
 

 

6714-01-P 

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION 

[OMB No. 3064-0195] 

Agency Information Collection Activities: Proposed Collection Renewal; Comment 

Request  

 

AGENCY:  Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC). 

ACTION:  Notice and request for comment. 

SUMMARY:  The FDIC, as part of its continuing effort to reduce paperwork and 

respondent burden, invites the general public and other Federal agencies to take this 

opportunity to comment on the renewal of an existing information collection, as required 

by the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995 (PRA).  Currently, the FDIC is soliciting 

comment on renewal of the information collection described below. 

DATES:  Comments must be submitted on or before [INSERT DATE 60 DAYS 

FROM PUBLICATION IN THE FEDERAL REGISTER]. 

ADDRESSES:  Interested parties are invited to submit written comments to the FDIC by 

any of the following methods: 

 https://www.FDIC.gov/regulations/laws/federal.  

 Email: comments@fdic.gov.  Include the name and number of the collection in the 

subject line of the message.   

 Mail:  Manny Cabeza (202-898-3767), Counsel, MB-3007, Federal Deposit 

Insurance Corporation, 550 17th Street NW, Washington, DC  20429. 

This document is scheduled to be published in the
Federal Register on 05/02/2018 and available online at
https://federalregister.gov/d/2018-09324, and on FDsys.gov



 

 

 Hand Delivery:  Comments may be hand-delivered to the guard station at the rear 

of the 17th Street Building (located on F Street), on business days between 7:00 

a.m. and 5:00 p.m. 

All comments should refer to OMB control number 3064-0195.  A copy of the comments 

may also be submitted to the OMB desk officer for the FDIC: Office of Information and 

Regulatory Affairs, Office of Management and Budget, New Executive Office Building, 

Washington, DC 20503. 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:  Manny Cabeza, Counsel, 202-898-

3767, mcabeza@FDIC.gov, MB-3007, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, 550 17th 

Street NW, Washington, DC  20429. 

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: 

Proposal to renew the following currently approved collection of information: 

Title:  Minimum requirements for appraisal management companies.  

OMB Number:  3064-0195. 

Form Number:  None. 

Affected Public:  Participating States and Appraisal Management Companies that 

are subsidiaries owned and controlled by insured depository institutions. 

 

Burden Estimate: 

Summary of Annual Burden 

  

Type of 
Burden 

Estimated 
Number of 

Respondents 

Estimated 

Number 
of 

Responses 

Estimated 
Time per 

Response 

Frequency 
of 

Response 

Total 

Annual 
Estimated 

Burden 
Hours 

FDIC, 

FRB and 
OCC 

Share 

FHFA 
Share 

IC #1 – AMC Written Notice of 

Appraiser Removal from 

Network or Panel (323.10) 

Record 

Keeping 
9,881 1 0,08 hours 

On 

Occasion 
790 237 79 

IC #2 – State Recordkeeping 

Requirements (323.11(a) & (b) 

Record 

Keeping 
5 1 40 hours 

On 

Occasion 
200 hours 50 50 



 

 

IC #3 – AMC Reporting 

Requirements (State and 

Federal AMCs)(323.12 & 13(c)) 

Reporting 200 2 1 hour 
On 

Occasion 
400 hours 120 40 

IC #4 – State Reporting 

Requirements to the Appraisal 

Sub Committee (323.14) 

Reporting 55 1 1 hour 
On 

Occasion 
55 hours 14 14 

Total Estimated Annual 

Burden 
     1,445 hours 421 hours 183 hours 

 

General Description of Collection: The FDIC, the Office of the Comptroller of 

the Currency (OCC), The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System 

(FRB) and the Federal Home Finance Agency (FHFA) (collectively, the 

Agencies) issued regulations to implement the requirements of section 1473 of 

the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act to be applied 

by States in the registration and supervision of appraisal management companies 

(AMCs).  The regulations also implement the requirement in section 1473 of the 

Dodd-Frank Act for States to report to the Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC) of the 

Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) the information 

required by the Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC) to administer the new national 

registry of appraisal management companies (AMC National Registry or 

Registry).  The FDIC’s regulation is found at 12 CFR Part 323 (the Regulation) 

and contains the following PRA recordkeeping and reporting requirements: 

AMC Recordkeeping Requirements (IC #1).   Section 323.10 of the Regulation 

provides that an appraiser in an AMC’s network or panel is deemed to remain on 

the network or panel until:  (i) the AMC sends a written notice to the appraiser 

removing the appraiser with an explanation; or (ii) receives a written notice from 

the appraiser asking to be removed or a notice of the death or incapacity of the 

appraiser.  The AMC would retain these notices in its files. 



