivers parking at unsafe locations. The shortage of safe, authorized parking 

spaces for CMVs and the negative safety implication of enforcing the MRB rules is well-

documented in FMCSA’s 2018 Decision preempting California’s MRB rules for drivers of 

property carrying CMVs. See 83 Fed. Reg. 67476-77. The Agency adopts that reasoning here. If 

a passenger-carrying CMV driver resorted to stopping at an unsafe location—such as a highway 

shoulder and ramp—to comply with the MRB rules, such an action would present a safety hazard 

to the passengers, the driver, and other highway users.  
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In sum, the MRB rules abrogate the flexibilities provided by the Federal HOS rules for 

passenger-carrying CMVs without an added safety benefit. Therefore, FMCSA determines that 

the MRB rules do not provide a safety benefit not already realized under the FMCSRs.  

V. The MRB Rules are Incompatible with the Federal HOS Regulations for Passenger-Carrying 

CMVs 

The Agency has determined that the MRB rules are “additional to or more stringent than 

a regulation prescribed by the Secretary under section 31136;” therefore, they must be preempted 

if the Agency also determines that the MRB rules are “incompatible with the regulation 

prescribed by the Secretary.” 49 U.S.C. 31141(c)(4)(B). The 1984 Act limits the scope of the 

Agency’s inquiry in this regard to a State law’s compatibility with a regulation prescribed under 

section 31136. The ABA argues that the MRB rules conflict with various regulatory provisions 

that were not prescribed pursuant to the authority of section 31136.
10

 Because the provisions 

cited were not prescribed pursuant to section 31136, they fall outside the scope of a section 

31141 compatibility analysis. Therefore, the Agency has limited its compatibility analysis to the 

question of whether the MRB rules are incompatible with the HOS rules for passenger-carrying 

CMVs, which were prescribed pursuant to section 31136.  

Regarding the MRB rules’ compatibility with the HOS rules, ABA argues that “the 

timing requirements for meal and rest breaks under the MRB rules remove the flexibility allowed 

under the federal HOS regulations, thus making the MRB rules incompatible with the federal 

HOS regulations.” Similarly, Coach USA stated, “Under the federal HOS rules applicable to 

                                                           
10

 The ABA cites the regulations implementing the transportation and related provisions of the 

Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 at 49 C.F.R. part 37, issued pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 

12101–12213 and 49 U.S.C. 322; former Interstate Commerce Commission regulations at 49 

C.F.R. part 374, subpart C, issued under 49 U.S.C. 13301 and 14101; and California’s 

regulations prohibiting idling, Cal. Code Regs., tit. 13, § 2485. 



 

29 
 

motor passenger carriers, bus drivers have the flexibility to take breaks when they need breaks, 

and when they can safely do so consistent with the need to monitor the bus and the passengers at 

all times. These federal rules have proven their worth in terms of bus safety; incompatible state 

regulations such as California’s can only add confusion to the bus sector.”  

The American Association for Justice argues that FMCSA erred in applying the 

regulatory definition for “compatibility,” found at 49 C.F.R. 355.5, in the Agency’s 2018 

Decision preempting the MRB rules for drivers of property carrying CMVs.
11

 In this regard, the 

American Association for Justice states, “If only laws that are ‘identical’ to federal rules could 

meet this standard, as ATA and ABA claim, then every state law that is ‘additional to or more 

stringent’ than federal law would meet this requirement and be preempted.” The California 

Labor Commissioner and Attorney General make a similar argument. 

The Agency finds that the MRB rules, as applied to drivers of passenger-carrying CMVs, 

are incompatible with the Federal HOS regulations. Assuming arguendo that the Agency’s 

application of the regulatory definition of “compatible” is inconsistent with Congress’s intent, 

FMCSA need not rely on the fact that the MRB rules are not “identical to” or “have the same 

effect” as the HOS rules to find them incompatible. Congress’s clear intent for the 1984 Act was 

to minimize disuniformity in the national safety regulatory regime.  See Pub. L. 98-554, title II 

§ 202, 203 (“The Congress finds that . . . improved, more uniform commercial motor vehicle 

safety measures and strengthened enforcement would reduce the number of fatalities and injuries 

and the level of property damage related to commercial motor vehicle operations.”); S.Rep. No. 

