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ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY 

40 CFR Part 60 

[EPA–HQ–OAR–2003-0119; FRL-9919-27-OAR] 

RIN 2060-AR11  

Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources and Emission 
Guidelines for Existing Sources: Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste 
Incineration Units 
 
AGENCY: Environmental Protection Agency.  

ACTION: Proposed rule. 

SUMMARY: On February 7, 2013, the Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) promulgated its final response to petitions for 

reconsideration of the final new source performance standards 

(NSPS) and emission guidelines (EG) for commercial and 

industrial solid waste incineration (CISWI) units that were 

promulgated on March 21, 2011. Following promulgation of the 

February 2013 final action, the Administrator received petitions 

for reconsideration that identified issues that petitioners 

maintain require additional reconsideration and/or warrant 

further opportunity for public comment. In this action, the EPA 

is granting reconsideration on four provisions of the February 

2013 final NSPS and EG for CISWI units. In addition, the EPA 

identified regulatory provisions that require clarification and 

editorial correction to address inconsistencies and errors in 

the final rules. The proposed amendments provide additional 
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clarity and improve the implementation of the February 2013 

final CISWI standards, but do not have any environmental, energy 

or economic impacts associated with the proposed action.  

DATES: Comments. Comments must be received on or before [insert 

date 45 days after publication in the Federal Register], or 30 

days after date of public hearing, if later.  

Public Hearing. If anyone contacts us requesting to speak 

at a public hearing by [insert date 5 days after date of 

publication in the Federal Register], a public hearing will be 

held on [insert date 15 days after date of publication in the 

Federal Register]. If you are interested in attending the public 

hearing, contact Ms. Virginia Hunt at (919) 541-0832 to verify 

that a hearing will be held. 

ADDRESSES: Submit your comments, identified by Docket ID No. 

EPA-HQ-OAR-2003-0119, by one of the following methods: 

•  www.regulations.gov: Follow the on-line instructions for 
submitting comments. 

•  Email: a-and-r-docket@epa.gov. 

•  Fax: (202) 566-1741. 

•  Mail: EPA Docket Center (EPA/DC), Mailcode: 28221T, 1200 
Pennsylvania Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20460. The EPA 
requests a separate copy also be sent to the contact person 
identified below (see FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT).  

•  Hand Delivery: EPA Docket Center, Room 3334, EPA WJC West 
Building, 1301 Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, DC. 
Such deliveries are only accepted during the Docket’s 
normal hours of operation, and special arrangements should 
be made for deliveries of boxed information. 
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Instructions: Direct your comments to Docket ID No. EPA-HQ-

OAR-2003-0119. The EPA’s policy is that all comments received 

will be included in the public docket without change and may be 

made available on-line at www.regulations.gov, including any 

personal information provided, unless the comment includes 

information claimed to be Confidential Business Information 

(CBI) or other information whose disclosure is restricted by 

statute. Do not submit information that you consider to be CBI 

or otherwise protected through www.regulations.gov or email. The 

www.regulations.gov Web site is an “anonymous access” system, 

which means the EPA will not know your identity or contact 

information unless you provide it in the body of your comment. 

If you send an email comment directly to the EPA without going 

through www.regulations.gov, your email address will be 

automatically captured and included as part of the comment that 

is placed in the public docket and made available on the 

Internet. If you submit an electronic comment, the EPA 

recommends that you include your name and other contact 

information in the body of your comment and with any disk or CD-

ROM you submit. If the EPA cannot read your comment due to 

technical difficulties and cannot contact you for clarification, 

the EPA may not be able to consider your comment. Electronic 

files should avoid the use of special characters, any form of 

encryption and be free of any defects or viruses.  
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Public Hearing: If anyone contacts the EPA requesting a 

public hearing by [insert date 5 days after date of publication 

in the Federal Register], the public hearing will be held on 

[insert date 15 days after date of publication in the Federal 

Register] at the EPA’s campus at 109 T.W. Alexander Drive, 

Research Triangle Park, North Carolina. The hearing will begin 

at 1:00 p.m. (Eastern Standard Time) and conclude at 5:00 p.m. 

(Eastern Standard Time). Please contact Ms. Virginia Hunt at 

919–541–0832 or at hunt.virginia@epa.gov to register to speak at 

the hearing or to inquire as to whether or not a hearing will be 

held. The last day to pre-register to speak at the hearing will 

be [insert date 12 days after publication in the Federal 

Register]. Additionally, requests to speak will be taken the day 

of the hearing at the hearing registration desk, although 

preferences on speaking times may not be able to be fulfilled. 

If you require the service of a translator or special 

accommodations such as audio description, please let us know at 

the time of registration. If you require an accommodation we ask 

that you pre-register for the hearing, as we may not be able to 

arrange such accommodations without advance notice. The hearing 

will provide interested parties the opportunity to present data, 

views or arguments concerning the proposed action. The EPA will 

make every effort to accommodate all speakers who arrive and 

register. Because these hearing are being held at U.S. 
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government facilities, individuals planning to attend the 

hearing should be prepared to show valid picture identification 

to the security staff in order to gain access to the meeting 

room. Please note that the REAL ID Act, passed by Congress in 

2005, established new requirements for entering federal 

facilities. If your driver’s license is issued by Alaska, 

American Samoa, Arizona, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, 

Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, New York, Oklahoma or the 

state of Washington, you must present an additional form of 

identification to enter the federal building. Acceptable 

alternative forms of identification include: Federal employee 

badges, passports, enhanced driver’s licenses and military 

identification cards. In addition, you will need to obtain a 

property pass for any personal belongings you bring with you. 

Upon leaving the building, you will be required to return this 

property pass to the security desk. No large signs will be 

allowed in the building, cameras may only be used outside of the 

building and demonstrations will not be allowed on federal 

property for security reasons. The EPA may ask clarifying 

questions during the oral presentations, but will not respond to 

the presentations at that time. Written statements and 

supporting information submitted during the comment period will 

be considered with the same weight as oral comments and 
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supporting information presented at the public hearing. Again a 

hearing will not be held unless requested. 

Docket: All documents in the docket are listed in the 

www.regulations.gov index. Although listed in the index, some 

information is not publicly available, e.g., CBI or other 

information whose disclosure is restricted by statute. Certain 

other material, such as copyrighted material, will be publicly 

available only in hard copy. Publicly available docket materials 

are available either electronically in www.regulations.gov or in 

hard copy at the EPA Docket Center (EPA/DC), WJC West Building, 

Room 3334, 1301 Constitution Ave., NW, Washington, DC. The 

Public Reading Room is open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday 

through Friday, excluding legal holidays. The telephone number 

for the Public Reading Room is (202) 566-1744, and the telephone 

number for the Air Docket is (202) 566-1742. 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: For further information, 

contact Ms. Toni Jones, Fuels and Incineration Group, Sector 

Policies and Programs Division (E143–05), Environmental 

Protection Agency, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina 27711; 

telephone number: (919) 541–0316; fax number: (919) 541–3470; 

email address: jones.toni@epa.gov.  

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:  

Acronyms and Abbreviations. The following acronyms and 

abbreviations are used in this document.  
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Btu British Thermal Unit 
CAA Clean Air Act  
CBI Confidential Business Information 

Cd Cadmium  
CEMS Continuous Emissions Monitoring Systems  
CFR  Code of Federal Regulations 
CISWI Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incineration  
CO Carbon Monoxide  

CO2 Carbon Dioxide 

dscm Dry Standard Cubic Meter 
EG Emission Guidelines  
EJ Environmental Justice  

EPA U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
ERU Energy Recovery Unit 
ESP Electrostatic Precipitator  
FVF Fuel Variability Factor 
HCl Hydrogen Chloride  
Hg Mercury  

ICR Information Collection Request 
MACT Maximum Achievable Control Technology 
mg/dscm Milligrams per Dry Standard Cubic Meter 
mmBtu/hr Million British Thermal Units per Hour 
NAICS North American Industrial Classification System  
NESHAP National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants  

ng/dscm Nanograms per Dry Standard Cubic Meter 
NHSM Non-Hazardous Secondary Material(s) 
NOx Nitrogen Oxides 

NSPS New Source Performance Standards  
NTTAA National Technology Transfer and Advancement Act 
OAQPS Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards 
OMB Office of Management and Budget 
Pb Lead 
PM Particulate Matter 
ppm Parts Per Million 

ppmv Parts Per Million by Volume  
ppmvd Parts Per Million by Dry Volume  
PS Performance Specification 
RCRA Resource Conservation and Recovery Act  
RIN Regulatory Information Number  

SBA Small Business Administration) 
SO2 Sulfur Dioxide 

SSM Startup, Shutdown, and Malfunction  
The Court United States Court of Appeals for the District of 

Columbia Circuit 
TTN Technology Transfer Network  
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ug/dscm Micrograms per Dry Standard Cubic Meter 
UMRA Unfunded Mandates Reform Act 
U.S.C. United States Code 
VCS Voluntary Consensus Standards 
WWW World Wide Web 

Does this action apply to me? 

Categories and entities potentially affected by the 

proposed action are those that operate CISWI units. The NSPS and 

EG, hereinafter referred to as “standards,” for CISWI affect the 

following categories of sources: 

Category 
NAICSa 

Code 
Examples of potentially regulated 

entities 
Any industrial 
or commercial 
facility using 
a solid waste 
incinerator 

211, 212, 
486 

Mining, oil and gas exploration 
operations; pipeline operators 

 221 Utility providers 

 
321, 322, 
337 

Manufacturers of wood products; 
manufacturers of pulp, paper and 
paperboard; manufacturers of furniture 
and related products  

 325, 326 
Manufacturers of chemicals and allied 
products; manufacturers of plastics and 
rubber products 

 327 
Manufacturers of cement; nonmetallic 
mineral product manufacturing 
 

 333, 336 
Manufacturers of machinery; manufacturers 
of transportation equipment  

 423, 44,  
Merchant wholesalers, durable goods; 
retail trade 

a North American Industrial Classification System 
 

This table is not intended to be exhaustive, but rather 

provides a guide for readers regarding entities likely to be 

affected by the proposed action. To determine whether your 

facility would be affected by the proposed action, you should 

examine the applicability criteria in 40 CFR 60.2010 of subpart 
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CCCC, 40 CFR 60.2505 of subpart DDDD and 40 CFR 241. If you have 

any questions regarding the applicability of the proposed action 

to a particular entity, contact the person listed in the 

preceding FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT section. 

What should I consider as I prepare my comments to the EPA? 

Submitting CBI. Do not submit information that you consider 

to be CBI electronically through http://www.regulations.gov, or 

email. For comments on the CISWI reconsideration and proposal, 

send or deliver information identified as CBI to only the 

following address: Mr. Roberto Morales, c/o OAQPS Document 

Control Officer (Room C404-02), U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina 27711, Attn: 

Docket ID No. EPA-HQ-OAR-2003-0119.  

Clearly mark the part or all of the information that you 

claim to be CBI. For CBI information in a disk or CD-ROM that 

you mail to the EPA, mark the outside of the disk or CD-ROM as 

CBI and then identify electronically within the disk or CD-ROM 

the specific information that is claimed as CBI. In addition to 

one complete version of the comment that includes information 

claimed as CBI, a copy of the comment that does not contain the 

information claimed as CBI must be submitted for inclusion in 

the public docket. If you submit a disk or CD-ROM that does not 

contain CBI, mark the outside of the disk or CD-ROM clearly that 

it does not contain CBI. Information marked as CBI will not be 
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disclosed except in accordance with procedures set forth in 40 

CFR part 2. 

If you have any questions about CBI or the procedures for 

claiming CBI, please consult the person identified in the FOR 

FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT section. 

How do I obtain a copy of this document and other related 

information? 

The docket number for the proposed action regarding the 

CISWI NSPS (40 CFR part 60, subpart CCCC) and EG (40 CFR part 

60, subpart DDDD) is Docket ID No. EPA–HQ–OAR–2003–0119. 

World Wide Web 

In addition to being available in the docket, an electronic 

copy of the proposed action is available on the World Wide Web 

(WWW) through the Technology Transfer Network (TTN) Web. 

Following signature, the EPA posted a copy of the proposed 

action at http://www.epa.gov/ttn/atw/129/ciwi/ciwipg.html. The 

TTN provides information and technology exchange in various 

areas of air pollution control.  

Organization of this Document. The following outline is 

provided to aid in locating information in this preamble.  

 

I. General Information 
A. Background Information 
B. Actions We Are Taking 
C. Discussion of Issues for Reconsideration 
1. Definition of “CEMS Data During Startup and Shutdown Periods” 
2. PM Limit for the Waste-burning Kiln Subcategory 
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3. FVF for Coal-burning Energy Recovery Units 
4. Definition of Kiln 
D. Technical Corrections and Clarifications 
1. 2000 CISWI New Source Applicability Clarification for Incinerators 
and Air Curtain Incinerators 
2. Typographical Errors and Corrections 
3. Clarifications 
E. Environmental, Energy and Economic Impacts 
F. Affirmative Defense for Violation of Emission Standards During 
Malfunction 

II Statutory and Executive Order Reviews 
A. Executive Order 12866: Regulatory Planning and Review and Executive 
Order 13563: Improving Regulation and Regulatory Review 
B. Paperwork Reduction Act 
C. Regulatory Flexibility Act 
D. Unfunded Mandates Reform Act 
E. Executive Order 13132: Federalism 
F. Executive Order 13175: Consultation and Coordination with Indian 
Tribal Governments 
G. Executive Order 13045: Protection of Children from Environmental 
Health Risks and Safety Risks 
H. Executive Order 13211: Actions Concerning Regulations That 
Significantly Affect Energy Supply, Distribution, or Use 
I. National Technology Transfer and Advancement Act 
J. Executive Order 12898: Federal Actions to Address Environmental 
Justice in Minority Populations and Low-Income Populations 
 
I. General Information 

A. Background Information  

On March 21, 2011, the EPA promulgated revised NSPS and EG 

for CISWI units (i.e., solid waste incineration units located at 

commercial or industrial facilities). Following that action, the 

Administrator received petitions for reconsideration that 

identified certain issues that warranted further opportunity for 

public comment. In response to the petitions, the EPA 

reconsidered and requested comment on several provisions of the 

February 2011 final NSPS and EG for commercial and industrial 

solid waste incineration units. The EPA published the proposed 
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revisions to the NSPS and EG for commercial and industrial solid 

waste units on December 23, 2011 (76 FR 80452).  

On February 7, 2013, the EPA promulgated the final 

reconsidered NSPS and EG for CISWI units (78 FR 9112). The final 

rule made some revisions to the December 2011 proposed 

reconsideration rule in response to comments and additional 

information received. Following that action, the EPA again 

received petitions for reconsideration. These petitions stated 

certain provisions should be reconsidered and that the public 

lacked sufficient opportunity to comment on some of the 

provisions contained in the final 2013 CISWI rule. In this 

action, the EPA is reconsidering and requesting comment on four 

provisions of the 2013 final NSPS and EG for CISWI units. 

Additionally, the EPA is proposing clarifying changes and 

corrections to the final rule, some of which are raised in 

petitions for reconsideration of the 2013 CISWI rule. The EPA is 

also proposing to amend the final rule by removing the 

affirmative defense provision. The EPA continues to evaluate the 

remaining issues raised in the petitions for reconsideration. 

For a more detailed background and additional information on how 

this rule is related to other CAA combustion rules issued under 

section 112 and the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act 

(RCRA) definition of solid waste, refer to prior notices (76 FR 

15704, 78 FR 9112). 
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B. Actions We Are Taking 

In this notice, we are granting reconsideration of, and 

requesting comment on, certain issues raised by Petitioners in 

their petitions for reconsideration on the 2013 CISWI rule. 

These provisions are: (1) Definition of “CEMS data during 

startup and shutdown periods;” (2) particulate matter (PM) limit 

for the waste-burning kiln subcategory; (3) fuel variability 

factor (FVF) for coal-burning energy recovery units; and (4) the 

definition of kiln. Additionally, the EPA proposes to clarify 

certain applicability provisions relating to incinerator units 

and air curtain incinerator units subject to the 2000 CISWI NSPS 

and to correct various typographical errors identified in the 

rule as published in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). The 

EPA is also proposing to amend the final rule by removing the 

affirmative defense provision. Sections D and F of this preamble 

summarize these issues and present the proposed revisions 

necessary to address each issue.  

We are seeking public comment only on the issues 

specifically identified in this action. We will not respond to 

any comments addressing other aspects of the 2013 CISWI final 

rule or any other rulemakings. 

C. Discussion of Issues for Reconsideration  

This section of the preamble contains the EPA’s basis for 

reconsidering the provisions we identify in this proposed rule. 
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We solicit comment on the four issues discussed in this section 

and the proposed technical corrections and clarifications 

discussed in Section D of this preamble. 

1. Definition of “CEMS Data During Startup and Shutdown Periods” 

Today’s proposal requests comments on the definition of 

“CEMS data during startup and shutdown” contained in the 

February 2013 final rule. As background, the 2011 CISWI final 

rule contained continuous emissions monitoring system (CEMS) 

monitoring requirements for carbon monoxide (CO) from new 

sources, including a provision that mandated a 7 percent oxygen 

correction. After the 2011 CISWI final rule was published, 

petitioners indicated that correcting CO concentration 

measurements to 7 percent oxygen is problematic during startup 

and shutdown periods when the flue gas oxygen content approaches 

the oxygen content of ambient air, especially with regard to the 

energy recovery unit (ERU) subcategory. Oxygen contents 

relatively close to ambient air are often maintained during 

combustion unit startup and shutdown in order to safely operate 

the unit, but, as a result, the corrected CO values during these 

periods are artificially inflated due to the oxygen correction 

calculation. Petitioners presented data that demonstrated how 

these inflated data points drive the 30-day rolling average 

values beyond the emission limit.  
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To resolve this issue, the EPA determined that the 7 

percent oxygen correction would not be required for CEMS data 

collected during periods of startup and shutdown. Based on data 

submitted for coal-burning ERUs, a new definition of “CEMS data 

during startup and shutdown” was proposed in the December 2011 

reconsideration proposal that referred to the data collected 

during the first 4 hours of operation of an energy recovery unit 

starting up from a cold start and the hour of operation 

following the cessation of waste material being fed to the unit 

during shutdown. 

The EPA received comments on the proposed definition 

expressing concern that the time limits included in the 

definition may not accurately represent all CISWI unit types. 

Further, commenters argued that the same logic should apply for 

all CEMS-measured emission limits, not just CO. They explained 

that, even though CEMS is a compliance alternative rather than a 

requirement for most CISWI standards, other air regulations and 

permit requirements may require the units to continue to monitor 

emissions using CEMS data. Therefore, in the February 2013 CISWI 

final rule, the definition was revised to include all pollutants 

measured with a CEMS, expanded to include a separate definition 

for waste-burning kilns, and the 4-hour and 1-hour time limits 

in the definition were removed. The EPA defined the end of the 

startup period and the beginning of the shutdown period as the 
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introduction and cessation of waste fed to the unit, 

respectively. Information available for the best performing 

units demonstrates their typical operation and supports the idea 

that startup and shutdown periods be defined by the introduction 

and cessation of waste being fed to the units. Furthermore, for 

the incinerator, small remote incinerator, and the ERU 

subcategories, the startup period was limited to 48 hours and 

the shutdown period limited to 24 hours. 

After the February 2013 CISWI final rule was promulgated, 

the EPA received petitions stating that stakeholders did not 

have the opportunity to comment on the final definition, 

especially the clause that defines the beginning and ending of 

these periods as the introduction and cessation, respectively, 

of waste material being fed to the combustor. Petitioners argued 

that, with the inclusion of the provision ending startup when 

waste is added to the unit, the end of startup will occur too 

early because units that combust waste often introduce waste 

before steady state operations to transition from startup fuel 

to waste and other primary fuel combustion. For this reason, the 

petitioners argued that the EPA should extend the startup period 

duration to include the period of time when sources are 

transitioning to waste combustion from the startup fuel. We are 

taking comment on whether the definition should be revised to 

extend the startup period to include this transitional period of 
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combustor operation. In addition, the EPA requests that 

commenters suggest provisions that would ensure adequate 

application of the CEMS data during startup and shutdown 

definition, such as maximum allowable time limits after 

introduction of waste, if the agency were to allow solid waste 

combustion during startup.  

2. PM Limit for the Waste-burning Kiln Subcategory 

The February 2013 CISWI final rule included PM limits for 

new and existing waste-burning kilns in the NSPS and EG, 

respectively. Petitioners have requested reconsideration of 

these emission limits, stating that they did not have the 

opportunity to review and comment on the data used to calculate 

the 2013 emission limits. 

As background, the March 2011 CISWI final rule promulgated 

PM emissions limits of 6.2 milligrams per dry standard cubic 

meter (mg/dscm) for existing units, and 2.5 mg/dscm for new 

units, both corrected to 7 percent oxygen. In an action parallel 

to the March 21, 2011, final CISWI rule, the EPA promulgated a 

final rule that identifies the standards and procedures for 

identifying whether non-hazardous secondary materials (NHSM) are 

or are not solid waste when used as fuels or ingredients in 

combustion units. The EPA defines the NHSM that are solid waste 

under RCRA in the final “Identification of Non-Hazardous 

Secondary Materials That Are Solid Waste” rulemaking. The RCRA 
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definition of solid waste is integral in defining the CISWI 

source category. Commercial and industrial units that combust 

solid waste are subject to standards issued pursuant to CAA 

section 129, rather than to standards issued pursuant to CAA 

section 112 that would otherwise be applicable to such units 

(e.g., boilers, process heaters and cement kilns). Cement kilns 

combusting solid waste are waste-burning kilns subject to CISWI, 

not the otherwise applicable national emission standards for 

hazardous air pollutants (NESHAP). Following promulgation of the 

2011 CISWI rule, the EPA again analyzed the materials being 

combusted in the entire national inventory of Portland cement 

kilns in light of the revisions to the NHSM rule, and made 

revisions to the CISWI waste-burning kiln inventory. When kilns 

were added to the inventory and their emissions data considered, 

the resulting NSPS and EG PM emission limits proposed in the 

December 2011 reconsideration were less stringent than those 

established in the March 2011 CISWI final rule.  

Following the December 2011 reconsideration proposal, the 

EPA learned that one of the kilns in the CISWI inventory was no 

longer burning waste, and another kiln that was not thought to 

be burning waste materials was doing so. The CISWI waste-burning 

kiln inventory was revised during the period between proposal 

and final to reflect these changes, and the database updated to 

include emissions data for the new unit, as well as some 
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additional test reports obtained for units within the inventory. 

The EPA calculated the MACT floors after making the appropriate 

revisions to the inventory and the new NSPS and EG PM emission 

limits were more stringent than those proposed in the December 

2011 reconsideration proposal. Table 1, below, tracks the 

progression of the waste-burning kiln PM limits from the March 

2011 final rule through the February 2013 final rule. 

Throughout the CISWI rulemaking process from March 2011 

through February 2013, the EPA used the same calculation 

methodology (i.e., the upper prediction limit calculated from a 

population of individual test runs) to establish the emission 

limits for waste-burning kilns. However, the data set used in 

these calculations has changed and grown over this period of 

time as the agency has revised the CISWI inventory based on 

information submitted to the agency by the regulated community. 

As a result, a petitioner has suggested that the current PM 

emission data set for waste-burning kilns is robust enough to 

warrant using 3-run emission test averages as the data 

population rather than the individual test runs. According to 

the commenter, using this approach to calculate emission limits 

would result in PM emission limits that are different than those 

of the February 2013 CISWI final rule. The calculated PM 

emission limits using the test averages are also presented in 

Table 1 for comparison.  
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In the context of MACT analyses, emission test averages or 

individual test run data can be used to determine emissions 

variability of best performers. We typically use individual test 

runs, but for categories with data from 15 or more sources, 

which would provide at least 45 test runs, we may choose to use 

test averages. In these larger datasets, the use of test 

averages or test runs is expected to make very little difference 

in the calculated level of the standard. In today’s proposal, 

the EPA is soliciting comment on the data set used in the 

February 2013 final rule, as well as whether this data set now 

warrants a different calculation approach due to its size or 

other factors. See the memoranda titled “Potential Emission 

Limits Calculation Analyses for Waste-burning Kilns and Coal 

ERUs,” “Approach for Applying the Upper Prediction Limit to 

Limited Datasets,” and “Use of the Upper Prediction Limit for 

Calculating MACT Floors” in the CISWI docket for more details. 

Table 1. Waste-burning Kiln PM Emission Limits from March 2011 
Final Rule Through Petitioner’s Current Suggestion 

Source type 
(units) 

March 
2011 
Final 
Rule 

December 
2011 

Proposed 
Rule 

February 
2013 Final 

Rule 

Test average-
based 

calculated 
limits 

New Sources 
(mg/dscm)a 

2.5 8.9 2.2 4.9 

Existing 
Sources 
(mg/dscm)a 

6.2 9.2 4.6 13.5 

a corrected to 7 percent oxygen (O2) 
  
3. FVF for Coal-burning Energy Recovery Units 
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In the preamble to the 2013 final CISWI rule, we explained 

the methodology used to establish the final emission limits, 

which relied almost exclusively on direct emissions 

measurements. A petitioner expressed concern that the derivation 

of the CISWI limits for the coal-fired ERU subcategory should 

take into account the variable constituent levels in coal and 

urged the EPA to incorporate fuel variability into the emission 

limit calculations for coal-fired ERUs as was done in the Boiler 

MACT for coal-fired boilers.  

The petitioner contended that the EPA’s emissions dataset 

for coal ERUs is very limited for the fuel-dependent pollutants 

hydrogen chloride (HCl), lead (Pb), cadmium (Cd), mercury (Hg), 

and sulfur dioxide (SO2), and that emission standards based on 

stack test and CEMS data alone are too stringent to be met 

reliably because of the inherent variability of the coal. 

Specifically, they noted that emission standards were based 

solely on one stack test for Cd, Pb and HCl, two stack tests for 

Hg and 7 days of CEMS data for SO2, emphasizing the short-term 

nature of these data. They argued that coal has variable levels 

of each of these contaminants, referencing historical fuel data 

previously submitted to the agency during the public comment 

period. 

Further, the petitioner expressed their concern that EPA 

based its decision in the 2013 final rule on inaccurate 
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assumptions about the three Eastman boilers in the coal-fired 

ERU subcategory. This concern stemmed from an error in the EPA’s 

response to Eastman’s previous comments regarding the proposal, 

which mistakenly stated that for some pollutants, the best 

performers were not Eastman units. While this statement was true 

at the time of proposal, two significant changes were made 

regarding the coal-burning ERU subcategory in finalizing the 

2013 final rule: (1) the EPA determined it would be appropriate 

to subcategorize solid fuel ERUs into coal-burning and biomass-

burning for HCl and Hg as well as the other pollutants; and 

(2)the only other facility having emissions data for a coal-

burning ERU confirmed that the secondary materials combusted in 

their unit met the legitimacy criteria for a fuel, and therefore 

the unit was removed from the CISWI inventory. With these 

changes implemented, the top performer for every pollutant 

became one of the three Eastman units.  

For the 2013 final rule, the EPA’s rationale for rejecting 

comments calling for the incorporation of a FVF in the emission 

limit calculations for coal-burning ERUs was based on the 

following points: (1) The subcategorization of biomass-burning 

and coal-burning ERUs for all nine pollutants ensures that the 

limits account for differences in units designed to burn coal or 

biomass; (2) the EPA has fuel variability data for only one 

facility within the coal-fired ERU subcategory, so the resulting 
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FVF may not be reflective of the materials being combusted by 

other sources within the subcategory; and, (3) the EPA’s 

analyses indicated that variability was adequately accounted for 

because the best performing sources in the coal-fired ERU (ERU 

solids (coal)) subcategory are able to meet the final emission 

limits. The petitioner objected to the EPA’s assertion that the 

best performers met all of the final emission limits, 

emphasizing that units may not be able to consistently meet the 

standards. While they acknowledged that limits set for Cd, Pb 

and Hg may already account for contaminant variability (because 

Pb and Hg are controlled by electrostatic precipitators (ESPs) 

and Cd is rarely detected in their coal supplies), they argue 

that emissions of SO2 and HCl from the best performers are not 

controlled and are entirely dependent on sulfur and chlorine 

content of the fuel. This same petitioner also contended that 

the data the EPA used to establish the final rule nitrogen oxide 

(NOx) emission limit for the best-performing unit in the coal-

fired ERU subcategory does not reflect this unit’s actual 

performance accurately, since it reflects only periods of waste 

combustion in the analysis. The petitioner noted that this unit, 

as well as the other coal-fired ERUs at this facility, operate 

for extended periods of time in a non-waste burning mode. As a 

remedy, the petitioner suggested that the EPA use data from both 

waste-burning and non-waste burning periods for the best-
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performing unit to establish maximum achievable control 

technology (MACT) floor emission limits, stating that these will 

more accurately reflect actual operating conditions for this 

unit. The petitioner subsequently provided the EPA additional 

longer-term NOx CEMS data for the best-performing unit 

(reflecting coal-only and waste combustion periods of operation) 

which could be used to provide a larger data set on which to 

base the NOx emission limit calculations. 

We are, therefore, requesting comments and supporting data 

regarding the need to establish a FVF for the ERU solids (coal) 

subcategory, including stack test data from coal-only periods of 

operation in our emission limit calculations, and whether the 

EPA should re-evaluate the NOx emission limit by using the 

additional CEMS data provided for the best performing unit. 

Table 2 presents a comparison of the 2013 final rule emission 

limits for existing coal ERUs and what the emission limit 

calculation results are when all data available (i.e., waste and 

coal-only modes of operation), FVF calculation techniques and 

the additional CEMS data provided by the petitioner are used in 

conjunction to calculate the emission limits. See the 

memorandum, “Potential Emission Limits Calculation Analyses for 

Waste-burning Kilns and Coal ERUs,” in the CISWI docket for more 

details. 
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Table 2. Existing Coal ERU Emission Limits from February 2013 
Final Rule and Based on FVF Plus Additional CEMS Data 

Pollutant (units) February 2013 
Final Rule 
Emission Limita 

Potential Emission Limit 
Using Additional Data 
and FVFa 

Cadmium (Cd) (mg/dscm) 0.0095 0.0017b 
Hydrogen Chloride (HCl) (ppmv) 13 58c 
Mercury (Hg) (mg/dscm) 0.016 0.013b 
Lead (Pb) (mg/dscm) 0.14 0.057c 
Particulate Matter  
(PM filterable) (mg/dscm) 

160 130b 

Nitrogen Oxides (NOx) (ppmv) 340 460b 

a All emission limits are expressed as concentrations corrected to 7 percent 
O2. 

b Unable to calculate FVF, potential emission limit reflects use of 
additional data for coal-only mode of operation. 

c Based on maximum ratio in dataset to calculate FVF. If average ratios were 
used instead, HCl potential emission limit would be 19 (parts per million 
by volume) ppmv and Pb would be 0.047 mg/dscm. 

 
4. Definition of Kiln 

In today’s rule, the EPA is also revising the definition of 

“kiln” and adding definitions of “in-line raw mill” and “in-line 

coal mill” to further clarify the boundaries of the waste-

burning kiln and to remain consistent with similar revisions 

made in the Portland Cement NESHAP. Since the in-line raw mill 

and in-line coal mill are part of the kiln, the kiln emission 

limits also apply to the exhaust of the in-line raw mill and in-

line coal mill. For more background on this issue, the EPA 

discussed at length in the preamble to the proposed Portland 

Cement NESHAP a potential regulatory regime to cover situations 

where a portion of the kiln exhaust is ducted to the coal mill. 

See 77 FR 42383–85; see also the regulatory text at 77 FR 42398, 

42402–06, 42408–09. 
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For waste-burning kilns, we have adopted language in the 

definition of “kiln” to make it consistent with that of the 

Portland Cement NESHAP. The terms “in-line raw mill” and “in-

line coal mill” are included in this definition, and, therefore, 

are also being added to the definitions within the CISWI rule. 

In addition to the definitional amendments, we are also 

proposing a compliance demonstration and on-going monitoring 

method for waste-burning kilns that combine emission streams 

from the in-line raw mill and in-line coal mill and exhaust 

through multiple stacks. This approach allows sources to measure 

pollutant concentrations and flows from each of the stacks 

(i.e., kiln, alkali bypass, and in-line coal mill, as 

applicable) and calculate a flow-weighted average kiln stack 

concentration that must be met in order to be in compliance with 

the CISWI waste-burning kiln emission limits. These provisions 

are modeled upon similar provisions and equations found in the 

Portland Cement NESHAP, and should streamline compliance 

demonstrations for waste-burning kilns that combine streams 

prior to discharge to the atmosphere through one or more stacks. 

These proposed calculation method and measurement location 

options are found in 40 CFR 60.2145 and 40 CFR 60.2710. We 

request comments on these definitional and calculation method 

changes to demonstrating compliance for waste-burning kilns that 
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combine streams prior to discharge to the atmosphere through one 

or more stacks. 

D. Technical Corrections and Clarifications 

In today’s rule, we are also proposing some changes to the 

final rule to correct minor typographical errors and clarify 

some portions that may have been unclear. This section of the 

preamble summarizes these corrections and clarifications.  

1. 2000 CISWI New Source Applicability Clarification for 

Incinerators and Air Curtain Incinerators 

Following promulgation of the February 2013 CISWI final 

rule, the EPA received questions regarding the continued 

applicability of the 2000 CISWI NSPS for units that are subject 

to the 2000 CISWI NSPS as they are transitioned from the 2000 

NSPS to the February 2013 EG with which they will eventually be 

required to comply. The 2000 CISWI NSPS are the same as the 2000 

CISWI EG and limited in applicability to the incinerator 

subcategory and air curtain incinerators so only these types of 

CISWI units being regulated in the February 2013 CISWI final 

rules are affected by the applicability issue. The EPA intended, 

consistent with the statute and our stated intent (see 76 FR 

15711, March 21, 2011), to continue to regulate these units as 

“new” sources under the 2000 NSPS, and then regulate them as 

“existing” sources under the more stringent EG once these units 

were covered under an approved state plan or federal plan that 
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implements the February 2013 CISWI final EG. The language in the 

February 7, 2013 NSPS at 40 CFR 60.2105 and the title of Table 1 

to 40 CFR part 60, subpart CCCC make the EPA’s intent to do so 

evident. However, the applicability section in 40 CFR 60.2015 

omitted the applicability provisions for incinerators and air 

curtain incinerators that are subject to the 2000 CISWI NSPS. In 

today’s proposal, the EPA is proposing additional language in 40 

CFR 60.2015(a) and 40 CFR 60.2105(b) that clarifies that these 

incinerators and air curtain incinerators remain “new” units 

regulated under the 2000 NSPS until such time that an approved 

state plan or federal plan implements the February 2013 EG for 

those unit, at which time such units will be subject to the 2013 

EG to the extent those limits are more stringent than the 2000 

CISWI NSPS limits.  

2. Typographical Errors and Corrections 

The following items are typographical errors in the final 

rule that we are proposing to correct in today’s proposal: 

•  References in § 60.2020(e), § 60.2020(f), § 60.2555(e), and 
§ 60.2555(f) were changed from “…paragraphs (e)(1) through 
(3)…” to “…paragraphs (e)(1) through (4)…”. 

•  Restructured § 60.2060 to add paragraph (b) that clarifies 
waste management plan submittal timeline for CISWI units 
that commence reconstruction or modification after August 
7, 2013.  

•  References in §§ 60.2020(i) and 60.2245 were revised to 
include § 60.2242 in addition to §§ 60.2245 through 60.2260 
(i.e., clarifies that air curtain incinerators burning wood 
waste, clean lumber, and/or yard waste must obtain title V 
permits).  
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•  References in §§ 60.2555(i) and 60.2810 were revised to 
include § 60.2805 in addition to §§ 60.2810 through 
60.2870(i.e., clarifies that air curtain incinerators 
burning wood waste, clean lumber, and/or yard waste must 
obtain title V permits).  

•  References in § 60.2110(i)(2)(i)(D) and § 
60.2675(i)(2)(i)(D) were changed from “…paragraphs 
(i)(2)(i) through (iv)…” to “…paragraphs (i)(2)(i)(A) 
through (i)(2)(i)(C)…”. 

•  Two references in the definitions of terms for Equation 3 
in § 60.2110(i)(2)(iv) were revised. For the ‘z’ term, 
“(2)(a)” was corrected to “(2)(i)”, and for the ‘R’ term, 
“Equation 3” was corrected to “Equation 2”. 

•  Two references in the definitions of terms for Equation 3 
in § 60.2675(i)(2)(iv) were revised. For the ‘z’ term, 
“(2)(a)” was corrected to “(2)(i)”, and for the ‘R’ term, 
“Equation 3” was corrected to “Equation 2”. 

•  The language in § 60.2140(c) and § 60.2705(c) were revised 
to include the phrase “commence or recommence combusting” 
to be parallel to the same terminology in § 60.2140(b) and 
§ 60.2705(b), respectively.  

•  Extra spaces were removed from §§ 60.2145(v) and 
60.2710(v). 

•  The reference in § 60.2145(w)(1) was changed from “§ 
60.2675” to “§ 60.2140”. 

•  The references in § 60.2145(x)(1) were changed from “…§ 
60.2145(l) and (x)(1)(i) through (iii)…” to “…paragraphs 
(l) and (x)(1)(i) through (x)(1)(iii)…”  

•  The references in § 60.2710(x)(1) were changed from “…§ 
60.2710(l) and (x)(1)(i) through (iii)…” to “…paragraphs 
(l) and (x)(1)(i) through (x)(1)(iii)…” 

•  Language in § 60.2145(x)(1)(iii), § 60.2165(r)(1)(iii), § 
60.2710(x)(1)(iii) and § 60.2730(r)(1)(iii) was revised to 
clarify the PM continuous parameter monitoring system 
(CPMS) detection limit. The phrase “of no greater than” was 
changed to “increments no greater than”. 

•  Provisions for PM CPMS in both subparts were revised to 
also clarify the output signals from digital monitoring 
devices and remove “lb/Mmbtu” typographical errors. 

•  The reference in § 60.2165(q)(1) was changed from “§ 
60.2675” to “§ 60.2140”. 
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•  Text in § 60.2165(q)(3) was corrected from “…paragraph 
(q)(4) or this section…” to “…paragraph (q)(4) of this 
section…”. 

•  The title of 40 CFR part 60, subpart CCCC Table 1 was 
revised to clarify that these emission limits apply to 
incinerators that were subject to the 2000 CISWI rule 
provisions.  

•  The dates paragraphs (a)(1) and (2) of § 60.2535 from the 
2000 CISWI rule were omitted in the current CFR version of 
the rule, and have been reinserted. 

•  Added text in § 60.2525(b) and § 60.2535(b) to clarify 
applicability for incinerators and air curtain incinerators 
that were reconstructed or modified on or after June 1, 
2001, but no later than August 7, 2013. 

•  Revised the language of § 60.2550(b) to reflect the August 
7, 2013 date for purposes of applicability with 40 CFR part 
60, subpart CCCC. 

•  The text “over 10 MMBtu/hr but less than 250 MMBtu/hr 
annual average heat input rates” was added to § 60.2730(m) 
for clarification and consistency. 

•  The definition of chemical recovery unit in § 60.2265 was 
revised to be consistent with the definition provided in § 
60.2875. The following text was added: “A chemical recovery 
unit is not an incinerator, a waste-burning kiln, an energy 
recovery unit or a small, remote incinerator under this 
subpart.” 

•  Clarifying language was added to the HCl row of 40 CFR part 
60, subpart DDDD Table 8. Compliance method text was 
changed from “…if a wet scrubber is not used” to “…if a wet 
scrubber or dry scrubber is not used.” 

•  Text in § 60.2165(o) was corrected from “…you must use a 
continuous automated sampling system…” to “…you may 
substitute use of a continuous automated sampling system 
for the carbon monoxide annual performance test.” 

•  Revise the definition of “Oxygen trim system” to include 
draft controller and to clarify that it is a system that 
maintains the desired excess air level over the operating 
load range. 

•  Revise the definition of “Reconstruction” in both subparts 
to reflect the correct criterion that reconstruction begins 
on or after August 7, 2013. 
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•  Renumbered equations in 40 CFR part 60, Subpart DDDD to be 
in sequence within the subpart instead of being a 
continuation with 40 CFR part 60, Subpart CCCC. 

•  Revised paragraphs §§ 60.2030(c), 60.2210(h), 60.2220(d), 
60.2235, 60.2770(h), 60.2780(d) and 60.2795 to reflect the 
most recent electronic reporting guidance available and to 
further clarify reporting requirements.  

 
3. Clarifications 

Since publication of the February 7, 2013 final CISWI rule, 

the EPA has received some stakeholder questions and requests for 

clarification on certain rule provisions. We are not proposing 

regulatory language changes for the following items, but are 

providing some clarification to these questions: 

•  Mass balance as operating limits for units without certain 
control devices – A stakeholder has asked for clarification 
on whether a mass balance could be used as an operating 
parameter, and whether this must be measured as a 30-day 
rolling average instead of taking a monthly sample. 
Furthermore, the stakeholder also asked whether the 
material balance allows them to waive annual stack testing. 
The EPA disagrees that mass balance operating parameters 
replace annual stack testing. Stack testing and operating 
parameters work in tandem to ensure ongoing compliance with 
the standards. We do, however, accept that mass balance 
could be an allowable operating parameter in cases where no 
control device is needed to meet the pollutant’s specific 
emission limit applicable to the unit. We also point out 
that any source may request a different averaging time that 
is appropriate for their source and operating parameter as 
provided for in 40 CFR 60.2115. 

•  Clarification on who the “EPA Administrator” is and who to 
contact for requests for averaging times, qualifying 
facility notifications, etc. We have received questions on 
how to contact the Administrator to submit notifications, 
reports and requests. The contact information is given in 
the General Provisions, under 40 CFR 60.4, and has 
addresses listed by EPA Regional Offices. 

 
E. Environmental, Energy and Economic Impacts 
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Today’s action requests comment on some provisions and 

makes technical and clarifying corrections, but does not propose 

substantive changes to the February 7, 2013, final CISWI rule 

(78 FR 9112). As such, there are no environmental, energy or 

economic impacts associated with today’s proposed action. The 

impacts associated with the CISWI rule were discussed in detail 

in the February 7, 2013, final CISWI rule document. 

F. Affirmative Defense for Violation of Emission Standards 

During Malfunction 

In several prior CAA section 112 and CAA section 129 rules, 

including this rule, the EPA included an affirmative defense to 

civil penalties for violations caused by malfunctions in an 

effort to create a system that incorporates some flexibility, 

recognizing that there is a tension, inherent in many types of 

air regulation, to ensure adequate compliance while 

simultaneously recognizing that despite the most diligent of 

efforts, emission standards may be violated under circumstances 

entirely beyond the control of the source. Although the EPA 

recognized that its case-by-case enforcement discretion provides 

sufficient flexibility in these circumstances, it included the 

affirmative defense to provide a more formalized approach and 

more regulatory clarity. See Weyerhaeuser Co. v. Costle, 590 

F.2d 1011, 1057-58 (D.C. Cir. 1978) (holding that an informal 

case-by-case enforcement discretion approach is adequate); but 
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see Marathon Oil Co. v. EPA, 564 F.2d 1253, 1272-73 (9th Cir. 

1977) (requiring a more formalized approach to consideration of 

“upsets beyond the control of the permit holder.”). Under the 

EPA’s regulatory affirmative defense provisions, if a source 

could demonstrate in a judicial or administrative proceeding 

that it had met the requirements of the affirmative defense in 

the regulation, civil penalties would not be assessed. Recently, 

the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia 

Circuit vacated an affirmative defense in one of the EPA’s CAA 

section 112 regulations. NRDC v. EPA, 749 F.3d 1055 (D.C. Cir., 

2014) (vacating affirmative defense provisions in CAA section 

112 rule establishing emission standards for Portland cement 

kilns). The Court found that the EPA lacked authority to 

establish an affirmative defense for private civil suits and 

held that under the CAA, the authority to determine civil 

penalty amounts in such cases lies exclusively with the courts, 

not the EPA. Specifically, the Court found: “As the language of 

the statute makes clear, the courts determine, on a case-by-case 

basis, whether civil penalties are ‘appropriate.’” See NRDC, 

2014 U.S. App. LEXIS 7281 at *21 (“[U]nder this statute, 

deciding whether penalties are ‘appropriate’ … is a job for the 

courts, not EPA.”). In light of NRDC, the EPA is proposing to 

remove the regulatory affirmative defense provision in the 

current rule.  
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In the event that a source fails to comply with the 

applicable CAA section 129 standards as a result of a 

malfunction event, the EPA would determine an appropriate 

response based on, among other things, the good faith efforts of 

the source to minimize emissions during malfunction periods, 

including preventative and corrective actions, as well as root 

cause analyses to ascertain and rectify excess emissions. The 

EPA would also consider whether the source's failure to comply 

with the CAA section 129 standard was, in fact, “sudden, 

infrequent, not reasonably preventable” and was not instead 

“caused in part by poor maintenance or careless operation.” 40 

CFR 60.2 (definition of malfunction). 

Further, to the extent the EPA files an enforcement action 

against a source for violation of an emission standard, the 

source can raise any and all defenses in that enforcement action 

and the federal district court will determine what, if any, 

relief is appropriate. The same is true for citizen enforcement 

actions. Cf. NRDC at 1064 (arguments that violations were caused 

by unavoidable technology failure can be made to the courts in 

future civil cases when the issue arises). Similarly, the 

presiding officer in an administrative proceeding can consider 

any defense raised and determine whether administrative 

penalties are appropriate.  

II Statutory and Executive Order Reviews 
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A. Executive Order 12866: Regulatory Planning and Review and 

Executive Order 13563: Improving Regulation and Regulatory 

Review 

This action is not a significant regulatory action and was 

therefore not submitted to the Office of Management and Budget 

(OMB) for review. 

