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DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION     [4910-EX-P] 

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 

[Docket No. FMCSA-2018-0346] 

Commercial Driver’s Licenses; Pilot Program to Allow Drivers Under 21 to Operate 

Commercial Motor Vehicles in Interstate Commerce 

AGENCY:  Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), DOT. 

ACTION:  Notice and request for comments. 

SUMMARY:  Drivers 18, 19 and 20 years old may currently operate commercial motor 

vehicles (CMVs) in intrastate commerce. On July 6, 2018, FMCSA published a Federal 

Register notice announcing the details of the Commercial Driver Pilot Program, that 

allows certain 18- to 20-year-olds with military training to operate CMVs in interstate 

commerce. This document requests comments on a possible second pilot program to 

allow non-military drivers aged 18, 19, and 20 to operate CMVs in interstate commerce. 

FMCSA requests comments on the training, qualifications, driving limitations, and 

vehicle safety systems that FMCSA should consider in developing options or approaches 

for a second pilot program for younger drivers.  

DATES:  Comments must be received on or before [INSERT DATE 60 DAYS AFTER 

PUBLICATION IN THE FEDERAL REGISTER]. 

ADDRESSES:  You may submit comments bearing the Federal Docket Management 

System (FDMS) Docket ID FMCSA-2018-0346 using any of the following methods: 

 Federal eRulemaking Portal:  www.regulations.gov. Follow the online 

instructions for submitting comments. 

 Mail:  Docket Management Facility, U.S. Department of Transportation, 1200 
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New Jersey Avenue, SE., West Building, Ground Floor, Room W12-140, Washington, 

DC 20590-0001. 

 Hand Delivery or Courier:  West Building, Ground Floor, Room W12-140, 1200 

New Jersey Avenue, SE., between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, except 

Federal holidays. 

 Fax:  1-202-493-2251 

Each submission must include the Agency name and the docket number for this 

notice. Note that DOT posts all comments received without change to 

www.regulations.gov, including any personal information included in a comment. Please 

see the Privacy Act heading below. 

Privacy Act 

In accordance with 5 U.S.C. 553(c), DOT solicits comments from the public to 

better inform its processes. DOT posts these comments, without edit, including any 

personal information the commenter provides, to www.regulations.gov, as described in 

the system of records notice (DOT/ALL-14 FDMS), which can be reviewed at 

www.dot.gov/privacy.  

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:  Mr. Selden Fritschner, Commercial 

Drivers License Division, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey 

Avenue, SE., Washington, DC 20590-0001, by email at selden.fritschner@dot.gov, or by 

telephone at 202-366-0677. If you have questions on viewing or submitting material to 

the docket, contact Docket Services, telephone (202) 366-9826. 

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: 

I. Public Participation and Request for Comments   
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FMCSA encourages you to participate by submitting comments and related 

materials. In this notice, FMCSA requests certain information, but comments are not 

limited to responses to those requests. 

Submitting Comments 

If you submit a comment, please include the docket number for this notice 

(FMCSA-2018-0346), indicate the specific section of this document to which the 

comment applies, and provide a reason for suggestions or recommendations. You may 

submit your comments and material online, by fax, mail, or hand delivery, but please use 

only one of these means. FMCSA recommends that you include your name and a mailing 

address, an e-mail address, or a phone number in the body of your document so the 

agency can contact you if it has questions regarding your submission. 

 To submit your comment online, go to www.regulations.gov, put the docket 

number, “FMCSA-2018-0346” in the “Keyword” box, and click “Search.” When the new 

screen appears, click on the “Comment Now!” button and type your comment into the 

text box in the following screen. Choose whether you are submitting your comment as an 

individual or on behalf of a third party and then submit. If you submit your comments by 

mail or hand delivery, submit them in an unbound format, no larger than 8½ by 11 

inches, suitable for copying and electronic filing. If you submit comments by mail and 

would like to know that they reached the facility, please enclose a stamped, self-

addressed postcard or envelope. FMCSA will consider all comments and material 

received during the comment period. 

Viewing Comments and Documents 
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To view comments, as well as documents mentioned in this notice as being 

available in the docket, go to www.regulations.gov and insert the docket number, 

“FMCSA-2018-0346” in the “Keyword” box and click “Search.” Next, click the “Open 

Docket Folder” button and choose the document listed to review. If you do not have 

access to the Internet, you may view the docket online by visiting the Docket 

Management Facility in Room W12-140 on the ground floor of the DOT West Building, 

1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE., Washington, DC 20590, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., ET., 

Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays. 