                                                           
11

 Under 49 C.F.R. 355.5, “Compatible or Compatibility means that State laws and regulations 

applicable to interstate commerce and to intrastate movement of hazardous materials are 

identical to the FMCSRs and the HMRs or have the same effect as the FMCSRs….” See also 49 

C.F.R. 350.105. 
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98–424, at 14 (“It is the Committee’s intention that there be as much uniformity as practicable 

whenever a federal standard and a state requirement cover the same subject matter.”); see also 

ibid. at 15 (“In adopting this section, the Committee does not intend that States with innovative 

safety requirements that are not identical to the national norm be discouraged from seeking better 

ways to protect their citizens, so long as a strong safety need exists that outweighs this goal of 

uniformity.”). As described below, the MRB rules frustrate Congress’s goal of uniformity 

because they abrogate the flexibility that the Agency allows under the HOS rules. This fact alone 

renders the MRB rules incompatible.  

California’s MRB rules require employers to provide passenger-carrying CMV drivers 

with meal and rest breaks of specified duration at specific intervals. With regard to meal break 

timing, the California Supreme Court clarified that, in the absence of a waiver, California law 

“requires a first meal period no later than the end of an employee’s fifth hour of work, and a 

second meal period no later than the end of an employee’s 10th hour of work. Brinker 

Restaurant Corp. v. Superior Court, 273 P.3d 513, 537 (Cal. 2012). As discussed infra, an 

employer must relieve the employee of all duty and employer control during the meal break. 

Ibid. at 533. On-duty meal breaks (breaks occurring on the jobsite) are permissible under 

California law “only when the nature of the work prevents an employee from being relieved of 

all duty and when by written agreement” the employer and employee mutually agree to an “on-

the-job paid meal period.” Ibid. California interprets the circumstances justifying on-duty meal 

periods very narrowly, and any agreement consenting to on-the-job breaks may be revoked by 

the employee at any time. See generally Abdullah v. U.S. Security Associates, Inc., 731 F.3d 952, 

958-60 (9th Cir. 2013). While employers do not have an affirmative obligation to ensure that the 

employee stops working, they do have an obligation to make reasonable efforts to ensure that the 
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employee can take a 30-minute uninterrupted break, free from all responsibilities. Ibid. at 535-

37. With regard to rest period timing, the California Supreme Court explained, “Employees are 

entitled to 10 minutes' rest for shifts from three and one-half to six hours in length, 20 minutes 

for shifts of more than six hours up to 10 hours, 30 minutes for shifts of more than 10 hours up to 

14 hours, and so on.” Ibid. at 529. In contrast to the required meal breaks, employers may never 

require their employees to remain “on call” during these mandatory rest periods. Augustus v. 

ABM Sec. Servs., Inc., 385 P.3d at 832. In contrast, the HOS rules do not mandate breaks at 

specified intervals. Instead, the HOS rules allow, but do not require, drivers of passenger-

carrying CMVs the flexibility to take off-duty breaks as necessary, and other provisions of the 

FMCSRs prohibit a driver from operating a CMV when too fatigued to safely do so. 

The Labor Commissioner and the Attorney General contend that the MRB rules are not 

incompatible with the HOS rules because they “impose an obligation to provide required meal 

and rest periods or to simply provide an additional hour of pay for not providing the break 

(assuming an exemption has not been granted for the rest period requirement, and that there is no 

waiver of the meal period or agreement to an on-duty meal period).” This argument is also 

unavailing. As explained supra, in Kirby v. Immoos Fire Protection, Inc., the California Supreme 

Court held that section 226.7 “does not give employers a lawful choice between providing either 

meal and rest breaks or an additional hour of pay,” and that “an employer’s provision of an 

additional hour of pay does not excuse a section 226.7 violation.” 274 P.3d at 1168 (emphasis in 

original). In addition, while California’s regulations authorize the Labor Commissioner to grant 

an employer an exemption from the 10-minute rest break requirement, such exemptions are 

granted at the Labor Commissioner’s discretion, and there is no provision for an exemption from 
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the 30-minute meal break requirement.
12

 See Cal. Code Regs. tit. 8, 11090 (IWC Order 9-2001), 

subd. 17. Lastly, while the Labor Commissioner and the Attorney General mention that the meal 

break may be waived, it may only be waived by the mutual consent of the employer and 

employee, and if the employee’s shift is of sufficient length to require two 30-minute meal 

breaks, both may not be waived. See Cal. Code Regs. tit. 8, 11090 (IWC Order 9-2001), subd. 