B. Paperwork Reduction Act 

This action does not impose an information collection 

burden under the PRA. This action is believed to result in no 

changes to the information collection requirements of the 

February 2013 final CISWI rule, so that the information 

collection estimate of project cost and hour burden from the 

final CISWI rule have not been revised. However, the Office of 

Managment and Budget (OMB) has previously approved the 

information collection activities contained in the existing 

regulations (40 CFR part 60, subparts CCCC and DDDD) under the 

provisions of the Paperwork Reduction Act (PRA), 44 U.S.C. 3501, 

et seq., and EPA Information Collection Request (ICR) number 

2384.05 for subpart CCCC, 40 CFR part 60 and EPA ICR number 

2385.05 for subpart DDDD have been assigned. The OMB control 

numbers for the EPA’s regulations in 40 CFR are listed in 40 CFR 

part 9. 

C. Regulatory Flexibility Act 
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The Regulatory Flexibility Act (RFA) generally requires an 

agency to prepare a regulatory flexibility analysis of any rule 

subject to notice and comment rulemaking requirements under the 

Administrative Procedures Act (APA) or any other statute unless 

the agency certifies that the rule will not have a significant 

economic impact on a substantial number of small entities. 

(SISNOSE). Small entities include small businesses, small 

organizations and small governmental jurisdictions.  

For purposes of assessing the impacts of this action on 

small entities, small entity is defined as: (1) A small business 

as defined by the Small Business Administration’s regulations at 

13 CFR 121.201; (2) a small governmental jurisdiction that is a 

government of a city, county, town, school district or special 

district with a population of less than 50,000; and (3) a small 

organization that is any not-for-profit enterprise that is 

independently owned and operated and is not dominant in its 

field. 

After considering the economic impacts of this proposed 

rule on small entities, I certify that this action will not have 

a significant economic impact on a substantial number of small 

entities. In making this determination, the impact of concern is 

any significant adverse economic impact on small entities. An 

agency may certify that a rule will not have a significant 

economic impact on a substantial number of small entities if the 
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rule relieves regulatory burden, has no net burden or otherwise 

has a positive economic effect on the small entities subject to 

the rule. This proposed rule will not impose any new 

requirements on any entities because it does not impose any 

additional regulatory requirements relative to those specified 

in the February 2013 final CISWI rule. The February 2013 final 

CISWI rule was certified as not having a significant economic 

impact on a substantial number of small entities. We have 

therefore concluded that this action will have no net regulatory 

burden for all directly regulated small entities.  

D. Unfunded Mandates Reform Act 

This action does not contain any unfunded mandate as 

described in UMRA, 2 U.S.C. 1531–1538, and does not 

significantly or uniquely affect small governments. This rule 

proposes amendments to the February 2013 final CISWI rule 

provisions, but they are mainly clarifications to existing rule 

language to aid in implementation, or are being made to maintain 

consistency with other, more recent, regulatory actions. 

Therefore, the action imposes no enforceable duty on any state, 

local or tribal governments or the private sector. Therefore, 

this rule is not subject to the requirements of sections 202 or 

205 of UMRA.  

This action seeks comment on specific aspects of the final 

rule for CISWI units and proposes minor changes to the rule to 
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correct and clarify implementation issues raised by 

stakeholders. 

E. Executive Order 13132: Federalism 

This action does not have federalism implications. It will 

not have substantial direct effects on the states, on the 

relationship between the national government and the states or 

on the distribution of power and responsibilities among the 

various levels of government.  

F. Executive Order 13175: Consultation and Coordination with 

Indian Tribal Governments 

This action does not have tribal implications, as specified 

in Executive Order 13175, (65 FR 67249; November 9, 2000). The 

EPA is not aware of any CISWI in Indian country or owned or 

operated by Indian tribal governments. The CISWI aspects of this 

rule may, however, invoke minor indirect tribal implications to 

the extent that entities generating solid wastes on tribal lands 

could be affected. Thus, Executive Order 13175 does not apply to 

this action. 

The EPA specifically solicits additional comment on this 

proposed action from tribal officials. 

G. Executive Order 13045: Protection of Children from 

Environmental Health Risks and Safety Risks 

The EPA interprets Executive Order 13045 as applying to 

those regulatory actions that concern environmental health or 
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safety risks that the EPA has reason to believe may 

disproportionately affect children, per the definition of 

“covered regulatory action” in section 2-202 of the Executive 

Order. This action is not subject to Executive Order 13045 

because it does not concern an environmental health risk or 

safety risk.  

H. Executive Order 13211: Actions Concerning Regulations That 

Significantly Affect Energy Supply, Distribution, or Use 

This action is not subject to Executive Order 13211, 

because it is not a significant regulatory action under 

Executive Order 12866. 

I. National Technology Transfer and Advancement Act 

This rulemaking does not involve technical standards.  

J. Executive Order 12898: Federal Actions to Address 

Environmental Justice in Minority Populations and Low-Income 

Populations 

The EPA believes the human health or environmental risk 

addressed by this action will not have potential 

disproportionately high and adverse human health or 

environmental effects on minority, low-income or indigenous 

populations because it does not affect the level of protection 

provided to human health or the environment. The proposed 

corrections do not relax the control measures on sources 

regulated by the February 2013 final CISWI rule, and, therefore, 
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will not cause emissions increases from these sources. The 

February 2013 final CISWI rule will reduce emissions of all the 

listed toxics emitted from this source, thereby helping to 

further ensure against any disproportionately high and adverse 

human health or environmental effects on minority or low-income 

populations. 
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List of Subjects in 40 CFR Part 60 

Environmental protection, Administrative practice and 

procedure, Air pollution control, Hazardous substances. 

 
 
 
 
Dated: December 1, 2014. 
 
 
 
Gina McCarthy, 
Administrator. 
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For the reasons stated in the preamble, the Environmental 

Protection Agency proposes to amend title 40, chapter I, of the 

Code of Federal Regulations as follows: 

PART 60—STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE FOR NEW STATIONARY SOURCES 

1. The authority citation for part 60 continues to read 

as follows: 

Authority: 42 U.S.C. 7401, et seq. 
 

2. Part 60 is amended by revising subpart CCCC to read as 

follows: 

Subpart CCCC—Standards of Performance for Commercial and 

Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units 

Sec. 

Introduction 
60.2000 What does this subpart do? 
60.2005 When does this subpart become effective? 

Applicability 
60.2010 Does this subpart apply to my incineration unit? 
60.2015 What is a new incineration unit? 
60.2020 What combustion units are exempt from this subpart? 
60.2030 Who implements and enforces this subpart? 
60.2035 How are these new source performance standards structured? 
60.2040 Do all eleven components of these new source performance 
standards apply at the same time? 

Preconstruction Siting Analysis 
60.2045 Who must prepare a siting analysis? 
60.2050 What is a siting analysis? 

Waste Management Plan 
60.2055 What is a waste management plan? 
60.2060 When must I submit my waste management plan? 
60.2065 What should I include in my waste management plan? 

Operator Training and Qualification 
60.2070 What are the operator training and qualification requirements? 
60.2075 When must the operator training course be completed? 
60.2080 How do I obtain my operator qualification? 
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60.2085 How do I maintain my operator qualification? 
60.2090 How do I renew my lapsed operator qualification? 
60.2095 What site-specific documentation is required? 
60.2100 What if all the qualified operators are temporarily not 
accessible? 

Emission Limitations and Operating Limits 
60.2105 What emission limitations must I meet and by when? 
60.2110 What operating limits must I meet and by when? 
60.2115 What if I do not use a wet scrubber, fabric filter, activated 
carbon injection, selective noncatalytic reduction, an electrostatic 
precipitator, or a dry scrubber to comply with the emission 
limitations? 

Performance Testing 
60.2125 How do I conduct the initial and annual performance test? 
60.2130 How are the performance test data used? 

Initial Compliance Requirements 
60.2135 How do I demonstrate initial compliance with the emission 
limitations and establish the operating limits? 
60.2140 By what date must I conduct the initial performance test? 
60.2141 By what date must I conduct the initial air pollution control 
device inspection? 

Continuous Compliance Requirements 
60.2145 How do I demonstrate continuous compliance with the emission 
limitations and the operating limits? 
60.2150 By what date must I conduct the annual performance test? 
60.2151 By what date must I conduct the annual air pollution control 
device inspection? 
60.2155 May I conduct performance testing less often? 
60.2160 May I conduct a repeat performance test to establish new 
operating limits? 

Monitoring 
60.2165 What monitoring equipment must I install and what parameters 
must I monitor? 
60.2170 Is there a minimum amount of monitoring data I must obtain? 

Recordkeeping and Reporting 
60.2175 What records must I keep? 
60.2180 Where and in what format must I keep my records? 
60.2185 What reports must I submit? 
60.2190 What must I submit prior to commencing construction? 
60.2195 What information must I submit prior to initial startup? 
60.2200 What information must I submit following my initial 
performance test? 
60.2205 When must I submit my annual report? 
60.2210 What information must I include in my annual report? 
60.2215 What else must I report if I have a deviation from the 
operating limits or the emission limitations? 
60.2220 What must I include in the deviation report? 
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60.2225 What else must I report if I have a deviation from the 
requirement to have a qualified operator accessible? 
60.2230 Are there any other notifications or reports that I must 
submit? 
60.2235 In what form can I submit my reports? 
60.2240 Can reporting dates be changed? 

Title V Operating Permits 
60.2242 Am I required to apply for and obtain a Title V operating 
permit for my unit? 

Air Curtain Incinerators 
60.2245 What is an air curtain incinerator? 
60.2250 What are the emission limitations for air curtain 
incinerators? 
60.2255 How must I monitor opacity for air curtain incinerators? 
60.2260 What are the recordkeeping and reporting requirements for air 
curtain incinerators? 

Definitions 
60.2265 What definitions must I know? 
 
Tables to Subpart CCCC 
 
Table 1 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Emission Limitations for CISWI 
Units for Which Construction is Commenced After November 30, 1999, But 
no Later Than June 4, 2010, or for Which Modification or 
Reconstruction is Commenced on or After June 1, 2001, But no Later 
Than August 7, 2013 
Table 2 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Operating Limits for Wet Scrubbers 
Table 3 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Toxic Equivalency Factors 
Table 4 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Summary of Reporting Requirements  
Table 5 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Emission Limitations for 
Incinerators That Commenced Construction After June 4, 2010, or That 
Commenced Reconstruction or Modification After August 7, 2013 
Table 6 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Emission Limitations for Energy 
Recovery Units That Commenced Construction After June 4, 2010, or That 
Commenced Reconstruction or Modification After August 7, 2013 
Table 7 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Emission Limitations for Waste-
burning Kilns That Commenced Construction After June 4, 2010, or 
Reconstruction or Modification After August 7, 2013 
Table 8 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Emission Limitations for Small, 
Remote Incinerators That Commenced Construction After June 4, 2010, Or 
That Commenced Reconstruction or Modification After August 7, 2013 
 
Subpart CCCC—Standards of Performance for Commercial and 

Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units 

Introduction 

§ 60.2000 What does this subpart do? 
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This subpart establishes new source performance standards 

for commercial and industrial solid waste incineration (CISWI) 

units. 

§ 60.2005 When does this subpart become effective? 

This subpart takes effect on August 7, 2013. Some of the 

requirements in this subpart apply to planning the CISWI unit 

(i.e., the preconstruction requirements in §§ 60.2045 and 

60.2050). Other requirements such as the emission limitations 

and operating limits apply after the CISWI unit begins 

operation. 

Applicability 

§ 60.2010 Does this subpart apply to my incineration unit? 

Yes, if your incineration unit meets all the requirements 

specified in paragraphs (a) through (c) of this section. 

(a) Your incineration unit is a new incineration unit as 

defined in § 60.2015. 

(b) Your incineration unit is a CISWI unit as defined in § 

60.2265. 

(c) Your incineration unit is not exempt under § 60.2020. 

§ 60.2015 What is a new incineration unit? 

(a) A new incineration unit is an incineration unit that 

meets any of the criteria specified in paragraph (a)(1) through 

(a)(3) of this section. 



Page 46 of 340 

 

(1) A CISWI unit that commenced construction after June 4, 

2010. 

(2) A CISWI unit that commenced reconstruction or 

modification after August 7, 2013. 

(3) Incinerators and air curtain incinerators, as defined 

in this subpart, that commenced construction after November 30, 

1999, but no later than June 4, 2010, or that commenced 

reconstruction or modification on or after June 1, 2001, but no 

later than August 7, 2013, are considered new incineration units 

and remain subject to the applicable requirements of this 

subpart until the units become subject to the requirements of an 

approved state plan or federal plan that implements subpart DDDD 

of this part (Emission Guidelines and Compliance Times for 

Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units).  

(b) This subpart does not affect your CISWI unit if you 

make physical or operational changes to your incineration unit 

primarily to comply with subpart DDDD of this part (Emission 

Guidelines and Compliance Times for Commercial and Industrial 

Solid Waste Incineration Units). Such changes do not qualify as 

reconstruction or modification under this subpart. 

§ 60.2020 What combustion units are exempt from this subpart? 

This subpart exempts the types of units described in 

paragraphs (a), (c) through (i) and (n) of this section, but 

some units are required to provide notifications. Air curtain 
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incinerators are exempt from the requirements in this subpart 

except for the provisions in §§ 60.2242, 60.2250, and 60.2260. 

(a) Pathological waste incineration units. Incineration 

units burning 90 percent or more by weight (on a calendar 

quarter basis and excluding the weight of auxiliary fuel and 

combustion air) of pathological waste, low-level radioactive 

waste, and/or chemotherapeutic waste as defined in § 60.2265 are 

not subject to this subpart if you meet the two requirements 

specified in paragraphs (a)(1) and (2) of this section. 

(1) Notify the Administrator that the unit meets these 

criteria. 

(2) Keep records on a calendar quarter basis of the weight 

of pathological waste, low-level radioactive waste, and/or 

chemotherapeutic waste burned, and the weight of all other fuels 

and wastes burned in the unit. 

(b) [Reserved] 

(c) Municipal waste combustion units. Incineration units 

that are subject to subpart Ea of this part (Standards of 

Performance for Municipal Waste Combustors); subpart Eb of this 

part (Standards of Performance for Large Municipal Waste 

Combustors); subpart Cb of this part (Emission Guidelines and 

Compliance Time for Large Municipal Combustors); subpart AAAA of 

this part (Standards of Performance for Small Municipal Waste 
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Combustion Units); or subpart BBBB of this part (Emission 

Guidelines for Small Municipal Waste Combustion Units). 

(d) Medical waste incineration units. Incineration units 

regulated under subpart Ec of this part (Standards of 

Performance for Hospital/Medical/Infectious Waste Incinerators 

for Which Construction is Commenced After June 20, 1996) or 

subpart Ce of this part (Emission Guidelines and Compliance 

Times for Hospital/Medical/Infectious Waste Incinerators). 

(e) Small power production facilities. Units that meet the 

three requirements specified in paragraphs (e)(1) through (4) of 

this section. 

(1) The unit qualifies as a small power-production facility 

under section 3(17)(C) of the Federal Power Act (16 U.S.C. 

796(17)(C)). 

(2) The unit burns homogeneous waste (not including refuse-

derived fuel) to produce electricity. 

(3) You submit documentation to the Administrator notifying 

the EPA that the qualifying small power production facility is 

combusting homogenous waste. 

(4) You maintain the records specified in § 60.2175(w). 

(f) Cogeneration facilities. Units that meet the three 

requirements specified in paragraphs (f)(1) through (4) of this 

section. 
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(1) The unit qualifies as a cogeneration facility under 

section 3(18)(B) of the Federal Power Act (16 U.S.C. 

796(18)(B)). 

(2) The unit burns homogeneous waste (not including refuse-

derived fuel) to produce electricity and steam or other forms of 

energy used for industrial, commercial, heating, or cooling 

purposes. 

(3) You submit documentation to the Administrator notifying 

the Agency that the qualifying cogeneration facility is 

combusting homogenous waste. 

(4) You maintain the records specified in § 60.2175(x). 

(g) Hazardous waste combustion units. Units for which you 

are required to get a permit under section 3005 of the Solid 

Waste Disposal Act. 

(h) Materials recovery units. Units that combust waste for 

the primary purpose of recovering metals, such as primary and 

secondary smelters. 

(i) Air curtain incinerators. Air curtain incinerators that 

burn only the materials listed in paragraphs (i)(1) through (3) 

of this section are only required to meet the requirements under 

§ 60.2242 and under “Air Curtain Incinerators” (§§ 60.2245 

through 60.2260). 

(1) 100 percent wood waste. 

(2) 100 percent clean lumber. 
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(3) 100 percent mixture of only wood waste, clean lumber, 

and/or yard waste. 

(j)-(l) [Reserved] 

(m) Sewage treatment plants. Incineration units regulated 

under subpart O of this part (Standards of Performance for 

Sewage Treatment Plants). 

(n) Sewage sludge incineration units. Incineration units 

combusting sewage sludge for the purpose of reducing the volume 

of the sewage sludge by removing combustible matter that are 

subject to subpart LLLL of this part (Standards of Performance 

for Sewage Sludge Incineration Units) or subpart MMMM of this 

part (Emission Guidelines for Sewage Sludge Incineration Units). 

(o) Other solid waste incineration units. Incineration 

units that are subject to subpart EEEE of this part (Standards 

of Performance for Other Solid Waste Incineration Units) or 

subpart FFFF of this part (Emission Guidelines and Compliance 

Times for Other Solid Waste Incineration Units). 

§ 60.2030 Who implements and enforces this subpart? 

(a) This subpart can be implemented and enforced by the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), or a delegated 

authority such as your state, local, or tribal agency. If the 

EPA Administrator has delegated authority to your state, local, 

or tribal agency, then that agency (as well as EPA) has the 

authority to implement and enforce this subpart. You should 
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contact your EPA Regional Office to find out if this subpart is 

delegated to your state, local, or tribal agency. 

(b) In delegating implementation and enforcement authority 

of this subpart to a state, local, or tribal agency, the 

authorities contained in paragraph (c) of this section are 

retained by the EPA Administrator and are not transferred to the 

state, local, or tribal agency. 

(c) The authorities that will not be delegated to state, 

local, or tribal agencies are specified in paragraphs (c)(1) 

through (4) and (c)(6) through (11) of this section. 

(1) Approval of alternatives to the emission limitations in 

table 1 of this subpart and operating limits established under § 

60.2110. 

(2) Approval of major alternatives to test methods. 

(3) Approval of major alternatives to monitoring. 

(4) Approval of major alternatives to recordkeeping and 

reporting. 

(5) [Reserved] 

(6) The requirements in § 60.2115. 

(7) The requirements in § 60.2100(b)(2). 

(8) Approval of alternative opacity emission limits in § 

60.2105 under § 60.11(e)(6) through (e)(8). 

(9) Performance test and data reduction waivers under § 

60.2125(j), §60.8(b)(4) and (5). 
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(10) Determination of whether a qualifying small power 

production facility or cogeneration facility under § 60.2020(e) 

or (f) is combusting homogenous waste. 

(11) Approval of an alternative to any electronic reporting 

to the EPA required by this subpart. 

§ 60.2035 How are these new source performance standards 

structured? 

These new source performance standards contain the eleven 

major components listed in paragraphs (a) through (k) of this 

section. 

(a) Preconstruction siting analysis. 

(b) Waste management plan. 

(c) Operator training and qualification. 

(d) Emission limitations and operating limits. 

(e) Performance testing. 

(f) Initial compliance requirements. 

(g) Continuous compliance requirements. 

(h) Monitoring. 

(i) Recordkeeping and reporting. 

(j) Definitions. 

(k) Tables. 

§ 60.2040 Do all eleven components of these new source 

performance standards apply at the same time? 
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No. You must meet the preconstruction siting analysis and 

waste management plan requirements before you commence 

construction of the CISWI unit. The operator training and 

qualification, emission limitations, operating limits, 

performance testing and compliance, monitoring, and most 

recordkeeping and reporting requirements are met after the CISWI 

unit begins operation. 

Preconstruction Siting Analysis 

§ 60.2045 Who must prepare a siting analysis? 

(a) You must prepare a siting analysis if you plan to 

commence construction of an incinerator after December 1, 2000. 

(b) You must prepare a siting analysis for CISWI units that 

commenced construction after June 4, 2010, or that commenced 

reconstruction or modification after August 7, 2013. 

(c) You must prepare a siting analysis if you are required 

to submit an initial application for a construction permit under 

40 CFR part 51, subpart I, or 40 CFR part 52, as applicable, for 

the reconstruction or modification of your CISWI unit. 

§ 60.2050 What is a siting analysis? 

(a) The siting analysis must consider air pollution control 

alternatives that minimize, on a site-specific basis, to the 

maximum extent practicable, potential risks to public health or 

the environment. In considering such alternatives, the analysis 

may consider costs, energy impacts, nonair environmental 
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impacts, or any other factors related to the practicability of 

the alternatives. 

(b) Analyses of your CISWI unit's impacts that are prepared 

to comply with state, local, or other federal regulatory 

requirements may be used to satisfy the requirements of this 

section, provided they include the consideration of air 

pollution control alternatives specified in paragraph (a) of 

this section. 

(c) You must complete and submit the siting requirements of 

this section as required under § 60.2190(c) prior to commencing 

construction. 

Waste Management Plan 

§ 60.2055 What is a waste management plan? 

A waste management plan is a written plan that identifies 

both the feasibility and the methods used to reduce or separate 

certain components of solid waste from the waste stream in order 

to reduce or eliminate toxic emissions from incinerated waste. 

§ 60.2060 When must I submit my waste management plan? 

(a) You must submit a waste management plan prior to 

commencing construction. 

(b) For CISWI units that commence reconstruction or 

modification after August 7, 2013, you must submit a waste 

management plan prior to the commencement of modification or 

reconstruction. 
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§ 60.2065 What should I include in my waste management plan? 

A waste management plan must include consideration of the 

reduction or separation of waste-stream elements such as paper, 

cardboard, plastics, glass, batteries, or metals; or the use of 

recyclable materials. The plan must identify any additional 

waste management measures and implement those measures the 

source considers practical and feasible, considering the 

effectiveness of waste management measures already in place, the 

costs of additional measures, the emissions reductions expected 

to be achieved, and any other environmental or energy impacts 

they might have. 

Operator Training and Qualification 

§ 60.2070 What are the operator training and qualification 

requirements? 

(a) No CISWI unit can be operated unless a fully trained 

and qualified CISWI unit operator is accessible, either at the 

facility or can be at the facility within 1 hour. The trained 

and qualified CISWI unit operator may operate the CISWI unit 

directly or be the direct supervisor of one or more other plant 

personnel who operate the unit. If all qualified CISWI unit 

operators are temporarily not accessible, you must follow the 

procedures in § 60.2100. 
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(b) Operator training and qualification must be obtained 

through a state-approved program or by completing the 

requirements included in paragraph (c) of this section. 

(c) Training must be obtained by completing an incinerator 

operator training course that includes, at a minimum, the three 

elements described in paragraphs (c)(1) through (3) of this 

section. 

(1) Training on the eleven subjects listed in paragraphs 

(c)(1)(i) through (xi) of this section. 

(i) Environmental concerns, including types of emissions. 

(ii) Basic combustion principles, including products of 

combustion. 

(iii) Operation of the specific type of incinerator to be 

used by the operator, including proper startup, waste charging, 

and shutdown procedures. 

(iv) Combustion controls and monitoring. 

(v) Operation of air pollution control equipment and 

factors affecting performance (if applicable). 

(vi) Inspection and maintenance of the incinerator and air 

pollution control devices. 

(vii) Actions to prevent and correct malfunctions or to 

prevent conditions that may lead to malfunctions. 

(viii) Bottom and fly ash characteristics and handling 

procedures. 
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(ix) Applicable federal, state, and local regulations, 

including Occupational Safety and Health Administration 

workplace standards. 

(x) Pollution prevention. 

(xi) Waste management practices. 

(2) An examination designed and administered by the 

instructor. 

(3) Written material covering the training course topics 

that may serve as reference material following completion of the 

course. 

§ 60.2075 When must the operator training course be completed? 

The operator training course must be completed by the later 

of the three dates specified in paragraphs (a) through (c) of 

this section. 

(a) Six months after your CISWI unit startup. 

(b) December 3, 2001. 

(c) The date before an employee assumes responsibility for 

operating the CISWI unit or assumes responsibility for 

supervising the operation of the CISWI unit. 

§ 60.2080 How do I obtain my operator qualification? 

(a) You must obtain operator qualification by completing a 

training course that satisfies the criteria under § 60.2070(b). 
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(b) Qualification is valid from the date on which the 

training course is completed and the operator successfully 

passes the examination required under § 60.2070(c)(2). 

§ 60.2085 How do I maintain my operator qualification? 

To maintain qualification, you must complete an annual 

review or refresher course covering, at a minimum, the five 

topics described in paragraphs (a) through (e) of this section. 

(a) Update of regulations. 

(b) Incinerator operation, including startup and shutdown 

procedures, waste charging, and ash handling. 

(c) Inspection and maintenance. 

(d) Prevention and correction of malfunctions or conditions 

that may lead to malfunction. 

(e) Discussion of operating problems encountered by 

attendees. 

§ 60.2090 How do I renew my lapsed operator qualification? 

You must renew a lapsed operator qualification by one of 

the two methods specified in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this 

section. 

(a) For a lapse of less than 3 years, you must complete a 

standard annual refresher course described in § 60.2085. 

(b) For a lapse of 3 years or more, you must repeat the 

initial qualification requirements in § 60.2080(a). 

§ 60.2095 What site-specific documentation is required? 
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(a) Documentation must be available at the facility and 

readily accessible for all CISWI unit operators that addresses 

the ten topics described in paragraphs (a)(1) through (10) of 

this section. You must maintain this information and the 

training records required by paragraph (c) of this section in a 

manner that they can be readily accessed and are suitable for 

inspection upon request. 

(1) Summary of the applicable standards under this subpart. 

(2) Procedures for receiving, handling, and charging waste. 

(3) Incinerator startup, shutdown, and malfunction 

procedures. 

(4) Procedures for maintaining proper combustion air supply 

levels. 

(5) Procedures for operating the incinerator and associated 

air pollution control systems within the standards established 

under this subpart. 

(6) Monitoring procedures for demonstrating compliance with 

the incinerator operating limits. 

(7) Reporting and recordkeeping procedures. 

(8) The waste management plan required under §§ 60.2055 

through 60.2065. 

(9) Procedures for handling ash. 

(10) A list of the wastes burned during the performance 

test. 
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(b) You must establish a program for reviewing the 

information listed in paragraph (a) of this section with each 

incinerator operator. 

(1) The initial review of the information listed in 

paragraph (a) of this section must be conducted within 6 months 

after the effective date of this subpart or prior to an 

employee's assumption of responsibilities for operation of the 

CISWI unit, whichever date is later. 

(2) Subsequent annual reviews of the information listed in 

paragraph (a) of this section must be conducted not later than 

12 months following the previous review. 

(c) You must also maintain the information specified in 

paragraphs (c)(1) through (3) of this section. 

(1) Records showing the names of CISWI unit operators who 

have completed review of the information in § 60.2095(a) as 

required by § 60.2095(b), including the date of the initial 

review and all subsequent annual reviews. 

(2) Records showing the names of the CISWI operators who 

have completed the operator training requirements under § 

60.2070, met the criteria for qualification under § 60.2080, and 

maintained or renewed their qualification under § 60.2085 or § 

60.2090. Records must include documentation of training, the 

dates of the initial and refresher training, and the dates of 
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their qualification and all subsequent renewals of such 

qualifications. 

(3) For each qualified operator, the phone and/or pager 

number at which they can be reached during operating hours. 

§ 60.2100 What if all the qualified operators are temporarily 

not accessible? 

If all qualified operators are temporarily not accessible 

(i.e., not at the facility and not able to be at the facility 

within 1 hour), you must meet one of the two criteria specified 

in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section, depending on the 

length of time that a qualified operator is not accessible. 

(a) When all qualified operators are not accessible for 

more than 8 hours, but less than 2 weeks, the CISWI unit may be 

operated by other plant personnel familiar with the operation of 

the CISWI unit who have completed a review of the information 

specified in § 60.2095(a) within the past 12 months. However, 

you must record the period when all qualified operators were not 

accessible and include this deviation in the annual report as 

specified under § 60.2210. 

(b) When all qualified operators are not accessible for 2 

weeks or more, you must take the two actions that are described 

in paragraphs (b)(1) and (2) of this section. 

(1) Notify the Administrator of this deviation in writing 

within 10 days. In the notice, state what caused this deviation, 
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what you are doing to ensure that a qualified operator is 

accessible, and when you anticipate that a qualified operator 

will be accessible. 

(2) Submit a status report to the Administrator every 4 

weeks outlining what you are doing to ensure that a qualified 

operator is accessible, stating when you anticipate that a 

qualified operator will be accessible and requesting approval 

from the Administrator to continue operation of the CISWI unit. 

You must submit the first status report 4 weeks after you notify 

the Administrator of the deviation under paragraph (b)(1) of 

this section. If the Administrator notifies you that your 

request to continue operation of the CISWI unit is disapproved, 

the CISWI unit may continue operation for 90 days, then must 

cease operation. Operation of the unit may resume if you meet 

the two requirements in paragraphs (b)(2)(i) and (ii) of this 

section. 

(i) A qualified operator is accessible as required under § 

60.2070(a). 

(ii) You notify the Administrator that a qualified operator 

is accessible and that you are resuming operation. 

Emission Limitations and Operating Limits 

§ 60.2105 What emission limitations must I meet and by when? 

(a) You must meet the emission limitations for each CISWI 

unit, including bypass stack or vent, specified in table 1 of 
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this subpart or tables 5 through 8 of this subpart by the 

applicable date in § 60.2140. You must be in compliance with the 

emission limitations of this subpart that apply to you at all 

times. 

(b) An incinerator or air curtain incinerator that 

commenced construction after November 30, 1999, but no later 

than June 4, 2010, or that commenced reconstruction or 

modification on or after June 1, 2001 but no later than August 

7, 2013, must continue to meet the emission limits in table 1 of 

this subpart for units in the incinerator subcategory and § 

60.2250 of this subpart for air curtain incinerators until the 

units become subject to the requirements of an approved state 

plan or federal plan that implements subpart DDDD of this part 

(Emission Guidelines and Compliance Times for Commercial and 

Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units).  

§ 60.2110 What operating limits must I meet and by when? 

(a) If you use a wet scrubber(s) to comply with the 

emission limitations, you must establish operating limits for up 

to four operating parameters (as specified in table 2 of this 

subpart) as described in paragraphs (a)(1) through (4) of this 

section during the initial performance test. 

(1) Maximum charge rate, calculated using one of the two 

different procedures in paragraph (a)(1)(i) or (ii), as 

appropriate. 
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(i) For continuous and intermittent units, maximum charge 

rate is 110 percent of the average charge rate measured during 

the most recent performance test demonstrating compliance with 

all applicable emission limitations. 

(ii) For batch units, maximum charge rate is 110 percent of 

the daily charge rate measured during the most recent 

performance test demonstrating compliance with all applicable 

emission limitations. 

(2) Minimum pressure drop across the wet particulate matter 

scrubber, which is calculated as the lowest 1-hour average 

pressure drop across the wet scrubber measured during the most 

recent performance test demonstrating compliance with the 

particulate matter emission limitations; or minimum amperage to 

the wet scrubber, which is calculated as the lowest 1-hour 

average amperage to the wet scrubber measured during the most 

recent performance test demonstrating compliance with the 

particulate matter emission limitations. 

(3) Minimum scrubber liquid flow rate, which is calculated 

as the lowest 1-hour average liquid flow rate at the inlet to 

the wet acid gas or particulate matter scrubber measured during 

the most recent performance test demonstrating compliance with 

all applicable emission limitations. 

(4) Minimum scrubber liquor pH, which is calculated as the 

lowest 1-hour average liquor pH at the inlet to the wet acid gas 
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scrubber measured during the most recent performance test 

demonstrating compliance with the HCl emission limitation. 

(b) You must meet the operating limits established during 

the initial performance test 60 days after your CISWI unit 

reaches the charge rate at which it will operate, but no later 

than 180 days after its initial startup. 

(c) If you use a fabric filter to comply with the emission 

limitations, you must operate each fabric filter system such 

that the bag leak detection system alarm does not sound more 

than 5 percent of the operating time during a 6-month period. In 

calculating this operating time percentage, if inspection of the 

fabric filter demonstrates that no corrective action is 

required, no alarm time is counted. If corrective action is 

required, each alarm shall be counted as a minimum of 1 hour. If 

you take longer than 1 hour to initiate corrective action, the 

alarm time shall be counted as the actual amount of time taken 

by you to initiate corrective action. 

(d) If you use an electrostatic precipitator to comply with 

the emission limitations, you must measure the (secondary) 

voltage and amperage of the electrostatic precipitator 

collection plates during the particulate matter performance 

test. Calculate the average electric power value (secondary 

voltage × secondary current = secondary electric power) for each 

test run. The operating limit for the electrostatic precipitator 
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is calculated as the lowest 1-hour average secondary electric 

power measured during the most recent performance test 

demonstrating compliance with the particulate matter emission 

limitations. 

(e) If you use activated carbon sorbent injection to comply 

with the emission limitations, you must measure the sorbent flow 

rate during the performance testing. The operating limit for the 

carbon sorbent injection is calculated as the lowest 1-hour 

average sorbent flow rate measured during the most recent 

performance test demonstrating compliance with the mercury 

emission limitations. For energy recovery units, when your unit 

operates at lower loads, multiply your sorbent injection rate by 

the load fraction, as defined in this subpart, to determine the 

required injection rate (e.g., for 50 percent load, multiply the 

injection rate operating limit by 0.5). 

(f) If you use selective noncatalytic reduction to comply 

with the emission limitations, you must measure the charge rate, 

the secondary chamber temperature (if applicable to your CISWI 

unit), and the reagent flow rate during the nitrogen oxides 

performance testing. The operating limits for the selective 

noncatalytic reduction are calculated as the highest 1-hour 

average charge rate, lower secondary chamber temperature, and 

lowest reagent flow rate measured during the most recent 
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performance test demonstrating compliance with the nitrogen 

oxides emission limitations. 

(g) If you use a dry scrubber to comply with the emission 

limitations, you must measure the injection rate of each sorbent 

during the performance testing. The operating limit for the 

injection rate of each sorbent is calculated as the lowest 1-

hour average injection rate or each sorbent measured during the 

most recent performance test demonstrating compliance with the 

hydrogen chloride emission limitations. For energy recovery 

units, when your unit operates at lower loads, multiply your 

sorbent injection rate by the load fraction, as defined in this 

subpart, to determine the required injection rate (e.g., for 50 

percent load, multiply the injection rate operating limit by 

0.5). 

(h) If you do not use a wet scrubber, electrostatic 

precipitator, or fabric filter to comply with the emission 

limitations, and if you do not determine compliance with your 

particulate matter emission limitation with a particulate matter 

CEMS, you must maintain opacity to less than or equal to 10 

percent opacity (1-hour block average). 

(i) If you use a PM CPMS to demonstrate compliance, you 

must establish your PM CPMS operating limit and determine 

compliance with it according to paragraphs (i)(1) through (5) of 

this section. 
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(1) Determine your operating limit as the average PM CPMS 

output value recorded during the performance test or at a PM 

CPMS output value corresponding to 75 percent of the emission 

limit if your PM performance test demonstrates compliance below 

75 percent of the emission limit. You must verify an existing or 

establish a new operating limit after each repeated performance 

test. You must repeat the performance test annually and reassess 

and adjust the site-specific operating limit in accordance with 

the results of the performance test. 

(i) Your PM CPMS must provide a 4-20 milliamp output, or 

digital equivalent, and the establishment of its relationship to 

manual reference method measurements must be determined in units 

of milliamps. 

(ii) Your PM CPMS operating range must be capable of 

reading PM concentrations from zero to a level equivalent to at 

least two times your allowable emission limit. If your PM CPMS 

is an auto-ranging instrument capable of multiple scales, the 

primary range of the instrument must be capable of reading PM 

concentration from zero to a level equivalent to two times your 

allowable emission limit. 

(iii) During the initial performance test or any such 

subsequent performance test that demonstrates compliance with 

the PM limit, record and average all milliamp or digital, output 

values from the PM CPMS for the periods corresponding to the 
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compliance test runs (e.g., average all your PM CPMS output 

values for three corresponding 2-hour Method 5I test runs). 

(2) If the average of your three PM performance test runs 

are below 75 percent of your PM emission limit, you must 

calculate an operating limit by establishing a relationship of 

PM CPMS signal to PM concentration using the PM CPMS instrument 

zero, the average PM CPMS output values corresponding to the 

three compliance test runs, and the average PM concentration 

from the Method 5 or performance test with the procedures in 

(i)(1)through (5) of this section. 

(i) Determine your instrument zero output with one of the 

following procedures: 

(A) Zero point data for in-situ instruments should be 

obtained by removing the instrument from the stack and 

monitoring ambient air on a test bench. 

(B) Zero point data for extractive instruments should be 

obtained by removing the extractive probe from the stack and 

drawing in clean ambient air. 

(C) The zero point can also can be established obtained by 

performing manual reference method measurements when the flue 

gas is free of PM emissions or contains very low PM 

concentrations (e.g., when your process is not operating, but 

the fans are operating or your source is combusting only natural 
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instrument (e.g., beta attenuation), span of the instruments 

primary analytical range, milliamp or digital signal value 

equivalent to the instrument zero output, technique by which 

this zero value was determined, and the average milliamp or 

digital signals corresponding to each PM compliance test run. 

§ 60.2115 What if I do not use a wet scrubber, fabric filter, 

activated carbon injection, selective noncatalytic reduction, an 

electrostatic precipitator, or a dry scrubber to comply with the 

emission limitations? 

If you use an air pollution control device other than a wet 

scrubber, activated carbon injection, selective noncatalytic 

reduction, fabric filter, an electrostatic precipitator, or a 

dry scrubber or limit emissions in some other manner, including 

material balances, to comply with the emission limitations under 

§ 60.2105, you must petition the EPA Administrator for specific 

operating limits to be established during the initial 

performance test and continuously monitored thereafter. You must 

submit the petition at least sixty days before the performance 

test is scheduled to begin. Your petition must include the five 

items listed in paragraphs (a) through (e) of this section. 

(a) Identification of the specific parameters you propose 

to use as additional operating limits. 

(b) A discussion of the relationship between these 

parameters and emissions of regulated pollutants, identifying 
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how emissions of regulated pollutants change with changes in 

these parameters and how limits on these parameters will serve 

to limit emissions of regulated pollutants. 

(c) A discussion of how you will establish the upper and/or 

lower values for these parameters which will establish the 

operating limits on these parameters. 

(d) A discussion identifying the methods you will use to 

measure and the instruments you will use to monitor these 

parameters, as well as the relative accuracy and precision of 

these methods and instruments. 

(e) A discussion identifying the frequency and methods for 

recalibrating the instruments you will use for monitoring these 

parameters. 

Performance Testing 

§ 60.2125 How do I conduct the initial and annual performance 

test? 

(a) All performance tests must consist of a minimum of 

three test runs conducted under conditions representative of 

normal operations. 

(b) You must document that the waste burned during the 

performance test is representative of the waste burned under 

normal operating conditions by maintaining a log of the quantity 

of waste burned (as required in § 60.2175(b)(1)) and the types 

of waste burned during the performance test. 
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(c) All performance tests must be conducted using the 

minimum run duration specified in table 1 of this subpart or 

tables 5 through 8 of this subpart. 

(d) Method 1 of appendix A of this part must be used to 

select the sampling location and number of traverse points. 

(e) Method 3A or 3B of appendix A of this part must be used 

for gas composition analysis, including measurement of oxygen 

concentration. Method 3A or 3B of appendix A of this part must 

be used simultaneously with each method. 

(f) All pollutant concentrations, except for opacity, must 

be adjusted to 7 percent oxygen using equation 5 of this 

section: 

 Cadj = Cmeas (20.9-7)/(20.9-%O2 ) (Eq. 5) 

Where: 

Cadj = pollutant concentration adjusted to 7 percent 
oxygen; 

Cmeas = pollutant concentration measured on a dry basis; 

(20.9-7) = 20.9 percent oxygen−7 percent oxygen (defined 
oxygen correction basis); 

20.9 = oxygen concentration in air, percent; and 

%O2 = oxygen concentration measured on a dry basis, 
percent. 

 
(g) You must determine dioxins/furans toxic equivalency by 

following the procedures in paragraphs (g)(1) through (4) of 

this section. 
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(1) Measure the concentration of each dioxin/furan tetra-

through octa-chlorinated isomer emitted using EPA Method 23 at 

40 CFR part 60, appendix A-7. 

(2) Quantify isomers meeting identification criteria 2, 3, 

4, and 5 in Section 5.3.2.5 of Method 23, regardless of whether 

the isomers meet identification criteria 1 and 7. You must 

quantify the isomers per Section 9.0 of Method 23. (Note: You 

may reanalyze the sample aliquot or split to reduce the number 

of isomers not meeting identification criteria 1 or 7 of Section 

5.3.2.5.) 

(3) For each dioxin/furan (tetra-through octa-chlorinated) 

isomer measured in accordance with paragraph (g)(1) and (2) of 

this section, multiply the isomer concentration by its 

corresponding toxic equivalency factor specified in table 3 of 

this subpart. 

(4) Sum the products calculated in accordance with 

paragraph (g)(3) of this section to obtain the total 

concentration of dioxins/furans emitted in terms of toxic 

equivalency. 

(h) Method 22 at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-7 of this part 

must be used to determine compliance with the fugitive ash 

emission limit in table 1 of this subpart or tables 5 through 8 

of this subpart. 
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(i) If you have an applicable opacity operating limit, you 

must determine compliance with the opacity limit using Method 9 

at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-4 of this part, based on three 1-

hour blocks consisting of ten 6-minute average opacity values, 

unless you are required to install a continuous opacity 

monitoring system, consistent with §§ 60.2145 and 60.2165. 

(j) You must determine dioxins/furans total mass basis by 

following the procedures in paragraphs (j)(1) through (3) of 

this section. 

(1) Measure the concentration of each dioxin/furan tetra-

through octa-chlorinated isomer emitted using EPA Method 23 at 

40 CFR part 60, appendix A-7. 

(2) Quantify isomers meeting identification criteria 2, 3, 

4, and 5 in Section 5.3.2.5 of Method 23, regardless of whether 

the isomers meet identification criteria 1 and 7. You must 

quantify the isomers per Section 9.0 of Method 23. (Note: You 

may reanalyze the sample aliquot or split to reduce the number 

of isomers not meeting identification criteria 1 or 7 of Section 

5.3.2.5.) 

(3) Sum the quantities measured in accordance with 

paragraphs (j)(1) and (2) of this section to obtain the total 

concentration of dioxins/furans emitted in terms of total mass 

basis. 

§ 60.2130 How are the performance test data used? 
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You use results of performance tests to demonstrate 

compliance with the emission limitations in table 1 of this 

subpart or tables 5 through 8 of this subpart. 

Initial Compliance Requirements 

§ 60.2135 How do I demonstrate initial compliance with the 

emission limitations and establish the operating limits? 

You must conduct a performance test, as required under §§ 

60.2125 and 60.2105 to determine compliance with the emission 

limitations in table 1 of this subpart or tables 5 through 8 of 

this subpart, to establish compliance with any opacity operating 

limit in § 60.2110, to establish the kiln-specific emission 

limit in § 60.2145(y), as applicable, and to establish operating 

limits using the procedures in §§ 60.2110 or 60.2115. The 

performance test must be conducted using the test methods listed 

in table 1 of this subpart or tables 5 through 8 of this subpart 

and the procedures in § 60.2125. The use of the bypass stack 

during a performance test shall invalidate the performance test. 

You must conduct a performance evaluation of each continuous 

monitoring system within 60 days of installation of the 

monitoring system. 

§ 60.2140 By what date must I conduct the initial performance 

test? 

(a) The initial performance test must be conducted within 

60 days after your CISWI unit reaches the charge rate at which 
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it will operate, but no later than 180 days after its initial 

startup. 

(b) If you commence or recommence combusting a solid waste 

at an existing combustion unit at any commercial or industrial 

facility, and you conducted a test consistent with the 

provisions of this subpart while combusting the solid waste 

within the 6 months preceding the reintroduction of that solid 

waste in the combustion chamber, you do not need to retest until 

6 months from the date you reintroduce that solid waste. 

(c) If you commence or recommence combusting a solid waste 

at an existing combustion unit at any commercial or industrial 

facility and you have not conducted a performance test 

consistent with the provisions of this subpart while combusting 

the solid waste within the 6 months preceding the reintroduction 

of that solid waste in the combustion chamber, you must conduct 

a performance test within 60 days from the date you reintroduce 

that solid waste. 

§ 60.2141 By what date must I conduct the initial air pollution 

control device inspection? 

(a) The initial air pollution control device inspection 

must be conducted within 60 days after installation of the 

control device and the associated CISWI unit reaches the charge 

rate at which it will operate, but no later than 180 days after 

the device's initial startup. 
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(b) Within 10 operating days following an air pollution 

control device inspection, all necessary repairs must be 

completed unless the owner or operator obtains written approval 

from the state agency establishing a date whereby all necessary 

repairs of the designated facility must be completed. 

Continuous Compliance Requirements 

§ 60.2145 How do I demonstrate continuous compliance with the 

emission limitations and the operating limits? 

(a) Compliance with standards. 

(1) The emission standards and operating requirements set 

forth in this subpart apply at all times. 

(2) If you cease combusting solid waste, you may opt to 

remain subject to the provisions of this subpart. Consistent 

with the definition of CISWI unit, you are subject to the 

requirements of this subpart at least 6 months following the 

last date of solid waste combustion. Solid waste combustion is 

ceased when solid waste is not in the combustion chamber (i.e., 

the solid waste feed to the combustor has been cut off for a 

period of time not less than the solid waste residence time). 

