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DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION [4910-EX-P] 

 

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 

 

[Docket No. FMCSA-2014-0102]  

Qualification of Drivers; Exemption Applications; Hearing   

 

AGENCY:  Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), DOT. 

 

ACTION:  Notice of renewal of exemptions; request for comments. 

SUMMARY:  FMCSA announces its decision to renew the exemption for one individual 

from the hearing requirement in the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) 

for interstate commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers. The exemption enables hard of 

hearing and deaf individuals to continue to operate CMVs in interstate commerce.  

DATES:  The renewed exemption was effective on May 21, 2016. The renewed 

exemption will expire on May 21, 2018. Comments must be received on or before 

[INSERT DATE 30 DAYS AFTER DATE OF PUBLICATION IN THE FEDERAL 

REGISTER]. 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Ms. Christine A. Hydock, Chief, 

Medical Programs Division, 202-366-4001, fmcsamedical@dot.gov, FMCSA, 

Department of Transportation, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Room W64-224, 

Washington, DC 20590-0001. Office hours are from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., e.t., Monday 

through Friday, except Federal holidays. If you have questions regarding viewing or 

submitting material to the docket, contact Docket Services, telephone (202) 366-9826.  

ADDRESSES: You may submit comments bearing the Federal Docket Management 

System (FDMS) Docket No. FMCSA-2014-0102] using any of the following methods:  

https://federalregister.gov/d/2016-31553
https://federalregister.gov/d/2016-31553.pdf
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 Federal eRulemaking Portal: Go to http://www.regulations.gov.  Follow the  

online instructions for submitting comments. 

 Mail:  Docket Management Facility; U.S. Department of Transportation, 1200 

New Jersey Avenue, S.E., West Building Ground Floor, Room W12-140, 

Washington, DC 20590-0001.  

 Hand Delivery:  West Building Ground Floor, Room W12-140, 1200 New 

Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. e.t., Monday 

through Friday, except Federal Holidays. 

 Fax:  1-202-493-2251. 

Instructions:  Each submission must include the Agency name and the docket 

number(s) for this notice.  Note that all comments received will be posted without change 

to http://www.regulations.gov, including any personal information provided.  Please see 

the Privacy Act heading below for further information.   

Docket:  For access to the docket to read background documents or comments, go 

to http://www.regulations.gov at any time or Room W12-140 on the ground level of the 

West Building, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC, between 9 a.m. and 5 

p.m., Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays.  The FDMS is available 24 hours 

each day, 365 days each year.  If you want acknowledgment that we received your 

comments, please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope or postcard or print the 

acknowledgement page that appears after submitting comments online. 

Privacy Act:  In accordance with 5 U.S.C. 553(c), DOT solicits comments from 

the public to better inform its rulemaking process. DOT posts these comments, without 
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edit, including any personal information the commenter provides, to 

http://www.regulations.gov, as described in the system of records notice (DOT/ALL-14 

FDMS), which can be reviewed at http://www.dot.gov/privacy.  

I. Background  

Under 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315, FMCSA may grant an exemption for two 

years if it finds “such exemption would likely achieve a level of safety that is equivalent 

to or greater than the level that would be achieved absent such exemption.” The statute 

also allows the Agency to renew exemptions at the end of the two-year period. 

The physical qualification standard for drivers regarding hearing found in 49 CFR 

391.41(b)(11) states that a person is physically qualified to driver a CMV if that person: 

First perceives a forced whispered voice in the better ear at not less than 5 

feet with or without the use of a hearing aid or, if tested by use of an 

audiometric device, does not have an average hearing loss in the better ear 

greater than 40 decibels at 500 Hz, 1,000 Hz, and 2,000 Hz with or 

without a hearing aid when the audiometric device is calibrated to 

American National Standard (formerly ASA Standard) Z24.5—1951. 

 

49 CFR 391.41(b)(11) was adopted in 1970, with a revision in 1971 to allow 

drivers to be qualified under this standard while wearing a hearing aid, 35 FR 6458, 6463 

(April 22, 1970) and 36 FR 12857 (July 3, 1971). 

The individual listed in this notice has requested a renewal of his exemption from 

the hearing standard in 49 CFR 391.41(b)(11), in accordance with FMCSA procedures. 

Accordingly, FMCSA has evaluated this application for renewal on its merits and 

decided to extend each exemption for a renewable two-year period. 

II. Request for Comments 

 

Interested parties or organizations possessing information that would otherwise  
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show that any, or all, of these drivers are not currently achieving the statutory level of  

safety should immediately notify FMCSA. The Agency will evaluate any adverse evidence  

submitted and, if safety is being compromised or if continuation of the exemption would 

not be consistent with the goals and objectives of 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315, FMCSA 

will take immediate steps to revoke the exemption of a driver. 

III. Basis for Renewing Exemptions 

Under 49 U.S.C. 31315(b)(1), an exemption may be granted for no longer than 

two years from its approval date and may be renewed upon application. In accordance 

with 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315, this applicant has satisfied the renewal conditions 

for obtaining an exemption from the hearing requirement (80 FR 22768). In addition, for 

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) holders, the Commercial Driver’s License 

Information System (CDLIS) and the Motor Carrier Management Information System 

(MCMIS) are searched for crash and violation data. For non-CDL holders, the Agency 

reviews the driving records from the State Driver’s Licensing Agency (SDLA). These 

factors provide an adequate basis for predicting each driver’s ability to continue to safely 

operate a CMV in interstate commerce.  

The driver in this notice remains in good standing with the Agency and has not 

exhibited any medical issues that would compromise his ability to safely operate a CMV 

during the previous two-year exemption period. FMCSA has concluded that renewing the 

exemption for this applicant is likely to achieve a level of safety equal to that existing 

without the exemption. Therefore, FMCSA has decided to renew each exemption in 

accordance with 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315 for a two-year period.  
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As of May 21, 2016, Timothy Gallagher (PA) has satisfied the renewal conditions 

for obtaining an exemption from the hearing requirement in 49 CFR 391.41(b)(11), from 

driving CMVs in interstate commerce. This driver was included in FMCSA-2014-0102. 

This exemption was effective on May 21, 2016, and will expire on May 21, 2018.   

IV.  Conditions and Requirements 

The exemptions are extended subject to the following conditions:  (1) each driver 

must report any crashes or accidents as defined in 49 CFR 390.5; and (2) report all 

citations and convictions for disqualifying offenses under 49 CFR part 383 and 49 CFR 

391 to FMCSA. In addition, the driver must also have a copy of the exemption when 

driving, for presentation to a duly authorized Federal, State, or local enforcement official. 

The driver is prohibited from operating a motorcoach or bus with passengers in interstate 

commerce. The exemption does not exempt the individual from meeting the applicable 

CDL testing requirements. Each exemption will be valid for two years unless rescinded 

earlier by FMCSA. The exemption will be rescinded if:  (1) the person fails to comply 

with the terms and conditions of the exemption; (2) the exemption has resulted in a lower 

level of safety than was maintained before it was granted; or (3) continuation of the 

exemption would not be consistent with the goals and objectives of 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) 

and 31315. 
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IV. Conclusion 

 

Based upon its evaluation of this exemption application, FMCSA renews the 

exemption of the aforementioned driver from the hearing requirement in 49 CFR 391.41 

(b)(11). In accordance with 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315, the exemption will be valid 

for two years unless revoked earlier by FMCSA. 

  

Issued on:  December 21, 2016 

    

   

 Larry W. Minor 

 Associate Administrator for Policy 
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