11(A)-(B).  

The Teamsters contend that “California’s rule in no way conflicts with Federal 

regulations.” This argument also fails. The Agency’s compatibility determination is different 

from “conflict preemption” under the Supremacy Clause, where conflict arises when it is 

impossible to comply with both the State and Federal regulations. The express preemption 

provision in section 31141 does not require such a stringent test. In any event, California’s MRB 

rules actively undermine Congress’s goal of uniformity, as well as FMCSA’s affirmative policy 

objectives by abrogating the flexibility that the Agency built into the HOS rules. That would be 

sufficient to support a finding of incompatibility even under the conflict preemption test urged by 

the Teamsters. 

The FMCSA determines that the MRB rules, as applied to drivers of passenger-carrying 

CMVs, are incompatible with the Federal HOS regulations. 

VI. Enforcement of the MRB Rules Would Cause an Unreasonable Burden on Interstate 

Commerce  

The MRB rules may not be enforced if the Agency decides that enforcing them “would 

cause an unreasonable burden on interstate commerce.” 49 U.S.C. 31141(c)(4)(C). Section 

                                                           
12

 The Labor Commissioner may grant an employer’s exemption request if, after due 

investigation, it is found that the enforcement of the rest period provision would not materially 

affect the welfare or comfort of employees and would work an undue hardship on the employer. 

See Cal. Code Regs. tit. 8, 11090 (IWC Order 9-2001), subd. 17. 
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31141 does not prohibit enforcement of a State requirement that places an incidental burden on 

interstate commerce, only burdens that are unreasonable.  

A. Operational Burden and Costs 

The ABA argues that complying with the MRB rules is operationally burdensome 

because the rules require that drivers be relieved of all duty during the mandated meal and rest 

breaks, which do not permit a driver to attend to passenger needs. The ABA also argues that 

complying with the MRB rules compromises operators’ ability to meet passenger itinerary and 

scheduling requirements. The ABA further contends that the cost of complying with MRB rules 

unreasonably burdens interstate commerce. 

In describing the operational burden caused by the MRB rules’ requirement that drivers 

be relieved of all duty, ABA explains: 

Under the California MRB rules, when the bus driver logs off duty to take the required 

meal or rest breaks, the driver must be “relieved of all duty” for the break period, unless 

the “nature of the work prevents an employee from being relieved of all duty,” and the 

employee enters into a revocable written agreement to remain on duty. Calif. Wage Order 

9 11(C). This is simply not feasible for typical intercity bus operations. Drivers cannot 

leave the bus, the passengers and their baggage and other belongings for ten or 30 

minutes several times each day, abdicating all responsibility for the safety or security of 

the passengers or property on the bus. 

The ABA asserts that “during the MRB mandated ‘breaks’ it is unreasonable to assume that the 

driver may simply disavow any responsibility for the passengers, their belongings or the coach.” 

The ABA states that while a driver may agree to waive a mandated break, the driver may rescind 

such an agreement at any time, thus such a waiver agreement affords no certainty to the carrier.  

 The ABA also argues that complying with the MRB rules compromises operators’ ability 

to meet scheduling requirements. In this regard, ABA states, “[I]ntercity bus companies 

providing scheduled service typically offer interline connections with other motor carriers 

through the National Bus Traffic Association and also with Amtrak. They have designated and 
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agreed times at which the services will meet, and passengers will transfer from one carrier to 

another.” The ABA further explains, “Charter and tour bus operators, while typically not 

interlining with other carriers, also have dedicated schedules and service obligations to their 

passengers. They frequently must meet time constraints to deliver their passengers to a scheduled 

athletic contest, an artistic performance, or other timed event.” The ABA concludes that 

requiring a driver to comply with the MRB rules “while accounting for traffic, weather, 

passenger rest stop needs and other disruptions, makes it inconceivable that a carrier could 

reliably meet the requirements of these service obligations.”  