(3) If you cease combusting solid waste, you must be in 

compliance with any newly applicable standards on the effective 

date of the waste-to-fuel switch. The effective date of the 

waste-to-fuel switch is a date selected by you, that must be at 

least 6 months from the date that you ceased combusting solid 
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waste, consistent with § 60.2145(a)(2). Your source must remain 

in compliance with this subpart until the effective date of the 

waste-to-fuel switch. 

(4) If you own or operate an existing commercial or 

industrial combustion unit that combusted a fuel or non-waste 

material, and you commence or recommence combustion of solid 

waste, you are subject to the provisions of this subpart as of 

the first day you introduce or reintroduce solid waste to the 

combustion chamber, and this date constitutes the effective date 

of the fuel-to-waste switch. You must complete all initial 

compliance demonstrations for any section 112 standards that are 

applicable to your facility before you commence or recommence 

combustion of solid waste. You must provide 30 days prior notice 

of the effective date of the waste-to-fuel switch. The 

notification must identify: 

(i) The name of the owner or operator of the CISWI unit, 

the location of the source, the emissions unit(s) that will 

cease burning solid waste, and the date of the notice; 

(ii) The currently applicable subcategory under this 

subpart, and any 40 CFR part 63 subpart and subcategory that 

will be applicable after you cease combusting solid waste; 

(iii) The fuel(s), non-waste material(s) and solid waste(s) 

the CISWI unit is currently combusting and has combusted over 
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the past 6 months, and the fuel(s) or non-waste materials the 

unit will commence combusting; 

(iv) The date on which you became subject to the currently 

applicable emission limits; 

(v) The date upon which you will cease combusting solid 

waste, and the date (if different) that you intend for any new 

requirements to become applicable (i.e., the effective date of 

the waste-to-fuel switch), consistent with paragraphs (a)(2) and 

(3)of this section. 

(5) All air pollution control equipment necessary for 

compliance with any newly applicable emissions limits which 

apply as a result of the cessation or commencement or 

recommencement of combusting solid waste must be installed and 

operational as of the effective date of the waste-to-fuel, or 

fuel-to-waste switch. 

(6) All monitoring systems necessary for compliance with 

any newly applicable monitoring requirements which apply as a 

result of the cessation or commencement or recommencement of 

combusting solid waste must be installed and operational as of 

the effective date of the waste-to-fuel, or fuel-to-waste 

switch. All calibration and drift checks must be performed as of 

the effective date of the waste-to-fuel, or fuel-to-waste 

switch. Relative accuracy tests must be performed as of the 

performance test deadline for PM CEMS (if PM CEMS are elected to 
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demonstrate continuous compliance with the particulate matter 

emission limits). Relative accuracy testing for other CEMS need 

not be repeated if that testing was previously performed 

consistent with Clean Air Act section 112 monitoring 

requirements or monitoring requirements under this subpart. 

(b) You must conduct an annual performance test for the 

pollutants listed in table 1 of this subpart or tables 5 through 

8 of this subpart and opacity for each CISWI unit as required 

under § 60.2125. The annual performance test must be conducted 

using the test methods listed in table 1 of this subpart or 

tables 5 through 8 of this subpart and the procedures in § 

60.2125. Annual performance tests are not required if you use 

CEMS or continuous opacity monitoring systems to determine 

compliance. 

(c) You must continuously monitor the operating parameters 

specified in § 60.2110 or established under § 60.2115 and as 

specified in § 60.2170. Use 3-hour block average values to 

determine compliance (except for baghouse leak detection system 

alarms) unless a different averaging period is established under 

§ 60.2115 or, for energy recovery units, where the averaging 

time for each operating parameter is a 30-day rolling, 

calculated each hour as the average of the previous 720 

operating hours. Operation above the established maximum, below 

the established minimum, or outside the allowable range of 
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operating limits specified in paragraph (a) of this section 

constitutes a deviation from your operating limits established 

under this subpart, except during performance tests conducted to 

determine compliance with the emission and operating limits or 

to establish new operating limits. Operating limits are 

confirmed or reestablished during performance tests. 

(d) You must burn only the same types of waste and fuels 

used to establish subcategory applicability (for energy recovery 

units) and operating limits during the performance test. 

(e) For energy recovery units, incinerators, and small 

remote units, you must perform an annual visual emissions test 

for ash handling. 

(f) For energy recovery units, you must conduct an annual 

performance test for opacity (except where particulate matter 

CEMS or continuous opacity monitoring systems are used are used) 

and the pollutants listed in table 6 of this subpart. 

(g) You may elect to demonstrate continuous compliance with 

the carbon monoxide emission limit using a carbon monoxide CEMS 

according to the following requirements: 

(1) You must measure emissions according to § 60.13 to 

calculate 1-hour arithmetic averages, corrected to 7 percent 

oxygen. CEMS data during startup and shutdown, as defined in 

this subpart, are not corrected to 7 percent oxygen, and are 

measured at stack oxygen content. You must demonstrate initial 
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compliance with the carbon monoxide emissions limit using a 30-

day rolling average of these 1-hour arithmetic average emission 

concentrations, including CEMS data during startup and shutdown 

as defined in this subpart, calculated using equation 19-19 in 

section 12.4.1 of EPA Reference Method 19 at 40 CFR part 60, 

appendix A-7 of this part. 

(2) Operate the carbon monoxide CEMS in accordance with the 

requirements of performance specification 4A of appendix B of 

this part and quality assurance procedure 1 of appendix F of 

this part. 

(h) Coal and liquid/gas energy recovery units with average 

annual heat input rates greater than or equal to 250 MMBtu/hr 

may elect to demonstrate continuous compliance with the 

particulate matter emissions limit using a particulate matter 

CEMS according to the procedures in § 60.2165(n) instead of the 

particulate matter continuous parameter monitoring system (CPMS) 

specified in § 60.2145. Coal and liquid/gas energy recovery 

units with annual average heat input rates less than 250 

MMBtu/hr, incinerators, and small remote incinerators may also 

elect to demonstrate compliance using a particulate matter CEMS 

according to the procedures in § 60.2165(n) instead of 

particulate matter testing with EPA Method 5 at 40 CFR part 60, 

appendix A-3 and, if applicable, the continuous opacity 

monitoring requirements in paragraph (i) of this section. 
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(i) For energy recovery units with annual average heat 

input rates greater than or equal to 10 MMBtu/hour and less than 

250 MMBtu/hr, you must install, operate, certify and maintain a 

continuous opacity monitoring system (COMS) according to the 

procedures in § 60.2165. 

(j) For waste-burning kilns, you must conduct an annual 

performance test for cadmium, lead, dioxins/furans and hydrogen 

chloride as listed in table 7 of this subpart. You must 

determine compliance with hydrogen chloride using a hydrogen 

chloride CEMS if you do not use an acid gas wet scrubber or dry 

scrubber. You must determine compliance with nitrogen oxides, 

sulfur dioxide, and carbon monoxide using CEMS. You must 

determine compliance with particulate matter using CPMS. You 

must determine compliance with the mercury emissions limit using 

a mercury CEMS according to the following requirements: 

(1) Operate a CEMS system in accordance with performance 

specification 12A of 40 CFR part 60, appendix B or a sorbent 

trap based integrated monitor in accordance with performance 

specification 12B of 40 CFR part 60, appendix B. The duration of 

the performance test must be a calendar month. For each calendar 

month in which the waste-burning kiln operates, hourly mercury 

concentration data, and stack gas volumetric flow rate data must 

be obtained. You must demonstrate compliance with the mercury 

emissions limit using a 30-day rolling average of these 1-hour 
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mercury concentrations, including CEMS data during startup and 

shutdown as defined in this subpart, calculated using equation 

19-19 in section 12.4.1 of EPA Reference Method 19 at 40 CFR 

part 60, appendix A-7 of this part. CEMS data during startup and 

shutdown, as defined in this subpart, are not corrected to 7 

percent oxygen, and are measured at stack oxygen content. 

(2) Owners or operators using a mercury CEMS must install, 

operate, calibrate, and maintain an instrument for continuously 

measuring and recording the mercury mass emissions rate to the 

atmosphere according to the requirements of performance 

specifications 6 and 12A of 40 CFR part 60, appendix B, and 

quality assurance procedure 6 of 40 CFR part 60, appendix F. 

(3) The owner or operator of a waste-burning kiln must 

demonstrate initial compliance by operating a mercury CEMS while 

the raw mill of the in-line kiln/raw mill is operating under 

normal conditions and including at least one period when the raw 

mill is off. 

(k) If you use an air pollution control device to meet the 

emission limitations in this subpart, you must conduct an 

initial and annual inspection of the air pollution control 

device. The inspection must include, at a minimum, the 

following: 

(1) Inspect air pollution control device(s) for proper 

operation. 
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(2) Develop a site-specific monitoring plan according to 

the requirements in paragraph (l) of this section. This 

requirement also applies to you if you petition the EPA 

Administrator for alternative monitoring parameters under § 

60.13(i). 

(l) For each continuous monitoring system required in this 

section, you must develop and submit to the EPA Administrator 

for approval a site-specific monitoring plan according to the 

requirements of this paragraph (l) that addresses paragraphs 

(l)(1)(i) through (vi) of this section. 

(1) You must submit this site-specific monitoring plan at 

least 60 days before your initial performance evaluation of your 

continuous monitoring system. 

(i) Installation of the continuous monitoring system 

sampling probe or other interface at a measurement location 

relative to each affected process unit such that the measurement 

is representative of control of the exhaust emissions (e.g., on 

or downstream of the last control device). 

(ii) Performance and equipment specifications for the 

sample interface, the pollutant concentration or parametric 

signal analyzer and the data collection and reduction systems. 

(iii) Performance evaluation procedures and acceptance 

criteria (e.g., calibrations). 
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(iv) Ongoing operation and maintenance procedures in 

accordance with the general requirements of § 60.11(d). 

(v) Ongoing data quality assurance procedures in accordance 

with the general requirements of § 60.13. 

(vi) Ongoing recordkeeping and reporting procedures in 

accordance with the general requirements of § 60.7(b), (c), 

(c)(1), (c)(4), (d), (e), (f), and (g). 

(2) You must conduct a performance evaluation of each 

continuous monitoring system in accordance with your site-

specific monitoring plan. 

(3) You must operate and maintain the continuous monitoring 

system in continuous operation according to the site-specific 

monitoring plan. 

(m) If you have an operating limit that requires the use of 

a flow monitoring system, you must meet the requirements in 

paragraphs (l) and (m)(1) through (4) of this section. 

(1) Install the flow sensor and other necessary equipment 

in a position that provides a representative flow. 

(2) Use a flow sensor with a measurement sensitivity at 

full scale of no greater than 2 percent. 

(3) Minimize the effects of swirling flow or abnormal 

velocity distributions due to upstream and downstream 

disturbances. 
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(4) Conduct a flow monitoring system performance evaluation 

in accordance with your monitoring plan at the time of each 

performance test but no less frequently than annually. 

(n) If you have an operating limit that requires the use of 

a pressure monitoring system, you must meet the requirements in 

paragraphs (l) and (n)(1) through (6) of this section. 

(1) Install the pressure sensor(s) in a position that 

provides a representative measurement of the pressure (e.g., PM 

scrubber pressure drop). 

(2) Minimize or eliminate pulsating pressure, vibration, 

and internal and external corrosion. 

(3) Use a pressure sensor with a minimum tolerance of 1.27 

centimeters of water or a minimum tolerance of 1 percent of the 

pressure monitoring system operating range, whichever is less. 

(4) Perform checks at the frequency outlined in your site-

specific monitoring plan to ensure pressure measurements are not 

obstructed (e.g., check for pressure tap plugging daily). 

(5) Conduct a performance evaluation of the pressure 

monitoring system in accordance with your monitoring plan at the 

time of each performance test but no less frequently than 

annually. 

(6) If at any time the measured pressure exceeds the 

manufacturer's specified maximum operating pressure range, 

conduct a performance evaluation of the pressure monitoring 
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system in accordance with your monitoring plan and confirm that 

the pressure monitoring system continues to meet the performance 

requirements in your monitoring plan. Alternatively, install and 

verify the operation of a new pressure sensor. 

(o) If you have an operating limit that requires a pH 

monitoring system, you must meet the requirements in paragraphs 

(l) and (o)(1) through (4) of this section. 

(1) Install the pH sensor in a position that provides a 

representative measurement of scrubber effluent pH. 

(2) Ensure the sample is properly mixed and representative 

of the fluid to be measured. 

(3) Conduct a performance evaluation of the pH monitoring 

system in accordance with your monitoring plan at least once 

each process operating day. 

(4) Conduct a performance evaluation (including a two-point 

calibration with one of the two buffer solutions having a pH 

within 1 of the pH of the operating limit) of the pH monitoring 

system in accordance with your monitoring plan at the time of 

each performance test but no less frequently than quarterly. 

(p) If you have an operating limit that requires a 

secondary electric power monitoring system for an electrostatic 

precipitator, you must meet the requirements in paragraphs (l) 

and (p)(1) through (2) of this section. 
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(1) Install sensors to measure (secondary) voltage and 

current to the precipitator collection plates. 

(2) Conduct a performance evaluation of the electric power 

monitoring system in accordance with your monitoring plan at the 

time of each performance test but no less frequently than 

annually. 

(q) If you have an operating limit that requires the use of 

a monitoring system to measure sorbent injection rate (e.g., 

weigh belt, weigh hopper, or hopper flow measurement device), 

you must meet the requirements in paragraphs (l) and (q)(1) and 

(2) of this section. 

(1) Install the system in a position(s) that provides a 

representative measurement of the total sorbent injection rate. 

(2) Conduct a performance evaluation of the sorbent 

injection rate monitoring system in accordance with your 

monitoring plan at the time of each performance test but no less 

frequently than annually. 

(r) If you elect to use a fabric filter bag leak detection 

system to comply with the requirements of this subpart, you must 

install, calibrate, maintain, and continuously operate a bag 

leak detection system as specified in paragraphs (l) and (r)(1) 

through (5) of this section. 

(1) Install a bag leak detection sensor(s) in a position(s) 

that will be representative of the relative or absolute 
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particulate matter loadings for each exhaust stack, roof vent, 

or compartment (e.g., for a positive pressure fabric filter) of 

the fabric filter. 

(2) Use a bag leak detection system certified by the 

manufacturer to be capable of detecting particulate matter 

emissions at concentrations of 10 milligrams per actual cubic 

meter or less. 

(3) Conduct a performance evaluation of the bag leak 

detection system in accordance with your monitoring plan and 

consistent with the guidance provided in EPA-454/R-98-015 

(incorporated by reference, see § 60.17). 

(4) Use a bag leak detection system equipped with a device 

to continuously record the output signal from the sensor. 

(5) Use a bag leak detection system equipped with a system 

that will sound an alarm when an increase in relative 

particulate matter emissions over a preset level is detected. 

The alarm must be located where it is observed readily by plant 

operating personnel. 

(s) For facilities using a CEMS to demonstrate compliance 

with the sulfur dioxide emission limit, compliance with the 

sulfur dioxide emission limit may be demonstrated by using the 

CEMS specified in § 60.2165 to measure sulfur dioxide. CEMS data 

during startup and shutdown, as defined in this subpart, are not 

corrected to 7 percent oxygen, and are measured at stack oxygen 
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content. You must calculate a 30-day rolling average of the 1-

hour arithmetic average emission concentrations, including CEMS 

data during startup and shutdown as defined in this subpart, 

calculated using equation 19-19 in section 12.4.1 of EPA 

Reference Method 19 at 40 CFR part 60, Appendix A-7 of this 

part. The sulfur dioxide CEMS must be operated according to 

performance specification 2 in appendix B of this part and must 

follow the procedures and methods specified in this paragraph 

(s). For sources that have actual inlet emissions less than 100 

parts per million dry volume, the relative accuracy criterion 

for inlet sulfur dioxide CEMS should be no greater than 20 

percent of the mean value of the reference method test data in 

terms of the units of the emission standard, or 5 parts per 

million dry volume absolute value of the mean difference between 

the reference method and the CEMS, whichever is greater. 

(1) During each relative accuracy test run of the CEMS 

required by performance specification 2 in appendix B of this 

part, collect sulfur dioxide and oxygen (or carbon dioxide) data 

concurrently (or within a 30- to 60-minute period) with both the 

CEMS and the test methods specified in paragraphs (s)(1)(i) and 

(ii) of this section. 

(i) For sulfur dioxide, EPA Reference Method 6 or 6C, or as 

an alternative ANSI/ASME PTC 19.10-1981 (incorporated by 

reference, see § 60.17) must be used. 
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(ii) For oxygen (or carbon dioxide), EPA Reference Method 

3A or 3B, or as an alternative ANSI/ASME PTC 19.10-1981 

(incorporated by reference, see § 60.17), must be used. 

(2) The span value of the CEMS at the inlet to the sulfur 

dioxide control device must be 125 percent of the maximum 

estimated hourly potential sulfur dioxide emissions of the unit 

subject to this rule. The span value of the CEMS at the outlet 

of the sulfur dioxide control device must be 50 percent of the 

maximum estimated hourly potential sulfur dioxide emissions of 

the unit subject to this rule. 

(3) Conduct accuracy determinations quarterly and 

calibration drift tests daily in accordance with procedure 1 in 

appendix F of this part. 

(t) For facilities using a CEMS to demonstrate continuous 

compliance with the nitrogen oxides emission limit, compliance 

with the nitrogen oxides emission limit may be demonstrated by 

using the CEMS specified in § 60.2165 to measure nitrogen 

oxides. CEMS data during startup and shutdown, as defined in 

this subpart, are not corrected to 7 percent oxygen, and are 

measured at stack oxygen content. You must calculate a 30-day 

rolling average of the 1-hour arithmetic average emission 

concentrations, including CEMS data during startup and shutdown 

as defined in this subpart, using equation 19-19 in section 

12.4.1 of EPA Reference Method 19 at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-
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7 of this part. The nitrogen oxides CEMS must be operated 

according to performance specification 2 in appendix B of this 

part and must follow the procedures and methods specified in 

paragraphs (t)(1) through (5) of this section. 

(1) During each relative accuracy test run of the CEMS 

required by performance specification 2 of appendix B of this 

part, collect nitrogen oxides and oxygen (or carbon dioxide) 

data concurrently (or within a 30- to 60-minute period) with 

both the CEMS and the test methods specified in paragraphs 

(t)(1)(i) and (ii) of this section. 

(i) For nitrogen oxides, EPA Reference Method 7 or 7E at 40 

CFR part 60, appendix A-4 must be used. 

(ii) For oxygen (or carbon dioxide), EPA Reference Method 

3A or 3B at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-3, or as an alternative 

ANSI/ASME PTC 19-10.1981 (incorporated by reference, see § 

60.17), as applicable, must be used. 

(2) The span value of the continuous emission monitoring 

system must be 125 percent of the maximum estimated hourly 

potential nitrogen oxide emissions of the unit. 

(3) Conduct accuracy determinations quarterly and 

calibration drift tests daily in accordance with procedure 1 in 

appendix F of this part. 

(4) The owner or operator of an affected facility may 

request that compliance with the nitrogen oxides emission limit 
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be determined using carbon dioxide measurements corrected to an 

equivalent of 7 percent oxygen. If carbon dioxide is selected 

for use in diluent corrections, the relationship between oxygen 

and carbon dioxide levels must be established during the initial 

performance test according to the procedures and methods 

specified in paragraphs (t)(4)(i) through (t)(4)(iv) of this 

section. This relationship may be re-established during 

performance compliance tests. 

(i) The fuel factor equation in Method 3B must be used to 

determine the relationship between oxygen and carbon dioxide at 

a sampling location. Method 3A or 3B, or as an alternative 

ANSI/ASME PTC 19.10-1981 (incorporated by reference, see § 

60.17), as applicable, must be used to determine the oxygen 

concentration at the same location as the carbon dioxide 

monitor. 

(ii) Samples must be taken for at least 30 minutes in each 

hour. 

(iii) Each sample must represent a 1-hour average. 

(iv) A minimum of three runs must be performed. 

(u) For facilities using a CEMS to demonstrate continuous 

compliance with any of the emission limits of this subpart, you 

must complete the following: 

(1) Demonstrate compliance with the appropriate emission 

limit(s) using a 30-day rolling average of 1-hour arithmetic 
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average emission concentrations, including CEMS data during 

startup and shutdown as defined in this subpart, calculated 

using equation 19-19 in section 12.4.1 of EPA Reference Method 

19 at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-7 of this part. CEMS data 

during startup and shutdown, as defined in the subpart, are not 

corrected to 7 percent oxygen, and are measured at stack oxygen 

content. 

(2) Operate all CEMS in accordance with the applicable 

procedures under appendices B and F of this part. 

(v) Use of the bypass stack at any time is an emissions 

standards deviation for particulate matter, HCl, Pb, Cd, Hg, NOX, 

SO2, and dioxin/furans. 

(w) For energy recovery units with a design heat input 

capacity of 100 MMBtu per hour or greater that do not use a 

carbon monoxide CEMS, you must install, operate, and maintain a 

oxygen analyzer system as defined in § 60.2265 according to the 

procedures in paragraphs (w)(1) through (4) of this section. 

(1) The oxygen analyzer system must be installed by the 

initial performance test date specified in § 60.2140. 

(2) You must operate the oxygen trim system within 

compliance with paragraph (w)(3) of this section at all times. 

(3) You must maintain the oxygen level such that the 30-day 

rolling average that is established as the operating limit for 

oxygen is not below the lowest hourly average oxygen 
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concentration measured during the most recent CO performance 

test. 

(4) You must calculate and record a 30-day rolling average 

oxygen concentration using equation 19-19 in section 12.4.1 of 

EPA Reference Method 19 of Appendix A-7 of this part. 

(x) For energy recovery units with annual average heat 

input rates greater than or equal to 250 MMBtu/hour and waste-

burning kilns, you must install, calibrate, maintain, and 

operate a PM CPMS and record the output of the system as 

specified in paragraphs (x)(1) through (x)(8) of this section. 

For other energy recovery units, you may elect to use PM CPMS 

operated in accordance with this section. PM CPMS are suitable 

in lieu of using other CMS for monitoring PM compliance (e.g., 

bag leak detectors, ESP secondary power, PM scrubber pressure). 

(1) Install, calibrate, operate, and maintain your PM CPMS 

according to the procedures in your approved site-specific 

monitoring plan developed in accordance with paragraphs(l) and 

(x)(1)(i) through (x)(1)(iii) of this section. 

(i) The operating principle of the PM CPMS must be based on 

in-stack or extractive light scatter, light scintillation, beta 

attenuation, or mass accumulation detection of the exhaust gas 

or representative sample. The reportable measurement output from 

the PM CPMS must be expressed as milliamps. 
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(ii) The PM CPMS must have a cycle time (i.e., period 

required to complete sampling, measurement, and reporting for 

each measurement) no longer than 60 minutes. 

(iii) The PM CPMS must be capable of detecting and 

responding to particulate matter concentrations increments no 

greater than 0.5 mg/actual cubic meter. 

(2) During the initial performance test or any such 

subsequent performance test that demonstrates compliance with 

the PM limit, you must adjust the site-specific operating limit 

in accordance with the results of the performance test according 

to the procedures specified in § 60.2110. 

(3) Collect PM CPMS hourly average output data for all 

energy recovery unit or waste-burning kiln operating hours. 

Express the PM CPMS output as milliamps. 

(4) Calculate the arithmetic 30-day rolling average of all 

of the hourly average PM CPMS output collected during all energy 

recovery unit or waste-burning kiln operating hours data 

(milliamps or their digital equivalent). 

(5) You must collect data using the PM CPMS at all times 

the energy recovery unit or waste-burning kiln is operating and 

at the intervals specified in paragraph (x)(1)(ii) of this 

section, except for periods of monitoring system malfunctions, 

repairs associated with monitoring system malfunctions, required 

monitoring system quality assurance or quality control 
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activities (including, as applicable, calibration checks and 

required zero and span adjustments), and any scheduled 

maintenance as defined in your site-specific monitoring plan. 

(6) You must use all the data collected during all energy 

recovery unit or waste-burning kiln operating hours in assessing 

the compliance with your operating limit except: 

(i) Any data collected during monitoring system 

malfunctions, repairs associated with monitoring system 

malfunctions, or required monitoring system quality assurance or 

quality control activities conducted during monitoring system 

malfunctions are not used in calculations (report any such 

periods in your annual deviation report); 

(ii) Any data collected during periods when the monitoring 

system is out of control as specified in your site-specific 

monitoring plan, repairs associated with periods when the 

monitoring system is out of control, or required monitoring 

system quality assurance or quality control activities conducted 

during out-of-control periods are not used in calculations 

(report emissions or operating levels and report any such 

periods in your annual deviation report); 

(iii) Any PM CPMS data recorded during periods of CEMS data 

during startup and shutdown, as defined in this subpart. 

(7) You must record and make available upon request results 

of PM CPMS system performance audits, as well as the dates and 
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duration of periods from when the PM CPMS is out of control 

until completion of the corrective actions necessary to return 

the PM CPMS to operation consistent with your site-specific 

monitoring plan. 

(8) For any deviation of the 30-day rolling average PM CPMS 

average value from the established operating parameter limit, 

you must: 

(i) Within 48 hours of the deviation, visually inspect the 

air pollution control device; 

(ii) If inspection of the air pollution control device 

identifies the cause of the deviation, take corrective action as 

soon as possible and return the PM CPMS measurement to within 

the established value; and 

(iii) Within 30 days of the deviation or at the time of the 

annual compliance test, whichever comes first, conduct a PM 

emissions compliance test to determine compliance with the PM 

emissions limit and to verify. Within 45 days of the deviation, 

you must re-establish the CPMS operating limit. You are not 

required to conduct additional testing for any deviations that 

occur between the time of the original deviation and the PM 

emissions compliance test required under this paragraph. 

(iv) PM CPMS deviations leading to more than four required 

performance tests in a 12-month process operating period 

(rolling monthly) constitute a violation of this subpart. 
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(y) When there is an alkali bypass and/or an in-line coal 

mill that exhaust emissions through a separate stack(s), the 

combined emissions are subject to the emission limits applicable 

to waste-burning kilns. To determine the kiln-specific emission 

limit for demonstrating compliance, you must: 

(1) Calculate a kiln-specific emission limit using equation 

6: 

Cks = ((Emission limit x (Qab+Qcm+Qks)) –(Qab x Cab) 
  – (Qcm x Ccm))/Qks (Eq. 6) 
Where: 

Cks = Kiln stack concentration (ppmvd, mg/dscm, ng/dscm, 
depending on pollutant. Each corrected to 7% O2.) 

Qab = Alkali bypass flow rate (volume/hr) 

Cab = Alkali bypass concentration (ppmvd, mg/dscm, 
ng/dscm, depending on pollutant. Each corrected to 
7% O2.) 

Qcm = In-line coal mill flow rate (volume/hr) 

Ccm = In-line coal mill concentration (ppmvd, mg/dscm, 
ng/dscm, depending on pollutant. Each corrected to 
7% O2.) 

Qks = Kiln stack flow rate (volume/hr) 

 

(2) Particulate matter concentration must be measured 

downstream of the in-line coal mill. All other pollutant 

concentrations must be measured either upstream or downstream of 

the in-line coal mill.  

§ 60.2150 By what date must I conduct the annual performance 

test? 
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You must conduct annual performance tests between 11 and 13 

months of the previous performance test. 

§ 60.2151 By what date must I conduct the annual air pollution 

control device inspection? 

On an annual basis (no more than 12 months following the 

previous annual air pollution control device inspection), you 

must complete the air pollution control device inspection as 

described in § 60.2141. 

§ 60.2155 May I conduct performance testing less often? 

(a) You must conduct annual performance tests according to 

the schedule specified in § 60.2150, with the following 

exceptions: 

(1) You may conduct a repeat performance test at any time 

to establish new values for the operating limits to apply from 

that point forward, as specified in § 60.2160. The Administrator 

may request a repeat performance test at any time. 

(2) You must repeat the performance test within 60 days of 

a process change, as defined in § 60.2265. 

(3) If the initial or any subsequent performance test for 

any pollutant in table 1 or tables 5 through 8 of this subpart, 

as applicable, demonstrates that the emission level for the 

pollutant is no greater than the emission level specified in 

paragraph (a)(3)(i) or (a)(3)(ii) of this section, as 

applicable, and you are not required to conduct a performance 
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test for the pollutant in response to a request by the 

Administrator in paragraph (a)(1) of this section or a process 

change in paragraph (a)(2) of this section, you may elect to 

skip conducting a performance test for the pollutant for the 

next 2 years. You must conduct a performance test for the 

pollutant during the third year and no more than 37 months 

following the previous performance test for the pollutant. For 

cadmium and lead, both cadmium and lead must be emitted at 

emission levels no greater than their respective emission levels 

specified in paragraph (a)(3)(i) of this section for you to 

qualify for less frequent testing under this paragraph. 

(i) For particulate matter, hydrogen chloride, mercury, 

nitrogen oxides, sulfur dioxide, cadmium, lead and 

dioxins/furans, the emission level equal to 75 percent of the 

applicable emission limit in table 1 or tables 5 through 8 of 

this subpart, as applicable, to this subpart. 

(ii) For fugitive emissions, visible emissions (of 

combustion ash from the ash conveying system) for 2 percent of 

the time during each of the three 1-hour observations periods. 

(4) If you are conducting less frequent testing for a 

pollutant as provided in paragraph (a)(3) of this section and a 

subsequent performance test for the pollutant indicates that 

your CISWI unit does not meet the emission level specified in 

paragraph (a)(3)(i) or (a)(3)(ii) of this section, as 
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applicable, you must conduct annual performance tests for the 

pollutant according to the schedule specified in paragraph (a) 

of this section until you qualify for less frequent testing for 

the pollutant as specified in paragraph (a)(3) of this section. 

(b) [Reserved] 

§ 60.2160 May I conduct a repeat performance test to establish 

new operating limits? 

(a) Yes. You may conduct a repeat performance test at any 

time to establish new values for the operating limits. The 

Administrator may request a repeat performance test at any time. 

(b) You must repeat the performance test if your feed 

stream is different than the feed streams used during any 

performance test used to demonstrate compliance. 

Monitoring 

§ 60.2165 What monitoring equipment must I install and what 

parameters must I monitor? 

(a) If you are using a wet scrubber to comply with the 

emission limitation under § 60.2105, you must install, calibrate 

(to manufacturers' specifications), maintain, and operate 

devices (or establish methods) for monitoring the value of the 

operating parameters used to determine compliance with the 

operating limits listed in table 2 of this subpart. These 

devices (or methods) must measure and record the values for 

these operating parameters at the frequencies indicated in table 
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2 of this subpart at all times except as specified in § 

60.2170(a). 

(b) If you use a fabric filter to comply with the 

requirements of this subpart, you must install, calibrate, 

maintain, and continuously operate a bag leak detection system 

as specified in paragraphs (b)(1) through (8) of this section. 

(1) You must install and operate a bag leak detection 

system for each exhaust stack of the fabric filter. 

(2) Each bag leak detection system must be installed, 

operated, calibrated, and maintained in a manner consistent with 

the manufacturer's written specifications and recommendations. 

(3) The bag leak detection system must be certified by the 

manufacturer to be capable of detecting particulate matter 

emissions at concentrations of 10 milligrams per actual cubic 

meter or less. 

(4) The bag leak detection system sensor must provide 

output of relative or absolute particulate matter loadings. 

(5) The bag leak detection system must be equipped with a 

device to continuously record the output signal from the sensor. 

(6) The bag leak detection system must be equipped with an 

alarm system that will alert automatically an operator when an 

increase in relative particulate matter emissions over a preset 

level is detected. The alarm must be located where it is 

observed easily by plant operating personnel. 
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(7) For positive pressure fabric filter systems, a bag leak 

detection system must be installed in each baghouse compartment 

or cell. For negative pressure or induced air fabric filters, 

the bag leak detector must be installed downstream of the fabric 

filter. 

(8) Where multiple detectors are required, the system's 

instrumentation and alarm may be shared among detectors. 

(c) If you are using something other than a wet scrubber, 

activated carbon, selective non-catalytic reduction, an 

electrostatic precipitator, or a dry scrubber to comply with the 

emission limitations under § 60.2105, you must install, 

calibrate (to the manufacturers' specifications), maintain, and 

operate the equipment necessary to monitor compliance with the 

site-specific operating limits established using the procedures 

in § 60.2115. 

(d) If you use activated carbon injection to comply with 

the emission limitations in this subpart, you must measure the 

minimum mercury sorbent flow rate once per hour. 

(e) If you use selective noncatalytic reduction to comply 

with the emission limitations, you must complete the following: 

(1) Following the date on which the initial performance 

test is completed or is required to be completed under § 

60.2125, whichever date comes first, ensure that the affected 

facility does not operate above the maximum charge rate, or 
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below the minimum secondary chamber temperature (if applicable 

to your CISWI unit) or the minimum reagent flow rate measured as 

3-hour block averages at all times. 

(2) Operation of the affected facility above the maximum 

charge rate, below the minimum secondary chamber temperature and 

below the minimum reagent flow rate simultaneously constitute a 

violation of the nitrogen oxides emissions limit. 

(f) If you use an electrostatic precipitator to comply with 

the emission limits of this subpart, you must monitor the 

secondary power to the electrostatic precipitator collection 

plates and maintain the 3-hour block averages at or above the 

operating limits established during the mercury or particulate 

matter performance test. 

(g) For waste-burning kilns not equipped with a wet 

scrubber or dry scrubber, in place of hydrogen chloride testing 

with EPA Method 321 at 40 CFR part 63, appendix A, an owner or 

operator must install, calibrate, maintain, and operate a CEMS 

for monitoring hydrogen chloride emissions discharged to the 

atmosphere and record the output of the system. To demonstrate 

continuous compliance with the hydrogen chloride emissions limit 

for units other than waste-burning kilns not equipped with a wet 

scrubber or dry scrubber, a facility may substitute use of a 

hydrogen chloride CEMS for conducting the hydrogen chloride 

annual performance test, monitoring the minimum hydrogen 
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chloride sorbent flow rate, monitoring the minimum scrubber 

liquor pH, and monitoring minimum injection rate. 

(h) To demonstrate continuous compliance with the 

particulate matter emissions limit, a facility may substitute 

use of a particulate matter CEMS for conducting the PM annual 

performance test and using other CMS for monitoring PM 

compliance (e.g., bag leak detectors, ESP secondary power, PM 

scrubber pressure). 

(i) To demonstrate continuous compliance with the 

dioxin/furan emissions limit, a facility may substitute use of a 

continuous automated sampling system for the dioxin/furan annual 

performance test. You must record the output of the system and 

analyze the sample according to EPA Method 23 at 40 CFR part 60, 

appendix A-7 of this part. This option to use a continuous 

automated sampling system takes effect on the date a final 

performance specification applicable to dioxin/furan from 

continuous monitors is published in the Federal Register. The 

owner or operator who elects to continuously sample dioxin/furan 

emissions instead of sampling and testing using EPA Method 23 at 

40 CFR part 60, appendix A-7 must install, calibrate, maintain, 

and operate a continuous automated sampling system and must 

comply with the requirements specified in § 60.58b(p) and (q). A 

facility may substitute continuous dioxin/furan monitoring for 

the minimum sorbent flow rate, if activated carbon sorbent 
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injection is used solely for compliance with the dioxin/furan 

emission limit. 

(j) To demonstrate continuous compliance with the mercury 

emissions limit, a facility may substitute use of a continuous 

automated sampling system for the mercury annual performance 

test. You must record the output of the system and analyze the 

sample at set intervals using any suitable determinative 

technique that can meet performance specification 12B. The owner 

or operator who elects to continuously sample mercury emissions 

instead of sampling and testing using EPA Reference Method 29 or 

30B at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-8 of this part, ASTM D6784-02 

(Reapproved 2008) (incorporated by reference, see § 60.17), or 

an approved alternative method for measuring mercury emissions, 

must install, calibrate, maintain, and operate a continuous 

automated sampling system and must comply with performance 

specification 12A and quality assurance procedure 5, as well as 

the requirements specified in § 60.58b(p) and (q). A facility 

may substitute continuous mercury monitoring for the minimum 

sorbent flow rate, if activated carbon sorbent injection is used 

solely for compliance with the mercury emission limit. 

(k) To demonstrate continuous compliance with the nitrogen 

oxides emissions limit, a facility may substitute use of a CEMS 

for the nitrogen oxides annual performance test to demonstrate 

compliance with the nitrogen oxides emissions limits and 
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monitoring the charge rate, secondary chamber temperature, and 

reagent flow for selective noncatalytic reduction, if 

applicable. 

(1) Install, calibrate, maintain, and operate a CEMS for 

measuring nitrogen oxides emissions discharged to the atmosphere 

and record the output of the system. The requirements under 

performance specification 2 of appendix B of this part, the 

quality assurance procedure one of appendix F of this part and 

the procedures under § 60.13 must be followed for installation, 

evaluation, and operation of the CEMS. 

(2) Following the date that the initial performance test 

for nitrogen oxides is completed or is required to be completed 

under § 60.2125, compliance with the emission limit for nitrogen 

oxides required under § 60.52b(d) must be determined based on 

the 30-day rolling average of the hourly emission concentrations 

using CEMS outlet data. The 1-hour arithmetic averages must be 

expressed in parts per million by volume corrected to 7 percent 

oxygen (dry basis) and used to calculate the 30-day rolling 

average concentrations. CEMS data during startup and shutdown, 

as defined in this subpart, are not corrected to 7 percent 

oxygen, and are measured at stack oxygen content. The 1-hour 

arithmetic averages must be calculated using the data points 

required under § 60.13(e)(2). 
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(l) To demonstrate continuous compliance with the sulfur 

dioxide emissions limit, a facility may substitute use of a 

continuous automated sampling system for the sulfur dioxide 

annual performance test to demonstrate compliance with the 

sulfur dioxide emissions limits. 

(1) Install, calibrate, maintain, and operate a CEMS for 

measuring sulfur dioxide emissions discharged to the atmosphere 

and record the output of the system. The requirements under 

performance specification 2 of appendix B of this part, the 

quality assurance requirements of procedure one of appendix F of 

this part and procedures under § 60.13 must be followed for 

installation, evaluation, and operation of the CEMS. 

(2) Following the date that the initial performance test 

for sulfur dioxide is completed or is required to be completed 

under § 60.2125, compliance with the sulfur dioxide emission 

limit may be determined based on the 30-day rolling average of 

the hourly arithmetic average emission concentrations using CEMS 

outlet data. The 1-hour arithmetic averages must be expressed in 

parts per million corrected to 7 percent oxygen (dry basis) and 

used to calculate the 30-day rolling average emission 

concentrations. CEMS data during startup and shutdown, as 

defined in this subpart, are not corrected to 7 percent oxygen, 

and are measured at stack oxygen content. The 1-hour arithmetic 
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averages must be calculated using the data points required under 

§ 60.13(e)(2). 

(m) For energy recovery units over 10 MMBtu/hr but less 

than 250 MMBtu/hr annual average heat input rates that do not 

use a wet scrubber, fabric filter with bag leak detection 

system, or particulate matter CEMS, you must install, operate, 

certify, and maintain a continuous opacity monitoring system 

according to the procedures in paragraphs (m)(1) through (5) of 

this section by the compliance date specified in § 60.2105. 

Energy recovery units that use a CEMS to demonstrate initial and 

continuing compliance according to the procedures in § 

60.2165(n) are not required to install a continuous opacity 

monitoring system and must perform the annual performance tests 

for the opacity consistent with § 60.2145(f). 

(1) Install, operate, and maintain each continuous opacity 

monitoring system according to performance specification 1 of 40 

CFR part 60, appendix B. 

(2) Conduct a performance evaluation of each continuous 

opacity monitoring system according to the requirements in § 

60.13 and according to PS-1 of 40 CFR part 60, appendix B. 

(3) As specified in § 60.13(e)(1), each continuous opacity 

monitoring system must complete a minimum of one cycle of 

sampling and analyzing for each successive 10-second period and 

one cycle of data recording for each successive 6-minute period. 
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(4) Reduce the continuous opacity monitoring system data as 

specified in § 60.13(h)(1). 

(5) Determine and record all the 6-minute averages (and 1-

hour block averages as applicable) collected. 

(n) For coal and liquid/gas energy recovery units, 

incinerators, and small remote incinerators, an owner or 

operator may elect to install, calibrate, maintain, and operate 

a CEMS for monitoring particulate matter emissions discharged to 

the atmosphere and record the output of the system. The owner or 

operator of an affected facility who continuously monitors 

particulate matter emissions instead of conducting performance 

testing using EPA Method 5 at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-3 or, 

as applicable, monitor with a particulate matter CPMS according 

to paragraph (r) of this section, must install, calibrate, 

maintain, and operate a CEMS and must comply with the 

requirements specified in paragraphs (n)(1) through (13) of this 

section. 

(1) Notify the Administrator 1 month before starting use of 

the system. 

(2) Notify the Administrator 1 month before stopping use of 

the system. 

(3) The monitor must be installed, evaluated, and operated 

in accordance with the requirements of performance specification 

11 of appendix B of this part and quality assurance requirements 
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of procedure two of appendix F of this part and § 60.13. Use 

Method 5 or Method 5I of Appendix A of this part for the PM CEMS 

correlation testing. 

(4) The initial performance evaluation must be completed no 

later than 180 days after the date of initial startup of the 

affected facility, as specified under § 60.2125 or within 180 

days of notification to the Administrator of use of the 

continuous monitoring system if the owner or operator was 

previously determining compliance by Method 5 performance tests, 

whichever is later. 

(5) The owner or operator of an affected facility may 

request that compliance with the particulate matter emission 

limit be determined using carbon dioxide measurements corrected 

to an equivalent of 7 percent oxygen. The relationship between 

oxygen and carbon dioxide levels for the affected facility must 

be established according to the procedures and methods specified 

in § 60.2145(s)(5)(i) through (s)(5)(iv). 

(6) The owner or operator of an affected facility must 

conduct an initial performance test for particulate matter 

emissions as required under § 60.2125. Compliance with the 

particulate matter emission limit, if PM CEMS are elected for 

demonstrating compliance, must be determined by using the CEMS 

specified in this paragraph (n) to measure particulate matter. 

You must calculate a 30-day rolling average of 1-hour arithmetic 
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average emission concentrations, including CEMS data during 

startup and shutdown, as defined in this subpart, using equation 

19-19 in section 12.4.1 of EPA Reference Method 19 at 40 CFR 

part 60, appendix A-7. 

(7) Compliance with the particulate matter emission limit 

must be determined based on the 30-day rolling average 

calculated using equation 19-19 in section 12.4.1 of EPA 

Reference Method 19 at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-7 from the 1-

hour arithmetic average CEMS outlet data. 

(8) At a minimum, valid continuous monitoring system hourly 

averages must be obtained as specified in § 60.2170(e). 

(9) The 1-hour arithmetic averages required under paragraph 

(n)(7) of this section must be expressed in milligrams per dry 

standard cubic meter corrected to 7 percent oxygen (dry basis) 

and must be used to calculate the 30-day rolling average 

emission concentrations. CEMS data during startup and shutdown, 

as defined in this subpart, are not corrected to 7 percent 

oxygen, and are measured at stack oxygen content. The 1-hour 

arithmetic averages must be calculated using the data points 

required under § 60.13(e)(2). 

(10) All valid CEMS data must be used in calculating 

average emission concentrations even if the minimum CEMS data 

requirements of paragraph (n)(8) of this section are not met. 
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(11) The CEMS must be operated according to performance 

specification 11 in appendix B of this part. 

(12) During each relative accuracy test run of the CEMS 

required by performance specification 11 in appendix B of this 

part, particulate matter and oxygen (or carbon dioxide) data 

must be collected concurrently (or within a 30- to 60-minute 

period) by both the CEMS and the following test methods. 

(i) For particulate matter, EPA Reference Method 5 must be 

used. 

(ii) For oxygen (or carbon dioxide), EPA Reference Method 

3A or 3B, as applicable, must be used. 

(13) Quarterly accuracy determinations and daily 

calibration drift tests must be performed in accordance with 

procedure 2 in appendix F of this part. 

(o) To demonstrate continuous compliance with the carbon 

monoxide emissions limit, you may substitute use of a continuous 

automated sampling system for the carbon monoxide annual 

performance test. 

(1) Install, calibrate, maintain, and operate a CEMS for 

measuring carbon monoxide emissions discharged to the atmosphere 

and record the output of the system. The requirements under 

performance specification 4B of appendix B of this part, the 

quality assurance procedure 1 of appendix F of this part and the 
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procedures under § 60.13 must be followed for installation, 

evaluation, and operation of the CEMS. 

(2) Following the date that the initial performance test 

for carbon monoxide is completed or is required to be completed 

under § 60.2140, compliance with the carbon monoxide emission 

limit may be determined based on the 30-day rolling average of 

the hourly arithmetic average emission concentrations, including 

CEMS data during startup and shutdown as defined in this 

subpart, using CEMS outlet data. Except for CEMS data during 

startup and shutdown, as defined in this subpart, the 1-hour 

arithmetic averages must be expressed in parts per million 

corrected to 7 percent oxygen (dry basis) and used to calculate 

the 30-day rolling average emission concentrations. CEMS data 

during startup and shutdown, as defined in this subpart, are not 

corrected to 7 percent oxygen, and are measured at stack oxygen 

content. The 1-hour arithmetic averages must be calculated using 

the data points required under § 60.13(e)(2). 

(p) The owner/operator of an affected source with a bypass 

stack shall install, calibrate (to manufacturers' 

specifications), maintain, and operate a device or method for 

measuring the use of the bypass stack including date, time and 

duration. 

