
This document is scheduled to be published in the
Federal Register on 11/27/2015 and available online at 
http://federalregister.gov/a/2015-30143, and on FDsys.gov

 

1 

 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION  [4910-EX-P] 

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 

[Docket No. FMCSA-2015-0397]  

Commercial Driver’s License: Oregon Department of Transportation; Application 

for Exemption 

 

AGENCY:  Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), DOT. 

ACTION:  Notice of application for exemption; request for comments. 

SUMMARY:  FMCSA announces that it has received an application from the Oregon 

Department of Transportation (ODOT) for a limited exemption from the Agency’s 

commercial learner’s permit (CLP) requirement in 49 CFR 383.25(c).  The regulation 

provides that the CLP be valid for no more than 180 days from the date of issuance.  The 

State of issuance may renew the CLP for an additional 180 days without requiring the 

CLP holder to retake the general and endorsement knowledge tests.  ODOT proposes 

that it be allowed to extend the 180-day timeline to one year for CLPs issued to its 

drivers for multiple reasons.  ODOT believes that there would be no impact on safety if 

the exemption is granted.  FMCSA requests public comment on ODOT’s application for 

exemption.  In addition, because the issues concerning ODOT’s request could be 

applicable to each State, FMCSA requests public comments  whether the exemption, if 

granted, should apply to all State Driver’s Licensing Agencies (SDLAs).  

DATES:  Comments must be received on or before [INSERT DATE 30 DAYS AFTER 

PUBLICATION IN THE FEDERAL REGISTER].   

ADDRESSES:  You may submit comments bearing the Federal Docket Management 

System (FDMS) Docket ID FMCSA FMCSA-2015-0397 using any of the following 

methods: 

http://federalregister.gov/a/2015-30143
http://federalregister.gov/a/2015-30143.pdf
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 Federal eRulemaking Portal:  www.regulations.gov.  Follow the online 

instructions for submitting comments. 

 Mail:  Docket Management Facility, U.S. Department of Transportation, 1200 

New Jersey Avenue, SE., West Building, Ground Floor, Room W12-140, Washington, 

DC  20590-0001. 

 Hand Delivery or Courier: West Building, Ground Floor, Room W12-140, 1200 

New Jersey Avenue, SE., between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, except 

Federal holidays. 

 Fax:  1-202-493-2251 

           Each submission must include the Agency name and the docket number for this 

notice. Note that DOT posts all comments received without change to 

www.regulations.gov, including any personal information included in a comment.  Please 

see the Privacy Act heading below. 

Docket: For access to the docket to read background documents or comments, go to 

www.regulations.gov at any time or visit Room W12-140 on the ground level of the West 

Building, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE, Washington, DC, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., 

ET, Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays.  The on-line FDMS is available 24 

hours each day, 365 days each year.  If you want acknowledgment that we received your 

comments, please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope or postcard or print the 

acknowledgement page that appears after submitting comments on-line. 

Privacy Act: In accordance with 5 USC 553(c), DOT solicits comments from the public 

to better inform its rulemaking process. DOT posts these comments, without edit, 

including any personal information the commenter provides, to www.regulations.gov, as 
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described in the system of records notice (DOT/ALL-14 FDMS), which can be reviewed 

at www.dot.gov/privacy.  

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:  For information concerning this 

notice, contact Ms. Pearlie Robinson, FMCSA Driver and Carrier Operations Division; 

Office of Carrier, Driver and Vehicle Safety Standards; Telephone: 202-366-4325.  E-

mail: MCPSD@dot.gov.  If you have questions on viewing or submitting material to the 

docket, contact Docket Services, telephone (202) 366-9826. 

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: 

I. Public Participation and Request for Comments 

FMCSA encourages you to participate by submitting comments and related materials. 

Submitting Comments   

 If you submit a comment, please include the docket number for this notice 

(FMCSA-2015-0397), indicate the specific section of this document to which the 

comment applies, and provide a reason for suggestions or recommendations.  You may 

submit your comments and material online or by fax, mail, or hand delivery, but please 

use only one of these means. FMCSA recommends that you include your name and a 

mailing address, an e-mail address, or a phone number in the body of your document so 

the Agency can contact you if it has questions regarding your submission.   

 To submit your comment online, go to www.regulations.gov and put the docket 

number, “FMCSA-2015-0397” in the “Keyword” box, and click “Search.”  When the 

new screen appears, click on “Comment Now!” button and type your comment into the 

text box in the following screen. Choose whether you are submitting your comment as an 

individual or on behalf of a third party and then submit.  If you submit your comments by 

mail or hand delivery, submit them in an unbound format, no larger than 8½ by 11 
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inches, suitable for copying and electronic filing.  If you submit comments by mail and 

would like to know that they reached the facility, please enclose a stamped, self-

addressed postcard or envelope.  FMCSA will consider all comments and material 

received during the comment period and may grant or not grant this application based on 

your comments. 