In addition, ABA further contends that the cost of complying with the MRB rules 

unreasonably burdens interstate commerce, stating, “The cost of compliance with the meal and 

rest break rules are staggering. Nor are these costs hypothetical.” The ABA states, “Requiring 

additional driving time and/or drivers would change the fundamental nature of bus service. Buses 

would no longer offer the most affordable source of intercity passenger transportation.” 

Several commenting motor carriers also described the operational burdens imposed by 

the MRB rules. Greyhound expressed concern about the requirement that drivers be relieved of 

all duty during meal breaks under the MRB rules, stating, “During rest stops, Greyhound drivers 

are still responsible for the safety and security of the bus as well as passengers. The driver must 

ensure the safe de-boarding of passengers and their safe and timely re-boarding, ensure the bus 

remains secure, answer passenger questions, retrieve luggage if requested and respond to 

emergency situations.” Greyhound argues, “The nature of the job prohibits a completely duty-

free break in the majority of locations where the driver may stop.” Greyhound states that a driver 

cannot be relieved of all duty during MRB rule mandated breaks without other Greyhound 

personnel present. Coach USA stated: 
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Even during scheduled meal and rest breaks, a driver cannot safely be relieved of all 

duty. During a scheduled meal stop, for example, all passengers exit the vehicle, and the 

driver secures the bus and then begins his or her meal break. During these breaks, Coach 

drivers sometimes are required to address emergency passenger situations that arise, such 

as a passenger who needs urgent access to her insulin or another who needs to access an 

EpiPen left on the bus to deal with an allergic reaction. Passengers also sometimes need 

bus access for any number of other reasons, such as having left money needed to 

purchase food on the bus. If the bus is locked and secured and the driver has left the area 

of the bus to take a California-rule mandated off-duty break, these passengers will face 

real problems. Further, passengers with mobility impairments may also need attention, 

including assistance in boarding and de-boarding the bus. In these situations, drivers 

cannot ignore a passenger’s urgent needs, yet could not meet those needs to the extent 

they are required by California regulation to be relieved of all duty. 

Transportation Charter Services commented that complying with the MRB rules interferes with 

operational schedules and service connections. The company explained that the driver’s daily 

itinerary is determined by the group chartering the bus and that passenger meal, rest, and view 

point stops are scheduled based on travel times between destinations, which do not always 

coincide with the break time required by the MRB rules. Other commenters including H & L 

Charter Co., Pacific Coachways Charter Services, Best Limousines & Transportation, Royal 

Coach Tours, Sierra Pacific Tours, the California Bus Association, and Classic Charter made 

similar arguments.  

In addition, several commenters described the ways in which complying with the MRB 

rules compromises operators’ ability to meet scheduling requirements. Coach USA explained, 

“Such mandated stops make it difficult, if not impossible, for bus carriers to meet schedules that 

passengers expect them to meet.” Coach USA further stated, “Passengers depend on such 

schedules to make connections and timely arrive at their destinations. The California rules impair 

the ability of bus carriers to provide the timely and efficient service passengers expect and thus 

unduly burden commerce.” Coach USA also said that the unpredictability of driving conditions 

is already a burden that bus carriers need to deal with while maintaining schedules and that 

“[a]dding mandatory rest and meal breaks at given hours into the mix of factors that impact 
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schedules will make keeping such schedules all the more difficult, burdening the ability of 

carriers to meet their interstate commerce obligations.” 

Greyhound explained that its network “is an interlocking interstate system of schedules 

which connect with other buses of Greyhound, other intercity bus companies, local transit, 

Amtrak and other modes at hundreds of locations in California and across the country.” 

Greyhound argued that if a driver stops to take a required break, “that stop will jeopardize 

connections throughout the system that interstate passengers rely on.” Greyhound said that it 

carried 769,566 interstate passengers in the last fiscal year who either started or finished their 

journeys at a California location. The company contends, “All of these passengers face potential 

disruptions to their trips because of missed connections or delayed arrivals and departures caused 

by the inflexibility of the MRB Rules on the one hand and the vagaries of California traffic on 

the other.” 