(q) For energy recovery units with a design heat input 

capacity of 100 MMBtu per hour or greater that do not use a 
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carbon monoxide CEMS, you must install, operate, and maintain a 

oxygen analyzer system as defined in § 60.2265 according to the 

procedures in paragraphs (q)(1) through (q)(4) of this section. 

(1) The oxygen analyzer system must be installed by the 

initial performance test date specified in § 60.2140. 

(2) You must operate the oxygen trim system within 

compliance with paragraph (q)(3) of this section at all times. 

(3) You must maintain the oxygen level such that the 30-day 

rolling average that is established as the operating limit for 

oxygen according to paragraph (q)(4) of this section is not 

below the lowest hourly average oxygen concentration measured 

during the most recent CO performance test. 

(4) You must calculate and record a 30-day rolling average 

oxygen concentration using equation 19-19 in section 12.4.1 of 

EPA Reference Method 19 of Appendix A-7 of this part. 

(r) For energy recovery units with annual average heat 

input rates greater than or equal to 250 MMBtu/hour and waste-

burning kilns, you must install, calibrate, maintain, and 

operate a PM CPMS and record the output of the system as 

specified in paragraphs (r)(1) through (8) of this section. If 

you elect to use a particulate matter CEMS as specified in 

paragraph (n) of this section, you are not required to use a PM 

CPMS to monitor particulate matter emissions. For other energy 

recovery units, you may elect to use PM CPMS operated in 
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accordance with this section. PM CPMS are suitable in lieu of 

using other CMS for monitoring PM compliance (e.g., bag leak 

detectors, ESP secondary power, PM scrubber pressure). 

(1) Install, calibrate, operate, and maintain your PM CPMS 

according to the procedures in your approved site-specific 

monitoring plan developed in accordance with § 60.2145(l) and 

(r)(1)(i) through (iii) of this section. 

(i) The operating principle of the PM CPMS must be based on 

in-stack or extractive light scatter, light scintillation, beta 

attenuation, or mass accumulation detection of PM in the exhaust 

gas or representative sample. The reportable measurement output 

from the PM CPMS must be expressed as milliamps or a digital 

signal equivalent. 

(ii) The PM CPMS must have a cycle time (i.e., period 

required to complete sampling, measurement, and reporting for 

each measurement) no longer than 60 minutes. 

(iii) The PM CPMS must be capable of detecting and 

responding to particulate matter concentration increments no 

greater than 0.5 mg/actual cubic meter. 

(2) During the initial performance test or any such 

subsequent performance test that demonstrates compliance with 

the PM limit, you must adjust the site-specific operating limit 

in accordance with the results of the performance test according 

to the procedures specified in § 60.2110. 
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(3) Collect PM CPMS hourly average output data for all 

energy recovery unit or waste-burning kiln operating hours. 

Express the PM CPMS output as milliamps or the digital signal 

equivalent. 

(4) Calculate the arithmetic 30-day rolling average of all 

of the hourly average PM CPMS output collected during all energy 

recovery unit or waste-burning kiln operating hours data 

(milliamps or digital bits). 

(5) You must collect data using the PM CPMS at all times 

the energy recovery unit or waste-burning kiln is operating and 

at the intervals specified in paragraph (r)(1)(ii) of this 

section, except for periods of monitoring system malfunctions, 

repairs associated with monitoring system malfunctions, required 

monitoring system quality assurance or quality control 

activities (including, as applicable, calibration checks and 

required zero and span adjustments), and any scheduled 

maintenance as defined in your site-specific monitoring plan. 

(6) You must use all the data collected during all energy 

recovery unit or waste-burning kiln operating hours in assessing 

the compliance with your operating limit except: 

(i) Any data collected during monitoring system 

malfunctions, repairs associated with monitoring system 

malfunctions, or required monitoring system quality assurance or 

quality control activities conducted during monitoring system 
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malfunctions are not used in calculations (report any such 

periods in your annual deviation report); 

(ii) Any data collected during periods when the monitoring 

system is out of control as specified in your site-specific 

monitoring plan, repairs associated with periods when the 

monitoring system is out of control, or required monitoring 

system quality assurance or quality control activities conducted 

during out-of-control periods are not used in calculations 

(report emissions or operating levels and report any such 

periods in your annual deviation report); 

(iii) Any PM CPMS data recorded during periods of CEMS data 

during startup and shutdown, as defined in this subpart. 

(7) You must record and make available upon request results 

of PM CPMS system performance audits, as well as the dates and 

duration of periods from when the PM CPMS is out of control 

until completion of the corrective actions necessary to return 

the PM CPMS to operation consistent with your site-specific 

monitoring plan. 

(8) For any deviation of the 30-day rolling average PM CPMS 

average value from the established operating parameter limit, 

you must: 

(i) Within 48 hours of the deviation, visually inspect the 

air pollution control device; 
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(ii) If inspection of the air pollution control device 

identifies the cause of the deviation, take corrective action as 

soon as possible and return the PM CPMS measurement to within 

the established value; and 

(iii) Within 30 days of the deviation or at the time of the 

annual compliance test, whichever comes first, conduct a PM 

emissions compliance test to determine compliance with the PM 

emissions limit and to verify the operation of the control 

device(s). Within 45 days of the deviation, you must re-

establish the CPMS operating limit. You are not required to 

conduct additional testing for any deviations that occur between 

the time of the original deviation and the PM emissions 

compliance test required under this paragraph. 

(iv) PM CPMS deviations leading to more than four required 

performance tests in a 12-month process operating period 

(rolling monthly) constitute a violation of this subpart. 

(s) If you use a dry scrubber to comply with the emission 

limits of this subpart, you must monitor the injection rate of 

each sorbent and maintain the 3-hour block averages at or above 

the operating limits established during the hydrogen chloride 

performance test. 

§ 60.2170 Is there a minimum amount of monitoring data I must 

obtain? 
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For each continuous monitoring system required or 

optionally allowed under § 60.2165, you must collect data 

according to this section: 

(a) You must operate the monitoring system and collect data 

at all required intervals at all times compliance is required 

except for periods of monitoring system malfunctions or out-of-

control periods, repairs associated with monitoring system 

malfunctions or out-of-control periods (as specified in 

60.2210(o) of this part), and required monitoring system quality 

assurance or quality control activities (including, as 

applicable, calibration checks and required zero and span 

adjustments). A monitoring system malfunction is any sudden, 

infrequent, not reasonably preventable failure of the monitoring 

system to provide valid data. Monitoring system failures that 

are caused in part by poor maintenance or careless operation are 

not malfunctions. You are required to effect monitoring system 

repairs in response to monitoring system malfunctions or out-of-

control periods and to return the monitoring system to operation 

as expeditiously as practicable. 

(b) You may not use data recorded during monitoring system 

malfunctions or out-of-control periods, repairs associated with 

monitoring system malfunctions or out-of-control periods, or 

required monitoring system quality assurance or control 

activities in calculations used to report emissions or operating 
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levels. You must use all the data collected during all other 

periods, including data normalized for above scale readings, in 

assessing the operation of the control device and associated 

control system. 

(c) Except for periods of monitoring system malfunctions or 

out-of-control periods, repairs associated with monitoring 

system malfunctions or out-of-control periods, and required 

monitoring system quality assurance or quality control 

activities including, as applicable, calibration checks and 

required zero and span adjustments, failure to collect required 

data is a deviation of the monitoring requirements. 

Recordkeeping and Reporting 

§ 60.2175 What records must I keep? 

You must maintain the items (as applicable) as specified in 

paragraphs (a), (b), and (e) through (x) of this section for a 

period of at least 5 years: 

(a) Calendar date of each record. 

(b) Records of the data described in paragraphs (b)(1) 

through (6) of this section: 

(1) The CISWI unit charge dates, times, weights, and hourly 

charge rates. 

(2) Liquor flow rate to the wet scrubber inlet every 15 

minutes of operation, as applicable. 
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(3) Pressure drop across the wet scrubber system every 15 

minutes of operation or amperage to the wet scrubber every 15 

minutes of operation, as applicable. 

(4) Liquor pH as introduced to the wet scrubber every 15 

minutes of operation, as applicable. 

(5) For affected CISWI units that establish operating 

limits for controls other than wet scrubbers under § 60.2110(d) 

through (g) or § 60.2115, you must maintain data collected for 

all operating parameters used to determine compliance with the 

operating limits. For energy recovery units using activated 

carbon injection or a dry scrubber, you must also maintain 

records of the load fraction and corresponding sorbent injection 

rate records. 

(6) If a fabric filter is used to comply with the emission 

limitations, you must record the date, time, and duration of 

each alarm and the time corrective action was initiated and 

completed, and a brief description of the cause of the alarm and 

the corrective action taken. You must also record the percent of 

operating time during each 6-month period that the alarm sounds, 

calculated as specified in § 60.2110(c). 

(c)—(d) [Reserved] 

(e) Identification of calendar dates and times for which 

data show a deviation from the operating limits in table 2 of 

this subpart or a deviation from other operating limits 
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established under § 60.2110(d) through (g) or § 60.2115 with a 

description of the deviations, reasons for such deviations, and 

a description of corrective actions taken. 

(f) The results of the initial, annual, and any subsequent 

performance tests conducted to determine compliance with the 

emission limits and/or to establish operating limits, as 

applicable. Retain a copy of the complete test report including 

calculations. 

(g) All documentation produced as a result of the siting 

requirements of §§ 60.2045 and 60.2050. 

(h) Records showing the names of CISWI unit operators who 

have completed review of the information in § 60.2095(a) as 

required by § 60.2095(b), including the date of the initial 

review and all subsequent annual reviews. 

(i) Records showing the names of the CISWI operators who 

have completed the operator training requirements under § 

60.2070, met the criteria for qualification under § 60.2080, and 

maintained or renewed their qualification under § 60.2085 or § 

60.2090. Records must include documentation of training, the 

dates of the initial and refresher training, and the dates of 

their qualification and all subsequent renewals of such 

qualifications. 

(j) For each qualified operator, the phone and/or pager 

number at which they can be reached during operating hours. 
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(k) Records of calibration of any monitoring devices as 

required under § 60.2165. 

(l) Equipment vendor specifications and related operation 

and maintenance requirements for the incinerator, emission 

controls, and monitoring equipment. 

(m) The information listed in § 60.2095(a). 

(n) On a daily basis, keep a log of the quantity of waste 

burned and the types of waste burned (always required). 

(o) Maintain records of the annual air pollution control 

device inspections that are required for each CISWI unit subject 

to the emissions limits in table 1 of this subpart or tables 5 

through 8 of this subpart, any required maintenance, and any 

repairs not completed within 10 days of an inspection or the 

timeframe established by the state regulatory agency. 

(p) For continuously monitored pollutants or parameters, 

you must document and keep a record of the following parameters 

measured using continuous monitoring systems. 

(1) All 6-minute average levels of opacity. 

(2) All 1-hour average concentrations of sulfur dioxide 

emissions. 

(3) All 1-hour average concentrations of nitrogen oxides 

emissions. 
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(4) All 1-hour average concentrations of carbon monoxide 

emissions. You must indicate which data are CEMS data during 

startup and shutdown. 

(5) All 1-hour average concentrations of particulate matter 

emissions. 

(6) All 1-hour average concentrations of mercury emissions. 

(7) All 1-hour average concentrations of hydrogen chloride 

emissions. 

(8) All 1-hour average percent oxygen concentrations. 

(9) All 1-hour average PM CPMS readings or particulate 

matter CEMS outputs. 

(q) Records indicating use of the bypass stack, including 

dates, times, and durations. 

(r) If you choose to stack test less frequently than 

annually, consistent with § 60.2155(a) through (c), you must 

keep annual records that document that your emissions in the 

previous stack test(s) were less than 75 percent of the 

applicable emission limit and document that there was no change 

in source operations including fuel composition and operation of 

air pollution control equipment that would cause emissions of 

the relevant pollutant to increase within the past year. 

(s) Records of the occurrence and duration of each 

malfunction of operation (i.e., process equipment) or the air 

pollution control and monitoring equipment. 
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(t) Records of all required maintenance performed on the 

air pollution control and monitoring equipment. 

(u) Records of actions taken during periods of malfunction 

to minimize emissions in accordance with § 60.11(d), including 

corrective actions to restore malfunctioning process and air 

pollution control and monitoring equipment to its normal or 

usual manner of operation. 

(v) For operating units that combust non-hazardous 

secondary materials that have been determined not to be solid 

waste pursuant to § 241.3(b)(1) of this chapter, you must keep a 

record which documents how the secondary material meets each of 

the legitimacy criteria under § 241.3(d)(1). If you combust a 

fuel that has been processed from a discarded non-hazardous 

secondary material pursuant to § 241.3(b)(4) of this chapter, 

you must keep records as to how the operations that produced the 

fuel satisfies the definition of processing in § 241.2 and each 

of the legitimacy criteria of § 241.3(d)(1) of this chapter. If 

the fuel received a non-waste determination pursuant to the 

petition process submitted under § 241.3(c) of this chapter, you 

must keep a record that documents how the fuel satisfies the 

requirements of the petition process. For operating units that 

combust non-hazardous secondary materials as fuel per § 241.4, 

you must keep records documenting that the material is a listed 

non-waste under § 241.4(a). 
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(w) Records of the criteria used to establish that the unit 

qualifies as a small power production facility under section 

3(17)(C) of the Federal Power Act (16 U.S.C. 796(17)(C)) and 

that the waste material the unit is proposed to burn is 

homogeneous. 

(x) Records of the criteria used to establish that the unit 

qualifies as a cogeneration facility under section 3(18)(B) of 

the Federal Power Act (16 U.S.C. 796(18)(B)) and that the waste 

material the unit is proposed to burn is homogeneous. 

§ 60.2180 Where and in what format must I keep my records? 

All records must be available onsite in either paper copy 

or computer-readable format that can be printed upon request, 

unless an alternative format is approved by the Administrator. 

§ 60.2185 What reports must I submit? 

See table 4 of this subpart for a summary of the reporting 

requirements. 

§ 60.2190 What must I submit prior to commencing construction? 

You must submit a notification prior to commencing 

construction that includes the five items listed in paragraphs 

(a) through (e) of this section. 

(a) A statement of intent to construct. 

(b) The anticipated date of commencement of construction. 

(c) All documentation produced as a result of the siting 

requirements of § 60.2050. 
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(d) The waste management plan as specified in §§ 60.2055 

through 60.2065. 

(e) Anticipated date of initial startup. 

§ 60.2195 What information must I submit prior to initial 

startup? 

You must submit the information specified in paragraphs (a) 

through (e) of this section prior to initial startup. 

(a) The type(s) of waste to be burned. 

(b) The maximum design waste burning capacity. 

(c) The anticipated maximum charge rate. 

(d) If applicable, the petition for site-specific operating 

limits under § 60.2115. 

(e) The anticipated date of initial startup. 

§ 60.2200 What information must I submit following my initial 

performance test? 

You must submit the information specified in paragraphs (a) 

through (c) of this section no later than 60 days following the 

initial performance test. All reports must be signed by the 

facilities manager. 

(a) The complete test report for the initial performance 

test results obtained under § 60.2135, as applicable. 

(b) The values for the site-specific operating limits 

established in § 60.2110 or § 60.2115. 



Page 134 of 340 

 

(c) If you are using a fabric filter to comply with the 

emission limitations, documentation that a bag leak detection 

system has been installed and is being operated, calibrated, and 

maintained as required by § 60.2165(b). 

§ 60.2205 When must I submit my annual report? 

You must submit an annual report no later than 12 months 

following the submission of the information in § 60.2200. You 

must submit subsequent reports no more than 12 months following 

the previous report. (If the unit is subject to permitting 

requirements under title V of the Clean Air Act, you may be 

required by the permit to submit these reports more frequently.) 

§ 60.2210 What information must I include in my annual report? 

The annual report required under § 60.2205 must include the 

ten items listed in paragraphs (a) through (j) of this section. 

If you have a deviation from the operating limits or the 

emission limitations, you must also submit deviation reports as 

specified in §§ 60.2215, 60.2220, and 60.2225. 

(a) Company name and address. 

(b) Statement by a responsible official, with that 

official's name, title, and signature, certifying the accuracy 

of the content of the report. 

(c) Date of report and beginning and ending dates of the 

reporting period. 
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(d) The values for the operating limits established 

pursuant to § 60.2110 or § 60.2115. 

(e) If no deviation from any emission limitation or 

operating limit that applies to you has been reported, a 

statement that there was no deviation from the emission 

limitations or operating limits during the reporting period. 

(f) The highest recorded 3-hour average and the lowest 

recorded 3-hour average, as applicable, for each operating 

parameter recorded for the calendar year being reported. 

(g) Information recorded under § 60.2175(b)(6) and (c) 

through (e) for the calendar year being reported. 

(h) For each performance test conducted during the 

reporting period, if any performance test is conducted, the 

process unit(s) tested, the pollutant(s) tested and the date 

that such performance test was conducted. Submit, following the 

procedure specified in § 60.2235(b)(i), the performance test 

report no later than the date that you submit the annual report. 

(i) If you met the requirements of § 60.2155(a) or (b), and 

did not conduct a performance test during the reporting period, 

you must state that you met the requirements of § 60.2155(a) or 

(b), and, therefore, you were not required to conduct a 

performance test during the reporting period. 
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(j) Documentation of periods when all qualified CISWI unit 

operators were unavailable for more than 8 hours, but less than 

2 weeks. 

(k) If you had a malfunction during the reporting period, 

the compliance report must include the number, duration, and a 

brief description for each type of malfunction that occurred 

during the reporting period and that caused or may have caused 

any applicable emission limitation to be exceeded. The report 

must also include a description of actions taken by an owner or 

operator during a malfunction of an affected source to minimize 

emissions in accordance with § 60.11(d), including actions taken 

to correct a malfunction. 

(l) For each deviation from an emission or operating 

limitation that occurs for a CISWI unit for which you are not 

using a continuous monitoring system to comply with the emission 

or operating limitations in this subpart, the annual report must 

contain the following information. 

(1) The total operating time of the CISWI unit at which the 

deviation occurred during the reporting period. 

(2) Information on the number, duration, and cause of 

deviations (including unknown cause, if applicable), as 

applicable, and the corrective action taken. 

(m) If there were periods during which the continuous 

monitoring system, including the CEMS, was out of control as 
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specified in paragraph (o) of this section, the annual report 

must contain the following information for each deviation from 

an emission or operating limitation occurring for a CISWI unit 

for which you are using a continuous monitoring system to comply 

with the emission and operating limitations in this subpart. 

(1) The date and time that each malfunction started and 

stopped. 

(2) The date, time, and duration that each CMS was 

inoperative, except for zero (low-level) and high-level checks. 

(3) The date, time, and duration that each continuous 

monitoring system was out-of-control, including start and end 

dates and hours and descriptions of corrective actions taken. 

(4) The date and time that each deviation started and 

stopped, and whether each deviation occurred during a period of 

malfunction or during another period. 

(5) A summary of the total duration of the deviation during 

the reporting period, and the total duration as a percent of the 

total source operating time during that reporting period. 

(6) A breakdown of the total duration of the deviations 

during the reporting period into those that are due to control 

equipment problems, process problems, other known causes, and 

other unknown causes. 

(7) A summary of the total duration of continuous 

monitoring system downtime during the reporting period, and the 
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total duration of continuous monitoring system downtime as a 

percent of the total operating time of the CISWI unit at which 

the continuous monitoring system downtime occurred during that 

reporting period. 

(8) An identification of each parameter and pollutant that 

was monitored at the CISWI unit. 

(9) A brief description of the CISWI unit. 

(10) A brief description of the continuous monitoring 

system. 

(11) The date of the latest continuous monitoring system 

certification or audit. 

(12) A description of any changes in continuous monitoring 

system, processes, or controls since the last reporting period. 

(n) If there were periods during which the continuous 

monitoring system, including the CEMS, was not out of control as 

specified in paragraph (o) of this section, a statement that 

there were not periods during which the continuous monitoring 

system was out of control during the reporting period. 

(o) A continuous monitoring system is out of control in 

accordance with the procedure in 40 CFR part 60, appendix F of 

this part, as if any of the following occur. 

(1) The zero (low-level), mid-level (if applicable), or 

high-level calibration drift exceeds two times the applicable 
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calibration drift specification in the applicable performance 

specification or in the relevant standard. 

(2) The continuous monitoring system fails a performance 

test audit (e.g., cylinder gas audit), relative accuracy audit, 

relative accuracy test audit, or linearity test audit. 

(3) The continuous opacity monitoring system calibration 

drift exceeds two times the limit in the applicable performance 

specification in the relevant standard. 

§ 60.2215 What else must I report if I have a deviation from the 

operating limits or the emission limitations? 

(a) You must submit a deviation report if any recorded 3-

hour average parameter level is above the maximum operating 

limit or below the minimum operating limit established under 

this subpart, if the bag leak detection system alarm sounds for 

more than 5 percent of the operating time for the 6-month 

reporting period, or if a performance test was conducted that 

deviated from any emission limitation. 

(b) The deviation report must be submitted by August 1 of 

that year for data collected during the first half of the 

calendar year (January 1 to June 30), and by February 1 of the 

following year for data you collected during the second half of 

the calendar year (July 1 to December 31). 

§ 60.2220 What must I include in the deviation report? 



Page 140 of 340 

 

In each report required under § 60.2215, for any pollutant 

or parameter that deviated from the emission limitations or 

operating limits specified in this subpart, include the six 

items described in paragraphs (a) through (f) of this section. 

(a) The calendar dates and times your unit deviated from 

the emission limitations or operating limit requirements. 

(b) The averaged and recorded data for those dates. 

(c) Durations and causes of the following: 

(1) Each deviation from emission limitations or operating 

limits and your corrective actions. 

(2) Bypass events and your corrective actions. 

(d) A copy of the operating limit monitoring data during 

each deviation and for any test report that documents the 

emission levels the process unit(s) tested, the pollutant(s) 

tested and the date that the performance test was conducted. 

Submit, following the procedure specified in § 60.2235(b)(i), 

the performance test report no later than the date that you 

submit the deviation report. 

§ 60.2225 What else must I report if I have a deviation from the 

requirement to have a qualified operator accessible? 

(a) If all qualified operators are not accessible for 2 

weeks or more, you must take the two actions in paragraphs 

(a)(1) and (2) of this section. 
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(1) Submit a notification of the deviation within 10 days 

that includes the three items in paragraphs (a)(1)(i) through 

(iii) of this section. 

(i) A statement of what caused the deviation. 

(ii) A description of what you are doing to ensure that a 

qualified operator is accessible. 

(iii) The date when you anticipate that a qualified 

operator will be available. 

(2) Submit a status report to the Administrator every 4 

weeks that includes the three items in paragraphs (a)(2)(i) 

through (iii) of this section. 

(i) A description of what you are doing to ensure that a 

qualified operator is accessible. 

(ii) The date when you anticipate that a qualified operator 

will be accessible. 

(iii) Request approval from the Administrator to continue 

operation of the CISWI unit. 

(b) If your unit was shut down by the Administrator, under 

the provisions of § 60.2100(b)(2), due to a failure to provide 

an accessible qualified operator, you must notify the 

Administrator that you are resuming operation once a qualified 

operator is accessible. 

§ 60.2230 Are there any other notifications or reports that I 

must submit? 
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(a) Yes. You must submit notifications as provided by § 

60.7. 

(b) If you cease combusting solid waste but continue to 

operate, you must provide 30 days prior notice of the effective 

date of the waste-to-fuel switch, consistent with 60.2145(a). 

The notification must identify: 

(1) The name of the owner or operator of the CISWI unit, 

the location of the source, the emissions unit(s) that will 

cease burning solid waste, and the date of the notice; 

(2) The currently applicable subcategory under this 

subpart, and any 40 CFR part 63 subpart and subcategory that 

will be applicable after you cease combusting solid waste; 

(3) The fuel(s), non-waste material(s) and solid waste(s) 

the CISWI unit is currently combusting and has combusted over 

the past 6 months, and the fuel(s) or non-waste materials the 

unit will commence combusting; 

(4) The date on which you became subject to the currently 

applicable emission limits; 

(5) The date upon which you will cease combusting solid 

waste, and the date (if different) that you intend for any new 

requirements to become applicable (i.e., the effective date of 

the waste-to-fuel switch), consistent with paragraphs (b)(2) and 

(3)of this section. 

§ 60.2235 In what form can I submit my reports? 
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(a) Submit initial, annual and deviation reports 

electronically on or before the submittal due dates. Submit the 

reports to the EPA via the Compliance and Emissions Data 

Reporting Interface (CEDRI). (CEDRI can be accessed through the 

EPA’s Central Data Exchange (CDX) 

(http://cdx.epa.gov/epa_home.asp).) Use the appropriate 

electronic report in CEDRI for this subpart. Instead of using 

the electronic report in CEDRI for this subpart, you may submit 

an alternate electronic file format consistent with the 

extensible markup language (XML) schema listed on the CEDRI 

website (http://www.epa.gov/ttn/chief/cedri/index.html), once 

the XML schema is available. If the reporting form specific to 

this subpart is not available in CEDRI at the time that the 

report is due, submit the report to the Administrator at the 

appropriate address listed in §60.4. Begin submitting reports 

via CEDRI no later than 90 days after the form becomes available 

in CEDRI. The reports must be submitted by the deadlines 

specified in this subpart, regardless of the method in which the 

report is submitted. 

(b) Submit results of each performance test and CEMS 

performance evaluation required by this subpart as follows. 

(1) Within 60 days after the date of completing each 

performance test (see §60.8), submit the results of the 
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performance test following the procedure specified in either 

paragraph (b)(1)(i) or (b)(1)(ii) of this section. 

(i) For data collected using test methods supported by the 

EPA’s Electronic Reporting Tool (ERT) as listed on the EPA’s ERT 

website (http://www.epa.gov/ttn/chief/ert/index.html) at the 

time of the test, submit the results of the performance test to 

the EPA via the CEDRI. (CEDRI can be accessed through the EPA’s 

CDX.) Performance test data must be submitted in a file format 

generated through the use of the EPA’s ERT. Instead of 

submitting performance test data in a file format generated 

through the use of the EPA’s ERT, you may submit an alternate 

electronic file format consistent with the XML schema listed on 

the EPA’s ERT website, once the XML schema is available. If you 

claim that some of the performance test information being 

submitted is confidential business information (CBI), submit a 

complete file generated through the use of the EPA’s ERT (or an 

alternate electronic file consistent with the XML schema listed 

on the EPA’s ERT website once the XML schema is available), 

including information claimed to be CBI, on a compact disc, 

flash drive, or other commonly used electronic storage media to 

the EPA. The electronic media must be clearly marked as CBI and 

mailed to U.S. EPA/OAPQS/CORE CBI Office, Attention: Group 

Leader, Measurement Policy Group, MD C404-02, 4930 Old Page 

Road, Durham, NC 27703. The same ERT or alternate file with the 
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CBI omitted must be submitted to the EPA via the EPA’s CDX as 

described earlier in this paragraph.  

(ii) For data collected using test methods that are not 

supported by the EPA’s ERT as listed on the EPA’s ERT website at 

the time of the test, submit the results of the performance test 

to the Administrator at the appropriate address listed in §60.4. 

(2) Within 60 days after the date of completing each CEMS 

performance evaluation, submit the results of the performance 

evaluation following the procedure specified in either paragraph 

(b)(2)(i) or (b)(2)(ii) of this section.  

(i) For performance evaluations of continuous monitoring 

systems measuring relative accuracy test audit (RATA) pollutants 

that are supported by the EPA’s ERT as listed on the EPA’s ERT 

website at the time of the test, submit the results of the 

performance evaluation to the EPA via the CEDRI. (CEDRI can be 

accessed through the EPA’s CDX.) Performance evaluation data 

must be submitted in a file format generated through the use of 

the EPA’s ERT. Instead of submitting performance evaluation data 

in a file format generated through the use of the EPA’s ERT, you 

may submit an alternate electronic file format consistent with 

the XML schema listed on the EPA’s ERT website, once the XML 

schema is available. If you claim that some of the performance 

evaluation information being submitted is CBI, submit a complete 

file generated through the use of the EPA’s ERT (or an alternate 
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electronic file consistent with the XML schema listed on the 

EPA’s ERT website once the XML schema is available), including 

information claimed to be CBI, on a compact disc, flash drive, 

or other commonly used electronic storage media to the EPA. The 

electronic media must be clearly marked as CBI and mailed to 

U.S. EPA/OAQPS/CORE CBI Office, Attention: Group Leader, 

Measurement Policy Group, MD C404-02, 4930 Old Page Road, 

Durham, NC 27703. The same ERT or alternate file with the CBI 

omitted must be submitted to the EPA via the EPA’s CDX as 

described earlier in this paragraph.  

(ii) For any performance evaluations of continuous 

monitoring systems measuring RATA pollutants that are not 

supported by the EPA’s ERT as listed on the EPA’s ERT website at 

the time of the test, submit the results of the performance 

evaluation to the Administrator at the appropriate address 

listed in §60.4. 

(c) All information required in this subpart to be 

submitted to the EPA must also be submitted in paper format to 

the appropriate state, local or tribal agency whenever authority 

has been delegated to such agency (the delegated authority) 

unless the delegated authority specifies another format. 

Information submitted in paper format must be postmarked no 

later than the date that the report is required to be submitted 

to the EPA’s CDX electronically. Any information required to be 
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submitted electronically to the EPA’s CDX may, at the discretion 

of the delegated authority, satisfy the requirements of this 

paragraph.  

§ 60.2240 Can reporting dates be changed? 

If the Administrator agrees, you may change the semiannual 

or annual reporting dates. See § 60.19(c) for procedures to seek 

approval to change your reporting date. 

Title V Operating Permits 

§ 60.2242 Am I required to apply for and obtain a Title V 

operating permit for my unit? 

Yes. Each CISWI unit and air curtain incinerator subject to 

standards under this subpart must operate pursuant to a permit 

issued under Section 129(e) and Title V of the Clean Air Act. 

Air Curtain Incinerators 

§ 60.2245 What is an air curtain incinerator? 

(a) An air curtain incinerator operates by forcefully 

projecting a curtain of air across an open chamber or open pit 

in which combustion occurs. Incinerators of this type can be 

constructed above or below ground and with or without refractory 

walls and floor. (Air curtain incinerators are not to be 

confused with conventional combustion devices with enclosed 

fireboxes and controlled air technology such as mass burn, 

modular, and fluidized bed combustors.) 
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(b) Air curtain incinerators that burn only the materials 

listed in paragraphs (b)(1) through (3) of this section are only 

required to meet the requirements under § 60.2242 and under “Air 

Curtain Incinerators” (§§ 60.2245 through 60.2260). 

(1) 100 percent wood waste. 

(2) 100 percent clean lumber. 

(3) 100 percent mixture of only wood waste, clean lumber, 

and/or yard waste. 

§ 60.2250 What are the emission limitations for air curtain 

incinerators? 

Within 60 days after your air curtain incinerator reaches 

the charge rate at which it will operate, but no later than 180 

days after its initial startup, you must meet the two 

limitations specified in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section. 

(a) Maintain opacity to less than or equal to 10 percent 

opacity (as determined by the average of three 1-hour blocks 

consisting of ten 6-minute average opacity values), except as 

described in paragraph (b) of this section. 

(b) Maintain opacity to less than or equal to 35 percent 

opacity (as determined by the average of three 1-hour blocks 

consisting of ten 6-minute average opacity values) during the 

startup period that is within the first 30 minutes of operation. 

§ 60.2255 How must I monitor opacity for air curtain 

incinerators? 
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(a) Use Method 9 of appendix A of this part to determine 

compliance with the opacity limitation. 

(b) Conduct an initial test for opacity as specified in § 

60.8. 

(c) After the initial test for opacity, conduct annual 

tests no more than 12 calendar months following the date of your 

previous test. 

§ 60.2260 What are the recordkeeping and reporting requirements 

for air curtain incinerators? 

(a) Prior to commencing construction on your air curtain 

incinerator, submit the three items described in paragraphs 

(a)(1) through (3) of this section. 

(1) Notification of your intent to construct the air 

curtain incinerators. 

(2) Your planned initial startup date. 

(3) Types of materials you plan to burn in your air curtain 

incinerator. 

(b) Keep records of results of all initial and annual 

opacity tests onsite in either paper copy or electronic format, 

unless the Administrator approves another format, for at least 5 

years. 

(c) Make all records available for submittal to the 

Administrator or for an inspector's onsite review. 
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(d) You must submit the results (as determined by the 

average of three 1-hour blocks consisting of ten 6-minute 

average opacity values) of the initial opacity tests no later 

than 60 days following the initial test. Submit annual opacity 

test results within 12 months following the previous report. 

(e) Submit initial and annual opacity test reports as 

electronic or paper copy on or before the applicable submittal 

date. 

(f) Keep a copy of the initial and annual reports onsite 

for a period of 5 years. 

Definitions 

§ 60.2265 What definitions must I know? 

Terms used but not defined in this subpart are defined in 

the Clean Air Act and subpart A (General Provisions) of this 

part. 

Administrator means the Administrator of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency or his/her authorized 

representative or Administrator of a State Air Pollution Control 

Agency. 

30-day rolling average means the arithmetic mean of the 

previous 720 hours of valid operating data. Valid data excludes 

periods when this unit is not operating. The 720 hours should be 

consecutive, but not necessarily continuous if operations are 

intermittent. 
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Air curtain incinerator means an incinerator that operates 

by forcefully projecting a curtain of air across an open chamber 

or pit in which combustion occurs. Incinerators of this type can 

be constructed above or below ground and with or without 

refractory walls and floor. (Air curtain incinerators are not to 

be confused with conventional combustion devices with enclosed 

fireboxes and controlled air technology such as mass burn, 

modular, and fluidized bed combustors.) 

Annual heat input means the heat input for the 12 months 

preceding the compliance demonstration. 

Auxiliary fuel means natural gas, liquified petroleum gas, 

fuel oil, or diesel fuel. 

Average annual heat input rate means annual heat input 

divided by the hours of operation for the 12 months preceding 

the compliance demonstration. 

Bag leak detection system means an instrument that is 

capable of monitoring particulate matter loadings in the exhaust 

of a fabric filter (i.e., baghouse) in order to detect bag 

failures. A bag leak detection system includes, but is not 

limited to, an instrument that operates on triboelectric, light 

scattering, light transmittance, or other principle to monitor 

relative particulate matter loadings. 

Burn-off oven means any rack reclamation unit, part 

reclamation unit, or drum reclamation unit. A burn-off oven is 
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not an incinerator, waste-burning kiln, an energy recovery unit 

or a small, remote incinerator under this subpart. 

Bypass stack means a device used for discharging combustion 

gases to avoid severe damage to the air pollution control device 

or other equipment. 

Calendar quarter means three consecutive months 

(nonoverlapping) beginning on: January 1, April 1, July 1, or 

October 1. 

Calendar year means 365 consecutive days starting on 

January 1 and ending on December 31. 

CEMS data during startup and shutdown means the following: 

(1) For incinerators, small remote incinerators, and energy 

recovery units: CEMS data collected during the first hours of a 

CISWI unit startup from a cold start until waste is fed to the 

unit and the hours of operation following the cessation of waste 

material being fed to the CISWI unit during a unit shutdown. For 

each startup event, the length of time that CEMS data may be 

claimed as being CEMS data during startup must be 48 operating 

hours or less. For each shutdown event, the length of time that 

CEMS data may be claimed as being CEMS data during shutdown must 

be 24 operating hours or less. 

(2) For waste-burning kilns: CEMS data collected during the 

periods of kiln operation that do not include normal operations. 

Startup begins when the kiln's induced fan is turned on and 
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continues until continuous feed is introduced into the kiln, at 

which time the kiln is in normal operating mode. Shutdown begins 

when feed to the kiln is halted. 

Chemical recovery unit means combustion units burning 

materials to recover chemical constituents or to produce 

chemical compounds where there is an existing commercial market 

for such recovered chemical constituents or compounds. A 

chemical recovery unit is not an incinerator, a waste-burning 

kiln, an energy recovery unit or a small, remote incinerator 

under this subpart. The following seven types of units are 

considered chemical recovery units: 

(1) Units burning only pulping liquors (i.e., black liquor) 

that are reclaimed in a pulping liquor recovery process and 

reused in the pulping process. 

(2) Units burning only spent sulfuric acid used to produce 

virgin sulfuric acid. 

(3) Units burning only wood or coal feedstock for the 

production of charcoal. 

(4) Units burning only manufacturing byproduct 

streams/residue containing catalyst metals that are reclaimed 

and reused as catalysts or used to produce commercial grade 

catalysts. 
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(5) Units burning only coke to produce purified carbon 

monoxide that is used as an intermediate in the production of 

other chemical compounds. 

(6) Units burning only hydrocarbon liquids or solids to 

produce hydrogen, carbon monoxide, synthesis gas, or other gases 

for use in other manufacturing processes. 

(7) Units burning only photographic film to recover silver. 

Chemotherapeutic waste means waste material resulting from 

the production or use of antineoplastic agents used for the 

purpose of stopping or reversing the growth of malignant cells. 

Clean lumber means wood or wood products that have been cut 

or shaped and include wet, air-dried, and kiln-dried wood 

products. Clean lumber does not include wood products that have 

been painted, pigment-stained, or pressure-treated by compounds 

such as chromate copper arsenate, pentachlorophenol, and 

creosote. 

Commercial and industrial solid waste incineration (CISWI) 

unit means any distinct operating unit of any commercial or 

industrial facility that combusts, or has combusted in the 

preceding 6 months, any solid waste as that term is defined in 

40 CFR part 241. If the operating unit burns materials other 

than traditional fuels as defined in § 241.2 that have been 

discarded, and you do not keep and produce records as required 

by § 60.2175(v), the operating unit is a CISWI unit. While not 
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all CISWI units will include all of the following components, a 

CISWI unit includes, but is not limited to, the solid waste feed 

system, grate system, flue gas system, waste heat recovery 

equipment, if any, and bottom ash system. The CISWI unit does 

not include air pollution control equipment or the stack. The 

CISWI unit boundary starts at the solid waste hopper (if 

applicable) and extends through two areas: The combustion unit 

flue gas system, which ends immediately after the last 

combustion chamber or after the waste heat recovery equipment, 

if any; and the combustion unit bottom ash system, which ends at 

the truck loading station or similar equipment that transfers 

the ash to final disposal. The CISWI unit includes all ash 

handling systems connected to the bottom ash handling system. 

Contained gaseous material means gases that are in a 

container when that container is combusted. 

Continuous emission monitoring system (CEMS) means the 

total equipment that may be required to meet the data 

acquisition and availability requirements of this subpart, used 

to sample, condition (if applicable), analyze, and provide a 

record of emissions. 

Continuous monitoring system (CMS) means the total 

equipment, required under the emission monitoring sections in 

applicable subparts, used to sample and condition (if 

applicable), to analyze, and to provide a permanent record of 
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emissions or process parameters. A particulate matter continuous 

parameter monitoring system (PM CPMS) is a type of CMS. 

Cyclonic burn barrel means a combustion device for waste 

materials that is attached to a 55 gallon, open-head drum. The 

device consists of a lid, which fits onto and encloses the drum, 

and a blower that forces combustion air into the drum in a 

cyclonic manner to enhance the mixing of waste material and air. 

A cyclonic burn barrel is not an incinerator, a waste-burning 

kiln, an energy recovery unit or a small, remote incinerator 

under this subpart. 

Deviation means any instance in which an affected source 

subject to this subpart, or an owner or operator of such a 

source: 

(1) Fails to meet any requirement or obligation established 

by this subpart, including but not limited to any emission 

limitation, operating limit, or operator qualification and 

accessibility requirements. 

(2) Fails to meet any term or condition that is adopted to 

implement an applicable requirement in this subpart and that is 

included in the operating permit for any affected source 

required to obtain such a permit. 

Dioxins/furans means tetra- through octa-chlorinated 

dibenzo-p-dioxins and dibenzofurans. 
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Discard means, for purposes of this subpart and 40 CFR part 

60, subpart DDDD, only, burned in an incineration unit without 

energy recovery. 

Drum reclamation unit means a unit that burns residues out 

of drums (e.g., 55 gallon drums) so that the drums can be 

reused. 

Dry scrubber means an add-on air pollution control system 

that injects dry alkaline sorbent (dry injection) or sprays an 

alkaline sorbent (spray dryer) to react with and neutralize acid 

gas in the exhaust stream forming a dry powder material. Sorbent 

injection systems in fluidized bed boilers and process heaters 

are included in this definition. A dry scrubber is a dry control 

system. 

Energy recovery means the process of recovering thermal 

energy from combustion for useful purposes such as steam 

generation or process heating. 

Energy recovery unit means a combustion unit combusting 

solid waste (as that term is defined by the Administrator in 40 

CFR part 241) for energy recovery. Energy recovery units include 

units that would be considered boilers and process heaters if 

they did not combust solid waste. 

Energy recovery unit designed to burn biomass (Biomass) 

means an energy recovery unit that burns solid waste, biomass, 

and non-coal solid materials but less than 10 percent coal, on a 
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heat input basis on an annual average, either alone or in 

combination with liquid waste, liquid fuel or gaseous fuels. 

Energy recovery unit designed to burn coal (Coal) means an 

energy recovery unit that burns solid waste and at least 10 

percent coal on a heat input basis on an annual average, either 

alone or in combination with liquid waste, liquid fuel or 

gaseous fuels. 

Energy recovery unit designed to burn liquid waste 

materials and gas (Liquid/gas) means an energy recovery unit 

that burns a liquid waste with liquid or gaseous fuels not 

combined with any solid fuel or waste materials. 

Energy recovery unit designed to burn solid materials 

(Solids) includes energy recovery units designed to burn coal 

and energy recovery units designed to burn biomass. 

Fabric filter means an add-on air pollution control device 

used to capture particulate matter by filtering gas streams 

through filter media, also known as a baghouse. 

Foundry sand thermal reclamation unit means a type of part 

reclamation unit that removes coatings that are on foundry sand. 

A foundry sand thermal reclamation unit is not an incinerator, a 

waste-burning kiln, an energy recovery unit or a small, remote 

incinerator under this subpart. 

Incinerator means any furnace used in the process of 

combusting solid waste (as that term is defined by the 
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Administrator in 40 CFR part 241) for the purpose of reducing 

the volume of the waste by removing combustible matter. 

Incinerator designs include single chamber and two-chamber. 

In-line coal mill means those coal mills using kiln exhaust 

gases in their process. Coal mills with a heat source other than 

the kiln or coal mills using exhaust gases from the clinker 

cooler alone are not an in-line coal mill. 

In-line kiln/ raw mill means a system in a Portland Cement 

production process where a dry kiln system is integrated with 

the raw mill so that all or a portion of the kiln exhaust gases 

are used to perform the drying operation of the raw mill, with 

no auxiliary heat source used. In this system the kiln is 

capable of operating without the raw mill operating, but the raw 

mill cannot operate without the kiln gases, and consequently, 

the raw mill does not generate a separate exhaust gas stream.  

Kiln means an oven or furnace, including any associated 

preheater or precalciner devices, in-line raw mills, in-line 

coal mills or alkali bypasses used for processing a substance by 

burning, firing or drying. Kilns include cement kilns that 

produce clinker by heating limestone and other materials for 

subsequent production of Portland Cement. Because the alkali 

bypass, in-line raw mill and in-line coal mill are considered an 

integral part of the kiln, the kiln emissions limits also apply 
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to the exhaust of the alkali bypass, in-line raw mill and in-

line coal mill. 

Laboratory analysis unit means units that burn samples of 

materials for the purpose of chemical or physical analysis. A 

laboratory analysis unit is not an incinerator, waste-burning 

kiln, an energy recovery unit or a small, remote incinerator 

under this subpart. 

Load fraction means the actual heat input of an energy 

recovery unit divided by heat input during the performance test 

that established the minimum sorbent injection rate or minimum 

activated carbon injection rate, expressed as a fraction (e.g., 

for 50 percent load the load fraction is 0.5). 

Low-level radioactive waste means waste material which 

contains radioactive nuclides emitting primarily beta or gamma 

radiation, or both, in concentrations or quantities that exceed 

applicable federal or state standards for unrestricted release. 

Low-level radioactive waste is not high-level radioactive waste, 

spent nuclear fuel, or byproduct material as defined by the 

Atomic Energy Act of 1954 (42 U.S.C. 2014(e)(2)). 

Malfunction means any sudden, infrequent, and not 

reasonably preventable failure of air pollution control 

equipment, process equipment, or a process to operate in a 

normal or usual manner. Failures that are caused, in part, by 

poor maintenance or careless operation are not malfunctions. 
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Minimum voltage or amperage means 90 percent of the lowest 

test-run average voltage or amperage to the electrostatic 

precipitator measured during the most recent particulate matter 

or mercury performance test demonstrating compliance with the 

applicable emission limits. 

Modification or modified CISWI unit means a CISWI unit that 

has been changed later than August 7, 2013 and that meets one of 

two criteria: 

(1) The cumulative cost of the changes over the life of the 

unit exceeds 50 percent of the original cost of building and 

installing the CISWI unit (not including the cost of land) 

updated to current costs (current dollars). To determine what 

systems are within the boundary of the CISWI unit used to 

calculate these costs, see the definition of CISWI unit. 

(2) Any physical change in the CISWI unit or change in the 

method of operating it that increases the amount of any air 

pollutant emitted for which section 129 or section 111 of the 

Clean Air Act has established standards. 

Municipal solid waste or municipal-type solid waste means 

household, commercial/retail, or institutional waste. Household 

waste includes material discarded by residential dwellings, 

hotels, motels, and other similar permanent or temporary 

housing. Commercial/retail waste includes material discarded by 

stores, offices, restaurants, warehouses, nonmanufacturing 
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activities at industrial facilities, and other similar 

establishments or facilities. Institutional waste includes 

materials discarded by schools, by hospitals (nonmedical), by 

nonmanufacturing activities at prisons and government 

facilities, and other similar establishments or facilities. 

