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DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION [4910-EX-P]
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration

[Docket No. FMCSA-2014-0104; FMCSA-2012-0322; FMCSA-2012-0154; FMCSA-2015-
0326; FMCSA-2013-0122; FMCSA-2013-0123; FMCSA-2015-0329]

Quialification of Drivers; Exemption Applications; Hearing

AGENCY: Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), DOT.

ACTION: Notice of renewal of exemptions; request for comments.

SUMMARY: FMCSA announces its decision to renew exemptions for 11 individuals from
the hearing requirement in the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) for
interstate commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers. The exemptions enable these hard of
hearing and deaf individuals to continue to operate CMVs in interstate commerce.

DATES: Each group of renewed exemptions were applicable on the dates stated in the
discussions below and will expire on the dates stated in the discussions below. Comments must

be received on or before [INSERT DATE 30 DAYS AFTER DATE OF PUBLICATION IN

THE FEDERAL REGISTER.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Ms. Christine A. Hydock, Chief, Medical

Programs Division, 202-366-4001, fmcsamedical@dot.gov, FMCSA, Department of

Transportation, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Room W64-224, Washington, DC 20590-0001.
Office hours are from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., e.t., Monday through Friday, except Federal
holidays. If you have questions regarding viewing or submitting material to the docket, contact

Docket Services, telephone (202) 366-9826.



ADDRESSES: You may submit comments bearing the Federal Docket Management System
(FDMS) Docket No. FMCSA-2014-0104; FMCSA-2012-0322; FMCSA-2012-0154; FMCSA-
2015-0326; FMCSA-2013-0122; FMCSA-2013-0123; FMCSA-2015-0329. using any of the
following methods:

e Federal eRulemaking Portal: Go to http://www.requlations.gov. Follow the

online instructions for submitting comments.

e Mail: Docket Management Facility; U.S. Department of Transportation, 1200 New
Jersey Avenue, S.E., West Building Ground Floor, Room W12-140, Washington, DC
20590-0001.

e Hand Delivery: West Building Ground Floor, Room W12-140, 1200 New Jersey
Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., e.t., Monday through
Friday, except Federal Holidays.

o Fax: 1-202-493-2251.

Instructions: Each submission must include the Agency name and the docket number(s)
for this notice. Note that all comments received will be posted without change to
http://www.regulations.gov, including any personal information provided. Please see the
Privacy Act heading below for further information.

Docket: For access to the docket to read background documents or comments, go to
http://www.regulations.gov at any time or Room W12-140 on the ground level of the West
Building, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., e.t.,
Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays. The FDMS is available 24 hours each day,

365 days each year. If you want acknowledgment that we received your comments, please



include a self-addressed, stamped envelope or postcard or print the acknowledgement page that
appears after submitting comments online.

Privacy Act: In accordance with 5 U.S.C. 553(c), DOT solicits comments from the
public to better inform its rulemaking process. DOT posts these comments, without edit,
including any personal information the commenter provides, to http://www.regulations.gov, as
described in the system of records notice (DOT/ALL-14 FDMS), which can be reviewed at

http://www.dot.gov/privacy.

. Background

Under 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315, FMCSA may grant an exemption for five years if
it finds “such exemption would likely achieve a level of safety that is equivalent to or greater
than the level that would be achieved absent such exemption.” The statute also allows the
Agency to renew exemptions at the end of the five-year period. FMCSA grants exemptions
from the FMCSRs for a two-year period to align with the maximum duration of a driver’s
medical certification.

The physical qualification standard for drivers regarding hearing found in 49 CFR
391.41(b)(11) states that a person is physically qualified to driver a CMV if that person first
perceives a forced whispered voice in the better ear at not less than 5 feet with or without the
use of a hearing aid or, if tested by use of an audiometric device, does not have an average
hearing loss in the better ear greater than 40 decibels at 500 Hz, 1,000 Hz, and 2,000 Hz with or
without a hearing aid when the audiometric device is calibrated to American National Standard
(formerly ASA Standard) Z24.5—1951.

49 CFR 391.41(b)(11) was adopted in 1970, with a revision in 1971 to allow drivers to



be qualified under this standard while wearing a hearing aid, 35 FR 6458, 6463 (April 22,
1970) and 36 FR 12857 (July 3, 1971).