Mr. Thomas Miller, an airport shuttle and charter bus operator, also described 

administrative and operational burdens associated with complying with the MRB rules and how 

they affect scheduling. He explained, “California laws with respect to the 5-hour meal break 

rules do not work in the bus and charter operator business. Traffic is so unpredictable you cannot 

stay legal 100% of the time.” Mr. Miller further stated, “We require our drivers to take an unpaid 

rest break at the airport even if the total round trip is under 5 hours. They hate it, they would 

rather have it at home on their split shift.”  

Several commenters discussed the need to have additional personnel present with the 

driver to attend to passenger needs or the need to undertake other measures in order to comply 

with the MRB rules. In this regard, the United Motorcoach Association commented that “The 

California MRB needlessly extends a driver’s workday and … will periodically require a relief 
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driver to avoid exceeding driving and/or on-duty limits to accommodate the California MRB.” 

Similarly, Greyhound stated that complying with the requirement that drivers be relieved of all 

duty is impracticable without other Greyhound personnel present. Coach USA stated, 

“Commerce would be further burdened if carriers were forced to meet the California rules by 

hiring two drivers…. Not only would this impose extraordinary cost burdens, but it would make 

much worse a driver shortage that already confronts the motor passenger carrier industry.” 

Mr. Miller explained that his attorney advised him to consider having his drivers report for work 

40 minutes earlier to account for the MRB rules mandated breaks. Other commenters such as the 

Greater California Livery Association and the National Limousine Association stated that 

complying the with MRB rules would result in a “substantial increase in driver costs” due to 

decreased productivity and the need for additional drivers. 

The California Labor Commissioner and Attorney General dispute that enforcing the 

MRB rules unreasonably burdens interstate commerce. They rely on Yoder v. Western Express, 

Inc., 181 F. Supp.3d 704 (C.D. Cal. 2015), in which a Federal district court held that application 

of California’s wage and hour laws to a motor carrier did not violate the dormant Commerce 

Clause. The Labor Commissioner and the Attorney General argue that “California wage and hour 

laws at issue, including meal and rest break requirements, should be afforded, at minimum, 

significant weight in a Commerce Clause analysis.” They explain that the district court in Yoder 

applied the standard set forth in Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U.S. 137 (1970), under which 

non-discriminatory State laws will generally not be found to violate the dormant Commerce 

Clause “unless the burden imposed on [interstate] commerce is clearly excessive in relation to 

the putative local benefits.” See Yoder, 181 F. Supp. 3d at 718 (quoting Pike, 397 U.S. at 142). 

They note that the court in Yoder found that “California has an indisputably legitimate public 
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interest in enforcing labor laws which protect its workers” and rejected the claim of the 

defendant, Western Express, that the burden on interstate commerce was clearly excessive in 

relation to California’s legitimate public interest in regulating employment matters. See Yoder, 

181 F. Supp. 3d at 720. The Labor Commissioner and the Attorney General conclude that ABA’s 

assertions of an unreasonable burden on interstate commerce fails “in light of California’s 

‘legitimate interest in promoting driver and public safety’ which FMCSA has recognized.” 

The Amalgamated Transit Union contends that ABA’s petition failed to “include any 

evidence of the costs of the MRB rules.” Similarly, the Transportation Trades Department/AFL-

CIO argues that “while ABA makes the claim that ‘the cost of compliance with the meal and rest 

break rules are staggering’ it provides absolutely no empirical evidence for this statement and 

relies entirely on conjecture.” The Teamsters state that ABA “provides no empirical evidence” to 

support its argument related to the costs associated with MRB rule compliance. The Teamsters 

continue, “For decades, the motor carrier industries have presumably found a way — one that is 

feasible — to comply with federal laws in conjunction with state laws. While and to the extent 

that compliance can result in increased expenditures, this does not outweigh the safety benefits 

that protect drivers and passengers.” 