Household, commercial/retail, and institutional waste does 

include yard waste and refuse-derived fuel. Household, 

commercial/retail, and institutional waste does not include used 

oil; sewage sludge; wood pallets; construction, renovation, and 

demolition wastes (which include railroad ties and telephone 

poles); clean wood; industrial process or manufacturing wastes; 

medical waste; or motor vehicles (including motor vehicle parts 

or vehicle fluff). 

Opacity means the degree to which emissions reduce the 

transmission of light and obscure the view of an object in the 

background. 

Operating day means a 24-hour period between 12:00 midnight 

and the following midnight during which any amount of solid 

waste is combusted at any time in the CISWI unit. 

Oxygen analyzer system means all equipment required to 

determine the oxygen content of a gas stream and used to monitor 

oxygen in the boiler or process heater flue gas, boiler or 

process heater, firebox, or other appropriate location. This 

definition includes oxygen trim systems and certified oxygen 
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CEMS. The source owner or operator is responsible to install, 

calibrate, maintain, and operate the oxygen analyzer system in 

accordance with the manufacturer's recommendations. 

Oxygen trim system means a system of monitors that is used 

to maintain excess air at the desired level in a combustion 

device over its operating range. A typical system consists of a 

flue gas oxygen and/or carbon monoxide monitor that 

automatically provides a feedback signal to the combustion air 

controller or draft controller. 

Part reclamation unit means a unit that burns coatings off 

parts (e.g., tools, equipment) so that the parts can be 

reconditioned and reused. 

Particulate matter means total particulate matter emitted 

from CISWI units as measured by Method 5 or Method 29 of 

appendix A of this part. 

Pathological waste means waste material consisting of only 

human or animal remains, anatomical parts, and/or tissue, the 

bags/containers used to collect and transport the waste 

material, and animal bedding (if applicable). 

Performance evaluation means the conduct of relative 

accuracy testing, calibration error testing, and other 

measurements used in validating the continuous monitoring system 

data. 
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Performance test means the collection of data resulting 

from the execution of a test method (usually three emission test 

runs) used to demonstrate compliance with a relevant emission 

standard as specified in the performance test section of the 

relevant standard. 

Process change means any of the following physical or 

operational changes: 

(1) A physical change (maintenance activities excluded) to 

the CISWI unit which may increase the emission rate of any air 

pollutant to which a standard applies; 

(2) An operational change to the CISWI unit where a new 

type of non-hazardous secondary material is being combusted; 

(3) A physical change (maintenance activities excluded) to 

the air pollution control devices used to comply with the 

emission limits for the CISWI unit (e.g., replacing an 

electrostatic precipitator with a fabric filter); 

(4) An operational change to the air pollution control 

devices used to comply with the emission limits for the affected 

CISWI unit (e.g., change in the sorbent injection rate used for 

activated carbon injection). 

Rack reclamation unit means a unit that burns the coatings 

off racks used to hold small items for application of a coating. 

The unit burns the coating overspray off the rack so the rack 

can be reused. 
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Raw mill means a ball or tube mill, vertical roller mill or 

other size reduction equipment, that is not part of an in-line 

kiln/raw mill, used to grind feed to the appropriate size. 

Moisture may be added or removed from the feed during the 

grinding operation. If the raw mill is used to remove moisture 

from feed materials, it is also, by definition, a raw material 

dryer. The raw mill also includes the air separator associated 

with the raw mill. 

Reconstruction means rebuilding a CISWI unit and meeting 

two criteria: 

(1) The reconstruction begins on or after August 7, 2013. 

(2) The cumulative cost of the construction over the life 

of the incineration unit exceeds 50 percent of the original cost 

of building and installing the CISWI unit (not including land) 

updated to current costs (current dollars). To determine what 

systems are within the boundary of the CISWI unit used to 

calculate these costs, see the definition of CISWI unit. 

Refuse-derived fuel means a type of municipal solid waste 

produced by processing municipal solid waste through shredding 

and size classification. This includes all classes of refuse-

derived fuel including two fuels: 

(1) Low-density fluff refuse-derived fuel through densified 

refuse-derived fuel. 

(2) Pelletized refuse-derived fuel. 
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Responsible official means one of the following: 

(1) For a corporation: A president, secretary, treasurer, 

or vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs similar 

policy or decision-making functions for the corporation, or a 

duly authorized representative of such person if the 

representative is responsible for the overall operation of one 

or more manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

applying for or subject to a permit and either: 

(i) The facilities employ more than 250 persons or have 

gross annual sales or expenditures exceeding $25 million (in 

second quarter 1980 dollars); or 

(ii) The delegation of authority to such representatives is 

approved in advance by the permitting authority; 

(2) For a partnership or sole proprietorship: A general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; 

(3) For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: Either a principal executive officer or ranking elected 

official. For the purposes of this part, a principal executive 

officer of a federal agency includes the chief executive officer 

having responsibility for the overall operations of a principal 

geographic unit of the agency (e.g., a Regional Administrator of 

EPA); or 

(4) For affected facilities: 
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(i) The designated representative in so far as actions, 

standards, requirements, or prohibitions under Title IV of the 

Clean Air Act or the regulations promulgated thereunder are 

concerned; or 

(ii) The designated representative for any other purposes 

under part 60. 

Shutdown means the period of time after all waste has been 

combusted in the primary chamber. 

Small, remote incinerator means an incinerator that 

combusts solid waste (as that term is defined by the 

Administrator in 40 CFR part 241) and combusts 3 tons per day or 

less solid waste and is more than 25 miles driving distance to 

the nearest municipal solid waste landfill. 

Soil treatment unit means a unit that thermally treats 

petroleum-contaminated soils for the sole purpose of site 

remediation. A soil treatment unit may be direct-fired or 

indirect fired. A soil treatment unit is not an incinerator, a 

waste-burning kiln, an energy recovery unit or a small, remote 

incinerator under this subpart. 

Solid waste means the term solid waste as defined in 40 CFR 

241.2. 

Solid waste incineration unit means a distinct operating 

unit of any facility which combusts any solid waste (as that 

term is defined by the Administrator in 40 CFR part 241) 
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material from commercial or industrial establishments or the 

general public (including single and multiple residences, hotels 

and motels). Such term does not include incinerators or other 

units required to have a permit under section 3005 of the Solid 

Waste Disposal Act. The term “solid waste incineration unit” 

does not include: 

(1) Materials recovery facilities (including primary or 

secondary smelters) which combust waste for the primary purpose 

of recovering metals; 

(2) Qualifying small power production facilities, as 

defined in section 3(17)(C) of the Federal Power Act (16 U.S.C. 

769(17)(C)), or qualifying cogeneration facilities, as defined 

in section 3(18)(B) of the Federal Power Act (16 U.S.C. 

796(18)(B)), which burn homogeneous waste (such as units which 

burn tires or used oil, but not including refuse-derived fuel) 

for the production of electric energy or in the case of 

qualifying cogeneration facilities which burn homogeneous waste 

for the production of electric energy and steam or forms of 

useful energy (such as heat) which are used for industrial, 

commercial, heating or cooling purposes; or 

(3) Air curtain incinerators provided that such 

incinerators only burn wood wastes, yard wastes, and clean 

lumber and that such air curtain incinerators comply with 
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opacity limitations to be established by the Administrator by 

rule. 

Space heater means a unit that meets the requirements of 40 

CFR 279.23. A space heater is not an incinerator, a waste-

burning kiln, an energy recovery unit or a small, remote 

incinerator under this subpart. 

Standard conditions, when referring to units of measure, 

means a temperature of 68 °F (20 °C) and a pressure of 1 

atmosphere (101.3 kilopascals). 

Startup period means the period of time between the 

activation of the system and the first charge to the unit. 

Waste-burning kiln means a kiln that is heated, in whole or 

in part, by combusting solid waste (as that term is defined by 

the Administrator in 40 CFR part 241). Secondary materials used 

in Portland cement kilns shall not be deemed to be combusted 

unless they are introduced into the flame zone in the hot end of 

the kiln or mixed with the precalciner fuel. 

Wet scrubber means an add-on air pollution control device 

that uses an aqueous or alkaline scrubbing liquor to collect 

particulate matter (including nonvaporous metals and condensed 

organics) and/or to absorb and neutralize acid gases. 

Wood waste means untreated wood and untreated wood 

products, including tree stumps (whole or chipped), trees, tree 
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limbs (whole or chipped), bark, sawdust, chips, scraps, slabs, 

millings, and shavings. Wood waste does not include: 

(1) Grass, grass clippings, bushes, shrubs, and clippings 

from bushes and shrubs from residential, commercial/retail, 

institutional, or industrial sources as part of maintaining 

yards or other private or public lands. 

(2) Construction, renovation, or demolition wastes. 

(3) Clean lumber. 

Table 1 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Emission Limitations for 
Incinerators for Which Construction is Commenced After November 
30, 1999, But no Later Than June 4, 2010, or for Which 
Modification or Reconstruction is Commenced on or After June 1, 
2001, But no Later Than August 7, 2013 

For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet 
this emission 
limitation a Using this averaging time 

And determining 
compliance using 
this method 

Cadmium 0.004 
milligrams per 
dry standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 of 
appendix A of 
this part). 

Carbon 
monoxide 

157 parts per 
million by dry 
volume 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 10 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

Dioxin/Furan 
(toxic 
equivalency 
basis) 

0.41 nanograms 
per dry 
standard cubic 
meter 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 4 
dry standard cubic 
meters per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 23 of 
appendix A-7 of 
this part). 

Hydrogen 
chloride 

62 parts per 
million by dry 
volume 

3-run average (For 
Method 26, collect a 
minimum volume of 120 
liters per run. For 
Method 26A, collect a 
minimum volume of 1 dry 
standard cubic meter 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 26 or 26A 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
8). 

Lead 0.04 3-run average (1 hour Performance test 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet 
this emission 
limitation a Using this averaging time 

And determining 
compliance using 
this method 

milligrams per 
dry standard 
cubic meter 

minimum sample time per 
run) 

(Method 29 of 
appendix A of 
this part). 

Mercury 0.47 
milligrams per 
dry standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 of 
appendix A of 
this part). 

Nitrogen 
Oxides 

388 parts per 
million by dry 
volume 

3-run average (for 
Method 7E, 1 hour 
minimum sample time per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 7 or 7E 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
4). 

Opacity 10 percent 6-minute averages Performance test 
(Method 9 of 
appendix A of 
this part). 

Oxides of 
nitrogen 

388 parts per 
million by dry 
volume 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 7, 7A, 
7C, 7D, or 7E of 
appendix A of 
this part). 

Particulate 
matter 

70 milligrams 
per dry 
standard cubic 
meter 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 5 or 29 
of appendix A of 
this part). 

Sulfur Dioxide 20 parts per 
million by dry 
volume 

3-run average (For 
Method 6, collect a 
minimum volume of 20 
liters per run. For 
Method 6C, collect 
sample for a minimum 
duration of 1 hour per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 6 or 6C 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
4). 

a All emission limitations (except for opacity) are measured at 7 percent 
oxygen, dry basis at standard conditions. 

 

Table 2 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Operating Limits for Wet 
Scrubbers 

For these 
operating 

You must 
establish 

And monitoring using these minimum 
frequencies 
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parameters these 
operating 
limits 

Data 
measurement

Data 
recording Averaging time 

Charge rate Maximum 
charge rate 

Continuous Every 
hour 

Daily (batch units) 
3-hour rolling 
(continuous and 
intermittent 
units) a 

Pressure drop 
across the wet 
scrubber or 
amperage to wet 
scrubber 

Minimum 
pressure 
drop or 
amperage 

Continuous Every 15 
minutes 

3-hour rolling a 

Scrubber liquor 
flow rate 

Minimum flow 
rate 

Continuous Every 15 
minutes 

3-hour rolling a 

Scrubber liquor 
pH 

Minimum pH Continuous Every 15 
minutes 

3-hour rolling a 

a Calculated each hour as the average of the previous 3 operating hours.  

Table 3 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Toxic Equivalency Factors 

Dioxin/furan congener Toxic equivalency factor

2,3,7,8-tetrachlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxin 1 

1,2,3,7,8-pentachlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxin 0.5 

1,2,3,4,7,8-hexachlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxin 0.1 

1,2,3,7,8,9-hexachlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxin 0.1 

1,2,3,6,7,8-hexachlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxin 0.1 

1,2,3,4,6,7,8-heptachlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxin 0.01 

octachlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxin 0.001 

2,3,7,8-tetrachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.1 

2,3,4,7,8-pentachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.5 

1,2,3,7,8-pentachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.05 

1,2,3,4,7,8-hexachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.1 

1,2,3,6,7,8-hexachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.1 

1,2,3,7,8,9-hexachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.1 

2,3,4,6,7,8-hexachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.1 

1,2,3,4,6,7,8-heptachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.01 

1,2,3,4,7,8,9-heptachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.01 

octachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.001 
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Table 4 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Summary of Reporting 
Requirements a  

Report Due date Contents Reference

Preconstruction 
report 

Prior to 
commencing 
construction 

• Statement of intent to 

construct 

• Anticipated date of 

commencement of 
construction 

• Documentation for 

siting requirements 

• Waste management plan 

• Anticipated date of 

initial startup 

§ 60.2190 

Startup 
notification 

Prior to initial 
startup 

• Type of waste to be 

burned 

• Maximum design waste 

burning capacity 

• Anticipated maximum 

charge rate 

• If applicable, the 

petition for site-
specific operating 
limits 

§ 60.2195 

Initial test 
report 

No later than 60 
days following 
the initial 
performance test 

• Complete test report 

for the initial 
performance test 

• The values for the 

site-specific 
operating limits 

• Installation of bag 

leak detection system 
for fabric filter 

§ 60.2200 

Annual report  No later than 12 
months following 
the submission of 
the initial test 
report. 
Subsequent 
reports are to be 
submitted no more 
than 12 months 
following the 
previous report 

• Name and address 

• Statement and 

signature by 
responsible official 

• Date of report 

• Values for the 

operating limits 

• Highest recorded 3-

hour average and the 
lowest 3-hour 
average, as 
applicable, for each 

§§ 60.2205 and 
60.2210. 
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Report Due date Contents Reference
operating parameter 
recorded for the 
calendar year being 
reported 

• For each performance 

test conducted during 
the reporting period, 
if any performance 
test is conducted, 
the process unit(s) 
tested, the 
pollutant(s) tested, 
and the date that 
such performance test 
was conducted. 

• If a performance test 

was not conducted 
during the reporting 
period, a statement 
that the requirements 
of § 60.2155(a) were 
met 

• Documentation of 

periods when all 
qualified CISWI unit 
operators were 
unavailable for more 
than 8 hours but less 
than 2 weeks 

• If you are conducting 

performance tests 
once every 3 years 
consistent with § 
60.2155(a), the date 
of the last 2 
performance tests, a 
comparison of the 
emission level you 
achieved in the last 
2 performance tests 
to the 75 percent 
emission limit 
threshold required in 
§ 60.2155(a) and a 
statement as to 
whether there have 
been any operational 
changes since the 
last performance test 
that could increase 
emissions 

Emission By August 1 of • Dates and times of § 60.2215 and 
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Report Due date Contents Reference

limitation or 
operating limit 
deviation report 

that year for data 
collected during 
the first half of 
the calendar year. 
By February 1 of 
the following year 
for data collected 
during the second 
half of the 
calendar year 

deviation 

• Averaged and recorded 

data for those dates 

• Duration and causes of 

each deviation and the 
corrective actions 
taken 

• Copy of operating 

limit monitoring data 
and, if any 
performance test was 
conducted that 
documents emission 
levels, the process 
unit(s) tested, the 
pollutant(s) tested, 
and the date that such 
performance text was 
conducted 

• Dates, times and 

causes for monitor 
downtime incidents 

60.2220. 

Qualified 
operator 
deviation 
notification 

Within 10 days of 
deviation 

• Statement of cause of 

deviation 

• Description of efforts 

to have an accessible 
qualified operator 

• The date a qualified 

operator will be 
accessible 

§ 60.2225(a)(1) 

Qualified 
operator 
deviation status 
report 

Every 4 weeks 
following 
deviation 

• Description of efforts 

to have an accessible 
qualified operator 

• The date a qualified 

operator will be 
accessible 

• Request for approval 

to continue operation 

§ 60.2225(a)(2) 

Qualified 
operator 
deviation 
notification of 
resumed 
operation 

Prior to resuming 
operation 

• Notification that you 

are resuming operation 

§ 60.2225(b) 

a This table is only a summary, see the referenced sections of the rule for 
the complete requirements. 
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Table 5 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Emission Limitations for 
Incinerators That Commenced Construction After June 4, 2010, or 
That Commenced Reconstruction or Modification After August 7, 
2013 

For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet 
this emission 
limitation a Using this averaging time

And determining 
compliance 
using this method 

Cadmium 0.0023 
milligrams per 
dry standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 4 
dry standard cubic 
meter per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8 of 
this part). 
Use ICPMS for the 
analytical finish.

Carbon 
monoxide 

17 parts per 
million by dry 
volume 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 10 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

Dioxin/furan 
(Total Mass 
Basis) 

0.58 nanograms 
per dry standard 
cubic meter c 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 4 
dry standard cubic 
meters per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 23 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-7). 

Dioxin/furan 
(toxic 
equivalency 
basis) 

0.13 nanograms 
per dry standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 4 
dry standard cubic 
meter per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 23 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-7). 

Fugitive ash Visible 
emissions for no 
more than 5 
percent of the 
hourly 
observation 
period 

Three 1-hour 
observation periods 

Visible emission 
test (Method 22 at 
40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-7). 

Hydrogen 
chloride 

0.091 parts per 
million by dry 
volume 

3-run average (For 
Method 26, collect a 
minimum volume of 360 
liters per run. For 
Method 26A, collect a 
minimum volume of 3 
dry standard cubic 
meters per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 26 or 26A 
at 40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8). 

Lead 0.015 milligrams 
per dry standard 
cubic meter c 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 4 
dry standard cubic 
meters per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 of 
appendix A-8 at 40 
CFR part 60). Use 
ICPMS for the 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet 
this emission 
limitation a Using this averaging time

And determining 
compliance 
using this method 

analytical finish.

Mercury 0.00084 
milligrams per 
dry standard 
cubic meter c 

3-run average (collect 
enough volume to meet 
a detection limit data 
quality objective of 
0.03 ug/dry standard 
cubic meter) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 or 30B 
at 40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8) or 
ASTM D6784-02 
(Reapproved 
2008).b 

Nitrogen 
Oxides 

23 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average (for 
Method 7E, 1 hour 
minimum sample time 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 7 or 7E at 
40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

Particulate 
matter 
(filterable) 

18 milligrams 
per dry standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 2 
dry standard cubic 
meters per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 5 or 29 at 
40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-3 or 
appendix A-8 at 40 
CFR part 60). 

Sulfur 
dioxide 

11 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 6 or 6C at 
40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

a All emission limitations are measured at 7 percent oxygen, dry basis at 
standard conditions. For dioxins/furans, you must meet either the Total 
Mass Limit or the toxic equivalency basis limit. 

b Incorporated by reference, see § 60.17. 

 

Table 6 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Emission Limitations for 
Energy Recovery Units That Commenced Construction After June 4, 
2010, or That Commenced Reconstruction or Modification After 
August 7, 2013 

For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet this 
emission limitationa 

Using this 
averaging time

And determining 
compliance using this 
method Liquid/gas Solids

Cadmium 0.023 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 

Biomass—
0.0014 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic 
meter. c 
Coal—0.0095 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume 
of 4 dry 
standard cubic 
meters per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 at 40 CFR 
part 60, appendix A-
8). Use ICPMS for the 
analytical finish. 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet this 
emission limitationa 

Using this 
averaging time

And determining 
compliance using this 
method Liquid/gas Solids

milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter

Carbon 
monoxide 

35 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

Biomass—240 
parts per 
million dry 
volume 
 
Coal—95 
parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average 
(1 hour 
minimum sample 
time per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 10 at 40 CFR 
part 60, appendix A-
4). 

Dioxin/furans 
(Total Mass 
Basis) 

No Total Mass 
Basis limit, 
must meet the 
toxic 
equivalency 
basis limit 
below 

Biomass—
0.52 
nanograms 
per dry 
standard 
cubic 
meter.c  
 

Coal—5.1 
nanograms 
per dry 
standard 
cubic 
meter. c 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume 
of 4 dry 
standard cubic 
meters) 

Performance test 
(Method 23 at 40 CFR 
part 60, appendix A-
7). 

Dioxins/furans 
(toxic 
equivalency 
basis) 

0.093 
nanograms per 
dry standard 
cubic meter.c 

Biomass—
0.076 
nanograms 
per dry 
standard 
cubic 
meter. c 
 
Coal—0.075 
nanograms 
per dry 
standard 
cubic 
meter. c 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume 
of 4 dry 
standard cubic 
meters per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 23 of appendix 
A-7 of this part). 

Fugitive ash Visible 
emissions for 
no more than 
5 percent of 
the hourly 
observation 
period 

Three 1-
hour 
observation 
periods 

Visible 
emission test 
(Method 22 at 
40 CFR part 
60, appendix 
A-7). 

Fugitive ash 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet this 
emission limitationa 

Using this 
averaging time

And determining 
compliance using this 
method Liquid/gas Solids

Hydrogen 
chloride 

14 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

Biomass—
0.20 parts 
per million 
dry volume 
Coal—13 
parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average 
(For Method 
26, collect a 
minimum volume 
of 360 liters 
per run. For 
Method 26A, 
collect a 
minimum volume 
of 3 dry 
standard cubic 
meters per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 26 or 26A at 
40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8). 

Lead 0.096 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 

Biomass—
0.014 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic 
meter. c 
Coal—0.14 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic 
meter. 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume 
of 4 dry 
standard cubic 
meters per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 at 40 CFR 
part 60, appendix A-
8). Use ICPMS for the 
analytical finish. 

Mercury 0.00056 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter.c 

Biomass—
0.0022 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter
Coal—0.016 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter

3-run average 
(collect 
enough volume 
to meet an in-
stack 
detection 
limit data 
quality 
objective of 
0.03 ug/dscm) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 or 30B at 
40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8) or ASTM 
D6784-02 (Reapproved 
2008)b. 

Oxides of 
nitrogen 

76 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

Biomass—290 
parts per 
million dry 
volume 
Coal—340 
parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average 
(for Method 
7E, 1 hour 
minimum sample 
time per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 7 or 7E at 40 
CFR part 60, appendix 
A-4). 

Particulate 
matter 
(filterable) 

110 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 

Biomass—5.1 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume 
of 1 dry 

Performance test 
(Method 5 or 29 at 40 
CFR part 60, appendix 
A-3 or appendix A-8) 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet this 
emission limitationa 

Using this 
averaging time

And determining 
compliance using this 
method Liquid/gas Solids

cubic meter cubic meter
Coal—160 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter

standard cubic 
meter per run)

if the unit has an 
annual average heat 
input rate less than 
250 MMBtu/hr; or PM 
CPMS (as specified in 
§ 60.2145(x)) if the 
unit has an annual 
average heat input 
rate equal to or 
greater than 250 
MMBtu/hr. 

Sulfur dioxide 720 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

Biomass—7.3 
parts per 
million dry 
volume 
Coal—650 
parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average 
(for Method 6, 
collect a 
minimum of 60 
liters, for 
Method 6C,1 
hour minimum 
sample time 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 6 or 6C at 40 
CFR part 60, appendix 
A-4). 

a All emission limitations are measured at 7 percent oxygen, dry basis at 
standard conditions. For dioxins/furans, you must meet either the Total 
Mass Basis limit or the toxic equivalency basis limit. 

b Incorporated by reference,see § 60.17. 
c If you are conducting stack tests to demonstrate compliance and your 

performance tests for this pollutant for at least 2 consecutive years show 
that your emissions are at or below this limit, you can skip testing 
according to §60.2155 if all of the other provisions of § 60.2155 are met. 
For all other pollutants that do not contain a footnote ‘‘c’’, your 
performance tests for this pollutant for at least 2 consecutive years must 
show that your emissions are at or below 75 percent of this limit in order 
to qualify for skip testing. 

Table 7 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Emission Limitations for 
Waste-burning Kilns That Commenced Construction After June 4, 
2010, or Reconstruction or Modification After August 7, 2013 

For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet this 
emission 
limitationa 

Using this 
averaging time

And determining 
compliance using 
this method 

Cadmium 0.0014 milligrams 
per dry standard 
cubic meter.b 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume 
of 4 dry 
standard cubic 
meters per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 at 40 CFR 
part 60, appendix A-
8). Use ICPMS for the 
analytical finish. 

Carbon 
monoxide 

90 (long kilns)/190 
(preheater/precalci

3-run average (1 
hour minimum 

Performance test 
(Method 10 at 40 CFR 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet this 
emission 
limitationa 

Using this 
averaging time

And determining 
compliance using 
this method 

ner) parts per 
million dry volume 

sample time per 
run) 

part 60, appendix A-
4). 

Dioxins/fura
ns (total 
mass basis) 

0.51 nanograms per 
dry standard cubic 
meter.b 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume 
of 4 dry 
standard cubic 
meters per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 23 at 40 CFR 
part 60, appendix A-
7). 

Dioxins/fura
ns (toxic 
equivalency 
basis) 

0.075 nanograms per 
dry standard cubic 
meter.b 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume 
of 4 dry 
standard cubic 
meters) 

Performance test 
(Method 23 at 40 CFR 
part 60, appendix A-
7). 

Hydrogen 
chloride 

3.0 parts per 
million dry volume.b

3-run average (1 
hour minimum 
sample time per 
run) or 30-day 
rolling average 
if HCl CEMS are 
used 

Performance test 
(Method 321 at 40 CFR 
part 63, appendix A) 
or HCl CEMS if a wet 
scrubber or dry 
scrubber is not used.

Lead 0.014 milligrams 
per dry standard 
cubic meter.b 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume 
of 4 dry 
standard cubic 
meters) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 at 40 CFR 
part 60, appendix A-
8). Use ICPMS for the 
analytical finish. 

Mercury 0.0037 milligrams 
per dry standard 
cubic meter 

30-day rolling 
average 

Mercury CEMS or 
sorbent trap 
monitoring system 
(performance 
specification 12A or 
12B, respectively, of 
appendix B of this 
part.) 

Oxides of 
nitrogen 

200 parts per 
million dry volume 

30-day rolling 
average 

NOx CEMS (performance 
specification 2 of 
appendix B and 
procedure 1 of 
appendix F of this 
part). 

Particulate 
matter 

2.2 milligrams per 
dry standard cubic 

30-day rolling 
average 

PM CPMS (as specified 
in § 60.2145(x)). 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet this 
emission 
limitationa 

Using this 
averaging time

And determining 
compliance using 
this method 

(filterable) meter 

Sulfur 
dioxide 

28 parts per 
million dry volume 

30-day rolling 
average 

Sulfur dioxide CEMS 
(performance 
specification 2 of 
appendix B and 
procedure 1 of 
appendix F of this 
part). 

a All emission limitations are measured at 7 percent oxygen, dry basis at 
standard conditions. For dioxins/furans, you must meet either the Total 
Mass Basis limit or the toxic equivalency basis limit. 

b If you are conducting stack tests to demonstrate compliance and your 
performance tests for this pollutant for at least 2 consecutive years show 
that your emissions are at or below this limit, you can skip testing 
according to § 60.2155 if all of the other provisions of § 60.2155 are 
met. For all other pollutants that do not contain a footnote “b”, your 
performance tests for this pollutant for at least 2 consecutive years must 
show that your emissions are at or below 75 percent of this limit in order 
to qualify for skip testing. 

 

 

Table 8 to Subpart CCCC of Part 60—Emission Limitations for 
Small, Remote Incinerators That Commenced Construction After 
June 4, 2010, Or That Commenced Reconstruction or Modification 
After August 7, 2013 

For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet this 
emission 
limitation a 

Using this averaging 
time 

And determining
compliance using 
this method 

Cadmium 0.67 milligrams 
per dry standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 1 
dry standard cubic 
meters per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8). 

Carbon monoxide 13 parts per 
million dry volume

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 10 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

Dioxins/furans 
(total mass 
basis) 

1,800 nanograms 
per dry standard 
cubic meter. b 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 1 
dry standard cubic 
meters per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 23 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-7). 

Dioxins/furans 
(toxic 
equivalency 
basis) 

31 nanograms per 
dry standard cubic 
meter. b 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 1 
dry standard cubic 
meters) 

Performance test 
(Method 23 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-7). 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet this 
emission 
limitation a 

Using this averaging 
time 

And determining
compliance using 
this method 

Fugitive ash Visible emissions 
for no more than 5 
percent of the 
hourly observation 
period 

Three 1-hour 
observation periods 

Visible emissions 
test (Method 22 at 
40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-7). 

Hydrogen 
chloride 

200 parts per 
million by dry 
volume 

3-run average (For 
Method 26, collect a 
minimum volume of 60 
liters per run. For 
Method 26A, collect a 
minimum volume of 1 dry 
standard cubic meter 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 26 or 26A 
at 40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8). 

Lead 2.0 milligrams per 
dry standard cubic 
meter 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 1 
dry standard cubic 
meters) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8). Use 
ICPMS for the 
analytical finish.

Mercury 0.0035 milligrams 
per dry standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (For 
Method 29 and ASTM 
D6784-02 (Reapproved 
2008) b, collect a 
minimum volume of 2 dry 
standard cubic meters 
per run. For Method 
30B, collect a minimum 
volume as specified in 
Method 30B at 40 CFR 
part 60, appendix A) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 or 30B 
at 40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8) or 
ASTM D6784-02 
(Reapproved 
2008). b 

Oxides of 
nitrogen 

170 parts per 
million dry volume

3-run average (for 
Method 7E, 1 hour 
minimum sample time per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 7 or 7E at 
40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

Particulate 
matter 
(filterable) 

270 milligrams per 
dry standard cubic 
meter 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 1 
dry standard cubic 
meters) 

Performance test 
(Method 5 or 29 at 
40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-3 or 
appendix A-8). 

Sulfur dioxide 1.2 parts per 
million dry volume

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 6 or 6c at 
40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

a All emission limitations are measured at 7 percent oxygen, dry basis at 
standard conditions. For dioxins/furans, you must meet either the Total 
Mass Basis limit or the toxic equivalency basis limit. 

b Incorporated by reference, see § 60.17. 
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3. Part 60 is amended by revising subpart DDDD to read as 

follows: 

Subpart DDDD—Emissions Guidelines and Compliance Times for 

Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units 

 
Sec. 

Introduction 
60.2500 What is the purpose of this subpart? 
60.2505 Am I affected by this subpart? 
60.2510 Is a state plan required for all states? 
60.2515 What must I include in my state plan? 
60.2520 Is there an approval process for my state plan? 
60.2525 What if my state plan is not approvable? 
60.2530 Is there an approval process for a negative declaration 
letter? 
60.2535 What compliance schedule must I include in my state plan? 
60.2540 Are there any state plan requirements for this subpart that 
apply instead of the requirements specified in subpart B? 
60.2541 In lieu of a state plan submittal, are there other acceptable 
option(s) for a state to meet its Clean Air Act section 
111(d)/129(b)(2) obligations? 
60.2542 What authorities will not be delegated to state, local, or 
tribal agencies? 
60.2545 Does this subpart directly affect CISWI unit owners and 
operators in my state? 

Applicability of State Plans 
60.2550 What CISWI units must I address in my state plan? 
60.2555 What combustion units are exempt from my state plan? 

Use of Model Rule 
60.2560 What is the “model rule” in this subpart? 
60.2565 How does the model rule relate to the required elements of my 
state plan? 
60.2570 What are the principal components of the model rule? 

Model Rule—Increments of Progress 
60.2575 What are my requirements for meeting increments of progress 
and achieving final compliance? 
60.2580 When must I complete each increment of progress? 
60.2585 What must I include in the notifications of achievement of 
increments of progress? 
60.2590 When must I submit the notifications of achievement of 
increments of progress? 
60.2595 What if I do not meet an increment of progress? 
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60.2600 How do I comply with the increment of progress for submittal 
of a control plan? 
60.2605 How do I comply with the increment of progress for achieving 
final compliance? 
60.2610 What must I do if I close my CISWI unit and then restart it? 
60.2615 What must I do if I plan to permanently close my CISWI unit 
and not restart it? 

Model Rule—Waste Management Plan 
60.2620 What is a waste management plan? 
60.2625 When must I submit my waste management plan? 
60.2630 What should I include in my waste management plan? 

Model Rule—Operator Training and Qualification 
60.2635 What are the operator training and qualification requirements? 
60.2640 When must the operator training course be completed? 
60.2645 How do I obtain my operator qualification? 
60.2650 How do I maintain my operator qualification? 
60.2655 How do I renew my lapsed operator qualification? 
60.2660 What site-specific documentation is required? 
60.2665 What if all the qualified operators are temporarily not 
accessible? 

Model Rule—Emission Limitations and Operating Limits 
60.2670 What emission limitations must I meet and by when? 
60.2675 What operating limits must I meet and by when? 
60.2680 What if I do not use a wet scrubber, fabric filter, activated 
carbon injection, selective noncatalytic reduction, an electrostatic 
precipitator, or a dry scrubber to comply with the emission 
limitations? 

Model Rule—Performance Testing 
60.2690 How do I conduct the initial and annual performance test? 
60.2695 How are the performance test data used? 

Model Rule—Initial Compliance Requirements 
60.2700 How do I demonstrate initial compliance with the amended 
emission limitations and establish the operating limits? 
60.2705 By what date must I conduct the initial performance test? 
60.2706 By what date must I conduct the initial air pollution control 
device inspection? 

Model Rule—Continuous Compliance Requirements 
60.2710 How do I demonstrate continuous compliance with the amended 
emission limitations and the operating limits? 
60.2715 By what date must I conduct the annual performance test? 
60.2716 By what date must I conduct the annual air pollution control 
device inspection? 
60.2720 May I conduct performance testing less often? 
60.2725 May I conduct a repeat performance test to establish new 
operating limits? 

Model Rule—Monitoring 
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60.2730 What monitoring equipment must I install and what parameters 
must I monitor? 
60.2735 Is there a minimum amount of monitoring data I must obtain? 

Model Rule—Recordkeeping and Reporting 
60.2740 What records must I keep? 
60.2745 Where and in what format must I keep my records? 
60.2750 What reports must I submit? 
60.2755 When must I submit my waste management plan? 
60.2760 What information must I submit following my initial 
performance test? 
60.2765 When must I submit my annual report? 
60.2770 What information must I include in my annual report? 
60.2775 What else must I report if I have a deviation from the 
operating limits or the emission limitations? 
60.2780 What must I include in the deviation report? 
60.2785 What else must I report if I have a deviation from the 
requirement to have a qualified operator accessible? 
60.2790 Are there any other notifications or reports that I must 
submit? 
60.2795 In what form can I submit my reports? 
60.2800 Can reporting dates be changed? 

Model Rule—Title V Operating Permits 
60.2805 Am I required to apply for and obtain a Title V operating 
permit for my unit? 

Model Rule—Air Curtain Incinerators 
60.2810 What is an air curtain incinerator? 
60.2815 What are my requirements for meeting increments of progress 
and achieving final compliance? 
60.2820 When must I complete each increment of progress? 
60.2825 What must I include in the notifications of achievement of 
increments of progress? 
60.2830 When must I submit the notifications of achievement of 
increments of progress? 
60.2835 What if I do not meet an increment of progress? 
60.2840 How do I comply with the increment of progress for submittal 
of a control plan? 
60.2845 How do I comply with the increment of progress for achieving 
final compliance? 
60.2850 What must I do if I close my air curtain incinerator and then 
restart it? 
60.2855 What must I do if I plan to permanently close my air curtain 
incinerator and not restart it? 
60.2860 What are the emission limitations for air curtain 
incinerators? 
60.2865 How must I monitor opacity for air curtain incinerators? 
60.2870 What are the recordkeeping and reporting requirements for air 
curtain incinerators? 

Model Rule—Definitions 
60.2875 What definitions must I know? 
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Table 1 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Increments of Progress 
and Compliance Schedules 

Table 2 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Emission Limitations 
That Apply to Incinerators Before [Date to be specified in state plan] 
Table 3 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Operating Limits for Wet 
Scrubbers 

Table 4 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Toxic Equivalency 
Factors 

Table 5 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Summary of Reporting 
Requirements  

Table 6 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Emission Limitations 
That Apply to Incinerators on and After [Date to be specified in state 
plan] 

Table 7 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Emission Limitations 
That Apply to Energy Recovery Units After May 20, 2011 [Date to be 
specified in state plan] 

Table 8 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Emission Limitations 
That Apply to Waste-Burning Kilns After May 20, 2011 [Date to be 
specified in state plan.] 
 
Table 9 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Emission Limitations 
That Apply to Small, Remote Incinerators After May 20, 2011 [Date to 
be specified in state plan]  
 

Subpart DDDD—Emissions Guidelines and Compliance Times for 

Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units 

Introduction 

§ 60.2500 What is the purpose of this subpart? 

This subpart establishes emission guidelines and compliance 

schedules for the control of emissions from commercial and 

industrial solid waste incineration (CISWI) units. The 

pollutants addressed by these emission guidelines are listed in 

table 2 of this subpart and tables 6 through 9 of this subpart. 

These emission guidelines are developed in accordance with 
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sections 111(d) and 129 of the Clean Air Act and subpart B of 

this part. 

§ 60.2505 Am I affected by this subpart? 

(a) If you are the Administrator of an air quality program 

in a state or United States protectorate with one or more 

existing CISWI units that meet the criteria in paragraphs (b) 

through (d) of this section, you must submit a state plan to 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) that implements the 

emission guidelines contained in this subpart. 

(b) You must submit a state plan to EPA by December 3, 2001 

for incinerator units that commenced construction on or before 

November 30, 1999 and that were not modified or reconstructed 

after June 1, 2001. 

(c) You must submit a state plan that meets the 

requirements of this subpart and contains the more stringent 

emission limit for the respective pollutant in table 6 of this 

subpart or table 1 of subpart CCCC of this part to EPA by 

February 7, 2014 for incinerators that commenced construction 

after November 30, 1999, but no later than June 4, 2010, or 

commenced modification or reconstruction after June 1, 2001 but 

no later than August 7, 2013. 

(d) You must submit a state plan to EPA that meets the 

requirements of this subpart and contains the emission limits in 

tables 7 through 9 of this subpart by February 7, 2014, for 
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CISWI units other than incinerator units that commenced 

construction on or before June 4, 2010, or commenced 

modification or reconstruction after June 4, 2010 but no later 

than August 7, 2013. 

§ 60.2510 Is a state plan required for all states? 

No. You are not required to submit a state plan if there 

are no existing CISWI units in your state, and you submit a 

negative declaration letter in place of the state plan. 

§ 60.2515 What must I include in my state plan? 

(a) You must include the nine items described in paragraphs 

(a)(1) through (9) of this section in your state plan. 

(1) Inventory of affected CISWI units, including those that 

have ceased operation but have not been dismantled. 

(2) Inventory of emissions from affected CISWI units in 

your state. 

(3) Compliance schedules for each affected CISWI unit. 

(4) Emission limitations, operator training and 

qualification requirements, a waste management plan, and 

operating limits for affected CISWI units that are at least as 

protective as the emission guidelines contained in this subpart. 

(5) Performance testing, recordkeeping, and reporting 

requirements. 

(6) Certification that the hearing on the state plan was 

held, a list of witnesses and their organizational affiliations, 
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if any, appearing at the hearing, and a brief written summary of 

each presentation or written submission. 

(7) Provision for state progress reports to EPA. 

(8) Identification of enforceable state mechanisms that you 

selected for implementing the emission guidelines of this 

subpart. 

(9) Demonstration of your state's legal authority to carry 

out the sections 111(d) and 129 state plan. 

(b) Your state plan may deviate from the format and content 

of the emission guidelines contained in this subpart. However, 

if your state plan does deviate in content, you must demonstrate 

that your state plan is at least as protective as the emission 

guidelines contained in this subpart. Your state plan must 

address regulatory applicability, increments of progress for 

retrofit, operator training and qualification, a waste 

management plan, emission limitations, performance testing, 

operating limits, monitoring, recordkeeping and reporting, and 

air curtain incinerator requirements. 

(c) You must follow the requirements of subpart B of this 

part (Adoption and Submittal of State Plans for Designated 

Facilities) in your state plan. 

§ 60.2520 Is there an approval process for my state plan? 

Yes. The EPA will review your state plan according to § 

60.27. 
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§ 60.2525 What if my state plan is not approvable? 

(a) If you do not submit an approvable state plan (or a 

negative declaration letter) by December 2, 2002, EPA will 

develop a federal plan according to § 60.27 to implement the 

emission guidelines contained in this subpart. Owners and 

operators of CISWI units not covered by an approved state plan 

must comply with the federal plan. The federal plan is an 

interim action and will be automatically withdrawn when your 

state plan is approved. 

(b) If you do not submit an approvable state plan (or a 

negative declaration letter) to EPA that meets the requirements 

of this subpart and contains the emission limits in tables 6 

through 9 of this subpart for CISWI units that commenced 

construction on or before June 4, 2010 and incinerator or air 

curtain incinerator units that commenced reconstruction or 

modification on or after June 1, 2001 but no later than August 

7, 2013, then EPA will develop a federal plan according to § 

60.27 to implement the emission guidelines contained in this 

subpart. Owners and operators of CISWI units not covered by an 

approved state plan must comply with the federal plan. The 

federal plan is an interim action and will be automatically 

withdrawn when your state plan is approved. 

§ 60.2530 Is there an approval process for a negative 

declaration letter? 



Page 192 of 340 

 

No. The EPA has no formal review process for negative 

declaration letters. Once your negative declaration letter has 

been received, EPA will place a copy in the public docket and 

publish a notice in the Federal Register. If, at a later date, 

an existing CISWI unit is found in your state, the federal plan 

implementing the emission guidelines contained in this subpart 

would automatically apply to that CISWI unit until your state 

plan is approved. 

§ 60.2535 What compliance schedule must I include in my state 

plan? 

(a) For CISWI units in the incinerator subcategory and air 

curtain incinerators that commenced construction on or before 

November 30, 1999, your state plan must include compliance 

schedules that require CISWI units in the incinerator 

subcategory and air curtain incinerators to achieve final 

compliance as expeditiously as practicable after approval of the 

state plan but not later than the earlier of the two dates 

specified in paragraphs (a)(1) and (2) of this section. 

(1) December 1, 2005. 

(2) Three years after the effective date of state plan 

approval. 

(b) For CISWI units in the incinerator subcategory and air 

curtain incinerators that commenced construction after November 

30, 1999, but on or before June 4, 2010 or that commenced 
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reconstruction or modification on or after June 1, 2001 but no 

later than August 7, 2013, and for CISWI units in the small 

remote incinerator, energy recovery unit, and waste-burning kiln 

subcategories that commenced construction before June 4, 2010, 

your state plan must include compliance schedules that require 

CISWI units to achieve final compliance as expeditiously as 

practicable after approval of the state plan but not later than 

the earlier of the two dates specified in paragraphs (b)(1) and 

(2) of this section. 

(1) February 7, 2018. 

(2) Three years after the effective date of State plan 

approval. 

(c) For compliance schedules more than 1 year following the 

effective date of State plan approval, State plans must include 

dates for enforceable increments of progress as specified in § 

60.2580. 

§ 60.2540 Are there any State plan requirements for this subpart 

that apply instead of the requirements specified in subpart B? 

Yes. Subpart B establishes general requirements for 

developing and processing section 111(d) plans. This subpart 

applies instead of the requirements in subpart B of this part 

for paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section: 

(a) State plans developed to implement this subpart must be 

as protective as the emission guidelines contained in this 
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subpart. State plans must require all CISWI units to comply by 

the dates specified in § 60.2535. This applies instead of the 

option for case-by-case less stringent emission standards and 

longer compliance schedules in § 60.24(f). 

(b) State plans developed to implement this subpart are 

required to include two increments of progress for the affected 

CISWI units. These two minimum increments are the final control 

plan submittal date and final compliance date in § 60.21(h)(1) 

and (5). This applies instead of the requirement of § 

60.24(e)(1) that would require a State plan to include all five 

increments of progress for all CISWI units. 

§ 60.2541 In lieu of a state plan submittal, are there other 

acceptable option(s) for a state to meet its Clean Air Act 

section 111(d)/129(b)(2) obligations? 

Yes, a state may meet its Clean Air Act section 111(d)/129 

obligations by submitting an acceptable written request for 

delegation of the federal plan that meets the requirements of 

this section. This is the only other option for a state to meet 

its Clean Air Act section 111(d)/129 obligations. 

(a) An acceptable federal plan delegation request must 

include the following: 

(1) A demonstration of adequate resources and legal 

authority to administer and enforce the federal plan. 

(2) The items under § 60.2515(a)(1), (2) and (7). 
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(3) Certification that the hearing on the state delegation 

request, similar to the hearing for a state plan submittal, was 

held, a list of witnesses and their organizational affiliations, 

if any, appearing at the hearing, and a brief written summary of 

each presentation or written submission. 

(4) A commitment to enter into a Memorandum of Agreement 

with the Regional Administrator who sets forth the terms, 

conditions, and effective date of the delegation and that serves 

as the mechanism for the transfer of authority. Additional 

guidance and information is given in EPA's Delegation Manual, 

Item 7-139, Implementation and Enforcement of 111(d)(2) and 

111(d)/(2)/129(b)(3) federal plans. 

(b) A state with an already approved CISWI Clean Air Act 

section 111(d)/129 state plan is not precluded from receiving 

EPA approval of a delegation request for the revised federal 

plan, providing the requirements of paragraph (a) of this 

section are met, and at the time of the delegation request, the 

state also requests withdrawal of EPA's previous state plan 

approval. 