Viewing Comments and Documents   

To view comments, as well as documents mentioned in this preamble as being 

available in the docket, go to www.regulations.gov and insert the docket number, 

“FMCSA-2015-0397” in the “Keyword” box and click “Search.”  Next, click “Open 

Docket Folder” button and choose the document listed to review.  If you do not have 

access to the Internet, you may view the docket online by visiting the Docket 

Management Facility in Room W12-140 on the ground floor of the DOT West Building, 

1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE., Washington, DC 20590, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., e.t., 

Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays.   

II.  Legal Basis  

           FMCSA has authority under 49 U.S.C. 31136(e) and 31315 to grant exemptions 

from certain parts of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations.  FMCSA must 

publish a notice of each exemption request in the Federal Register (49 CFR 

381.315(a)).  The Agency must provide the public an opportunity to inspect the 

information relevant to the application, including any safety analyses that have been 

conducted.  The Agency must also provide an opportunity for public comment on the 

request.   

The Agency reviews safety analyses and public comments submitted, and 

determines whether granting the exemption would likely achieve a level of safety 
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equivalent to, or greater than, the level that would be achieved by the current regulation 

(49 CFR 381.305).  The decision of the Agency must be published in the Federal 

Register (49 CFR 381.315(b)) with the reasons for denying or granting the application 

and, if granted, the name of the person or class of persons receiving the exemption, and 

the regulatory provision from which the exemption is granted.  The notice must also 

specify the effective period and explain the terms and conditions of the exemption.  The 

exemption may be renewed (49 CFR 381.300(b)). 

III.    Request for Exemption 

     ODOT requests an exemption from the Agency’s CLP requirement in 49 CFR 

383.25(c).  The regulation provides that the CLP be valid for no more than 180 days from 

the date of issuance.  The State may renew the CLP for an additional 180 days without 

requiring the CLP holder to retake the general and endorsement knowledge tests.  ODOT 

proposes that it be allowed to extend the 180-day timeline to one year for CLPs issued to 

its drivers.   

          ODOT provided multiple reasons for regulatory relief from the CLP rule.  First, 

ODOT believes that the 180-day time line required to renew the CLP adds nothing to the 

effectiveness of the rule itself, the purpose of which is to “enhance safety by ensuring that 

only qualified drivers are allowed to operate commercial vehicles on our nation’s 

highways” (76 FR 26854, May 9, 2011).  ODOT asserts that neither FMCSA staff nor the 

States were able to identify any highway safety enhancement arising from this 

requirement.  ODOT states that it is unaware of any data suggesting that persons who 

have not renewed their CLP or obtained their CDL within six months pose less risk on 

the Nation’s highways.  
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           Second, ODOT agrees that requiring CLP holders to retake the knowledge test 

after not obtaining a CDL within one year improves highway safety, but disagrees that 

the requirement for renewal at six months is needed.  According to ODOT, if the 

exemption is granted, ODOT’s CLP would have a validity period of one year with no 

renewal allowed.  All applicable knowledge tests would be required before a new CDL 

could be issued, which would accomplish the objective of not allowing a person to have a 

CLP longer than one year without passing knowledge tests. 

          The third reason for the request ODOT advises; is that Oregon’s “Department of 

Motor Vehicle (DMV) field offices have a very large volume of work to accomplish and, 

at best, limited resources with which to accomplish it.  Adding the bureaucratic 

requirement for a CLP holder to visit a DMV office and pay a fee in order to get a second 

six months of CLP validity will add unnecessary workload to offices already stretched to 

the limit.  ODOT is confident there would be no negative impact on safety if the 

exemption is granted.”     

           According to ODOT, “If this exemption is not granted, Oregon drivers with CLPs 

who have not passed the CDL skills test within six months of CLP issuance would have 

to go to a DMV office and pay for a renewal of the CLP.  This would cause undue 

hardship to the drivers, from the perspectives of both their time and their pocketbooks.  It 

would also cause undue hardship to our agency, where scarce resources would be used to 

process bureaucratic transactions that add nothing to highway safety.”  ODOT advises 

that it would not be able to change the validity period of the CLP until a statutory change 

can be made. 
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           In addition, because the issues concerning ODOT’s request could be applicable in 

each State, FMCSA requests public comment on whether the exemption, if granted, 

should apply to all SDLAs.  

A copy of ODOT’s application for exemption is available for review in the 

docket for this notice.  

                                        Issued on:  November 6, 2015. 

 

 

 

                                         __________________________  
                                         Larry W. Minor, 

                                         Associate Administrator for Policy. 
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