 

 

State Recordkeeping Requirements (IC #2).   States seeking to register AMCs 

must have an AMC registration and supervision program. Section 323.11(a) of 

the Regulation requires each participating State to establish and maintain within 

its appraiser certifying and licensing agency a registration and supervision 

program with the legal authority and mechanisms to: (i) review and approve or 

deny an application for initial registration; (ii) periodically review and renew, or 

deny renewal of, an AMC’s registration; (iii) examine an AMC’s books and 

records and require the submission of reports, information, and documents; (iv) 

verify an AMC’s panel members’ certifications or licenses; (v) investigate and 

assess potential violations of laws, regulations, or orders; (vi) discipline, suspend, 

terminate, or deny registration renewals of, AMCs that violate laws, regulations, 

or orders; and (vii) report violations of appraisal-related laws, regulations, or 

orders, and disciplinary and enforcement actions to the ASC. 

Section 323.11(b) requires each participating State to impose requirements on 

AMCs not regulated by a Federal financial institutions regulatory agency nor 

owned and controlled by an insured depository institution to: (i) register with and 

be subject to supervision by a State appraiser certifying and licensing agency in 

each State in which the AMC operates; (ii) use only State-certified or State-

licensed appraisers for Federally-regulated transactions in conformity with any 

Federally-regulated transaction regulations; (iii) establish and comply with 

processes and controls reasonably designed to ensure that the AMC, in engaging 

an appraiser, selects an appraiser who is independent of the transaction and who 

has the requisite education, expertise, and experience necessary to competently 



 

 

complete the appraisal assignment for the particular market and property type; 

(iv) direct the appraiser to perform the assignment in accordance with the 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice; and (v) establish and 

comply with processes and controls reasonably designed to ensure that the AMC 

conducts its appraisal management services in accordance with section 129E(a)-

(i) of the Truth-in-Lending Act. 

AMC Reporting Requirements (IC #3).  Section 323.13(c) requires that a 

Federally-regulated AMC report to the State or States in which it operates the 

information required to be submitted by the State pursuant to the ASC’s policies, 

including: (i) information regarding the determination of the AMC National 

Registry fee; and (ii) the information listed in section 323.12 of the Regulation.  

Section 323.12 provides that an AMC may not be registered by a State or 

included on the AMC National Registry if such company is owned, directly or 

indirectly, by any person who has had an appraiser license or certificate refused, 

denied, cancelled, surrendered in lieu of revocation, or revoked in any State.  

Each person that owns more than 10 percent of an AMC is required to submit to a 

background investigation carried out by the State appraiser certifying and 

licensing agency.  While section 323.12 does not authorize States to conduct 

background investigations of Federally-regulated AMCs, it would allow a State to 

do so if the Federally-regulated AMC chooses to register voluntarily with the 

State. 

State Reporting Requirements (IC #4).   Section 323.14 requires that each State 

electing to register AMCs for purposes of permitting AMCs to provide appraisal 



 

 

management services relating to covered transactions in the State must submit to 

the ASC the information concerning such AMCs required to be submitted under 

the Regulation and any additional information required by the ASC. 

Burden Estimate Methodology and Assumptions: 

There is no change in the methodology or substance of this information 

collection. For the information collections described above, the general 

methodology is to compute the industry wide burden hours for States and 

appraisal management companies (AMCs) and then assign a share of the burden 

hours to each of the regulatory agencies for each information collection.  The 

Agencies are revising their burden estimates based on the following assumptions: 

IC #1: AMC Written Notice of Appraiser Removal from Network or Panel 

The burden for written notices of appraiser removal from a network or panel is 

estimated to be equal to the number of appraisers who leave the profession per 

year multiplied by the estimated percentage of appraisers who work for AMCs, 

then multiplied by burden hours per notice. The number of appraisers who leave 

is calculated by adding the number of appraisers who are laid off or resign to the 

number of appraisers that have had their licenses revoked or surrendered. The 

total burden hours are then split between the Federal Reserve Board (FRB), the 

Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC), the Federal Deposit Insurance 

Corporation (FDIC), and the Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA) in a ratio 

of 3:3:3:1 in accordance with the burden sharing agreement among the Agencies. 

Finally, the burden hours are calculated by multiplying the estimated number of 

written notices of appraiser removal (9,881) by the estimated burden per notice 



 

 

(0.08 hours) for a total of 790 burden hours.
1
 As previously mentioned, the total 

burden hours are then split between the FDIC, FRB, OCC, and the FHFA such 

that the FHFA is responsible for 79 hours and the other three agencies are 

responsible for 237 hours each. 