(c) A state's Clean Air Act section 111(d)/129 obligations 

are separate from its obligations under Title V of the Clean Air 

Act. 

§ 60.2542 What authorities will not be delegated to state, 

local, or tribal agencies? 
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The authorities listed under § 60.2030(c) will not be 

delegated to state, local, or tribal agencies. 

§ 60.2545 Does this subpart directly affect CISWI unit owners 

and operators in my state? 

(a) No. This subpart does not directly affect CISWI unit 

owners and operators in your state. However, CISWI unit owners 

and operators must comply with the state plan you develop to 

implement the emission guidelines contained in this subpart. 

States may choose to incorporate the model rule text directly in 

their state plan. 

(b) If you do not submit an approvable plan to implement 

and enforce the guidelines contained in this subpart for CISWI 

units that commenced construction before November 30, 1999 by 

December 2, 2002, EPA will implement and enforce a federal plan, 

as provided in § 60.2525, to ensure that each unit within your 

state reaches compliance with all the provisions of this subpart 

by December 1, 2005. 

(c) If you do not submit an approvable plan to implement 

and enforce the guidelines contained in this subpart by February 

7, 2014, for CISWI units that commenced construction on or 

before June 4, 2010, EPA will implement and enforce a federal 

plan, as provided in § 60.2525, to ensure that each unit within 

your state that commenced construction on or before June 4, 
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2010, reaches compliance with all the provisions of this subpart 

by February 7, 2018. 

Applicability of State Plans 

§ 60.2550 What CISWI units must I address in my state plan? 

(a) Your state plan must address incineration units that 

meet all three criteria described in paragraphs (a)(1) through 

(3) of this section. 

(1) CISWI units and air curtain incinerators in your state 

that commenced construction on or before June 4, 2010, or 

commenced modification or reconstruction after June 4, 2010 but 

no later than August 7, 2013. 

(2) Incineration units that meet the definition of a CISWI 

unit as defined in § 60.2875. 

(3) Incineration units not exempt under § 60.2555. 

(b) If the owner or operator of a CISWI unit or air curtain 

incinerator makes changes that meet the definition of 

modification or reconstruction after August 7, 2013, the CISWI 

unit becomes subject to subpart CCCC of this part and the state 

plan no longer applies to that unit. 

(c) If the owner or operator of a CISWI unit makes physical 

or operational changes to an existing CISWI unit primarily to 

comply with your state plan, subpart CCCC of this part does not 

apply to that unit. Such changes do not qualify as modifications 

or reconstructions under subpart CCCC of this part. 
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§ 60.2555 What combustion units are exempt from my state plan? 

This subpart exempts the types of units described in 

paragraphs (a), (c) through (i), (m), and (n) of this section, 

but some units are required to provide notifications. Air 

curtain incinerators are exempt from the requirements in this 

subpart except for the provisions in §§ 60.2805, 60.2860, and 

60.2870. 

(a) Pathological waste incineration units. Incineration 

units burning 90 percent or more by weight (on a calendar 

quarter basis and excluding the weight of auxiliary fuel and 

combustion air) of pathological waste, low-level radioactive 

waste, and/or chemotherapeutic waste as defined in § 60.2875 are 

not subject to this subpart if you meet the two requirements 

specified in paragraphs (a)(1) and (2) of this section. 

(1) Notify the Administrator that the unit meets these 

criteria. 

(2) Keep records on a calendar quarter basis of the weight 

of pathological waste, low-level radioactive waste, and/or 

chemotherapeutic waste burned, and the weight of all other fuels 

and wastes burned in the unit. 

(b) [Reserved] 

(c) Municipal waste combustion units. Incineration units 

that are subject to subpart Ea of this part (Standards of 

Performance for Municipal Waste Combustors); subpart Eb of this 
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part (Standards of Performance for Large Municipal Waste 

Combustors); subpart Cb of this part (Emission Guidelines and 

Compliance Time for Large Municipal Combustors); AAAA of this 

part (Standards of Performance for Small Municipal Waste 

Combustion Units); or subpart BBBB of this part (Emission 

Guidelines for Small Municipal Waste Combustion Units). 

(d) Medical waste incineration units. Incineration units 

regulated under subpart Ec of this part (Standards of 

Performance for Hospital/Medical/Infectious Waste Incinerators 

for Which Construction is Commenced After June 20, 1996) or 

subpart Ca of this part (Emission Guidelines and Compliance 

Times for Hospital/Medical/Infectious Waste Incinerators). 

(e) Small power production facilities. Units that meet the 

three requirements specified in paragraphs (e)(1) through (e)(4) 

of this section. 

(1) The unit qualifies as a small power-production facility 

under section 3(17)(C) of the Federal Power Act (16 U.S.C. 

796(17)(C)). 

(2) The unit burns homogeneous waste (not including refuse-

derived fuel) to produce electricity. 

(3) You submit documentation to the Administrator notifying 

the Agency that the qualifying small power production facility 

is combusting homogenous waste. 

(4) You maintain the records specified in § 60.2740(v). 
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(f) Cogeneration facilities. Units that meet the three 

requirements specified in paragraphs (f)(1) through (f)(4) of 

this section. 

(1) The unit qualifies as a cogeneration facility under 

section 3(18)(B) of the Federal Power Act (16 U.S.C. 

796(18)(B)). 

(2) The unit burns homogeneous waste (not including refuse-

derived fuel) to produce electricity and steam or other forms of 

energy used for industrial, commercial, heating, or cooling 

purposes. 

(3) You submit documentation to the Administrator notifying 

the Agency that the qualifying cogeneration facility is 

combusting homogenous waste. 

(4) You maintain the records specified in § 60.2740(w). 

(g) Hazardous waste combustion units . Units for which you 

are required to get a permit under section 3005 of the Solid 

Waste Disposal Act. 

(h) Materials recovery units. Units that combust waste for 

the primary purpose of recovering metals, such as primary and 

secondary smelters. 

(i) Air curtain incinerators. Air curtain incinerators that 

burn only the materials listed in paragraphs (i)(1) through (3) 

of this section are only required to meet the requirements under 
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§ 60.2805 and under “Air Curtain Incinerators” (§§ 60.2810 

through 60.2870). 

(1) 100 percent wood waste. 

(2) 100 percent clean lumber. 

(3) 100 percent mixture of only wood waste, clean lumber, 

and/or yard waste. 

(j)-(l) [Reserved] 

(m) Sewage treatment plants . Incineration units regulated 

under subpart O of this part (Standards of Performance for 

Sewage Treatment Plants). 

(n) Sewage sludge incineration units. Incineration units 

combusting sewage sludge for the purpose of reducing the volume 

of the sewage sludge by removing combustible matter that are 

subject to subpart LLLL of this part (Standards of Performance 

for Sewage Sludge Incineration Units) or subpart MMMM of this 

part (Emission Guidelines for Sewage Sludge Incineration Units). 

(o) Other solid waste incineration units. Incineration 

units that are subject to subpart EEEE of this part (Standards 

of Performance for Other Solid Waste Incineration Units) or 

subpart FFFF of this part (Emission Guidelines and Compliance 

Times for Other Solid Waste Incineration Units). 

Use of Model Rule 

§ 60.2560 What is the “model rule” in this subpart? 
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(a) The model rule is the portion of these emission 

guidelines (§§ 60.2575 through 60.2875) that addresses the 

regulatory requirements applicable to CISWI units. The model 

rule provides these requirements in regulation format. You must 

develop a state plan that is at least as protective as the model 

rule. You may use the model rule language as part of your state 

plan. Alternative language may be used in your state plan if you 

demonstrate that the alternative language is at least as 

protective as the model rule contained in this subpart. 

(b) In the model rule of §§ 60.2575 to 60.2875, “you” means 

the owner or operator of a CISWI unit. 

§ 60.2565 How does the model rule relate to the required 

elements of my state plan? 

Use the model rule to satisfy the state plan requirements 

specified in § 60.2515(a)(4) and (5). 

§ 60.2570 What are the principal components of the model rule? 

The model rule contains the eleven major components listed 

in paragraphs (a) through (k) of this section. 

(a) Increments of progress toward compliance. 

(b) Waste management plan. 

(c) Operator training and qualification. 

(d) Emission limitations and operating limits. 

(e) Performance testing. 

(f) Initial compliance requirements. 
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(g) Continuous compliance requirements. 

(h) Monitoring. 

(i) Recordkeeping and reporting. 

(j) Definitions. 

(k) Tables. 

Model Rule—Increments of Progress 

§ 60.2575 What are my requirements for meeting increments of 

progress and achieving final compliance? 

If you plan to achieve compliance more than 1 year 

following the effective date of state plan approval, you must 

meet the two increments of progress specified in paragraphs (a) 

and (b) of this section. 

(a) Submit a final control plan. 

(b) Achieve final compliance. 

§ 60.2580 When must I complete each increment of progress? 

Table 1 of this subpart specifies compliance dates for each 

of the increments of progress. 

§ 60.2585 What must I include in the notifications of 

achievement of increments of progress? 

Your notification of achievement of increments of progress 

must include the three items specified in paragraphs (a) through 

(c) of this section. 

(a) Notification that the increment of progress has been 

achieved. 
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(b) Any items required to be submitted with each increment 

of progress. 

(c) Signature of the owner or operator of the CISWI unit. 

§ 60.2590 When must I submit the notifications of achievement of 

increments of progress? 

Notifications for achieving increments of progress must be 

postmarked no later than 10 business days after the compliance 

date for the increment. 

§ 60.2595 What if I do not meet an increment of progress? 

If you fail to meet an increment of progress, you must 

submit a notification to the Administrator postmarked within 10 

business days after the date for that increment of progress in 

table 1 of this subpart. You must inform the Administrator that 

you did not meet the increment, and you must continue to submit 

reports each subsequent calendar month until the increment of 

progress is met. 

§ 60.2600 How do I comply with the increment of progress for 

submittal of a control plan? 

For your control plan increment of progress, you must 

satisfy the two requirements specified in paragraphs (a) and (b) 

of this section. 

(a) Submit the final control plan that includes the five 

items described in paragraphs (a)(1) through (5) of this 

section. 
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(1) A description of the devices for air pollution control 

and process changes that you will use to comply with the 

emission limitations and other requirements of this subpart. 

(2) The type(s) of waste to be burned. 

(3) The maximum design waste burning capacity. 

(4) The anticipated maximum charge rate. 

(5) If applicable, the petition for site-specific operating 

limits under § 60.2680. 

(b) Maintain an onsite copy of the final control plan. 

§ 60.2605 How do I comply with the increment of progress for 

achieving final compliance? 

For the final compliance increment of progress, you must 

complete all process changes and retrofit construction of 

control devices, as specified in the final control plan, so 

that, if the affected CISWI unit is brought online, all 

necessary process changes and air pollution control devices 

would operate as designed. 

§ 60.2610 What must I do if I close my CISWI unit and then 

restart it? 

(a) If you close your CISWI unit but will restart it prior 

to the final compliance date in your state plan, you must meet 

the increments of progress specified in § 60.2575. 

(b) If you close your CISWI unit but will restart it after 

your final compliance date, you must complete emission control 
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retrofits and meet the emission limitations and operating limits 

on the date your unit restarts operation. 

§ 60.2615 What must I do if I plan to permanently close my CISWI 

unit and not restart it? 

If you plan to close your CISWI unit rather than comply 

with the state plan, submit a closure notification, including 

the date of closure, to the Administrator by the date your final 

control plan is due. 

Model Rule—Waste Management Plan 

§ 60.2620 What is a waste management plan? 

A waste management plan is a written plan that identifies 

both the feasibility and the methods used to reduce or separate 

certain components of solid waste from the waste stream in order 

to reduce or eliminate toxic emissions from incinerated waste. 

§ 60.2625 When must I submit my waste management plan? 

You must submit a waste management plan no later than the 

date specified in table 1 of this subpart for submittal of the 

final control plan. 

§ 60.2630 What should I include in my waste management plan? 

A waste management plan must include consideration of the 

reduction or separation of waste-stream elements such as paper, 

cardboard, plastics, glass, batteries, or metals; or the use of 

recyclable materials. The plan must identify any additional 

waste management measures, and the source must implement those 
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measures considered practical and feasible, based on the 

effectiveness of waste management measures already in place, the 

costs of additional measures, the emissions reductions expected 

to be achieved, and any other environmental or energy impacts 

they might have. 

Model Rule—Operator Training and Qualification 

§ 60.2635 What are the operator training and qualification 

requirements? 

(a) No CISWI unit can be operated unless a fully trained 

and qualified CISWI unit operator is accessible, either at the 

facility or can be at the facility within 1 hour. The trained 

and qualified CISWI unit operator may operate the CISWI unit 

directly or be the direct supervisor of one or more other plant 

personnel who operate the unit. If all qualified CISWI unit 

operators are temporarily not accessible, you must follow the 

procedures in § 60.2665. 

(b) Operator training and qualification must be obtained 

through a state-approved program or by completing the 

requirements included in paragraph (c) of this section. 

(c) Training must be obtained by completing an incinerator 

operator training course that includes, at a minimum, the three 

elements described in paragraphs (c)(1) through (3) of this 

section. 
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(1) Training on the eleven subjects listed in paragraphs 

(c)(1)(i) through (xi) of this section. 

(i) Environmental concerns, including types of emissions. 

(ii) Basic combustion principles, including products of 

combustion. 

(iii) Operation of the specific type of incinerator to be 

used by the operator, including proper startup, waste charging, 

and shutdown procedures. 

(iv) Combustion controls and monitoring. 

(v) Operation of air pollution control equipment and 

factors affecting performance (if applicable). 

(vi) Inspection and maintenance of the incinerator and air 

pollution control devices. 

(vii) Actions to prevent and correct malfunctions or to 

prevent conditions that may lead to malfunctions. 

(viii) Bottom and fly ash characteristics and handling 

procedures. 

(ix) Applicable federal, state, and local regulations, 

including Occupational Safety and Health Administration 

workplace standards. 

(x) Pollution prevention. 

(xi) Waste management practices. 

(2) An examination designed and administered by the 

instructor. 
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(3) Written material covering the training course topics 

that can serve as reference material following completion of the 

course. 

§ 60.2640 When must the operator training course be completed? 

The operator training course must be completed by the later 

of the three dates specified in paragraphs (a) through (c) of 

this section. 

(a) The final compliance date (Increment 2). 

(b) Six months after CISWI unit startup. 

(c) Six months after an employee assumes responsibility for 

operating the CISWI unit or assumes responsibility for 

supervising the operation of the CISWI unit. 

§ 60.2645 How do I obtain my operator qualification? 

(a) You must obtain operator qualification by completing a 

training course that satisfies the criteria under § 60.2635(b). 

(b) Qualification is valid from the date on which the 

training course is completed and the operator successfully 

passes the examination required under § 60.2635(c)(2). 

§ 60.2650 How do I maintain my operator qualification? 

To maintain qualification, you must complete an annual 

review or refresher course covering, at a minimum, the five 

topics described in paragraphs (a) through (e) of this section. 

(a) Update of regulations. 
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(b) Incinerator operation, including startup and shutdown 

procedures, waste charging, and ash handling. 

(c) Inspection and maintenance. 

(d) Prevention and correction of malfunctions or conditions 

that may lead to malfunction. 

(e) Discussion of operating problems encountered by 

attendees. 

§ 60.2655 How do I renew my lapsed operator qualification? 

You must renew a lapsed operator qualification by one of 

the two methods specified in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this 

section. 

(a) For a lapse of less than 3 years, you must complete a 

standard annual refresher course described in § 60.2650. 

(b) For a lapse of 3 years or more, you must repeat the 

initial qualification requirements in § 60.2645(a). 

§ 60.2660 What site-specific documentation is required? 

(a) Documentation must be available at the facility and 

readily accessible for all CISWI unit operators that addresses 

the ten topics described in paragraphs (a)(1) through (10) of 

this section. You must maintain this information and the 

training records required by paragraph (c) of this section in a 

manner that they can be readily accessed and are suitable for 

inspection upon request. 

(1) Summary of the applicable standards under this subpart. 
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(2) Procedures for receiving, handling, and charging waste. 

(3) Incinerator startup, shutdown, and malfunction 

procedures. 

(4) Procedures for maintaining proper combustion air supply 

levels. 

(5) Procedures for operating the incinerator and associated 

air pollution control systems within the standards established 

under this subpart. 

(6) Monitoring procedures for demonstrating compliance with 

the incinerator operating limits. 

(7) Reporting and recordkeeping procedures. 

(8) The waste management plan required under §§ 60.2620 

through 60.2630. 

(9) Procedures for handling ash. 

(10) A list of the wastes burned during the performance 

test. 

(b) You must establish a program for reviewing the 

information listed in paragraph (a) of this section with each 

incinerator operator. 

(1) The initial review of the information listed in 

paragraph (a) of this section must be conducted by the later of 

the three dates specified in paragraphs (b)(1)(i) through (iii) 

of this section. 

(i) The final compliance date (Increment 2). 
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(ii) Six months after CISWI unit startup. 

(iii) Six months after being assigned to operate the CISWI 

unit. 

(2) Subsequent annual reviews of the information listed in 

paragraph (a) of this section must be conducted no later than 12 

months following the previous review. 

(c) You must also maintain the information specified in 

paragraphs (c)(1) through (3) of this section. 

(1) Records showing the names of CISWI unit operators who 

have completed review of the information in § 60.2660(a) as 

required by § 60.2660(b), including the date of the initial 

review and all subsequent annual reviews. 

(2) Records showing the names of the CISWI operators who 

have completed the operator training requirements under § 

60.2635, met the criteria for qualification under § 60.2645, and 

maintained or renewed their qualification under § 60.2650 or § 

60.2655. Records must include documentation of training, the 

dates of the initial refresher training, and the dates of their 

qualification and all subsequent renewals of such 

qualifications. 

(3) For each qualified operator, the phone and/or pager 

number at which they can be reached during operating hours. 

§ 60.2665 What if all the qualified operators are temporarily 

not accessible? 
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If all qualified operators are temporarily not accessible 

(i.e., not at the facility and not able to be at the facility 

within 1 hour), you must meet one of the two criteria specified 

in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section, depending on the 

length of time that a qualified operator is not accessible. 

(a) When all qualified operators are not accessible for 

more than 8 hours, but less than 2 weeks, the CISWI unit may be 

operated by other plant personnel familiar with the operation of 

the CISWI unit who have completed a review of the information 

specified in § 60.2660(a) within the past 12 months. However, 

you must record the period when all qualified operators were not 

accessible and include this deviation in the annual report as 

specified under § 60.2770. 

(b) When all qualified operators are not accessible for 2 

weeks or more, you must take the two actions that are described 

in paragraphs (b)(1) and (2) of this section. 

(1) Notify the Administrator of this deviation in writing 

within 10 days. In the notice, state what caused this deviation, 

what you are doing to ensure that a qualified operator is 

accessible, and when you anticipate that a qualified operator 

will be accessible. 

(2) Submit a status report to the Administrator every 4 

weeks outlining what you are doing to ensure that a qualified 

operator is accessible, stating when you anticipate that a 
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qualified operator will be accessible and requesting approval 

from the Administrator to continue operation of the CISWI unit. 

You must submit the first status report 4 weeks after you notify 

the Administrator of the deviation under paragraph (b)(1) of 

this section. If the Administrator notifies you that your 

request to continue operation of the CISWI unit is disapproved, 

the CISWI unit may continue operation for 90 days, then must 

cease operation. Operation of the unit may resume if you meet 

the two requirements in paragraphs (b)(2)(i) and (ii) of this 

section. 

(i) A qualified operator is accessible as required under § 

60.2635(a). 

(ii) You notify the Administrator that a qualified operator 

is accessible and that you are resuming operation. 

Model Rule—Emission Limitations and Operating Limits 

§ 60.2670 What emission limitations must I meet and by when? 

(a) You must meet the emission limitations for each CISWI 

unit, including bypass stack or vent, specified in table 2 of 

this subpart or tables 6 through 9 of this subpart by the final 

compliance date under the approved state plan, federal plan, or 

delegation, as applicable. The emission limitations apply at all 

times the unit is operating including and not limited to 

startup, shutdown, or malfunction. 
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(b) Units that do not use wet scrubbers must maintain 

opacity to less than or equal to the percent opacity (three 1-

hour blocks consisting of ten 6-minute average opacity values) 

specified in table 2 of this subpart, as applicable. 

§ 60.2675 What operating limits must I meet and by when? 

(a) If you use a wet scrubber(s) to comply with the 

emission limitations, you must establish operating limits for up 

to four operating parameters (as specified in table 3 of this 

subpart) as described in paragraphs (a)(1) through (4) of this 

section during the initial performance test. 

(1) Maximum charge rate, calculated using one of the two 

different procedures in paragraph (a)(1)(i) or (ii), as 

appropriate. 

(i) For continuous and intermittent units, maximum charge 

rate is 110 percent of the average charge rate measured during 

the most recent performance test demonstrating compliance with 

all applicable emission limitations. 

(ii) For batch units, maximum charge rate is 110 percent of 

the daily charge rate measured during the most recent 

performance test demonstrating compliance with all applicable 

emission limitations. 

(2) Minimum pressure drop across the wet particulate matter 

scrubber, which is calculated as the lowest 1-hour average 

pressure drop across the wet scrubber measured during the most 
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recent performance test demonstrating compliance with the 

particulate matter emission limitations; or minimum amperage to 

the wet scrubber, which is calculated as the lowest 1-hour 

average amperage to the wet scrubber measured during the most 

recent performance test demonstrating compliance with the 

particulate matter emission limitations. 

(3) Minimum scrubber liquid flow rate, which is calculated 

as the lowest 1-hour average liquid flow rate at the inlet to 

the wet acid gas or particulate matter scrubber measured during 

the most recent performance test demonstrating compliance with 

all applicable emission limitations. 

(4) Minimum scrubber liquor pH, which is calculated as the 

lowest 1-hour average liquor pH at the inlet to the wet acid gas 

scrubber measured during the most recent performance test 

demonstrating compliance with the HCl emission limitation. 

(b) You must meet the operating limits established during 

the initial performance test on the date the initial performance 

test is required or completed (whichever is earlier). You must 

conduct an initial performance evaluation of each continuous 

monitoring system and continuous parameter monitoring system 

within 60 days of installation of the monitoring system. 

(c) If you use a fabric filter to comply with the emission 

limitations, you must operate each fabric filter system such 

that the bag leak detection system alarm does not sound more 
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than 5 percent of the operating time during a 6-month period. In 

calculating this operating time percentage, if inspection of the 

fabric filter demonstrates that no corrective action is 

required, no alarm time is counted. If corrective action is 

required, each alarm shall be counted as a minimum of 1 hour. If 

you take longer than 1 hour to initiate corrective action, the 

alarm time shall be counted as the actual amount of time taken 

by you to initiate corrective action. 

(d) If you use an electrostatic precipitator to comply with 

the emission limitations, you must measure the (secondary) 

voltage and amperage of the electrostatic precipitator 

collection plates during the particulate matter performance 

test. Calculate the average electric power value (secondary 

voltage × secondary current = secondary electric power) for each 

test run. The operating limit for the electrostatic precipitator 

is calculated as the lowest 1-hour average secondary electric 

power measured during the most recent performance test 

demonstrating compliance with the particulate matter emission 

limitations. 

(e) If you use activated carbon sorbent injection to comply 

with the emission limitations, you must measure the sorbent flow 

rate during the performance testing. The operating limit for the 

carbon sorbent injection is calculated as the lowest 1-hour 

average sorbent flow rate measured during the most recent 
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performance test demonstrating compliance with the mercury 

emission limitations. For energy recovery units, when your unit 

operates at lower loads, multiply your sorbent injection rate by 

the load fraction, as defined in this subpart, to determine the 

required injection rate (e.g., for 50 percent load, multiply the 

injection rate operating limit by 0.5). 

(f) If you use selective noncatalytic reduction to comply 

with the emission limitations, you must measure the charge rate, 

the secondary chamber temperature (if applicable to your CISWI 

unit), and the reagent flow rate during the nitrogen oxides 

performance testing. The operating limits for the selective 

noncatalytic reduction are calculated as the highest 1-hour 

average charge rate, lowest secondary chamber temperature, and 

lowest reagent flow rate measured during the most recent 

performance test demonstrating compliance with the nitrogen 

oxides emission limitations. 

(g) If you use a dry scrubber to comply with the emission 

limitations, you must measure the injection rate of each sorbent 

during the performance testing. The operating limit for the 

injection rate of each sorbent is calculated as the lowest 1-

hour average injection rate of each sorbent measured during the 

most recent performance test demonstrating compliance with the 

hydrogen chloride emission limitations. For energy recovery 

units, when your unit operates at lower loads, multiply your 
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sorbent injection rate by the load fraction, as defined in this 

subpart, to determine the required injection rate (e.g., for 50 

percent load, multiply the injection rate operating limit by 

0.5). 

(h) If you do not use a wet scrubber, electrostatic 

precipitator, or fabric filter to comply with the emission 

limitations, and if you do not determine compliance with your 

particulate matter emission limitation with a particulate matter 

CEMS, you must maintain opacity to less than or equal to ten 

percent opacity (1-hour block average). 

(i) If you use a PM CPMS to demonstrate compliance, you 

must establish your PM CPMS operating limit and determine 

compliance with it according to paragraphs (i)(1) through (5) of 

this section. 

(1) During the initial performance test or any such 

subsequent performance test that demonstrates compliance with 

the PM limit, record all hourly average output values 

(milliamps, or the digital signal equivalent) from the PM CPMS 

for the periods corresponding to the test runs (e.g., three 1-

hour average PM CPMS output values for three 1-hour test runs). 

(i) Your PM CPMS must provide a 4-20 milliamp output, or 

the digital signal equivalent, and the establishment of its 

relationship to manual reference method measurements must be 

determined in units of milliamps or digital bits. 
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(ii) Your PM CPMS operating range must be capable of 

reading PM concentrations from zero to a level equivalent to at 

least two times your allowable emission limit. If your PM CPMS 

is an auto-ranging instrument capable of multiple scales, the 

primary range of the instrument must be capable of reading PM 

concentration from zero to a level equivalent to two times your 

allowable emission limit. 

(iii) During the initial performance test or any such 

subsequent performance test that demonstrates compliance with 

the PM limit, record and average all milliamp output values, or 

their digital equivalent, from the PM CPMS for the periods 

corresponding to the compliance test runs (e.g., average all 

your PM CPMS output values for three corresponding 2-hour Method 

5I test runs). 

(2) If the average of your three PM performance test runs 

are below 75 percent of your PM emission limit, you must 

calculate an operating limit by establishing a relationship of 

PM CPMS signal to PM concentration using the PM CPMS instrument 

zero, the average PM CPMS values corresponding to the three 

compliance test runs, and the average PM concentration from the 

Method 5 or performance test with the procedures in 

(i)(1)through (5) of this section. 

(i) Determine your instrument zero output with one of the 

following procedures: 
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operating and the PM CPMS is not out-of-control. You must 

demonstrate continuous compliance by using all quality-assured 

hourly average data collected by the PM CPMS for all operating 

hours to calculate the arithmetic average operating parameter in 

units of the operating limit (e.g., milliamps or digital bits, 

PM concentration, raw data signal) on a 30-day rolling average 

basis. 

(5) For PM performance test reports used to set a PM CPMS 

operating limit, the electronic submission of the test report 

must also include the make and model of the PM CPMS instrument, 

serial number of the instrument, analytical principle of the 

instrument (e.g., beta attenuation), span of the instruments 

primary analytical range, milliamp or digital signal value 

equivalent to the instrument zero output, technique by which 

this zero value was determined, and the average milliamp or 

digital signals corresponding to each PM compliance test run. 

§ 60.2680 What if I do not use a wet scrubber, fabric filter, 

activated carbon injection, selective noncatalytic reduction, an 

electrostatic precipitator, or a dry scrubber to comply with the 

emission limitations? 

(a) If you use an air pollution control device other than a 

wet scrubber, activated carbon injection, selective noncatalytic 

reduction, fabric filter, an electrostatic precipitator, or a 

dry scrubber or limit emissions in some other manner, including 
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mass balances, to comply with the emission limitations under § 

60.2670, you must petition the EPA Administrator for specific 

operating limits to be established during the initial 

performance test and continuously monitored thereafter. You must 

submit the petition at least sixty days before the performance 

test is scheduled to begin. Your petition must include the five 

items listed in paragraphs (a)(1) through (5) of this section. 

(1) Identification of the specific parameters you propose 

to use as additional operating limits. 

(2) A discussion of the relationship between these 

parameters and emissions of regulated pollutants, identifying 

how emissions of regulated pollutants change with changes in 

these parameters and how limits on these parameters will serve 

to limit emissions of regulated pollutants. 

(3) A discussion of how you will establish the upper and/or 

lower values for these parameters which will establish the 

operating limits on these parameters. 

(4) A discussion identifying the methods you will use to 

measure and the instruments you will use to monitor these 

parameters, as well as the relative accuracy and precision of 

these methods and instruments. 

(5) A discussion identifying the frequency and methods for 

recalibrating the instruments you will use for monitoring these 

parameters. 
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(b) [Reserved] 

Model Rule—Performance Testing 

§ 60.2690 How do I conduct the initial and annual performance 

test? 

(a) All performance tests must consist of a minimum of 

three test runs conducted under conditions representative of 

normal operations. 

(b) You must document that the waste burned during the 

performance test is representative of the waste burned under 

normal operating conditions by maintaining a log of the quantity 

of waste burned (as required in § 60.2740(b)(1)) and the types 

of waste burned during the performance test. 

(c) All performance tests must be conducted using the 

minimum run duration specified in tables 2 and 6 through 9 of 

this subpart. 

(d) Method 1 of appendix A of this part must be used to 

select the sampling location and number of traverse points. 

(e) Method 3A or 3B of appendix A of this part must be used 

for gas composition analysis, including measurement of oxygen 

concentration. Method 3A or 3B of appendix A of this part must 

be used simultaneously with each method. 

(f) All pollutant concentrations, except for opacity, must 

be adjusted to 7 percent oxygen using equation 5 of this 

section: 
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 Cadj = Cmeas (20.9−7)/(20.9−%O2 ) (Eq. 5) 

Where: 

Cadj = pollutant concentration adjusted to 7 percent 
oxygen; 

Cmeas = pollutant concentration measured on a dry basis; 

(20.9−7) = 20.9 percent oxygen−7 percent oxygen (defined 
oxygen correction basis); 

20.9 = oxygen concentration in air, percent; and 

%O2 = oxygen concentration measured on a dry basis, 
percent. 

 

(g) You must determine dioxins/furans toxic equivalency by 

following the procedures in paragraphs (g)(1) through (4) of 

this section. 

(1) Measure the concentration of each dioxin/furan tetra- 

through octa-isomer emitted using EPA Method 23 at 40 CFR part 

60, appendix A. 

(2) Quantify isomers meeting identification criteria 2, 3, 

4, and 5 in Section 5.3.2.5 of Method 23, regardless of whether 

the isomers meet identification criteria 1 and 7. You must 

quantify the isomers per Section 9.0 of Method 23. (Note: You 

may reanalyze the sample aliquot or split to reduce the number 

of isomers not meeting identification criteria 1 or 7 of Section 

5.3.2.5.) 

(3) For each dioxin/furan (tetra- through octa-chlorinated) 

isomer measured in accordance with paragraph (g)(1) and (2) of 
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this section, multiply the isomer concentration by its 

corresponding toxic equivalency factor specified in table 4 of 

this subpart. 

(4) Sum the products calculated in accordance with 

paragraph (g)(3) of this section to obtain the total 

concentration of dioxins/furans emitted in terms of toxic 

equivalency. 

(h) Method 22 at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-7 must be used 

to determine compliance with the fugitive ash emission limit in 

table 2 of this subpart or tables 6 through 9 of this subpart. 

(i) If you have an applicable opacity operating limit, you 

must determine compliance with the opacity limit using Method 9 

at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-4, based on three 1-hour blocks 

consisting of ten 6-minute average opacity values, unless you 

are required to install a continuous opacity monitoring system, 

consistent with § 60.2710 and § 60.2730. 

(j) You must determine dioxins/furans total mass basis by 

following the procedures in paragraphs (j)(1) through (3) of 

this section. 

(1) Measure the concentration of each dioxin/furan tetra- 

through octa-chlorinated isomer emitted using EPA Method 23 at 

40 CFR part 60, appendix A-7. 

(2) Quantify isomers meeting identification criteria 2, 3, 

4, and 5 in Section 5.3.2.5 of Method 23, regardless of whether 
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the isomers meet identification criteria 1 and 7. You must 

quantify the isomers per Section 9.0 of Method 23. (Note: You 

may reanalyze the sample aliquot or split to reduce the number 

of isomers not meeting identification criteria 1 or 7 of Section 

5.3.2.5.) 

(3) Sum the quantities measured in accordance with 

paragraphs (j)(1) and (2) of this section to obtain the total 

concentration of dioxins/furans emitted in terms of total mass 

basis. 

§ 60.2695 How are the performance test data used? 

You use results of performance tests to demonstrate 

compliance with the emission limitations in table 2 of this 

subpart or tables 6 through 9 of this subpart. 

Model Rule—Initial Compliance Requirements 

§ 60.2700 How do I demonstrate initial compliance with the 

amended emission limitations and establish the operating limits? 

You must conduct a performance test, as required under §§ 

60.2690 and 60.2670, to determine compliance with the emission 

limitations in table 2 of this subpart and tables 6 through 9 of 

this subpart, to establish compliance with any opacity operating 

limits in § 60.2675, to establish the kiln-specific emission 

limit in § 60.2710(y), as applicable, and to establish operating 

limits using the procedures in § 60.2675 or § 60.2680. The 

performance test must be conducted using the test methods listed 
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in table 2 of this subpart and tables 6 through 9 of this 

subpart and the procedures in § 60.2690. The use of the bypass 

stack during a performance test shall invalidate the performance 

test. You must conduct a performance evaluation of each 

continuous monitoring system within 60 days of installation of 

the monitoring system. 

§ 60.2705 By what date must I conduct the initial performance 

test? 

(a) The initial performance test must be conducted no later 

than 180 days after your final compliance date. Your final 

compliance date is specified in table 1 of this subpart. 

(b) If you commence or recommence combusting a solid waste 

at an existing combustion unit at any commercial or industrial 

facility and you conducted a test consistent with the provisions 

of this subpart while combusting the given solid waste within 

the 6 months preceding the reintroduction of that solid waste in 

the combustion chamber, you do not need to retest until 6 months 

from the date you reintroduce that solid waste. 

(c) If you commence or recommence combusting a solid waste 

at an existing combustion unit at any commercial or industrial 

facility and you have not conducted a performance test 

consistent with the provisions of this subpart while combusting 

the given solid waste within the 6 months preceding the 

reintroduction of that solid waste in the combustion chamber, 
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you must conduct a performance test within 60 days from the date 

you reintroduce solid waste. 

§ 60.2706 By what date must I conduct the initial air pollution 

control device inspection? 

(a) The initial air pollution control device inspection 

must be conducted within 60 days after installation of the 

control device and the associated CISWI unit reaches the charge 

rate at which it will operate, but no later than 180 days after 

the final compliance date for meeting the amended emission 

limitations. 

(b) Within 10 operating days following an air pollution 

control device inspection, all necessary repairs must be 

completed unless the owner or operator obtains written approval 

from the state agency establishing a date whereby all necessary 

repairs of the designated facility must be completed. 

Model Rule—Continuous Compliance Requirements 

§ 60.2710 How do I demonstrate continuous compliance with the 

amended emission limitations and the operating limits? 

(a) Compliance with standards.  (1) The emission standards 

and operating requirements set forth in this subpart apply at 

all times. 

(2) If you cease combusting solid waste you may opt to 

remain subject to the provisions of this subpart. Consistent 

with the definition of CISWI unit, you are subject to the 
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requirements of this subpart at least 6 months following the 

last date of solid waste combustion. Solid waste combustion is 

ceased when solid waste is not in the combustion chamber (i.e., 

the solid waste feed to the combustor has been cut off for a 

period of time not less than the solid waste residence time). 

(3) If you cease combusting solid waste you must be in 

compliance with any newly applicable standards on the effective 

date of the waste-to-fuel switch. The effective date of the 

waste-to-fuel switch is a date selected by you, that must be at 

least 6 months from the date that you ceased combusting solid 

waste, consistent with § 60.2710(a)(2). Your source must remain 

in compliance with this subpart until the effective date of the 

waste-to-fuel switch. 

(4) If you own or operate an existing commercial or 

industrial combustion unit that combusted a fuel or non-waste 

material, and you commence or recommence combustion of solid 

waste, you are subject to the provisions of this subpart as of 

the first day you introduce or reintroduce solid waste to the 

combustion chamber, and this date constitutes the effective date 

of the fuel-to-waste switch. You must complete all initial 

compliance demonstrations for any Section 112 standards that are 

applicable to your facility before you commence or recommence 

combustion of solid waste. You must provide 30 days prior notice 



Page 233 of 340 

 

of the effective date of the waste-to-fuel switch. The 

notification must identify: 

(i) The name of the owner or operator of the CISWI unit, 

the location of the source, the emissions unit(s) that will 

cease burning solid waste, and the date of the notice; 

(ii) The currently applicable subcategory under this 

subpart, and any 40 CFR part 63 subpart and subcategory that 

will be applicable after you cease combusting solid waste; 

(iii) The fuel(s), non-waste material(s) and solid waste(s) 

the CISWI unit is currently combusting and has combusted over 

the past 6 months, and the fuel(s) or non-waste materials the 

unit will commence combusting; 

(iv) The date on which you became subject to the currently 

applicable emission limits; 

(v) The date upon which you will cease combusting solid 

waste, and the date (if different) that you intend for any new 

requirements to become applicable (i.e., the effective date of 

the waste-to-fuel switch), consistent with paragraphs (a)(2) and 

(3) of this section. 

(5) All air pollution control equipment necessary for 

compliance with any newly applicable emissions limits which 

apply as a result of the cessation or commencement or 

recommencement of combusting solid waste must be installed and 
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operational as of the effective date of the waste-to-fuel, or 

fuel-to-waste switch. 

(6) All monitoring systems necessary for compliance with 

any newly applicable monitoring requirements which apply as a 

result of the cessation or commencement or recommencement of 

combusting solid waste must be installed and operational as of 

the effective date of the waste-to-fuel, or fuel-to-waste 

switch. All calibration and drift checks must be performed as of 

the effective date of the waste-to-fuel, or fuel-to-waste 

switch. Relative accuracy tests must be performed as of the 

performance test deadline for PM CEMS (if PM CEMS are elected to 

demonstrate continuous compliance with the particulate matter 

emission limits). Relative accuracy testing for other CEMS need 

not be repeated if that testing was previously performed 

consistent with section 112 monitoring requirements or 

monitoring requirements under this subpart. 

(b) You must conduct an annual performance test for the 

pollutants listed in table 2 of this subpart or tables 6 through 

9 of this subpart and opacity for each CISWI unit as required 

under § 60.2690. The annual performance test must be conducted 

using the test methods listed in table 2 of this subpart or 

tables 6 through 9 of this subpart and the procedures in § 

60.2690. Opacity must be measured using EPA Reference Method 9 

at 40 CFR part 60. Annual performance tests are not required if 
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you use CEMS or continuous opacity monitoring systems to 

determine compliance. 

(c) You must continuously monitor the operating parameters 

specified in § 60.2675 or established under § 60.2680 and as 

specified in § 60.2735. Operation above the established maximum 

or below the established minimum operating limits constitutes a 

deviation from the established operating limits. Three-hour 

block average values are used to determine compliance (except 

for baghouse leak detection system alarms) unless a different 

averaging period is established under § 60.2680 or, for energy 

recovery units, where the averaging time for each operating 

parameter is a 30-day rolling, calculated each hour as the 

average of the previous 720 operating hours over the previous 30 

days of operation. Operation above the established maximum, 

below the established minimum, or outside the allowable range of 

the operating limits specified in paragraph (a) of this section 

constitutes a deviation from your operating limits established 

under this subpart, except during performance tests conducted to 

determine compliance with the emission and operating limits or 

to establish new operating limits. Operating limits are 

confirmed or reestablished during performance tests. 

(d) You must burn only the same types of waste and fuels 

used to establish subcategory applicability (for ERUs) and 

operating limits during the performance test. 
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(e) For energy recovery units, incinerators, and small 

remote units, you must perform annual visual emissions test for 

ash handling. 

(f) For energy recovery units, you must conduct an annual 

performance test for opacity using EPA Reference Method 9 at 40 

CFR part 60 (except where particulate matter continuous 

monitoring system or continuous parameter monitoring systems are 

used) and the pollutants listed in table 7 of this subpart. 

(g) For facilities using a CEMS to demonstrate compliance 

with the carbon monoxide emission limit, compliance with the 

carbon monoxide emission limit may be demonstrated by using the 

CEMS according to the following requirements: 

(1) You must measure emissions according to § 60.13 to 

calculate 1-hour arithmetic averages, corrected to 7 percent 

oxygen. CEMS data during startup and shutdown, as defined in 

this subpart, are not corrected to 7 percent oxygen, and are 

measured at stack oxygen content. You must demonstrate initial 

compliance with the carbon monoxide emissions limit using a 30-

day rolling average of the 1-hour arithmetic average emission 

concentrations, including CEMS data during startup and shutdown 

as defined in this subpart, calculated using equation 19-19 in 

section 12.4.1 of EPA Reference Method 19 at 40 CFR part 60, 

appendix A-7. 
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(2) Operate the carbon monoxide continuous emissions 

monitoring system in accordance with the applicable requirements 

of performance specification 4A of appendix B and the quality 

assurance procedures of appendix F of this part. 

(h) Coal and liquid/gas energy recovery units with annual 

average heat input rates greater than 250 MMBtu/hr may elect to 

demonstrate continuous compliance with the particulate matter 

emissions limit using a particulate matter CEMS according to the 

procedures in § 60.2730(n) instead of the continuous parameter 

monitoring system specified in § 60.2710(i). Coal and liquid/gas 

energy recovery units with annual average heat input rates less 

than 250 MMBtu/hr, incinerators, and small remote incinerators 

may also elect to demonstrate compliance using a particulate 

matter CEMS according to the procedures in § 60.2730(n) instead 

of particulate matter testing with EPA Method 5 at 40 CFR part 

60, appendix A-3 and, if applicable, the continuous opacity 

monitoring requirements in paragraph (i) of this section. 

(i) For energy recovery units with annual average heat 

input rates greater than or equal to 10 MMBTU/hour but less than 

250 MMBtu/hr you must install, operate, certify and maintain a 

continuous opacity monitoring system (COMS) according to the 

procedures in § 60.2730. 

(j) For waste-burning kilns, you must conduct an annual 

performance test for the pollutants (except mercury and 
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particulate matter, and hydrogen chloride if no acid gas wet 

scrubber is used) listed in table 8 of this subpart. If your 

waste-burning kiln is not equipped with a wet scrubber or dry 

scrubber, you must determine compliance with the hydrogen 

chloride emission limit using a CEMS as specified in § 60.2730. 

You must determine compliance with particulate matter using 

CPMS. You must determine compliance with the mercury emissions 

limit using a mercury CEMS according to the following 

requirements: 

(1) Operate a CEMS in accordance with performance 

specification 12A at 40 CFR part 60, appendix B or a sorbent 

trap based integrated monitor in accordance with performance 

specification 12B at 40 CFR part 60, appendix B. The duration of 

the performance test must be a calendar month. For each calendar 

month in which the waste-burning kiln operates, hourly mercury 

concentration data and stack gas volumetric flow rate data must 

be obtained. You must demonstrate compliance with the mercury 

emissions limit using a 30-day rolling average of these 1-hour 

mercury concentrations, including CEMS data during startup and 

shutdown as defined in this subpart, calculated using equation 

19-19 in section 12.4.1 of EPA Reference Method 19 at 40 CFR 

part 60, appendix A-7 of this part. CEMS data during startup and 

shutdown, as defined in this subpart, are not corrected to 7 

percent oxygen, and are measured at stack oxygen content. 
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(2) Owners or operators using a mercury continuous 

emissions monitoring systems must install, operate, calibrate 

and maintain an instrument for continuously measuring and 

recording the mercury mass emissions rate to the atmosphere 

according to the requirements of performance specifications 6 

and 12A at 40 CFR part 60, appendix B and quality assurance 

procedure 5 at 40 CFR part 60, appendix F. 

(3) The owner or operator of a waste-burning kiln must 

demonstrate initial compliance by operating a mercury CEMS while 

the raw mill of the in-line kiln/raw mill is operating under 

normal conditions and including at least one period when the raw 

mill is off. 

(k) If you use an air pollution control device to meet the 

emission limitations in this subpart, you must conduct an 

initial and annual inspection of the air pollution control 

device. The inspection must include, at a minimum, the 

following: 

(1) Inspect air pollution control device(s) for proper 

operation. 

(2) Develop a site-specific monitoring plan according to 

the requirements in paragraph (l) of this section. This 

requirement also applies to you if you petition the EPA 

Administrator for alternative monitoring parameters under § 

60.13(i). 
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(l) For each CMS required in this section, you must develop 

and submit to the EPA Administrator for approval a site-specific 

monitoring plan according to the requirements of this paragraph 

(l) that addresses paragraphs (l)(1)(i) through (vi) of this 

section. 

(1) You must submit this site-specific monitoring plan at 

least 60 days before your initial performance evaluation of your 

continuous monitoring system. 

(i) Installation of the continuous monitoring system 

sampling probe or other interface at a measurement location 

relative to each affected process unit such that the measurement 

is representative of control of the exhaust emissions (e.g., on 

or downstream of the last control device). 

(ii) Performance and equipment specifications for the 

sample interface, the pollutant concentration or parametric 

signal analyzer and the data collection and reduction systems. 

(iii) Performance evaluation procedures and acceptance 

criteria (e.g., calibrations). 