The FMCSA concludes that application of the MRB rules to passenger-carrying motor 

carriers unreasonably burdens interstate commerce.  The Agency does not believe that the 

operational burdens described by ABA and the carriers are mere speculation. As ABA correctly 

states, the MRB rules provide that “[u]nless the employee is relieved of all duty during a 30 

minute meal period, the meal period shall be considered an “on duty” meal period and counted as 

time worked.” Cal. Code Regs. tit. 8, 11090 ((IWC Order 9-2001), subd. 11(C) (emphasis 

added). The California Supreme Court explained that the employee must be free to leave the 
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premises, without any work-related responsibilities, during the entire 30-minute period. Brinker 

Restaurant Corp. v. Superior Court, 273 P.3d at 533. Further, “[a]n ‘on duty’ meal period shall 

be permitted only when the nature of the work prevents an employee from being relieved of all 

duty and when by written agreement between the parties…. that the employee may, in writing, 

revoke the agreement at any time.” Ibid. Moreover, an employer may never require their 

employees to remain “on call” during a 10-minute rest break. Augustus v. ABM Sec. Servs., Inc., 

385 P.3d at 832. The Agency agrees that the requirement that a driver be relieved of all duty for 

a meal break or rest break at specified intervals without regard to location or passenger needs 

would result in significant operational burden for the motor carrier. While the MRB rules 

provide that an employer and employee may agree to an “on duty” meal break or to waive the 

meal break altogether, the employee may unilaterally rescind that agreement at any time. As 

ABA and most commenters have described, it would be untenable for a motor carrier 

transporting passengers to have the driver become unavailable to attend to passenger needs at an 

inopportune time and location due to an MRB-mandated off-duty break. The Agency also agrees 

with ABA that complying with the MRB rules presents an operational burden regarding 

scheduling. Under the Federal HOS rules, motor carriers and drivers have the flexibility to 

schedule off-duty breaks in a way the best accommodates the driver’s need for rest, passenger 

needs, and the travel schedule; the MRB rules offer much less flexibility. 

The FMCSA also concludes that the California Labor Commissioner and Attorney 

General do not show that there is no unreasonable burden by relying on the district court opinion 

in Yoder v. Western Express.  As noted above, Yoder analyzed whether California’s wage and 

hour laws violated the dormant Commerce Clause, not whether those laws were preempted under 

49 U.S.C. § 31141.  FMCSA acknowledges that it has suggested in the past that the test for 
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determining whether a State law unreasonably burdens interstate commerce under section 31141 

is the same as or similar to the test for determining whether a State law violates the dormant 

Commerce Clause.  Upon further consideration, however, FMCSA concludes that nothing in the 

text of section 31141 or elsewhere suggests that only unconstitutional State laws can cause an 

unreasonable burden on interstate commerce.  In any event, even if FMCSA could only find an 

unreasonable burden on interstate commerce by finding that the burdens on commerce are 

clearly excessive in relation to putative local benefits, that standard would easily be met here.  As 

discussed above, there is no evidence that the MRB rules provide a safety benefit beyond the 

benefits already provided by the Federal HOS regulations.  The significant burdens identified by 

ABA and the carriers thus are clearly excessive.   

Based on the foregoing, FMCSA concludes that the MRB rules cause an unreasonable 

burden on interstate commerce. 

B. Cumulative Effect of the MRB Rules and Other States’ Similar Laws 

Section 31141 does not limit the Agency to looking only to the State whose rules are the 

subject of a preemption determination. The FMCSA “may consider the effect on interstate 

commerce of implementation of that law or regulation with the implementation of all similar 

laws and regulations of other States.” 49 U.S.C. 31141(c)(5). To date, 20 States in addition to 

California regulate, in varying degrees, meal and rest break requirements, as the National 

Conference of State Legislators, the Center for Justice and Democracy, and the American 

Association for Justice have pointed out.
13

 The ABA argues that “[c]omplying with each of these 

                                                           
13

 According to the National Conference of State Legislators and the American Association for 

Justice, the following States have meal and rest break laws: California, Colorado, Connecticut, 