II. Legal Basis 

Applicable Regulations  

Subject to limited exceptions for farm vehicle drivers of articulated CMVs (49 

CFR 391.67) and private (non-business) motor carriers of passengers (49 CFR 391.68), 

drivers of CMVs engaged in interstate commerce must be at least 21 years of age, 

whether or not operation of the CMV requires a commercial driver’s license (CDL) (49 

CFR 391.11(b)(1)).  

Under 49 U.S.C. §§ 31315 and 31136(e), the Secretary of Transportation (the 

Secretary) has authority to grant waivers and exemptions from the Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) and to conduct pilot programs in which one or more 

exemptions are granted to allow for the testing of innovative alternatives to certain 

FMCSRs. FMCSA must publish in the Federal Register a detailed description of each 

pilot program, including the exemptions being considered, and provide notice and an 

opportunity for public comment before the effective date of the program. The Agency is 

required to ensure that the safety measures in the pilot programs are designed to achieve a 
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level of safety that is equivalent to, or greater than, the level of safety that would be 

achieved through compliance with the safety regulations. The maximum duration of a 

pilot program is 3 years. 

Therefore, a pilot program requires that participating drivers be provided relief 

from the effect of the intrastate only (or “K”) restriction that would appear on a CDL 

under 49 CFR 383.153(a)(10)(vii) and an exemption from the requirement that a CMV 

driver operating in interstate commerce be at least 21 years of age under 49 CFR 

391.11(b)(1). 

At the conclusion of each pilot program, FMCSA must report to Congress its 

findings, conclusions, and recommendations, including suggested amendments to laws 

and regulations that would enhance motor carrier, CMV, and driver safety, and improve 

compliance with the FMCSRs. 

Additionally, Section 5404 of the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation 

(FAST) Act (Pub. L. 114-94, 129 Stat. 1312, 1549, Dec. 4, 2015) directed FMCSA to 

establish a pilot program to allow certain drivers with military training and experience, 

ages 18, 19 or 20, to operate CMVs in interstate commerce.  

III. Background  

Recent Considerations to Change the CDL Driving Age 

On October 2, 2000, the Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) petitioned 

FMCSA to conduct a younger driver pilot program. Motor carriers, truck driver training 

schools, a trade association, and an insurance company joined in the petition asking 

FMCSA to authorize a pilot program to determine if CMV drivers under age 21 could 

operate CMVs safely in interstate commerce. Petitioners stated that this pilot would 
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address the shortage of CMV drivers in the trucking industry. Petitioners also asserted 

that recruiting young persons as truck drivers would be easier if they could be approached 

immediately after graduation from high school.  

The pilot program proposed by TCA would have involved a minimum of 48 

weeks of intensive classroom and driving instruction and supervision that was designed 

to lead to full-time employment as an interstate CMV driver. Each younger driver (18 to 

21 years of age) would attend a truck driver training school approved by the Professional 

Truck Driver Institute for a minimum of 22 weeks and receive 8 weeks of training in a 

motor carrier’s “driver finishing” program. This would be followed by 18 weeks of team 

driving with an older, more experienced driver. Younger drivers would be required to 

pass the performance standards of the entire 48-week program and reach the age of 19 to 

begin solo driving.  

 On February 20, 2001, FMCSA published a notice asking six questions about the 

proposed pilot program and requesting public comment on the TCA petition (66 FR 

10935). FMCSA received more than 1,600 comments. Very few commenters presented 

data either for or against the program. More than 90 percent of the commenters were 

opposed, most on the basis that individuals under the age of 21 lacked the maturity and 

judgment to operate a CMV. None explained how interstate drivers under 21 would 

diminish safety when most States have concluded that intrastate drivers under 21 do not 

do so. Very few truck drivers and motor carriers commented, but most of them also 

opposed the pilot program.  