(iv) Ongoing operation and maintenance procedures in 

accordance with the general requirements of § 60.11(d). 

(v) Ongoing data quality assurance procedures in accordance 

with the general requirements of § 60.13. 
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(vi) Ongoing recordkeeping and reporting procedures in 

accordance with the general requirements of § 60.7(b),(c), 

(c)(1), (c)(4), (d), (e), (f) and (g). 

(2) You must conduct a performance evaluation of each 

continuous monitoring system in accordance with your site-

specific monitoring plan. 

(3) You must operate and maintain the continuous monitoring 

system in continuous operation according to the site-specific 

monitoring plan. 

(m) If you have an operating limit that requires the use of 

a flow monitoring system, you must meet the requirements in 

paragraphs (l) and (m)(1) through (4) of this section. 

(1) Install the flow sensor and other necessary equipment 

in a position that provides a representative flow. 

(2) Use a flow sensor with a measurement sensitivity at 

full scale of no greater than 2 percent. 

(3) Minimize the effects of swirling flow or abnormal 

velocity distributions due to upstream and downstream 

disturbances. 

(4) Conduct a flow monitoring system performance evaluation 

in accordance with your monitoring plan at the time of each 

performance test but no less frequently than annually. 
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(n) If you have an operating limit that requires the use of 

a pressure monitoring system, you must meet the requirements in 

paragraphs (l) and (n)(1) through (6) of this section. 

(1) Install the pressure sensor(s) in a position that 

provides a representative measurement of the pressure (e.g., PM 

scrubber pressure drop). 

(2) Minimize or eliminate pulsating pressure, vibration, 

and internal and external corrosion. 

(3) Use a pressure sensor with a minimum tolerance of 1.27 

centimeters of water or a minimum tolerance of 1 percent of the 

pressure monitoring system operating range, whichever is less. 

(4) Perform checks at the frequency outlined in your site-

specific monitoring plan to ensure pressure measurements are not 

obstructed (e.g., check for pressure tap pluggage daily). 

(5) Conduct a performance evaluation of the pressure 

monitoring system in accordance with your monitoring plan at the 

time of each performance test but no less frequently than 

annually. 

(6) If at any time the measured pressure exceeds the 

manufacturer's specified maximum operating pressure range, 

conduct a performance evaluation of the pressure monitoring 

system in accordance with your monitoring plan and confirm that 

the pressure monitoring system continues to meet the performance 
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requirements in your monitoring plan. Alternatively, install and 

verify the operation of a new pressure sensor. 

(o) If you have an operating limit that requires a pH 

monitoring system, you must meet the requirements in paragraphs 

(l) and (o)(1) through (4) of this section. 

(1) Install the pH sensor in a position that provides a 

representative measurement of scrubber effluent pH. 

(2) Ensure the sample is properly mixed and representative 

of the fluid to be measured. 

(3) Conduct a performance evaluation of the pH monitoring 

system in accordance with your monitoring plan at least once 

each process operating day. 

(4) Conduct a performance evaluation (including a two-point 

calibration with one of the two buffer solutions having a pH 

within 1 of the pH of the operating limit) of the pH monitoring 

system in accordance with your monitoring plan at the time of 

each performance test but no less frequently than quarterly. 

(p) If you have an operating limit that requires a 

secondary electric power monitoring system for an electrostatic 

precipitator, you must meet the requirements in paragraphs (l) 

and (p)(1) through (2) of this section. 

(1) Install sensors to measure (secondary) voltage and 

current to the precipitator collection plates. 
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(2) Conduct a performance evaluation of the electric power 

monitoring system in accordance with your monitoring plan at the 

time of each performance test but no less frequently than 

annually. 

(q) If you have an operating limit that requires the use of 

a monitoring system to measure sorbent injection rate (e.g., 

weigh belt, weigh hopper, or hopper flow measurement device), 

you must meet the requirements in paragraphs (l) and (q)(1) 

through (3) of this section. 

(1) Install the system in a position(s) that provides a 

representative measurement of the total sorbent injection rate. 

(2) Conduct a performance evaluation of the sorbent 

injection rate monitoring system in accordance with your 

monitoring plan at the time of each performance test but no less 

frequently than annually. 

(r) If you elect to use a fabric filter bag leak detection 

system to comply with the requirements of this subpart, you must 

install, calibrate, maintain, and continuously operate a bag 

leak detection system as specified in paragraphs (l) and (r)(1) 

through (5) of this section. 

(1) Install a bag leak detection sensor(s) in a position(s) 

that will be representative of the relative or absolute 

particulate matter loadings for each exhaust stack, roof vent, 
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or compartment (e.g., for a positive pressure fabric filter) of 

the fabric filter. 

(2) Use a bag leak detection system certified by the 

manufacturer to be capable of detecting particulate matter 

emissions at concentrations of 10 milligrams per actual cubic 

meter or less. 

(3) Conduct a performance evaluation of the bag leak 

detection system in accordance with your monitoring plan and 

consistent with the guidance provided in EPA-454/R-98-015 

(incorporated by reference, see § 60.17). 

(4) Use a bag leak detection system equipped with a device 

to continuously record the output signal from the sensor. 

(5) Use a bag leak detection system equipped with a system 

that will sound an alarm when an increase in relative 

particulate matter emissions over a preset level is detected. 

The alarm must be located where it is observed readily by plant 

operating personnel. 

(s) For facilities using a CEMS to demonstrate compliance 

with the sulfur dioxide emission limit, compliance with the 

sulfur dioxide emission limit may be demonstrated by using the 

CEMS specified in § 60.2730 to measure sulfur dioxide. CEMS data 

during startup and shutdown, as defined in this subpart, are not 

corrected to 7 percent oxygen, and are measured at stack oxygen 

content. You must calculate a 30-day rolling average of the 1-
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hour arithmetic average emission concentrations, including CEMS 

data during startup and shutdown as defined in this subpart, 

using equation 19-19 in section 12.4.1 of EPA Reference Method 

19 at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-7. The sulfur dioxide CEMS must 

be operated according to performance specification 2 in appendix 

B of this part and must follow the procedures and methods 

specified in this paragraph(s). For sources that have actual 

inlet emissions less than 100 parts per million dry volume, the 

relative accuracy criterion for inlet sulfur dioxide CEMS should 

be no greater than 20 percent of the mean value of the reference 

method test data in terms of the units of the emission standard, 

or 5 parts per million dry volume absolute value of the mean 

difference between the reference method and the CEMS, whichever 

is greater. 

(1) During each relative accuracy test run of the CEMS 

required by performance specification 2 in appendix B of this 

part, collect sulfur dioxide and oxygen (or carbon dioxide) data 

concurrently (or within a 30- to 60-minute period) with both the 

CEMS and the test methods specified in paragraphs (s)(1)(i) and 

(ii) of this section. 

(i) For sulfur dioxide, EPA Reference Method 6 or 6C, or as 

an alternative ANSI/ASME PTC 19.10-1981 (incorporated by 

reference, see § 60.17) must be used. 
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(ii) For oxygen (or carbon dioxide), EPA Reference Method 

3A or 3B, or as an alternative ANSI/ASME PTC 19.10-1981 

(incorporated by reference, see § 60.17), as applicable, must be 

used. 

(2) The span value of the CEMS at the inlet to the sulfur 

dioxide control device must be 125 percent of the maximum 

estimated hourly potential sulfur dioxide emissions of the unit 

subject to this rule. The span value of the CEMS at the outlet 

of the sulfur dioxide control device must be 50 percent of the 

maximum estimated hourly potential sulfur dioxide emissions of 

the unit subject to this rule. 

(3) Conduct accuracy determinations quarterly and 

calibration drift tests daily in accordance with procedure 1 in 

appendix F of this part. 

(t) For facilities using a CEMS to demonstrate continuous 

compliance with the nitrogen oxides emission limit, compliance 

with the nitrogen oxides emission limit may be demonstrated by 

using the CEMS specified in § 60.2730 to measure nitrogen 

oxides. CEMS data during startup and shutdown, as defined in 

this subpart, are not corrected to 7 percent oxygen, and are 

measured at stack oxygen content. You must calculate a 30-day 

rolling average of the 1-hour arithmetic average emission 

concentration using equation 19-19 in section 12.4.1 of EPA 

Reference Method 19 at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-7. The 
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nitrogen oxides CEMS must be operated according to performance 

specification 2 in appendix B of this part and must follow the 

procedures and methods specified in paragraphs (t)(1) through 

(t)(5) of this section. 

(1) During each relative accuracy test run of the CEMS 

required by performance specification 2 of appendix B of this 

part, collect nitrogen oxides and oxygen (or carbon dioxide) 

data concurrently (or within a 30- to 60-minute period) with 

both the CEMS and the test methods specified in paragraphs 

(t)(1)(i) and (ii) of this section. 

(i) For nitrogen oxides, EPA Reference Method 7 or 7E at 40 

CFR part 60, appendix A-4 must be used. 

(ii) For oxygen (or carbon dioxide), EPA Reference Method 

3A or 3B, or as an alternative ANSI/ASME PTC 19.10-1981 

(incorporated by reference, see § 60.17), as applicable, must be 

used. 

(2) The span value of the CEMS must be 125 percent of the 

maximum estimated hourly potential nitrogen oxide emissions of 

unit. 

(3) Conduct accuracy determinations quarterly and 

calibration drift tests daily in accordance with procedure 1 in 

appendix F of this part. 

(4) The owner or operator of an affected facility may 

request that compliance with the nitrogen oxides emission limit 
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be determined using carbon dioxide measurements corrected to an 

equivalent of 7 percent oxygen. If carbon dioxide is selected 

for use in diluent corrections, the relationship between oxygen 

and carbon dioxide levels must be established during the initial 

performance test according to the procedures and methods 

specified in paragraphs (t)(4)(i) through (t)(4)(iv) of this 

section. This relationship may be reestablished during 

performance compliance tests. 

(i) The fuel factor equation in Method 3B must be used to 

determine the relationship between oxygen and carbon dioxide at 

a sampling location. Method 3A, 3B, or as an alternative 

ANSI/ASME PTC 19.10-1981 (incorporated by reference, see § 

60.17), as applicable, must be used to determine the oxygen 

concentration at the same location as the carbon dioxide 

monitor. 

(ii) Samples must be taken for at least 30 minutes in each 

hour. 

(iii) Each sample must represent a 1-hour average. 

(iv) A minimum of 3 runs must be performed. 

(u) For facilities using a continuous emissions monitoring 

system to demonstrate continuous compliance with any of the 

emission limits of this subpart, you must complete the 

following: 
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(1) Demonstrate compliance with the appropriate emission 

limit(s) using a 30-day rolling average of 1-hour arithmetic 

average emission concentrations, including CEMS data during 

startup and shutdown, as defined in this subpart, calculated 

using equation 19-19 in section 12.4.1 of EPA Reference Method 

19 at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-7. CEMS data during startup and 

shutdown, as defined in this subpart, are not corrected to 7 

percent oxygen, and are measured at stack oxygen content. 

(2) Operate all CEMS in accordance with the applicable 

procedures under appendices B and F of this part. 

(v) Use of the bypass stack at any time is an emissions 

standards deviation for particulate matter, HCl, Pb, Cd, Hg, NOX 

, SO2 , and dioxin/furans. 

(w) For energy recovery units with a design heat input 

capacity of 100 MMBtu per hour or greater that do not use a 

carbon monoxide CEMS, you must install, operate, and maintain an 

oxygen analyzer system as defined in § 60.2875 according to the 

procedures in paragraphs (w)(1) through (4) of this section. 

(1) The oxygen analyzer system must be installed by the 

initial performance test date specified in § 60.2675. 

(2) You must operate the oxygen trim system within 

compliance with paragraph (w)(3) of this section at all times. 

(3) You must maintain the oxygen level such that the 30-day 

rolling average that is established as the operating limit for 
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oxygen is not below the lowest hourly average oxygen 

concentration measured during the most recent CO performance 

test. 

(4) You must calculate and record a 30-day rolling average 

oxygen concentration using equation 19-19 in section 12.4.1 of 

EPA Reference Method 19 of Appendix A-7 of this part. 

(x) For energy recovery units with annual average heat 

input rates greater than or equal to 250 MMBtu/hour and waste-

burning kilns, you must install, calibrate, maintain, and 

operate a PM CPMS and record the output of the system as 

specified in paragraphs (x)(1) through (8) of this section. For 

other energy recovery units, you may elect to use PM CPMS 

operated in accordance with this section. PM CPMS are suitable 

in lieu of using other CMS for monitoring PM compliance (e.g., 

bag leak detectors, ESP secondary power, PM scrubber pressure). 

(1) Install, calibrate, operate, and maintain your PM CPMS 

according to the procedures in your approved site-specific 

monitoring plan developed in accordance with paragraphs (l) and 

(x)(1)(i) through (x)(1)(iii) of this section. 

(i) The operating principle of the PM CPMS must be based on 

in-stack or extractive light scatter, light scintillation, beta 

attenuation, or mass accumulation of the exhaust gas or 

representative sample. The reportable measurement output from 
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the PM CPMS must be expressed as milliamps or the digital signal 

equivalent. 

(ii) The PM CPMS must have a cycle time (i.e., period 

required to complete sampling, measurement, and reporting for 

each measurement) no longer than 60 minutes. 

(iii) The PM CPMS must be capable of detecting and 

responding to particulate matter concentrations increments no 

greater than 0.5 mg/actual cubic meter. 

(2) During the initial performance test or any such 

subsequent performance test that demonstrates compliance with 

the PM limit, you must adjust the site-specific operating limit 

in accordance with the results of the performance test according 

to the procedures specified in § 60.2675. 

(3) Collect PM CPMS hourly average output data for all 

energy recovery unit or waste-burning kiln operating hours. 

Express the PM CPMS output as milliamps or the digital signal 

equivalent. 

(4) Calculate the arithmetic 30-day rolling average of all 

of the hourly average PM CPMS output collected during all energy 

recovery unit or waste-burning kiln operating hours data 

(milliamps, or digital bits). 

(5) You must collect data using the PM CPMS at all times 

the energy recovery unit or waste-burning kiln is operating and 

at the intervals specified in paragraph (x)(1)(ii) of this 
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section, except for periods of monitoring system malfunctions, 

repairs associated with monitoring system malfunctions, required 

monitoring system quality assurance or quality control 

activities (including, as applicable, calibration checks and 

required zero and span adjustments), and any scheduled 

maintenance as defined in your site-specific monitoring plan. 

(6) You must use all the data collected during all energy 

recovery unit or waste-burning kiln operating hours in assessing 

the compliance with your operating limit except: 

(i) Any data collected during monitoring system 

malfunctions, repairs associated with monitoring system 

malfunctions, or required monitoring system quality assurance or 

quality control activities conducted during monitoring system 

malfunctions are not used in calculations (report any such 

periods in your annual deviation report); 

(ii) Any data collected during periods when the monitoring 

system is out of control as specified in your site-specific 

monitoring plan, repairs associated with periods when the 

monitoring system is out of control, or required monitoring 

system quality assurance or quality control activities conducted 

during out-of-control periods are not used in calculations 

(report emissions or operating levels and report any such 

periods in your annual deviation report); 
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(iii) Any PM CPMS data recorded during periods of CEMS data 

during startup and shutdown, as defined in this subpart. 

(7) You must record and make available upon request results 

of PM CPMS system performance audits, as well as the dates and 

duration of periods from when the PM CPMS is out of control 

until completion of the corrective actions necessary to return 

the PM CPMS to operation consistent with your site-specific 

monitoring plan. 

(8) For any deviation of the 30-day rolling average PM CPMS 

average value from the established operating parameter limit, 

you must: 

(i) Within 48 hours of the deviation, visually inspect the 

air pollution control device; 

(ii) If inspection of the air pollution control device 

identifies the cause of the deviation, take corrective action as 

soon as possible and return the PM CPMS measurement to within 

the established value; and 

(iii) Within 30 days of the deviation or at the time of the 

annual compliance test, whichever comes first, conduct a PM 

emissions compliance test to determine compliance with the PM 

emissions limit and to verify. Within 45 days of the deviation, 

you must re-establish the CPMS operating limit. You are not 

required to conduct additional testing for any deviations that 
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occur between the time of the original deviation and the PM 

emissions compliance test required under this paragraph. 

(iv) PM CPMS deviations leading to more than four required 

performance tests in a 12-month process operating period 

(rolling monthly) constitute a violation of this subpart. 

(y) When there is an alkali bypass and/or an in-line coal 

mill that exhaust emissions through a separate stack, the 

combined emissions are subject to the emission limits applicable 

to waste-burning kilns. To determine the kiln-specific emission 

limit for demonstrating compliance, you must: 

(1) Calculate a kiln-specific emission limit using equation 

6: 

Cks = ((Emission limit x (Qab+Qcm+Qks)) –(Qab x Cab) –  
 (Qcm x Ccm))/Qks (Eq. 6) 
 

Where: 

Cks = Kiln stack concentration (ppmvd, mg/dscm, ng/dscm, 
depending on pollutant. Each corrected to 7% O2.) 

Qab = Alkali bypass flow rate (volume/hr) 

Cab = Alkali bypass concentration (ppmvd, mg/dscm, 
ng/dscm, depending on pollutant. Each corrected to 
7% O2.) 

Qcm = In-line coal mill flow rate (volume/hr) 

Ccm = In-line coal mill concentration (ppmvd, mg/dscm, 
ng/dscm, depending on pollutant. Each corrected to 
7% O2.) 

Qks = Kiln stack flow rate (volume/hr) 
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(2) Particulate matter concentration must be measured 

downstream of the in-line coal mill. All other pollutant 

concentrations must be measured either upstream or downstream of 

the in-line coal mill. 

§ 60.2715 By what date must I conduct the annual performance 

test? 

You must conduct annual performance tests between 11 and 13 

months of the previous performance test. 

§ 60.2716 By what date must I conduct the annual air pollution 

control device inspection? 

On an annual basis (no more than 12 months following the 

previous annual air pollution control device inspection), you 

must complete the air pollution control device inspection as 

described in § 60.2706. 

§ 60.2720 May I conduct performance testing less often? 

(a) You must conduct annual performance tests according to 

the schedule specified in § 60.2715, with the following 

exceptions: 

(1) You may conduct a repeat performance test at any time 

to establish new values for the operating limits to apply from 

that point forward, as specified in § 60.2725. The Administrator 

may request a repeat performance test at any time. 

(2) You must repeat the performance test within 60 days of 

a process change, as defined in § 60.2875. 
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(3) If the initial or any subsequent performance test for 

any pollutant in table 2 or tables 6 through 9 of this subpart, 

as applicable, demonstrates that the emission level for the 

pollutant is no greater than the emission level specified in 

paragraph (a)(3)(i) or (a)(3)(ii) of this section, as 

applicable, and you are not required to conduct a performance 

test for the pollutant in response to a request by the 

Administrator in paragraph (a)(1) of this section or a process 

change in paragraph (a)(2) of this section, you may elect to 

skip conducting a performance test for the pollutant for the 

next 2 years. You must conduct a performance test for the 

pollutant during the third year and no more than 37 months 

following the previous performance test for the pollutant. For 

cadmium and lead, both cadmium and lead must be emitted at 

emission levels no greater than their respective emission levels 

specified in paragraph (a)(3)(i) of this section for you to 

qualify for less frequent testing under this paragraph. 

(i) For particulate matter, hydrogen chloride, mercury, 

carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxides, sulfur dioxide, cadmium, lead, 

and dioxins/furans, the emission level equal to 75 percent of 

the applicable emission limit in table 2 or tables 6 through 9 

of this subpart, as applicable, to this subpart. 
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(ii) For fugitive emissions, visible emissions (of 

combustion ash from the ash conveying system) for 2 percent of 

the time during each of the three 1-hour observation periods. 

(4) If you are conducting less frequent testing for a 

pollutant as provided in paragraph (a)(3) of this section and a 

subsequent performance test for the pollutant indicates that 

your CISWI unit does not meet the emission level specified in 

paragraph (a)(3)(i) or (a)(3)(ii) of this section, as 

applicable, you must conduct annual performance tests for the 

pollutant according to the schedule specified in paragraph (a) 

of this section until you qualify for less frequent testing for 

the pollutant as specified in paragraph (a)(3) of this section. 

(b) [Reserved] 

§ 60.2725 May I conduct a repeat performance test to establish 

new operating limits? 

(a) Yes. You may conduct a repeat performance test at any 

time to establish new values for the operating limits. The 

Administrator may request a repeat performance test at any time. 

(b) You must repeat the performance test if your feed 

stream is different than the feed streams used during any 

performance test used to demonstrate compliance. 

Model Rule—Monitoring 

§ 60.2730 What monitoring equipment must I install and what 

parameters must I monitor? 
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(a) If you are using a wet scrubber to comply with the 

emission limitation under § 60.2670, you must install, calibrate 

(to manufacturers' specifications), maintain, and operate 

devices (or establish methods) for monitoring the value of the 

operating parameters used to determine compliance with the 

operating limits listed in table 3 of this subpart. These 

devices (or methods) must measure and record the values for 

these operating parameters at the frequencies indicated in table 

3 of this subpart at all times except as specified in § 

60.2735(a). 

(b) If you use a fabric filter to comply with the 

requirements of this subpart, you must install, calibrate, 

maintain, and continuously operate a bag leak detection system 

as specified in paragraphs (b)(1) through (8) of this section. 

(1) You must install and operate a bag leak detection 

system for each exhaust stack of the fabric filter. 

(2) Each bag leak detection system must be installed, 

operated, calibrated, and maintained in a manner consistent with 

the manufacturer's written specifications and recommendations. 

(3) The bag leak detection system must be certified by the 

manufacturer to be capable of detecting particulate matter 

emissions at concentrations of 10 milligrams per actual cubic 

meter or less. 
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(4) The bag leak detection system sensor must provide 

output of relative or absolute particulate matter loadings. 

(5) The bag leak detection system must be equipped with a 

device to continuously record the output signal from the sensor. 

(6) The bag leak detection system must be equipped with an 

alarm system that will alert automatically an operator when an 

increase in relative particulate matter emission over a preset 

level is detected. The alarm must be located where it is 

observed easily by plant operating personnel. 

(7) For positive pressure fabric filter systems, a bag leak 

detection system must be installed in each baghouse compartment 

or cell. For negative pressure or induced air fabric filters, 

the bag leak detector must be installed downstream of the fabric 

filter. 

(8) Where multiple detectors are required, the system's 

instrumentation and alarm may be shared among detectors. 

(c) If you are using something other than a wet scrubber, 

activated carbon, selective non-catalytic reduction, an 

electrostatic precipitator, or a dry scrubber to comply with the 

emission limitations under § 60.2670, you must install, 

calibrate (to the manufacturers' specifications), maintain, and 

operate the equipment necessary to monitor compliance with the 

site-specific operating limits established using the procedures 

in § 60.2680. 
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(d) If you use activated carbon injection to comply with 

the emission limitations in this subpart, you must measure the 

minimum sorbent flow rate once per hour. 

(e) If you use selective noncatalytic reduction to comply 

with the emission limitations, you must complete the following: 

(1) Following the date on which the initial performance 

test is completed or is required to be completed under § 

60.2690, whichever date comes first, ensure that the affected 

facility does not operate above the maximum charge rate, or 

below the minimum secondary chamber temperature (if applicable 

to your CISWI unit) or the minimum reagent flow rate measured as 

3-hour block averages at all times. 

(2) Operation of the affected facility above the maximum 

charge rate, below the minimum secondary chamber temperature and 

below the minimum reagent flow rate simultaneously constitute a 

violation of the nitrogen oxides emissions limit. 

(f) If you use an electrostatic precipitator to comply with 

the emission limits of this subpart, you must monitor the 

secondary power to the electrostatic precipitator collection 

plates and maintain the 3-hour block averages at or above the 

operating limits established during the mercury or particulate 

matter performance test. 

(g) For waste-burning kilns not equipped with a wet 

scrubber or dry scrubber, in place of hydrogen chloride testing 
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with EPA Method 321 at 40 CFR part 63, appendix A, an owner or 

operator must install, calibrate, maintain, and operate a CEMS 

for monitoring hydrogen chloride emissions discharged to the 

atmosphere and record the output of the system. To demonstrate 

continuous compliance with the hydrogen chloride emissions limit 

for units other than waste-burning kilns not equipped with a wet 

scrubber or dry scrubber, a facility may substitute use of a 

hydrogen chloride CEMS for conducting the hydrogen chloride 

annual performance test, monitoring the minimum hydrogen 

chloride sorbent flow rate, monitoring the minimum scrubber 

liquor pH. 

(h) To demonstrate continuous compliance with the 

particulate matter emissions limit, a facility may substitute 

use of a particulate matter CEMS for conducting the particulate 

matter annual performance test and other CMS monitoring for PM 

compliance (e.g., bag leak detectors, ESP secondary power, PM 

scrubber pressure). 

(i) To demonstrate continuous compliance with the 

dioxin/furan emissions limit, a facility may substitute use of a 

continuous automated sampling system for the dioxin/furan annual 

performance test. You must record the output of the system and 

analyze the sample according to EPA Method 23 at 40 CFR part 60, 

appendix A-7. This option to use a continuous automated sampling 

system takes effect on the date a final performance 



Page 263 of 340 

 

specification applicable to dioxin/furan from continuous 

monitors is published in the Federal Register. The owner or 

operator who elects to continuously sample dioxin/furan 

emissions instead of sampling and testing using EPA Method 23 at 

40 CFR part 60, appendix A-7 must install, calibrate, maintain 

and operate a continuous automated sampling system and must 

comply with the requirements specified in § 60.58b(p) and (q). A 

facility may substitute continuous dioxin/furan monitoring for 

the minimum sorbent flow rate, if activated carbon sorbent 

injection is used solely for compliance with the dioxin/furan 

emission limit. 

(j) To demonstrate continuous compliance with the mercury 

emissions limit, a facility may substitute use of a continuous 

automated sampling system for the mercury annual performance 

test. You must record the output of the system and analyze the 

sample at set intervals using any suitable determinative 

technique that can meet performance specification 12B criteria. 

This option to use a continuous automated sampling system takes 

effect on the date a final performance specification applicable 

to mercury from monitors is published in the Federal Register. 

The owner or operator who elects to continuously sample mercury 

emissions instead of sampling and testing using EPA Method 29 or 

30B at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-8, ASTM D6784-02 (Reapproved 

2008) (incorporated by reference, see § 60.17), or an approved 
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alternative method for measuring mercury emissions, must 

install, calibrate, maintain and operate a continuous automated 

sampling system and must comply with the requirements specified 

in § 60.58b(p) and (q). A facility may substitute continuous 

mercury monitoring for the minimum sorbent flow rate, if 

activated carbon sorbent injection is used solely for compliance 

with the mercury emission limit. 

(k) To demonstrate continuous compliance with the nitrogen 

oxides emissions limit, a facility may substitute use of a CEMS 

for the nitrogen oxides annual performance test to demonstrate 

compliance with the nitrogen oxides emissions limits and 

monitoring the charge rate, secondary chamber temperature and 

reagent flow for selective noncatalytic reduction, if 

applicable. 

(1) Install, calibrate, maintain and operate a CEMS for 

measuring nitrogen oxides emissions discharged to the atmosphere 

and record the output of the system. The requirements under 

performance specification 2 of appendix B of this part, the 

quality assurance procedure 1 of appendix F of this part and the 

procedures under § 60.13 must be followed for installation, 

evaluation and operation of the CEMS. 

(2) Following the date that the initial performance test 

for nitrogen oxides is completed or is required to be completed 

under § 60.2690, compliance with the emission limit for nitrogen 
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oxides required under § 60.52b(d) must be determined based on 

the 30-day rolling average of the hourly emission concentrations 

using CEMS outlet data. The 1-hour arithmetic averages must be 

expressed in parts per million by volume corrected to 7 percent 

oxygen (dry basis) and used to calculate the 30-day rolling 

average concentrations. CEMS data during startup and shutdown, 

as defined in this subpart, are not corrected to 7 percent 

oxygen, and are measured at stack oxygen content. The 1-hour 

arithmetic averages must be calculated using the data points 

required under § 60.13(e)(2). 

(l) To demonstrate continuous compliance with the sulfur 

dioxide emissions limit, a facility may substitute use of a 

continuous automated sampling system for the sulfur dioxide 

annual performance test to demonstrate compliance with the 

sulfur dioxide emissions limits. 

(1) Install, calibrate, maintain and operate a CEMS for 

measuring sulfur dioxide emissions discharged to the atmosphere 

and record the output of the system. The requirements under 

performance specification 2 of appendix B of this part, the 

quality assurance requirements of procedure 1 of appendix F of 

this part and the procedures under § 60.13 must be followed for 

installation, evaluation and operation of the CEMS. 

(2) Following the date that the initial performance test 

for sulfur dioxide is completed or is required to be completed 
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under § 60.2690, compliance with the sulfur dioxide emission 

limit may be determined based on the 30-day rolling average of 

the hourly arithmetic average emission concentrations using CEMS 

outlet data. The 1-hour arithmetic averages must be expressed in 

parts per million corrected to 7 percent oxygen (dry basis) and 

used to calculate the 30-day rolling average emission 

concentrations. CEMS data during startup and shutdown, as 

defined in this subpart, are not corrected to 7 percent oxygen, 

and are measured at stack oxygen content. The 1-hour arithmetic 

averages must be calculated using the data points required under 

§ 60.13(e)(2). 

(m) For energy recovery units over 10 MMBtu/hr but less 

than 250 MMBtu/hr annual average heat input rates that do not 

use a wet scrubber, fabric filter with bag leak detection 

system, or particulate matter CEMS, you must install, operate, 

certify and maintain a continuous opacity monitoring system 

according to the procedures in paragraphs (m)(1) through (5) of 

this section by the compliance date specified in § 60.2670. 

Energy recovery units that use a particulate matter CEMS to 

demonstrate initial and continuing compliance according to the 

procedures in § 60.2730(n) are not required to install a 

continuous opacity monitoring system and must perform the annual 

performance tests for opacity consistent with § 60.2710(f). 
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(1) Install, operate and maintain each continuous opacity 

monitoring system according to performance specification 1 at 40 

CFR part 60, appendix B. 

(2) Conduct a performance evaluation of each continuous 

opacity monitoring system according to the requirements in § 

60.13 and according to performance specification 1 at 40 CFR 

part 60, appendix B. 

(3) As specified in § 60.13(e)(1), each continuous opacity 

monitoring system must complete a minimum of one cycle of 

sampling and analyzing for each successive 10-second period and 

one cycle of data recording for each successive 6-minute period. 

(4) Reduce the continuous opacity monitoring system data as 

specified in § 60.13(h)(1). 

(5) Determine and record all the 6-minute averages (and 1-

hour block averages as applicable) collected. 

(n) For coal and liquid/gas energy recovery units, 

incinerators, and small remote incinerators, an owner or 

operator may elect to install, calibrate, maintain and operate a 

CEMS for monitoring particulate matter emissions discharged to 

the atmosphere and record the output of the system. The owner or 

operator of an affected facility who continuously monitors 

particulate matter emissions instead of conducting performance 

testing using EPA Method 5 at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-3 or, 

as applicable, monitor with a particulate matter CPMS according 



Page 268 of 340 

 

to paragraph (r) of this section, must install, calibrate, 

maintain and operate a CEMS and must comply with the 

requirements specified in paragraphs (n)(1) through (13) of this 

section. 

(1) Notify the Administrator 1 month before starting use of 

the system. 

(2) Notify the Administrator 1 month before stopping use of 

the system. 

(3) The monitor must be installed, evaluated and operated 

in accordance with the requirements of performance specification 

11 of appendix B of this part and quality assurance requirements 

of procedure 2 of appendix F of this part and § 60.13. 

(4) The initial performance evaluation must be completed no 

later than 180 days after the final compliance date for meeting 

the amended emission limitations, as specified under § 60.2690 

or within 180 days of notification to the Administrator of use 

of the continuous monitoring system if the owner or operator was 

previously determining compliance by Method 5 at 40 CFR part 60, 

appendix A-3 performance tests, whichever is later. 

(5) The owner or operator of an affected facility may 

request that compliance with the particulate matter emission 

limit be determined using carbon dioxide measurements corrected 

to an equivalent of 7 percent oxygen. The relationship between 

oxygen and carbon dioxide levels for the affected facility must 
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be established according to the procedures and methods specified 

in § 60.2710(s)(5)(i) through (s)(5)(iv). 

(6) The owner or operator of an affected facility must 

conduct an initial performance test for particulate matter 

emissions as required under § 60.2690. Compliance with the 

particulate matter emission limit, if PM CEMS are elected for 

demonstrating compliance, must be determined by using the CEMS 

specified in paragraph (n) of this section to measure 

particulate matter. You must calculate a 30-day rolling average 

of 1-hour arithmetic average emission concentrations, including 

CEMS data during startup and shutdown, as defined in this 

subpart, using equation 19-19 in section 12.4.1 of EPA Reference 

Method 19 at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-7 of this part. 

(7) Compliance with the particulate matter emission limit 

must be determined based on the 30-day rolling average 

calculated using equation 19-19 in section 12.4.1 of EPA 

Reference Method 19 at 40 CFR part 60, Appendix A-7 of the part 

from the 1-hour arithmetic average of the CEMS outlet data. 

(8) At a minimum, valid continuous monitoring system hourly 

averages must be obtained as specified § 60.2735. 

(9) The 1-hour arithmetic averages required under paragraph 

(n)(7) of this section must be expressed in milligrams per dry 

standard cubic meter corrected to 7 percent oxygen (or carbon 

dioxide)(dry basis) and must be used to calculate the 30-day 



Page 270 of 340 

 

rolling average emission concentrations. CEMS data during 

startup and shutdown, as defined in this subpart, are not 

corrected to 7 percent oxygen, and are measured at stack oxygen 

content. The 1-hour arithmetic averages must be calculated using 

the data points required under § 60.13(e)(2). 

(10) All valid CEMS data must be used in calculating 

average emission concentrations even if the minimum CEMS data 

requirements of paragraph (n)(8) of this section are not met. 

(11) The CEMS must be operated according to performance 

specification 11 in appendix B of this part. 

(12) During each relative accuracy test run of the CEMS 

required by performance specification 11 in appendix B of this 

part, particulate matter and oxygen (or carbon dioxide) data 

must be collected concurrently (or within a 30-to 60-minute 

period) by both the CEMS and the following test methods. 

(i) For particulate matter, EPA Reference Method 5 at 40 

CFR part 60, appendix A-3 must be used. 

(ii) For oxygen (or carbon dioxide), EPA Reference Method 

3A or 3B at 40 CFR part 60, appendix A-2, as applicable, must be 

used. 

(13) Quarterly accuracy determinations and daily 

calibration drift tests must be performed in accordance with 

procedure 2 in appendix F of this part. 
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(o) To demonstrate continuous compliance with the carbon 

monoxide emissions limit, a facility may substitute use of a 

continuous automated sampling system for the carbon monoxide 

annual performance test to demonstrate compliance with the 

carbon monoxide emissions limits. 

(1) Install, calibrate, maintain, and operate a CEMS for 

measuring carbon monoxide emissions discharged to the atmosphere 

and record the output of the system. The requirements under 

performance specification 4B of appendix B of this part, the 

quality assurance procedure 1 of appendix F of this part and the 

procedures under § 60.13 must be followed for installation, 

evaluation, and operation of the CEMS. 

(2) Following the date that the initial performance test 

for carbon monoxide is completed or is required to be completed 

under § 60.2690, compliance with the carbon monoxide emission 

limit may be determined based on the 30-day rolling average of 

the hourly arithmetic average emission concentrations, including 

CEMS data during startup and shutdown as defined in this 

subpart, using CEMS outlet data. Except for CEMS data during 

startup and shutdown, as defined in this subpart, the 1-hour 

arithmetic averages must be expressed in parts per million 

corrected to 7 percent oxygen (dry basis) and used to calculate 

the 30-day rolling average emission concentrations. CEMS data 

collected during startup or shutdown, as defined in this 
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subpart, are not corrected to 7 percent oxygen, and are measured 

at stack oxygen content. The 1-hour arithmetic averages must be 

calculated using the data points required under § 60.13(e)(2). 

(p) The owner/operator of an affected source with a bypass 

stack shall install, calibrate (to manufacturers' 

specifications), maintain and operate a device or method for 

measuring the use of the bypass stack including date, time and 

duration. 

(q) For energy recovery units with a heat input capacity of 

100 MMBtu per hour or greater that do not use a carbon monoxide 

CEMS, you must install, operate and maintain the continuous 

oxygen monitoring system as defined in § 60.2875 according to 

the procedures in paragraphs (q)(1) through (4) of this section. 

(1) The oxygen analyzer system must be installed by the 

initial performance test date specified in § 60.2675. 

(2) You must operate the oxygen trim system within 

compliance with paragraph (q)(3) of this section at all times. 

(3) You must maintain the oxygen level such that the 30-day 

rolling average that is established as the operating limit for 

oxygen according to paragraph (q)(4) of this section is not 

below the lowest hourly average oxygen concentration measured 

during the most recent CO performance test. 
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(4) You must calculate and record a 30-day rolling average 

oxygen concentration using equation 19-19 in section 12.4.1 of 

EPA Reference Method 19 of Appendix A-7 of this part. 

(r) For energy recovery units with annual average heat 

input rates greater than or equal to 250 MMBtu/hour and waste-

burning kilns, you must install, calibrate, maintain, and 

operate a PM CPMS and record the output of the system as 

specified in paragraphs (r)(1) through (8) of this section. For 

other energy recovery units, you may elect to use PM CPMS 

operated in accordance with this section. PM CPMS are suitable 

in lieu of using other CMS for monitoring PM compliance (e.g., 

bag leak detectors, ESP secondary power, PM scrubber pressure). 

(1) Install, calibrate, operate, and maintain your PM CPMS 

according to the procedures in your approved site-specific 

monitoring plan developed in accordance with § 60.2710(l) and 

(r)(1)(i) through (iii) of this section. 

(i) The operating principle of the PM CPMS must be based on 

in-stack or extractive light scatter, light scintillation, beta 

attenuation, or mass accumulation of the exhaust gas or 

representative sample. The reportable measurement output from 

the PM CPMS must be expressed as milliamps or the digital signal 

equivalent. 
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(ii) The PM CPMS must have a cycle time (i.e., period 

required to complete sampling, measurement, and reporting for 

each measurement) no longer than 60 minutes. 

(iii) The PM CPMS must be capable of detecting and 

responding to particulate matter concentrations increments no 

greater than 0.5 mg/actual cubic meter. 

(2) During the initial performance test or any such 

subsequent performance test that demonstrates compliance with 

the PM limit, you must adjust the site-specific operating limit 

in accordance with the results of the performance test according 

to the procedures specified in § 60.2675. 

(3) Collect PM CPMS hourly average output data for all 

energy recovery unit or waste-burning kiln operating hours. 

Express the PM CPMS output as milliamps or the digital signal 

equivalent. 

(4) Calculate the arithmetic 30-day rolling average of all 

of the hourly average PM CPMS output collected during all energy 

recovery unit or waste-burning kiln operating hours data 

(milliamps, or the digital signal equivalent). 

(5) You must collect data using the PM CPMS at all times 

the energy recovery unit or waste-burning kiln is operating and 

at the intervals specified in paragraph (r)(1)(ii) of this 

section, except for periods of monitoring system malfunctions, 

repairs associated with monitoring system malfunctions, required 
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monitoring system quality assurance or quality control 

activities (including, as applicable, calibration checks and 

required zero and span adjustments), and any scheduled 

maintenance as defined in your site-specific monitoring plan. 

(6) You must use all the data collected during all energy 

recovery unit or waste-burning kiln operating hours in assessing 

the compliance with your operating limit except: 

(i) Any data collected during monitoring system 

malfunctions, repairs associated with monitoring system 

malfunctions, or required monitoring system quality assurance or 

quality control activities conducted during monitoring system 

malfunctions are not used in calculations (report any such 

periods in your annual deviation report); 

(ii) Any data collected during periods when the monitoring 

system is out of control as specified in your site-specific 

monitoring plan, repairs associated with periods when the 

monitoring system is out of control, or required monitoring 

system quality assurance or quality control activities conducted 

during out-of-control periods are not used in calculations 

(report emissions or operating levels and report any such 

periods in your annual deviation report); 

(iii) Any PM CPMS data recorded during periods of CEMS data 

during startup and shutdown, as defined in this subpart. 
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(7) You must record and make available upon request results 

of PM CPMS system performance audits, as well as the dates and 

duration of periods from when the PM CPMS is out of control 

until completion of the corrective actions necessary to return 

the PM CPMS to operation consistent with your site-specific 

monitoring plan. 

(8) For any deviation of the 30-day rolling average PM CPMS 

average value from the established operating parameter limit, 

you must: 

(i) Within 48 hours of the deviation, visually inspect the 

air pollution control device; 

(ii) If inspection of the air pollution control device 

identifies the cause of the deviation, take corrective action as 

soon as possible and return the PM CPMS measurement to within 

the established value; and 

(iii) Within 30 days of the deviation or at the time of the 

annual compliance test, whichever comes first, conduct a PM 

emissions compliance test to determine compliance with the PM 

emissions limit and to verify the operation of the emissions 

control device(s). Within 45 days of the deviation, you must re-

establish the CPMS operating limit. You are not required to 

conduct additional testing for any deviations that occur between 

the time of the original deviation and the PM emissions 

compliance test required under this paragraph. 
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(iv) PM CPMS deviations leading to more than four required 

performance tests in a 12-month process operating period 

(rolling monthly) constitute a violation of this subpart. 

(s) If you use a dry scrubber to comply with the emission 

limits of this subpart, you must monitor the injection rate of 

each sorbent and maintain the 3-hour block averages at or above 

the operating limits established during the hydrogen chloride 

performance test. 

§ 60.2735 Is there a minimum amount of monitoring data I must 

obtain? 

For each continuous monitoring system required or 

optionally allowed under § 60.2730, you must monitor and collect 

data according to this section: 

(a) You must operate the monitoring system and collect data 

at all required intervals at all times compliance is required 

except for periods of monitoring system malfunctions or out-of-

control periods, repairs associated with monitoring system 

malfunctions or out-of-control periods (as specified in § 

60.2770(o)), and required monitoring system quality assurance or 

quality control activities including, as applicable, calibration 

checks and required zero and span adjustments. A monitoring 

system malfunction is any sudden, infrequent, not reasonably 

preventable failure of the monitoring system to provide valid 

data. Monitoring system failures that are caused in part by poor 
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maintenance or careless operation are not malfunctions. You are 

required to effect monitoring system repairs in response to 

monitoring system malfunctions or out-of-control periods and to 

return the monitoring system to operation as expeditiously as 

practicable. 

(b) You may not use data recorded during the monitoring 

system malfunctions, repairs associated with monitoring system 

malfunctions or out-of control periods, or required monitoring 

system quality assurance or control activities in calculations 

used to report emissions or operating levels. You must use all 

the data collected during all other periods in assessing the 

operation of the control device and associated control system. 

(c) Except for periods of monitoring system malfunctions or 

out-of-control periods, repairs associated with monitoring 

system malfunctions or out-of-control periods, and required 

monitoring system quality assurance or quality control 

activities including, as applicable, calibration checks and 

required zero and span adjustments, failure to collect required 

data is a deviation of the monitoring requirements. 

Model Rule—Recordkeeping and Reporting 

§ 60.2740 What records must I keep? 

You must maintain the items (as applicable) as specified in 

paragraphs (a), (b), and (e) through (w) of this section for a 

period of at least 5 years: 
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(a) Calendar date of each record. 

(b) Records of the data described in paragraphs (b)(1) 

through (6) of this section: 

(1) The CISWI unit charge dates, times, weights, and hourly 

charge rates. 

(2) Liquor flow rate to the wet scrubber inlet every 15 

minutes of operation, as applicable. 

(3) Pressure drop across the wet scrubber system every 15 

minutes of operation or amperage to the wet scrubber every 15 

minutes of operation, as applicable. 

(4) Liquor pH as introduced to the wet scrubber every 15 

minutes of operation, as applicable. 

(5) For affected CISWI units that establish operating 

limits for controls other than wet scrubbers under § 60.2675(d) 

through (g) or § 60.2680, you must maintain data collected for 

all operating parameters used to determine compliance with the 

operating limits. For energy recovery units using activated 

carbon injection or a dry scrubber, you must also maintain 

records of the load fraction and corresponding sorbent injection 

rate records. 

(6) If a fabric filter is used to comply with the emission 

limitations, you must record the date, time, and duration of 

each alarm and the time corrective action was initiated and 

completed, and a brief description of the cause of the alarm and 
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the corrective action taken. You must also record the percent of 

operating time during each 6-month period that the alarm sounds, 

calculated as specified in § 60.2675(c). 

(c)-(d) [Reserved] 

(e) Identification of calendar dates and times for which 

data show a deviation from the operating limits in table 3 of 

this subpart or a deviation from other operating limits 

established under § 60.2675(d) through (g) or § 60.2680 with a 

description of the deviations, reasons for such deviations, and 

a description of corrective actions taken. 

(f) The results of the initial, annual, and any subsequent 

performance tests conducted to determine compliance with the 

emission limits and/or to establish operating limits, as 

applicable. Retain a copy of the complete test report including 

calculations. 

(g) Records showing the names of CISWI unit operators who 

have completed review of the information in § 60.2660(a) as 

required by § 60.2660(b), including the date of the initial 

review and all subsequent annual reviews. 

(h) Records showing the names of the CISWI operators who 

have completed the operator training requirements under § 

60.2635, met the criteria for qualification under § 60.2645, and 

maintained or renewed their qualification under § 60.2650 or § 

60.2655. Records must include documentation of training, the 
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dates of the initial and refresher training, and the dates of 

their qualification and all subsequent renewals of such 

qualifications. 

(i) For each qualified operator, the phone and/or pager 

number at which they can be reached during operating hours. 

