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DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS   Billing Code 8320-01 

Loan Guaranty:  Maximum Allowable Attorney Fees   

AGENCY: Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). 

ACTION: Notice; Correction. 

 

SUMMARY:   On July 31, 2015, the Department of Veterans Affairs published a notice 

in the Federal Register providing information to participants in the Department of 

Veterans Affairs (VA) Home Loan Guaranty program concerning the maximum attorney 

fees allowable in calculating the indebtedness used to determine the guaranty claim 

payable upon loan termination (80 FR 45718).  This notice contained two administrative 

errors.    

 

DATES:  These corrections will be effective as of [INSERT DATE OF PUBLICATION IN 

THE FEDERAL REGISTER]. 

 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:  Mr. Andrew Trevayne, Assistant Director 

for Loan and Property Management (261), Loan Guaranty Service, Department of 

Veterans Affairs, Washington, DC 20420, (202) 632-8795 (Not a toll-free number). 

 

http://federalregister.gov/a/2015-19771
http://federalregister.gov/a/2015-19771.pdf


SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: In the Federal Register of July 31, 2015, FR Doc. 

# 2015-18762, the table representing the Secretary’s determination of the reasonable 

and customary cost of legal services needs to be replaced with the following table:  

 

Jurisdiction VA Non-Judicial 

Foreclosure1,2 

VA Judicial 

Foreclosure1,2 

Deed-in-Lieu of 

Foreclosure 

Alabama $1325 N/A $350 

Alaska $1600 N/A $350 

Arizona $1350 N/A $350 

Arkansas $1400 N/A $350 

California $1350 N/A $350 

Colorado $1650 N/A $350 

Connecticut N/A $2450 $350 

Delaware N/A $1800 $350 

District of Columbia $1200 $2300 $350 

Florida N/A $2800 $350 

Georgia $1325 N/A $350 

Guam $1600 N/A $350 

Hawaii N/A $2950 $350 

Idaho $1150 N/A $350 

Illinois N/A $2300 $350 

Indiana N/A $2050 $350 

Iowa $850 $1880 $350 



Kansas N/A $1800 $350 

Kentucky N/A $2250 $350 

Louisiana N/A $1900 $350 

Maine N/A $2300 $350 

Maryland $2400 N/A $350 

Massachusetts N/A $2550 $350 

Michigan $1425 N/A $350 

Minnesota $1450 N/A $350 

Mississippi $1200 N/A $350 

Missouri $1350 N/A $350 

Montana $1150 N/A $350 

Nebraska $1150 N/A $350 

Nevada $1525 N/A $350 

New Hampshire $1350 N/A $350 

New Jersey N/A $2975 $350 

New Mexico N/A $2000 $350 

New York—Western 

Counties3 

N/A $2675 $350 

New York—Eastern Counties N/A $3475 $350 

North Carolina $1575 N/A $350 

North Dakota N/A $1750 $350 

Ohio N/A $2250 $350 

Oklahoma N/A $2000 $350 



Oregon $1350 $2600 $350 

Pennsylvania N/A $2350 $350 

Puerto Rico N/A $2050 $350 

Rhode Island $1725 N/A $350 

South Carolina N/A $1650 $350 

South Dakota N/A $2200 $350 

Tennessee $1200 N/A $350 

Texas $1325 N/A $350 

Utah $1350 N/A $350 

Vermont N/A $2250 $350 

Virgin Islands N/A $1800 $350 

Virginia $1350 N/A $350 

Washington $1350 N/A $350 

West Virginia $1150 N/A $350 

Wisconsin N/A $2000 $350 

Wyoming $1150 N/A $350 

1When a foreclosure is stopped due to circumstances beyond the control of the holder or 

its attorney (including, but not limited to bankruptcy, VA-requested delay, property 

damage, hazardous conditions, condemnation, natural disaster, property seizure, or relief 

under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act) and then restarted, VA will allow a $350 

restart fee in addition to the base foreclosure attorney fee.  This fee recognizes the 

additional work required to resume the foreclosure action, while also accounting for the 

expectation that some work from the previous action may be utilized in starting the new 



action. 

2VA will allow attorney fees of $650 (Chapter 7) or $850 (initial Chapter 13) for obtaining 

bankruptcy releases directly related to loan termination. For additional requests for relief 

filed under each bankruptcy chapter, VA will allow an additional $250. 

3Western Counties of New York for VA are: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, 

Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Steuben, Wayne, Wyoming, 

and Yates.  The remaining counties are in Eastern New York.  

 

 

Second, in the last sentence of the Supplementary Information section of the published 

Notice, on page 1, reference was made to Paragraph (b)(5)(ii) of section 34.4314.  

Change this reference to section 36.4314 vs. 34.4314.    

 

Dated: August 6, 2015. 

 

___________________________  

Michael Shores, Chief, Impact Analyses, 

Office of Regulation Policy & Management, 

Office of the General Counsel, 

Department of Veterans Affairs. 
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