The 11 individuals listed in this notice have requested renewal of their exemptions from
the hearing standard in 49 CFR 391.41(b)(11), in accordance with FMCSA procedures.
Accordingly, FMCSA has evaluated these applications for renewal on their merits and decided
to extend each exemption for a renewable two-year period.

1. Request for Comments

Interested parties or organizations possessing information that would otherwise
show that any, or all, of these drivers are not currently achieving the statutory level of
safety should immediately notify FMCSA. The Agency will evaluate any adverse evidence
submitted and, if safety is being compromised or if continuation of the exemption would not be
consistent with the goals and objectives of 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315, FMCSA will take
immediate steps to revoke the exemption of a driver.

1.  Basis for Renewing Exemptions

In accordance with 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315, each of the 11 applicants has
satisfied the renewal conditions for obtaining an exemption from the hearing requirement. The
11 drivers in this notice remain in good standing with the Agency. In addition, for Commercial
Driver’s License (CDL) holders, the Commercial Driver’s License Information System
(CDLIS) and the Motor Carrier Management Information System (MCMIS) are searched for
crash and violation data. For non-CDL holders, the Agency reviews the driving records from
the State Driver’s Licensing Agency (SDLA). These factors provide an adequate basis for

predicting each driver’s ability to continue to safely operate a CMV in interstate commerce.



Therefore, FMCSA concludes that extending the exemption for each of these drivers for a
period of two years is likely to achieve a level of safety equal to that existing without the
exemption.

In accordance with 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315, the following groups of drivers
received renewed exemptions in the month of January and are discussed below.

As of January 6, 2018, and in accordance with 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315, the
following 3 individuals have satisfied the renewal conditions for obtaining an exemption from
the hearing requirement in the FMCSRs for interstate CMV drivers:

John Brown (MN), Jerry Doose (MN); and Donald Howton (W1).

The drivers were included in docket numbers FMCSA-2015-0326; and FMCSA-2015-
0329. Their exemptions are applicable as of January 6, 2018, and will expire on January 6,
2020.

As of January 14, 2018, and in accordance with 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315, the
following 8 individuals have satisfied the renewal conditions for obtaining an exemption from

the hearing requirement in the FMCSRs for interstate CMV drivers:

Canoyer, Geoffery (MN) Nelson DelLeon (FL) Jerry Ferguson (TX)
Sue Gregory (UT) William Larson (NC) James Queen (TX)
Morris Townsend (NC) Charles Wirick (MD)

The drivers were included in docket numbers FMCSA-2014-0104; FMCSA-2012-0322;
FMCSA-2012-0154; FMCSA-2013-0122; FMCSA-2013-0123. Their exemptions are
applicable as of January 14, 2018, and will expire on January 14, 2020.

Conditions and Requirements



The exemptions are extended subject to the following conditions: (1) each driver must
report any crashes or accidents as defined in 49 CFR 390.5; and (2) report all citations and
convictions for disqualifying offenses under 49 CFR part 383 and 49 CFR 391 to FMCSA,; and
(3) each driver prohibited from operating a motorcoach or bus with passengers in interstate
commerce. The driver must also have a copy of the exemption when driving, for presentation to
a duly authorized Federal, State, or local enforcement official. In addition, the exemption does
not exempt the individual from meeting the applicable CDL testing requirements. Each
exemption will be valid for two years unless rescinded earlier by FMCSA. The exemption will
be rescinded if: (1) the person fails to comply with the terms and conditions of the exemption;
(2) the exemption has resulted in a lower level of safety than was maintained before it was
granted; or (3) continuation of the exemption would not be consistent with the goals and
objectives of 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315.

V. Preemption

During the period the exemption is in effect, no State shall enforce any law or
regulation that conflicts with this exemption with respect to a person operating under the
exemption.

V. Conclusion

Based upon its evaluation of the 11 exemption applications, FMCSA renews the
exemptions of the aforementioned drivers from the hearing requirement in 49 CFR 391.41
(b)(11). In accordance with 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315, each exemption will be valid for

two years unless revoked earlier by FMCSA.



Issued on: February 7, 2018.

Larry W. Minor,
Associate Administrator for Policy.
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