On June 9, 2003, FMCSA denied the TCA petition stating that “the Agency does 

not have sufficient information at this time to make a determination that the safety 
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measures in the pilot program are designed to achieve a level of safety equivalent to, or 

greater than, the level of safety provided by complying with the minimum 21-year age 

requirement to operate a CMV.” (68 FR 34467, 34468)  

Military Under 21 Pilot Program 

On August 22, 2016, FMCSA published a notice of proposed pilot program titled 

“Commercial Driver’s Licenses; Proposed Pilot Program to Allow Persons Between the 

Ages of 18 and 21 with Military Driving Experience to Operate Commercial Motor 

Vehicles in Interstate Commerce” (81 FR 56745). The notice proposed allowing 

members of the military, veterans, Reservists and National Guard members who are 18, 

19 or 20 years old and certified in one of seven Military Occupational Specialties (MOS) 

to operate CMVs in interstate commerce. The 2016 notice provided details of current 

military training. At a minimum, the seven MOS require at least 22 hours of classroom 

training and 62 hours of behind-the-wheel taining in a heavy duty military vehicle. In 

some instances, additional instruction is required for specialized training, depending on 

the vehicle or trailer type.  

The Agency received 67 comments to the docket; 40 favored the pilot program 

and 9 opposed it. The remaining 18 comments were a form letter asking the Agency to 

expand the current pilot program or initiate a new one for drivers aged 18, 19, or 20 years 

old and who are engaged in agricultural operations.  

On July 6, 2018, the FMCSA published a notice detailing the requirements of the 

pilot program and responded to comments. The notice is titled “Proposed Pilot Program 

To Allow Persons Between the Ages of 18 and 21 With Military Driving Experience to 

Operate Commercial Motor Vehicles in Interstate Commerce” (83 FR 31633). The notice 
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discussed comments and responses received from the August 2016 notice, and detailed 

the pilot program requirements and procedures. 

 In addition, on July 6, 2018, the FMCSA published a 60-day notice for the 

information collection request (ICR) associated with the Under 21 Military CDL Pilot 

Program (83 FR 31631). The ICR included the application and consent forms for motor 

carriers, covered drivers, control group drivers, and intrastate drivers providing 

information for the pilot program. It also explained the Agency’s hypotheses for the 

Under 21 Military CDL Pilot Program, the monthly reporting requirements, and the ICR 

burdens. The Agency anticipates that some of the forms and processes developed for this 

information collection may also be applicable if the Agency decides to conduct a pilot 

program involving younger drivers without military training and experience. 

Entry Level Driver Training 

 On December 8, 2016, the FMCSA published a final rule titled “Minimum 

Training Requirements for Entry-Level Commercial Motor Vehicle Operators” (81 FR 

88732). The rule on entry-level driver training (ELDT) established minimum training 

standards for certain individuals applying for their CDL. Specifically, according to 

FMCSA’s current rulemaking implementation schedule, beginning on February 6, 2020, 

CDL applicants subject to the rule must complete a prescribed program of instruction 

presented by an entity listed on FMCSA’s Training Provider Registry, prior to taking the 

State-administered CDL skills test, or for the Hazardous Materials endorsement, prior to 

taking the knowledge test. The final rule outlined the topics that must be covered during 

classroom and behind the wheel training curriculums; however, it did not require a 

minimum number of hours for either classroom or behind the wheel.  
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Recent Legislative Proposals 

 On February 27, 2019, companion bills were introduced in the U.S. House of 

representatives and the U.S. Senate called the “Developing Responsible Individuals for a 

Vibrant Economy Act” (DRIVE-Safe Act) (H.R. 5358). The DRIVE-Safe Act proposes 

to lower the age requirement for interstate drivers to 18 as long as drivers under the age 

of 21 are participating in an apprenticeship program that includes separate 120-hour and 

280-hour probationary periods, during which younger drivers would operate CMVs under 

the supervision of an experienced driver and must achieve specific performance 

benchmarks before advancing. Younger drivers would also drive vehicles equipped with 

active braking collision mitigation systems, forward-facing video event capture, and 

speed limiters set to 65 miles per hour.  

IV. Request for Public Comments 

FMCSA requests responses to the following questions to help the Agency 

determine whether it should propose a younger driver pilot program and the parameters 

of such a program. Instructions for filing comments to the public docket are included 

earlier in this notice.  

 The public is encouraged to respond to the questions listed below; however, 

additional comments are also welcome.  

General 

1. What data are currently available on the safety performance (e.g. crash 

involvement, etc.) of 18-20-year-old drivers operating CMVs in intrastate 

commerce? 
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2. Are there concerns about obtaining insurance coverage for drivers under 21 who 

operate CMVs in intrastate commerce, and would these challenges be greater for 

interstate operations?  