IC #2: Develop and Maintain a State Licensing Program.  The burden on the 

States for developing and maintaining an AMC licensing program is calculated by 

multiplying the number of states without a registration and licensing program by 

the hour burden to develop the system. The total burden hours are then equally 

divided among the FDIC, FRB, OCC, and FHFA. According to the Appraisal 

Institute as of July 26, 2017, there are 5 states that have not developed a system to 

register and oversee AMCs.
2
 The 2015 ICR estimate of the hour burden per state 

without a registration system was 40 hours. The FDIC does not believe this 

estimate needs to be updated for this renewal. Therefore, the total hour burden is 

200 hours: 5 states x 40 hours/state = 200 hours. Finally, the total hour burden is 

divided among the four agencies such that each agency is responsible for 50 

burden hours.
3
 

IC #3: AMC Reporting Requirements (State and Federal AMCs).  The burden 

for AMC reporting requirements is calculated by multiplying the number of 

AMCs by the frequency of response then by the burden per response. The burden 

hours are then divided between the FDIC, FRB, OCC, and FHFA at a ratio of 

                                                           
1
 The “per notice” burden estimate of 0.08 hours is unchanged from the estimate provided for the currently-

approved ICR. The subject matter experts at the FDIC do not believe this estimate needs to be updated for 

this renewal. 
2
 Appraisal Institute “Enacted State AMC Laws”. https://www.appraisalinstitute.org/advocacy/enacted-

state-amc-laws1/  
3
 The assumption to divide the burden hours between the agencies is based on a burden-sharing agreement 

among the FDIC, FRB, OCC, and FHFA. The burden hours are shared in the same ratio as the 2015 ICR. 



 

 

3:3:3:1.
4
  FDIC estimates there are approximately 400 entities that provide 

appraisal management services as defined by section 323.9(d). Of these 400 

entities, FDIC estimates approximately 200 entities meet the definition of an 

AMC as defined by section 323.9(c).
5
  

The frequency of response is estimated as the number of states that do not have an 

AMC registration program in which the average AMC operates.
6
 According to the 

Appraisal Institute, Five (5) states do not have AMC registration or oversight 

programs.
7
 According to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), the 

average AMC operates in 19.56 states.
8
 Therefore, the average AMC operates in 

approximately 2 states that do not have AMC registration systems: (5 states/55 

states) x 19.56 states = 1.778 states ~ 2 states.  Therefore the total hour burden for 

IC #3 is 400 hours: 200 AMCs x 2 states (frequency) x 1 hour = 400 hours. The 

burden hours are then divided such that the FDIC, FRB, and OCC are each 

responsible for 120 burden hours and the FHFA is responsible for 40 burden 

hours.
9
 

IC #4: State Reporting Requirements to the Appraisal Subcommittee.  The 

burden hours for State reporting to the ASC are estimated by multiplying the 

number of states by the hour burden per state.
10

 Then the burden hours are divided 

                                                           
4
 Id. 

5
 The FDIC anticipates more definitive information will become available when AMC registration 

requirements become effective on August 10, 2018.  
6
 The number of states includes all U.S. states, territories, and districts to include: the Commonwealth of 

the Northern Mariana Islands, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. 
7
 Appraisal Institute “Enacted State AMC Laws”.  https://www.appraisalinstitute.org/advocacy/enacted-

state-amc-laws1/.  Date accessed: February 27, 2018. 
8
 The CFPB conducted a survey of 9 AMCs in 2013 regarding the provisions in the rule and the related 

PRA burden. 
9
 See footnote 9. 

10
 The number of states includes all U.S. states, territories, and districts to include: the Commonwealth of 

the Northern Mariana Islands, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.  



 

 

equally among the FDIC, FRB, OCC, and the FHFA. The total burden hour for 

state reporting is 50 hours: 55 states x 1 hour/state = 55 hours. This is then equally 

divided across the 4 agencies for 14 burden hours each, with rounding.
11

 

Request for Comment 

Comments are invited on:  (a) Whether the collection of information is necessary for the 

proper performance of the FDIC’s functions, including whether the information has 

practical utility; (b) the accuracy of the estimates of the burden of the information 

collection, including the validity of the methodology and assumptions used; (c) ways to 

enhance the quality, utility, and clarity of the information to be collected; and (d) ways to 

minimize the burden of the collection of information on respondents, including through 

the use of automated collection techniques or other forms of information technology.  All 

comments will become a matter of public record. 

 

Dated at Washington, DC, on April 27, 2018. 

 

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. 

 

Robert E. Feldman, 

Executive Secretary.

                                                                                                                                                                             

The burden estimate of 1 hour per report is unchanged from the estimate provided for the currently-

approved ICR. The subject matter experts at the FDIC do not believe this estimate needs to be updated for 

this renewal. 
11

 See footnote 9... 
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