Delaware, Illinois, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, 

New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont, 

Washington, and West Virginia. 
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regulatory schemes absolutely presents an unreasonable burden on interstate commerce.” Several 

other commenters have described the burden resulting from differing State meal and rest break 

laws. Greyhound explained, “20 other states have meal and rest break provisions…. [t]he 

potential applicability of these provisions could wreak havoc on Greyhound’s carefully 

constructed interstate, interconnected route system and could pose a serious threat to the many 

small bus companies, who rely on their Greyhound connections to support their intercity 

services.” The National Limousine Association and the Greater California Livery Association 

explained, “The proliferation of rules like California’s in at least 20 other states, applied to 

drivers of CMVs in interstate commerce, would increase the associated productivity loss 

enormously and represent an even greater burden on interstate commerce.” Coach USA stated 

that “confusion would become commonplace to meet all such break requirements as state 

borders are crossed.” The United Motorcoach Association commented, “As passenger carrier 

drivers cross multiple state lines, the result can be fluctuating start/stop times resulting in sleep 

truncation and disruption.” Other commenters, such as Transportation Charter Services, Pacific 

Coachways Charter Services, Best Limousine & Transportation, Royal Coach Tours, Sierra 

Pacific Tours, the California Bus Association, and Classic Charter stated that having to comply 

with the meal and rest break requirements of 20 states and the Federal HOS rules would make it 

impossible for them to meet planned schedules and itineraries. 

In the 2018 Decision, FMCSA described the meal and rest break laws of Oregon, 

Nevada, and Washington and noted differences regarding when each State required a break to 

occur. See 83 FR 67470, 67479-80. The Agency determined that the diversity of State regulation 

of required meal and rest breaks for CMV drivers has resulted in a patchwork of requirements. 

Ibid. The Agency adopts that reasoning here.  
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The American Association for Justice argues that ABA failed to provide “adequate 

justification for singling out the laws of one state when similar arguments can be made for the 

laws in the other 20 states.” Similarly, the Center for Justice and Democracy argues that ABA 

has provided “no adequate explanation for specifically singling out California law in this 

petition.” The Agency is not persuaded by this argument. Nothing in section 31141 prohibits a 

petitioner from seeking a preemption determination concerning the laws of one State, even where 

other States have similar laws. Having concluded that the MRB rules impose significant 

operational burden and costs, the Agency further determines that the burden would be increased 

by the cumulative effect of other States’ similar laws. 

C. Summary 

Consistent with the Agency’s 2018 Decision, FMCSA acknowledges that the State of 

California has a legitimate interest in promoting driver and public safety. However, just as the 

Federal HOS rules and other provisions in the FMCSRs serve to promote that interest with 

respect to drivers of property-carrying CMVs, so do they serve to promote it for drivers of 

passenger-carrying CMVs. The Labor Commissioner and the Attorney General have stated that 

the local benefit of enforcing the MRB rules is driver and public safety. However, the Agency 

has determined that the MRB rules offer no safety benefit beyond the Federal regulations 

governing drive-time limits, fatigue, and coercion. The FMCSA also determines that enforcing 

the MRB rules results in increased operational burden and costs. In addition, the Agency finds 

that requiring motor carriers to comply with Federal HOS rules and also identify and adjust their 

operations in response to the many varying State requirements is an unreasonable burden on 

interstate commerce. Even where the differences between individual State regulations are slight, 

uniform national regulation is significantly less burdensome. The Agency finds that the burden 
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on interstate commerce caused by the MRB rules is clearly excessive relative to any safety 

benefit. The Agency therefore concludes that the MRB rules place an unreasonable burden on 

interstate commerce. 

Preemption Decision 

As described above, FMCSA concludes that: (1) the MRB rules are State laws or 

regulations “on commercial motor vehicle safety,” to the extent they apply to drivers of 

passenger-carrying CMVs subject to FMCSA’s HOS rules; (2) the MRB rules are additional to 

or more stringent than FMCSA’s HOS rules; (3) the MRB rules have no safety benefit; (4) the 

MRB rules are incompatible with FMCSA’s HOS rules; and (5) enforcement of the MRB rules 

would cause an unreasonable burden on interstate commerce. Accordingly, FMCSA grants 

ABA’s petition for preemption and determines that the MRB rules are preempted pursuant to 

49 U.S.C. 31141. Effective the date of this decision, California may no longer enforce the MRB 

rules with respect to drivers of passenger-carrying CMVs subject to FMCSA’s HOS rules. 

 

Issued under authority delegated in 49 C.F.R. 1.87 and redelegated by Notice executed on 

January 7, 2020, on: January 13, 2020.  

 

        ______________________________ 

Alan Hanson, 

Chief Counsel. 
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