Training and Experience 

As noted above, according to the current rulemaking implementation schedule, 

starting in 2020, FMCSA will require completion of an ELDT course before a driver may 

take the CDL skills test. In addition, the 2000 TCA proposal included extensive training 

requirements. The DRIVE-Safe Act contemplates an extensive apprenticeship program 

under the supervision of an experienced co-driver.   

1. What is the minimum driving experience that should be required for a driver to be 

admitted to a pilot?   

a. Should there be a requirement for experience driving non-commercial 

vehicles (e.g., to hold a regular driver’s license for some minimum period 

of time)?  

b. Should there be a requirement for experience driving a CMV in intrastate 

commerce for some minimum period of time? If so, what should that 

period be and how should it be measured (e.g., time with a CDL, hours 

driven, vehicle miles traveled) and why? 

c.  Is there a minimum amount of time a younger driver should be required to 

hold a CLP or CDL?  If so, how long and why? Are there driver training 

topics that should be required for younger drivers beyond those covered in 

the ELDT final rule?  If so, what are they and why? 
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2. What kind of supervision, and how much, should be required for drivers under 21 

in a pilot?   

3. Should there be any specific training / qualification requirements for mentors, 

supervisors or co-drivers? If so, what type of training or qualifications? 

4. Should FMCSA require that participating motor carriers establish a formal 

apprenticeship program according to Department of Labor Standards? If so, why? 

Operational Requirements 

The TCA proposal and the DRIVE-Safe Act both proposed operational limitations 

for 18-20-year-old drivers beyond what is currently required under Federal regulations. In 

addition, graduated driver license programs that begin with operational restrictions (e.g., 

may not drive between midnight and 5:00 a.m.) have been shown to be effective for new 

drivers. With this in mind: 

1. Should there be time or distance restrictions on younger drivers? If so, what 

should these be and why? 

2. Should younger drivers have more limited hours of service, such as a maximum 

of 8 hours of driving each day? If so, what limits should be applied and why?  

3. Should younger drivers be prohibited from transporting hazardous materials, 

passengers, and/or operating tank vehicles or oversize/overweight vehicles? 

Should there be other restrictions? 

Requirements for Participation? 

In the Under 21 Military Pilot Program, FMCSA laid out specific requirements 

that participating motor carriers and drivers must continue to satisfy.  
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1. What safety standards should participating motor carriers have to meet? Are the 

requirements from the Under 21 Military Pilot Program appropriate? 

2. What safety standards should participating drivers have to meet? Are the 

requirements from the Under 21 Military Pilot program appropriate? 

3. What action(s) should the Agency consider taking if drivers in this pilot program 

are convicted of violations while operating in interstate commerce? 

4. At what point should FMCSA remove a driver or motor carrier from a pilot 

program? 

Technology Requirements 

 The DRIVE-Safe Act would require younger drivers to operate vehicles that are 

equipped with collision avoidance systems, front-facing video recorders, and speed 

limiters set to 65 mph.  

1. Should FMCSA include requirements for safety equipment or on-board recording 

systems in a pilot program for younger CMV drivers? If so, what equipment and 

why? 

2. Are the technologies proposed in the DRIVE-Safe Act appropriate? 

3. Should FMCSA include other technologies? If so, what technologies are 

appropriate?  

Insurance 

1. Will insurance companies be willing to cover younger drivers operating CMVs in 

interstate commerce? 

2. What is the surcharge for insuring a younger driver? 
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3. Will motor carriers be able to afford the insurance coverage for these younger 

drivers?  

Research and Data 

1. What type of data could be provided to the Agency to evaluate the safety 

performance of drivers under 21 who operate in intrastate commerce, e.g., State-

managed safety performance data? 

2. Are traffic violations, crashes, and inspection violations adequate to allow a  

comparison of safety records? If not, what other safety performance measures 

should be used? 

3. What research should the Agency consider to assess the safety impacts of younger 

interstate CMV drivers? 

 

Issued on:  May 9, 2019. 

 

        

Raymond P. Martinez, 
Administrator.

[FR Doc. 2019-09944 Filed: 5/14/2019 8:45 am; Publication Date:  5/15/2019] 