(j) Records of calibration of any monitoring devices as 

required under § 60.2730. 

(k) Equipment vendor specifications and related operation 

and maintenance requirements for the incinerator, emission 

controls, and monitoring equipment. 

(l) The information listed in § 60.2660(a). 

(m) On a daily basis, keep a log of the quantity of waste 

burned and the types of waste burned (always required). 

(n) Maintain records of the annual air pollution control 

device inspections that are required for each CISWI unit subject 

to the emissions limits in table 2 of this subpart or tables 6 

through 9 of this subpart, any required maintenance and any 

repairs not completed within 10 days of an inspection or the 

timeframe established by the state regulatory agency. 

(o) For continuously monitored pollutants or parameters, 

you must document and keep a record of the following parameters 

measured using continuous monitoring systems. 

(1) All 6-minute average levels of opacity. 



Page 282 of 340 

 

(2) All 1-hour average concentrations of sulfur dioxide 

emissions. You must indicate which data are CEMS data during 

startup and shutdown. 

(3) All 1-hour average concentrations of nitrogen oxides 

emissions. You must indicate which data are CEMS data during 

startup and shutdown. 

(4) All 1-hour average concentrations of carbon monoxide 

emissions. You must indicate which data are CEMS data during 

startup and shutdown. 

(5) All 1-hour average concentrations of particulate matter 

emissions. You must indicate which data are CEMS data during 

startup and shutdown. 

(6) All 1-hour average concentrations of mercury emissions. 

You must indicate which data are CEMS data during startup and 

shutdown. 

(7) All 1-hour average concentrations of hydrogen chloride 

emissions. You must indicate which data are CEMS data during 

startup and shutdown. 

(8) All 1-hour average percent oxygen concentrations. 

(9) All 1-hour average PM CPMS readings or particulate 

matter CEMS outputs. 

(p) Records indicating use of the bypass stack, including 

dates, times and durations. 
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(q) If you choose to stack test less frequently than 

annually, consistent with § 60.2720(a) through (c), you must 

keep annual records that document that your emissions in the 

previous stack test(s) were less than 75 percent of the 

applicable emission limit and document that there was no change 

in source operations including fuel composition and operation of 

air pollution control equipment that would cause emissions of 

the relevant pollutant to increase within the past year. 

(r) Records of the occurrence and duration of each 

malfunction of operation (i.e. , process equipment) or the air 

pollution control and monitoring equipment. 

(s) Records of all required maintenance performed on the 

air pollution control and monitoring equipment. 

(t) Records of actions taken during periods of malfunction 

to minimize emissions in accordance with § 60.11(d), including 

corrective actions to restore malfunctioning process and air 

pollution control and monitoring equipment to its normal or 

usual manner of operation. 

(u) For operating units that combust non-hazardous 

secondary materials that have been determined not to be solid 

waste pursuant to § 241.3(b)(1), you must keep a record which 

documents how the secondary material meets each of the 

legitimacy criteria under § 241.3(d)(1). If you combust a fuel 

that has been processed from a discarded non-hazardous secondary 
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material pursuant to § 241.3(b)(4), you must keep records as to 

how the operations that produced the fuel satisfies the 

definition of processing in § 241.2 and each of the legitimacy 

criteria in § 241.3(d)(1) of this chapter. If the fuel received 

a non-waste determination pursuant to the petition process 

submitted under § 241.3(c), you must keep a record that 

documents how the fuel satisfies the requirements of the 

petition process. For operating units that combust non-hazardous 

secondary materials as fuel per § 241.4, you must keep records 

documenting that the material is a listed non-waste under § 

241.4(a). 

(v) Records of the criteria used to establish that the unit 

qualifies as a small power production facility under section 

3(17)(C) of the Federal Power Act (16 U.S.C. 796(17)(C)) and 

that the waste material the unit is proposed to burn is 

homogeneous. 

(w) Records of the criteria used to establish that the unit 

qualifies as a cogeneration facility under section 3(18)(B) of 

the Federal Power Act (16 U.S.C. 796(18)(B)) and that the waste 

material the unit is proposed to burn is homogeneous. 

§ 60.2745 Where and in what format must I keep my records? 

All records must be available onsite in either paper copy 

or computer-readable format that can be printed upon request, 

unless an alternative format is approved by the Administrator. 
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§ 60.2750 What reports must I submit? 

See table 5 of this subpart for a summary of the reporting 

requirements. 

§ 60.2755 When must I submit my waste management plan? 

You must submit the waste management plan no later than the 

date specified in table 1 of this subpart for submittal of the 

final control plan. 

§ 60.2760 What information must I submit following my initial 

performance test? 

You must submit the information specified in paragraphs (a) 

through (c) of this section no later than 60 days following the 

initial performance test. All reports must be signed by the 

facilities manager. 

(a) The complete test report for the initial performance 

test results obtained under § 60.2700, as applicable. 

(b) The values for the site-specific operating limits 

established in § 60.2675 or § 60.2680. 

(c) If you are using a fabric filter to comply with the 

emission limitations, documentation that a bag leak detection 

system has been installed and is being operated, calibrated, and 

maintained as required by § 60.2730(b). 

§ 60.2765 When must I submit my annual report? 

You must submit an annual report no later than 12 months 

following the submission of the information in § 60.2760. You 



Page 286 of 340 

 

must submit subsequent reports no more than 12 months following 

the previous report. (If the unit is subject to permitting 

requirements under title V of the Clean Air Act, you may be 

required by the permit to submit these reports more frequently.) 

§ 60.2770 What information must I include in my annual report? 

The annual report required under § 60.2765 must include the 

ten items listed in paragraphs (a) through (j) of this section. 

If you have a deviation from the operating limits or the 

emission limitations, you must also submit deviation reports as 

specified in §§ 60.2775, 60.2780, and 60.2785. 

(a) Company name and address. 

(b) Statement by a responsible official, with that 

official's name, title, and signature, certifying the accuracy 

of the content of the report. 

(c) Date of report and beginning and ending dates of the 

reporting period. 

(d) The values for the operating limits established 

pursuant to § 60.2675 or § 60.2680. 

(e) If no deviation from any emission limitation or 

operating limit that applies to you has been reported, a 

statement that there was no deviation from the emission 

limitations or operating limits during the reporting period. 
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(f) The highest recorded 3-hour average and the lowest 

recorded 3-hour average, as applicable, for each operating 

parameter recorded for the calendar year being reported. 

(g) Information recorded under § 60.2740(b)(6) and (c) 

through (e) for the calendar year being reported. 

(h) For each performance test conducted during the 

reporting period, if any performance test is conducted, the 

process unit(s) tested, the pollutant(s) tested and the date 

that such performance test was conducted. Submit, following the 

procedure specified in §60.2795(b)(1), the performance test 

report no later than the date that you submit the annual report. 

 (i) If you met the requirements of § 60.2720(a) or (b), and 

did not conduct a performance test during the reporting period, 

you must state that you met the requirements of § 60.2720(a) or 

(b), and, therefore, you were not required to conduct a 

performance test during the reporting period. 

(j) Documentation of periods when all qualified CISWI unit 

operators were unavailable for more than 8 hours, but less than 

2 weeks. 

(k) If you had a malfunction during the reporting period, 

the compliance report must include the number, duration, and a 

brief description for each type of malfunction that occurred 

during the reporting period and that caused or may have caused 

any applicable emission limitation to be exceeded. The report 
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must also include a description of actions taken by an owner or 

operator during a malfunction of an affected source to minimize 

emissions in accordance with § 60.11(d), including actions taken 

to correct a malfunction. 

(l) For each deviation from an emission or operating 

limitation that occurs for a CISWI unit for which you are not 

using a CMS to comply with the emission or operating limitations 

in this subpart, the annual report must contain the following 

information. 

(1) The total operating time of the CISWI unit at which the 

deviation occurred during the reporting period. 

(2) Information on the number, duration, and cause of 

deviations (including unknown cause, if applicable), as 

applicable, and the corrective action taken. 

(m) If there were periods during which the continuous 

monitoring system, including the CEMS, was out of control as 

specified in paragraph (o) of this section, the annual report 

must contain the following information for each deviation from 

an emission or operating limitation occurring for a CISWI unit 

for which you are using a continuous monitoring system to comply 

with the emission and operating limitations in this subpart. 

(1) The date and time that each malfunction started and 

stopped. 
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(2) The date, time, and duration that each CMS was 

inoperative, except for zero (low-level) and high-level checks. 

(3) The date, time, and duration that each continuous 

monitoring system was out-of-control, including start and end 

dates and hours and descriptions of corrective actions taken. 

(4) The date and time that each deviation started and 

stopped, and whether each deviation occurred during a period of 

malfunction or during another period. 

(5) A summary of the total duration of the deviation during 

the reporting period, and the total duration as a percent of the 

total source operating time during that reporting period. 

(6) A breakdown of the total duration of the deviations 

during the reporting period into those that are due to control 

equipment problems, process problems, other known causes, and 

other unknown causes. 

(7) A summary of the total duration of continuous 

monitoring system downtime during the reporting period, and the 

total duration of continuous monitoring system downtime as a 

percent of the total operating time of the CISWI unit at which 

the continuous monitoring system downtime occurred during that 

reporting period. 

(8) An identification of each parameter and pollutant that 

was monitored at the CISWI unit. 

(9) A brief description of the CISWI unit. 
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(10) A brief description of the continuous monitoring 

system. 

(11) The date of the latest continuous monitoring system 

certification or audit. 

(12) A description of any changes in continuous monitoring 

system, processes, or controls since the last reporting period. 

(n) If there were periods during which the continuous 

monitoring system, including the CEMS, was not out of control as 

specified in paragraph (o) of this section, a statement that 

there were not periods during which the continuous monitoring 

system was out of control during the reporting period. 

(o) A continuous monitoring system is out of control if any 

of the following occur. 

(1) The zero (low-level), mid-level (if applicable), or 

high-level calibration drift exceeds two times the applicable 

calibration drift specification in the applicable performance 

specification or in the relevant standard. 

(2) The continuous monitoring system fails a performance 

test audit (e.g. , cylinder gas audit), relative accuracy audit, 

relative accuracy test audit, or linearity test audit. 

(3) The continuous opacity monitoring system calibration 

drift exceeds two times the limit in the applicable performance 

specification in the relevant standard. 
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(p) For energy recovery units, include the annual heat 

input and average annual heat input rate of all fuels being 

burned in the unit to verify which subcategory of energy 

recovery unit applies. 

§ 60.2775 What else must I report if I have a deviation from the 

operating limits or the emission limitations? 

(a) You must submit a deviation report if any recorded 3-

hour average parameter level is above the maximum operating 

limit or below the minimum operating limit established under 

this subpart, if the bag leak detection system alarm sounds for 

more than 5 percent of the operating time for the 6-month 

reporting period, or if a performance test was conducted that 

deviated from any emission limitation. 

(b) The deviation report must be submitted by August 1 of 

that year for data collected during the first half of the 

calendar year (January 1 to June 30), and by February 1 of the 

following year for data you collected during the second half of 

the calendar year (July 1 to December 31). 

§ 60.2780 What must I include in the deviation report? 

In each report required under § 60.2775, for any pollutant 

or parameter that deviated from the emission limitations or 

operating limits specified in this subpart, include the four 

items described in paragraphs (a) through (d) of this section. 
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(a) The calendar dates and times your unit deviated from 

the emission limitations or operating limit requirements. 

(b) The averaged and recorded data for those dates. 

(c) Durations and causes of the following: 

(1) Each deviation from emission limitations or operating 

limits and your corrective actions. 

(2) Bypass events and your corrective actions. 

(d) A copy of the operating limit monitoring data during 

each deviation and for any test report that documents the 

emission levels the process unit(s) tested, the pollutant(s) 

tested and the date that the performance test was conducted. 

Submit, following the procedure specified in §60.2795(b)(1), the 

performance test report no later than the date that you submit 

the deviation report. 

§ 60.2785 What else must I report if I have a deviation from the 

requirement to have a qualified operator accessible? 

(a) If all qualified operators are not accessible for 2 

weeks or more, you must take the two actions in paragraphs 

(a)(1) and (2) of this section. 

(1) Submit a notification of the deviation within 10 days 

that includes the three items in paragraphs (a)(1)(i) through 

(iii) of this section. 

(i) A statement of what caused the deviation. 
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(ii) A description of what you are doing to ensure that a 

qualified operator is accessible. 

(iii) The date when you anticipate that a qualified 

operator will be available. 

(2) Submit a status report to the Administrator every 4 

weeks that includes the three items in paragraphs (a)(2)(i) 

through (iii) of this section. 

(i) A description of what you are doing to ensure that a 

qualified operator is accessible. 

(ii) The date when you anticipate that a qualified operator 

will be accessible. 

(iii) Request approval from the Administrator to continue 

operation of the CISWI unit. 

(b) If your unit was shut down by the Administrator, under 

the provisions of § 60.2665(b)(2), due to a failure to provide 

an accessible qualified operator, you must notify the 

Administrator that you are resuming operation once a qualified 

operator is accessible. 

§ 60.2790 Are there any other notifications or reports that I 

must submit? 

(a) Yes. You must submit notifications as provided by § 

60.7. 

(b) If you cease combusting solid waste but continue to 

operate, you must provide 30 days prior notice of the effective 
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date of the waste-to-fuel switch, consistent with § 60.2710(a). 

The notification must identify: 

(1) The name of the owner or operator of the CISWI unit, 

the location of the source, the emissions unit(s) that will 

cease burning solid waste, and the date of the notice; 

(2) The currently applicable subcategory under this 

subpart, and any 40 CFR part 63 subpart and subcategory that 

will be applicable after you cease combusting solid waste; 

(3) The fuel(s), non-waste material(s) and solid waste(s) 

the CISWI unit is currently combusting and has combusted over 

the past 6 months, and the fuel(s) or non-waste materials the 

unit will commence combusting; 

(4) The date on which you became subject to the currently 

applicable emission limits; 

(5) The date upon which you will cease combusting solid 

waste, and the date (if different) that you intend for any new 

requirements to become applicable (i.e., the effective date of 

the waste-to-fuel switch), consistent with paragraphs (b)(2) and 

(3) of this section. 

§ 60.2795 In what form can I submit my reports? 

(a) Submit initial, annual and deviation reports 

electronically on or before the submittal due dates. Submit the 

reports to the EPA via the Compliance and Emissions Data 

Reporting Interface (CEDRI). (CEDRI can be accessed through the 
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EPA’s Central Data Exchange (CDX) 

(http://cdx.epa.gov/epa_home.asp).) Use the appropriate 

electronic report in CEDRI for this subpart. Instead of using 

the electronic report in CEDRI for this subpart, you may submit 

an alternate electronic file format consistent with the 

extensible markup language (XML) schema listed on the CEDRI 

website (http://www.epa.gov/ttn/chief/cedri/index.html), once 

the XML schema is available. If the reporting form specific to 

this subpart is not available in CEDRI at the time that the 

report is due, submit the report to the Administrator at the 

appropriate address listed in §60.4. Begin submitting reports 

via CEDRI no later than 90 days after the form becomes available 

in CEDRI. The reports must be submitted by the deadlines 

specified in this subpart, regardless of the method in which the 

report is submitted. 

(b) Submit results of each performance test and CEMS 

performance evaluation required by this subpart as follows. 

(1) Within 60 days after the date of completing each 

performance test (see §60.8), submit the results of the 

performance test following the procedure specified in either 

paragraph (b)(1)(i) or (b)(1)(ii) of this section. 

(i) For data collected using test methods supported by the 

EPA’s Electronic Reporting Tool (ERT) as listed on the EPA’s ERT 

website (http://www.epa.gov/ttn/chief/ert/index.html) at the 
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time of the test, submit the results of the performance test to 

the EPA via the CEDRI. (CEDRI can be accessed through the EPA’s 

CDX.) Performance test data must be submitted in a file format 

generated through the use of the EPA’s ERT. Instead of 

submitting performance test data in a file format generated 

through the use of the EPA’s ERT, you may submit an alternate 

electronic file format consistent with the XML schema listed on 

the EPA’s ERT website, once the XML schema is available. If you 

claim that some of the performance test information being 

submitted is confidential business information (CBI), submit a 

complete file generated through the use of the EPA’s ERT (or an 

alternate electronic file consistent with the XML schema listed 

on the EPA’s ERT website once the XML schema is available), 

including information claimed to be CBI, on a compact disc, 

flash drive, or other commonly used electronic storage media to 

the EPA. The electronic media must be clearly marked as CBI and 

mailed to U.S. EPA/OAQPS/CORE CBI Office, Attention: Group 

Leader, Measurement Policy Group, MD C404-02, 4930 Old Page 

Road, Durham, NC 27703. The same ERT or alternate file with the 

CBI omitted must be submitted to the EPA via the EPA’s CDX as 

described earlier in this paragraph.  

(ii) For data collected using test methods that are not 

supported by the EPA’s ERT as listed on the EPA’s ERT website at 
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the time of the test, submit the results of the performance test 

to the Administrator at the appropriate address listed in §60.4. 

(2) Within 60 days after the date of completing each CEMS 

performance evaluation, submit the results of the performance 

evaluation following the procedure specified in either paragraph 

(b)(2)(i) or (b)(2)(ii) of this section.  

(i) For performance evaluations of continuous monitoring 

systems measuring relative accuracy test audit (RATA) pollutants 

that are supported by the EPA’s ERT as listed on the EPA’s ERT 

website at the time of the test, submit the results of the 

performance evaluation to the EPA via the CEDRI. (CEDRI can be 

accessed through the EPA’s CDX.) Performance evaluation data 

must be submitted in a file format generated through the use of 

the EPA’s ERT. Instead of submitting performance evaluation data 

in a file format generated through the use of the EPA’s ERT, you 

may submit an alternate electronic file format consistent with 

the XML schema listed on the EPA’s ERT website, once the XML 

schema is available. If you claim that some of the performance 

evaluation information being submitted is CBI, submit a complete 

file generated through the use of the EPA’s ERT (or an alternate 

electronic file consistent with the XML schema listed on the 

EPA’s ERT website once the XML schema is available), including 

information claimed to be CBI, on a compact disc, flash drive, 

or other commonly used electronic storage media to the EPA. The 
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electronic media must be clearly marked as CBI and mailed to 

U.S. EPA/OAQPS/CORE CBI Office, Attention: Group Leader, 

Measurement Policy Group, MD C404-02, 4930 Old Page Road, 

Durham, NC 27703. The same ERT or alternate file with the CBI 

omitted must be submitted to the EPA via the EPA’s CDX as 

described earlier in this paragraph.  

(ii) For any performance evaluations of continuous 

monitoring systems measuring RATA pollutants that are not 

supported by the EPA’s ERT as listed on the EPA’s ERT website at 

the time of the test, submit the results of the performance 

evaluation to the Administrator at the appropriate address 

listed in §60.4. 

(c) All information required in this subpart to be 

submitted to the EPA must also be submitted in paper format to 

the appropriate state, local or tribal agency unless the state, 

local or tribal agency specifies another format. Information 

submitted in paper format must be postmarked no later than the 

date that the report is required to be submitted to the EPA’s 

CDX electronically. Any information required to be submitted 

electronically to the EPA’s CDX may, at the discretion of the 

state, local or tribal agency, satisfy the requirements of this 

paragraph.  

§ 60.2800 Can reporting dates be changed? 
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If the Administrator agrees, you may change the semiannual 

or annual reporting dates. See § 60.19(c) for procedures to seek 

approval to change your reporting date. 

Model Rule—Title V Operating Permits 

§ 60.2805 Am I required to apply for and obtain a Title V 

operating permit for my unit? 

Yes. Each CISWI unit and air curtain incinerator subject to 

standards under this subpart must operate pursuant to a permit 

issued under Clean Air Act sections 129(e) and Title V. 

Model Rule—Air Curtain Incinerators 

§ 60.2810 What is an air curtain incinerator? 

(a) An air curtain incinerator operates by forcefully 

projecting a curtain of air across an open chamber or open pit 

in which combustion occurs. Incinerators of this type can be 

constructed above or below ground and with or without refractory 

walls and floor. (Air curtain incinerators are not to be 

confused with conventional combustion devices with enclosed 

fireboxes and controlled air technology such as mass burn, 

modular, and fluidized bed combustors.) 

(b) Air curtain incinerators that burn only the materials 

listed in paragraphs (b)(1) through (3) of this section are only 

required to meet the requirements under § 60.2805 and under “Air 

Curtain Incinerators” (§§ 60.2810 through 60.2870). 

(1) 100 percent wood waste. 
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(2) 100 percent clean lumber. 

(3) 100 percent mixture of only wood waste, clean lumber, 

and/or yard waste. 

§ 60.2815 What are my requirements for meeting increments of 

progress and achieving final compliance? 

If you plan to achieve compliance more than 1 year 

following the effective date of state plan approval, you must 

meet the two increments of progress specified in paragraphs (a) 

and (b) of this section. 

(a) Submit a final control plan. 

(b) Achieve final compliance. 

§ 60.2820 When must I complete each increment of progress? 

Table 1 of this subpart specifies compliance dates for each 

of the increments of progress. 

§ 60.2825 What must I include in the notifications of 

achievement of increments of progress? 

Your notification of achievement of increments of progress 

must include the three items described in paragraphs (a) through 

(c) of this section. 

(a) Notification that the increment of progress has been 

achieved. 

(b) Any items required to be submitted with each increment 

of progress (see § 60.2840). 

(c) Signature of the owner or operator of the incinerator. 
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§ 60.2830 When must I submit the notifications of achievement of 

increments of progress? 

Notifications for achieving increments of progress must be 

postmarked no later than 10 business days after the compliance 

date for the increment. 

§ 60.2835 What if I do not meet an increment of progress? 

If you fail to meet an increment of progress, you must 

submit a notification to the Administrator postmarked within 10 

business days after the date for that increment of progress in 

table 1 of this subpart. You must inform the Administrator that 

you did not meet the increment, and you must continue to submit 

reports each subsequent calendar month until the increment of 

progress is met. 

§ 60.2840 How do I comply with the increment of progress for 

submittal of a control plan? 

For your control plan increment of progress, you must 

satisfy the two requirements specified in paragraphs (a) and (b) 

of this section. 

(a) Submit the final control plan, including a description 

of any devices for air pollution control and any process changes 

that you will use to comply with the emission limitations and 

other requirements of this subpart. 

(b) Maintain an onsite copy of the final control plan. 
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§ 60.2845 How do I comply with the increment of progress for 

achieving final compliance? 

For the final compliance increment of progress, you must 

complete all process changes and retrofit construction of 

control devices, as specified in the final control plan, so 

that, if the affected incinerator is brought online, all 

necessary process changes and air pollution control devices 

would operate as designed. 

§ 60.2850 What must I do if I close my air curtain incinerator 

and then restart it? 

(a) If you close your incinerator but will reopen it prior 

to the final compliance date in your state plan, you must meet 

the increments of progress specified in § 60.2815. 

(b) If you close your incinerator but will restart it after 

your final compliance date, you must complete emission control 

retrofits and meet the emission limitations on the date your 

incinerator restarts operation. 

§ 60.2855 What must I do if I plan to permanently close my air 

curtain incinerator and not restart it? 

If you plan to close your incinerator rather than comply 

with the state plan, submit a closure notification, including 

the date of closure, to the Administrator by the date your final 

control plan is due. 
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§ 60.2860 What are the emission limitations for air curtain 

incinerators? 

After the date the initial stack test is required or 

completed (whichever is earlier), you must meet the limitations 

in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section. 

(a) Maintain opacity to less than or equal to 10 percent 

opacity (as determined by the average of three 1-hour blocks 

consisting of ten 6-minute average opacity values), except as 

described in paragraph (b) of this section. 

(b) Maintain opacity to less than or equal to 35 percent 

opacity (as determined by the average of three 1-hour blocks 

consisting of ten 6-minute average opacity values) during the 

startup period that is within the first 30 minutes of operation. 

§ 60.2865 How must I monitor opacity for air curtain 

incinerators? 

(a) Use Method 9 of appendix A of this part to determine 

compliance with the opacity limitation. 

(b) Conduct an initial test for opacity as specified in § 

60.8 no later than 180 days after your final compliance date. 

(c) After the initial test for opacity, conduct annual 

tests no more than 12 calendar months following the date of your 

previous test. 

§ 60.2870 What are the recordkeeping and reporting requirements 

for air curtain incinerators? 
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(a) Keep records of results of all initial and annual 

opacity tests onsite in either paper copy or electronic format, 

unless the Administrator approves another format, for at least 5 

years. 

(b) Make all records available for submittal to the 

Administrator or for an inspector's onsite review. 

(c) Submit an initial report no later than 60 days 

following the initial opacity test that includes the information 

specified in paragraphs (c) (1) and (2) of this section. 

(1) The types of materials you plan to combust in your air 

curtain incinerator. 

(2) The results (as determined by the average of three 1-

hour blocks consisting of ten 6-minute average opacity values) 

of the initial opacity tests. 

(d) Submit annual opacity test results within 12 months 

following the previous report. 

(e) Submit initial and annual opacity test reports as 

electronic or paper copy on or before the applicable submittal 

date and keep a copy onsite for a period of 5 years. 

Model Rule—Definitions 

§ 60.2875 What definitions must I know? 

Terms used but not defined in this subpart are defined in 

the Clean Air Act and subparts A and B of this part. 
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30-day rolling average means the arithmetic mean of the 

previous 720 hours of valid operating data. Valid data excludes 

periods when this unit is not operating. The 720 hours should be 

consecutive, but not necessarily continuous if operations are 

intermittent. 

Administrator means the Administrator of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency or his/her authorized 

representative or Administrator of a State Air Pollution Control 

Agency. 

Agricultural waste means vegetative agricultural materials 

such as nut and grain hulls and chaff (e.g., almond, walnut, 

peanut, rice, and wheat), bagasse, orchard prunings, corn 

stalks, coffee bean hulls and grounds, and other vegetative 

waste materials generated as a result of agricultural 

operations. 

Air curtain incinerator means an incinerator that operates 

by forcefully projecting a curtain of air across an open chamber 

or pit in which combustion occurs. Incinerators of this type can 

be constructed above or below ground and with or without 

refractory walls and floor. (Air curtain incinerators are not to 

be confused with conventional combustion devices with enclosed 

fireboxes and controlled air technology such as mass burn, 

modular, and fluidized bed combustors.) 



Page 306 of 340 

 

Annual heat input means the heat input for the 12 months 

preceding the compliance demonstration. 

Auxiliary fuel means natural gas, liquified petroleum gas, 

fuel oil, or diesel fuel. 

Average annual heat input rate means annual heat input 

divided by the hours of operation for the 12 months preceding 

the compliance demonstration. 

Bag leak detection system means an instrument that is 

capable of monitoring particulate matter loadings in the exhaust 

of a fabric filter (i.e., baghouse) in order to detect bag 

failures. A bag leak detection system includes, but is not 

limited to, an instrument that operates on triboelectric, light 

scattering, light transmittance, or other principle to monitor 

relative particulate matter loadings. 

Burn-off oven means any rack reclamation unit, part 

reclamation unit, or drum reclamation unit. A burn-off oven is 

not an incinerator, waste-burning kiln, an energy recovery unit 

or a small, remote incinerator under this subpart. 

Bypass stack means a device used for discharging combustion 

gases to avoid severe damage to the air pollution control device 

or other equipment. 

Calendar quarter means three consecutive months 

(nonoverlapping) beginning on: January 1, April 1, July 1, or 

October 1. 
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Calendar year means 365 consecutive days starting on 

January 1 and ending on December 31. 

CEMS data during startup and shutdown means the following: 

(1) For incinerators, small remote incinerators, and energy 

recovery units: CEMS data collected during the first hours of 

operation of a CISWI unit startup from a cold start until waste 

is fed into the unit and the hours of operation following the 

cessation of waste material being fed to the CISWI unit during a 

unit shutdown. For each startup event, the length of time that 

CEMS data may be claimed as being CEMS data during startup must 

be 48 operating hours or less. For each shutdown event, the 

length of time that CEMS data may be claimed as being CEMS data 

during shutdown must be 24 operating hours or less. 

(2) For waste-burning kilns: CEMS data collected during the 

periods of kiln operation that do not include normal operations. 

Startup begins when the kiln's induced fan is turned on and 

continues until continuous feed is introduced into the kiln, at 

which time the kiln is in normal operating mode. Shutdown begins 

when feed to the kiln is halted. 

Chemical recovery unit means combustion units burning 

materials to recover chemical constituents or to produce 

chemical compounds where there is an existing commercial market 

for such recovered chemical constituents or compounds. A 

chemical recovery unit is not an incinerator, a waste-burning 
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kiln, an energy recovery unit or a small, remote incinerator 

under this subpart. The following seven types of units are 

considered chemical recovery units: 

(1) Units burning only pulping liquors (i.e., black liquor) 

that are reclaimed in a pulping liquor recovery process and 

reused in the pulping process. 

(2) Units burning only spent sulfuric acid used to produce 

virgin sulfuric acid. 

(3) Units burning only wood or coal feedstock for the 

production of charcoal. 

(4) Units burning only manufacturing byproduct 

streams/residue containing catalyst metals that are reclaimed 

and reused as catalysts or used to produce commercial grade 

catalysts. 

(5) Units burning only coke to produce purified carbon 

monoxide that is used as an intermediate in the production of 

other chemical compounds. 

(6) Units burning only hydrocarbon liquids or solids to 

produce hydrogen, carbon monoxide, synthesis gas, or other gases 

for use in other manufacturing processes. 

(7) Units burning only photographic film to recover silver. 

Chemotherapeutic waste means waste material resulting from 

the production or use of antineoplastic agents used for the 

purpose of stopping or reversing the growth of malignant cells. 
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Clean lumber means wood or wood products that have been cut 

or shaped and include wet, air-dried, and kiln-dried wood 

products. Clean lumber does not include wood products that have 

been painted, pigment-stained, or pressure-treated by compounds 

such as chromate copper arsenate, pentachlorophenol, and 

creosote. 

Commercial and industrial solid waste incineration (CISWI) 

unit means any distinct operating unit of any commercial or 

industrial facility that combusts, or has combusted in the 

preceding 6 months, any solid waste as that term is defined in 

40 CFR part 241. If the operating unit burns materials other 

than traditional fuels as defined in § 241.2 that have been 

discarded, and you do not keep and produce records as required 

by § 60.2740(u), the operating unit is a CISWI unit. While not 

all CISWI units will include all of the following components, a 

CISWI unit includes, but is not limited to, the solid waste feed 

system, grate system, flue gas system, waste heat recovery 

equipment, if any, and bottom ash system. The CISWI unit does 

not include air pollution control equipment or the stack. The 

CISWI unit boundary starts at the solid waste hopper (if 

applicable) and extends through two areas: The combustion unit 

flue gas system, which ends immediately after the last 

combustion chamber or after the waste heat recovery equipment, 

if any; and the combustion unit bottom ash system, which ends at 
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the truck loading station or similar equipment that transfers 

the ash to final disposal. The CISWI unit includes all ash 

handling systems connected to the bottom ash handling system. 

Contained gaseous material means gases that are in a 

container when that container is combusted. 

Continuous emission monitoring system (CEMS) means the 

total equipment that may be required to meet the data 

acquisition and availability requirements of this subpart, used 

to sample, condition (if applicable), analyze, and provide a 

record of emissions. 

Continuous monitoring system (CMS) means the total 

equipment, required under the emission monitoring sections in 

applicable subparts, used to sample and condition (if 

applicable), to analyze, and to provide a permanent record of 

emissions or process parameters. A particulate matter continuous 

parameter monitoring system (PM CPMS) is a type of CMS. 

Cyclonic burn barrel means a combustion device for waste 

materials that is attached to a 55 gallon, open-head drum. The 

device consists of a lid, which fits onto and encloses the drum, 

and a blower that forces combustion air into the drum in a 

cyclonic manner to enhance the mixing of waste material and air. 

A cyclonic burn barrel is not an incinerator, a waste-burning 

kiln, an energy recovery unit or a small, remote incinerator 

under this subpart. 
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Deviation means any instance in which an affected source 

subject to this subpart, or an owner or operator of such a 

source: 

(1) Fails to meet any requirement or obligation established 

by this subpart, including but not limited to any emission 

limitation, operating limit, or operator qualification and 

accessibility requirements. 

(2) Fails to meet any term or condition that is adopted to 

implement an applicable requirement in this subpart and that is 

included in the operating permit for any affected source 

required to obtain such a permit. 

Dioxins/furans means tetra-through octachlorinated dibenzo-

p-dioxins and dibenzofurans. 

Discard means, for purposes of this subpart and 40 CFR part 

60, subpart DDDD, only, burned in an incineration unit without 

energy recovery. 

Drum reclamation unit means a unit that burns residues out 

of drums (e.g., 55 gallon drums) so that the drums can be 

reused. 

Dry scrubber means an add-on air pollution control system 

that injects dry alkaline sorbent (dry injection) or sprays an 

alkaline sorbent (spray dryer) to react with and neutralize acid 

gas in the exhaust stream forming a dry powder material. Sorbent 

injection systems in fluidized bed boilers and process heaters 
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are included in this definition. A dry scrubber is a dry control 

system. 

Energy recovery means the process of recovering thermal 

energy from combustion for useful purposes such as steam 

generation or process heating. 

Energy recovery unit means a combustion unit combusting 

solid waste (as that term is defined by the Administrator in 40 

CFR part 241) for energy recovery. Energy recovery units include 

units that would be considered boilers and process heaters if 

they did not combust solid waste. 

Energy recovery unit designed to burn biomass (Biomass) 

means an energy recovery unit that burns solid waste, biomass, 

and non-coal solid materials but less than 10 percent coal, on a 

heat input basis on an annual average, either alone or in 

combination with liquid waste, liquid fuel or gaseous fuels. 

Energy recovery unit designed to burn coal (Coal) means an 

energy recovery unit that burns solid waste and at least 10 

percent coal on a heat input basis on an annual average, either 

alone or in combination with liquid waste, liquid fuel or 

gaseous fuels. 

Energy recovery unit designed to burn liquid waste 

materials and gas (Liquid/gas) means an energy recovery unit 

that burns a liquid waste with liquid or gaseous fuels not 

combined with any solid fuel or waste materials. 
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Energy recovery unit designed to burn solid materials 

(Solids) includes energy recovery units designed to burn coal 

and energy recovery units designed to burn biomass 

Fabric filter means an add-on air pollution control device 

used to capture particulate matter by filtering gas streams 

through filter media, also known as a baghouse. 

Foundry sand thermal reclamation unit means a type of part 

reclamation unit that removes coatings that are on foundry sand. 

A foundry sand thermal reclamation unit is not an incinerator, a 

waste-burning kiln, an energy recovery unit or a small, remote 

incinerator under this subpart. 

Incinerator means any furnace used in the process of 

combusting solid waste (as that term is defined by the 

Administrator in 40 CFR part 241) for the purpose of reducing 

the volume of the waste by removing combustible matter. 

Incinerator designs include single chamber and two-chamber. 

In-line coal mill means those coal mills using kiln exhaust 

gases in their process. Coal mills with a heat source other than 

the kiln or coal mills using exhaust gases from the clinker 

cooler alone are not an in-line coal mill. 

In-line kiln/ raw mill means a system in a Portland Cement 

production process where a dry kiln system is integrated with 

the raw mill so that all or a portion of the kiln exhaust gases 

are used to perform the drying operation of the raw mill, with 
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no auxiliary heat source used. In this system the kiln is 

capable of operating without the raw mill operating, but the raw 

mill cannot operate without the kiln gases, and consequently, 

the raw mill does not generate a separate exhaust gas stream. 

Kiln means an oven or furnace, including any associated 

preheater or precalciner devices, in-line raw mills, in-line 

coal mills or alkali bypasses used for processing a substance by 

burning, firing or drying. Kilns include cement kilns that 

produce clinker by heating limestone and other materials for 

subsequent production of Portland Cement. Because the alkali 

bypass, in-line raw mill and in-line coal mill are considered an 

integral part of the kiln, the kiln emissions limits also apply 

to the exhaust of the alkali bypass, in-line raw mill and in-

line coal mill. 

Laboratory analysis unit means units that burn samples of 

materials for the purpose of chemical or physical analysis. A 

laboratory analysis unit is not an incinerator, waste-burning 

kiln, an energy recovery unit or a small, remote incinerator 

under this subpart. 

Load fraction means the actual heat input of an energy 

recovery unit divided by heat input during the performance test 

that established the minimum sorbent injection rate or minimum 

activated carbon injection rate, expressed as a fraction (e.g., 

for 50 percent load the load fraction is 0.5). 
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Low-level radioactive waste means waste material which 

contains radioactive nuclides emitting primarily beta or gamma 

radiation, or both, in concentrations or quantities that exceed 

applicable federal or state standards for unrestricted release. 

Low-level radioactive waste is not high-level radioactive waste, 

spent nuclear fuel, or by-product material as defined by the 

Atomic Energy Act of 1954 (42 U.S.C. 2014(e)(2)). 

Malfunction means any sudden, infrequent, and not 

reasonably preventable failure of air pollution control 

equipment, process equipment, or a process to operate in a 

normal or usual manner. Failures that are caused, in part, by 

poor maintenance or careless operation are not malfunctions. 

Minimum voltage or amperage means 90 percent of the lowest 

test-run average voltage or amperage to the electrostatic 

precipitator measured during the most recent particulate matter 

or mercury performance test demonstrating compliance with the 

applicable emission limits. 

Modification or modified CISWI unit means a CISWI unit that 

has been changed later than August 7, 2013, and that meets one 

of two criteria: 

(1) The cumulative cost of the changes over the life of the 

unit exceeds 50 percent of the original cost of building and 

installing the CISWI unit (not including the cost of land) 

updated to current costs (current dollars). To determine what 
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systems are within the boundary of the CISWI unit used to 

calculate these costs, see the definition of CISWI unit. 

(2) Any physical change in the CISWI unit or change in the 

method of operating it that increases the amount of any air 

pollutant emitted for which section 129 or section 111 of the 

Clean Air Act has established standards. 

Municipal solid waste or municipal-type solid waste means 

household, commercial/retail, or institutional waste. Household 

waste includes material discarded by residential dwellings, 

hotels, motels, and other similar permanent or temporary 

housing. Commercial/retail waste includes material discarded by 

stores, offices, restaurants, warehouses, nonmanufacturing 

activities at industrial facilities, and other similar 

establishments or facilities. Institutional waste includes 

materials discarded by schools, by hospitals (nonmedical), by 

nonmanufacturing activities at prisons and government 

facilities, and other similar establishments or facilities. 

Household, commercial/retail, and institutional waste does 

include yard waste and refuse-derived fuel. Household, 

commercial/retail, and institutional waste does not include used 

oil; sewage sludge; wood pallets; construction, renovation, and 

demolition wastes (which include railroad ties and telephone 

poles); clean wood; industrial process or manufacturing wastes; 
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medical waste; or motor vehicles (including motor vehicle parts 

or vehicle fluff). 

Opacity means the degree to which emissions reduce the 

transmission of light and obscure the view of an object in the 

background. 

Operating day means a 24-hour period between 12:00 midnight 

and the following midnight during which any amount of solid 

waste is combusted at any time in the CISWI unit. 

Oxygen analyzer system means all equipment required to 

determine the oxygen content of a gas stream and used to monitor 

oxygen in the boiler or process heater flue gas, boiler/process 

heater, firebox, or other appropriate location. This definition 

includes oxygen trim systems and certified oxygen CEMS. The 

source owner or operator is responsible to install, calibrate, 

maintain, and operate the oxygen analyzer system in accordance 

with the manufacturer's recommendations. 

Oxygen trim system means a system of monitors that is used 

to maintain excess air at the desired level in a combustion 

device over its operating range. A typical system consists of a 

flue gas oxygen and/or carbon monoxide monitor that 

automatically provides a feedback signal to the combustion air 

controller or draft controller. 
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Part reclamation unit means a unit that burns coatings off 

parts (e.g., tools, equipment) so that the parts can be 

reconditioned and reused. 

Particulate matter means total particulate matter emitted 

from CISWI units as measured by Method 5 or Method 29 of 

appendix A of this part. 

Pathological waste means waste material consisting of only 

human or animal remains, anatomical parts, and/or tissue, the 

bags/containers used to collect and transport the waste 

material, and animal bedding (if applicable). 

Performance evaluation means the conduct of relative 

accuracy testing, calibration error testing, and other 

measurements used in validating the continuous monitoring system 

data. 

Performance test means the collection of data resulting 

from the execution of a test method (usually three emission test 

runs) used to demonstrate compliance with a relevant emission 

standard as specified in the performance test section of the 

relevant standard. 

Process change means any of the following physical or 

operational changes: 

(1) A physical change (maintenance activities excluded) to 

the CISWI unit which may increase the emission rate of any air 

pollutant to which a standard applies; 
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(2) An operational change to the CISWI unit where a new 

type of non-hazardous secondary material is being combusted; 

(3) A physical change (maintenance activities excluded) to 

the air pollution control devices used to comply with the 

emission limits for the CISWI unit (e.g., replacing an 

electrostatic precipitator with a fabric filter); 

(4) An operational change to the air pollution control 

devices used to comply with the emission limits for the affected 

CISWI unit (e.g., change in the sorbent injection rate used for 

activated carbon injection). 

Rack reclamation unit means a unit that burns the coatings 

off racks used to hold small items for application of a coating. 

The unit burns the coating overspray off the rack so the rack 

can be reused. 

Raw mill means a ball or tube mill, vertical roller mill or 

other size reduction equipment, that is not part of an in-line 

kiln/raw mill, used to grind feed to the appropriate size. 

Moisture may be added or removed from the feed during the 

grinding operation. If the raw mill is used to remove moisture 

from feed materials, it is also, by definition, a raw material 

dryer. The raw mill also includes the air separator associated 

with the raw mill. 

Reconstruction means rebuilding a CISWI unit and meeting 

two criteria: 
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(1) The reconstruction begins on or after August 7, 2013. 

(2) The cumulative cost of the construction over the life 

of the incineration unit exceeds 50 percent of the original cost 

of building and installing the CISWI unit (not including land) 

updated to current costs (current dollars). To determine what 

systems are within the boundary of the CISWI unit used to 

calculate these costs, see the definition of CISWI unit. 

Refuse-derived fuel means a type of municipal solid waste 

produced by processing municipal solid waste through shredding 

and size classification. This includes all classes of refuse-

derived fuel including two fuels: 

(1) Low-density fluff refuse-derived fuel through densified 

refuse-derived fuel. 

(2) Pelletized refuse-derived fuel. 

Responsible official means one of the following: 

(1) For a corporation: A president, secretary, treasurer, 

or vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs similar 

policy or decision-making functions for the corporation, or a 

duly authorized representative of such person if the 

representative is responsible for the overall operation of one 

or more manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

applying for or subject to a permit and either: 



Page 321 of 340 

 

(i) The facilities employ more than 250 persons or have 

gross annual sales or expenditures exceeding $25 million (in 

second quarter 1980 dollars); or 

(ii) The delegation of authority to such representatives is 

approved in advance by the permitting authority; 

(2) For a partnership or sole proprietorship: a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; 

(3) For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: Either a principal executive officer or ranking elected 

official. For the purposes of this part, a principal executive 

officer of a Federal agency includes the chief executive officer 

having responsibility for the overall operations of a principal 

geographic unit of the agency (e.g., a Regional Administrator of 

EPA); or 

(4) For affected facilities: 

(i) The designated representative in so far as actions, 

standards, requirements, or prohibitions under Title IV of the 

Clean Air Act or the regulations promulgated thereunder are 

concerned; or 

(ii) The designated representative for any other purposes 

under part 60. 

Shutdown means the period of time after all waste has been 

combusted in the primary chamber. 
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Small, remote incinerator means an incinerator that 

combusts solid waste (as that term is defined by the 

Administrator in 40 CFR part 241) and combusts 3 tons per day or 

less solid waste and is more than 25 miles driving distance to 

the nearest municipal solid waste landfill. 

Soil treatment unit means a unit that thermally treats 

petroleum-contaminated soils for the sole purpose of site 

remediation. A soil treatment unit may be direct-fired or 

indirect fired. A soil treatment unit is not an incinerator, a 

waste-burning kiln, an energy recovery unit or a small, remote 

incinerator under this subpart. 

Solid waste means the term solid waste as defined in 40 CFR 

241.2. 

Solid waste incineration unit means a distinct operating 

unit of any facility which combusts any solid waste (as that 

term is defined by the Administrator in 40 CFR part 241) 

material from commercial or industrial establishments or the 

general public (including single and multiple residences, hotels 

and motels). Such term does not include incinerators or other 

units required to have a permit under section 3005 of the Solid 

Waste Disposal Act. The term “solid waste incineration unit” 

does not include: 
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(1) Materials recovery facilities (including primary or 

secondary smelters) which combust waste for the primary purpose 

of recovering metals; 

(2) Qualifying small power production facilities, as 

defined in section 3(17)(C) of the Federal Power Act (16 U.S.C. 

769(17)(C)), or qualifying cogeneration facilities, as defined 

in section 3(18)(B) of the Federal Power Act (16 U.S.C. 

796(18)(B)), which burn homogeneous waste (such as units which 

burn tires or used oil, but not including refuse-derived fuel) 

for the production of electric energy or in the case of 

qualifying cogeneration facilities which burn homogeneous waste 

for the production of electric energy and steam or forms of 

useful energy (such as heat) which are used for industrial, 

commercial, heating or cooling purposes; or 

(3) Air curtain incinerators provided that such 

incinerators only burn wood wastes, yard wastes and clean lumber 

and that such air curtain incinerators comply with opacity 

limitations to be established by the Administrator by rule. 

Space heater means a unit that meets the requirements of 40 

CFR 279.23. A space heater is not an incinerator, a waste-

burning kiln, an energy recovery unit or a small, remote 

incinerator under this subpart. 
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Standard conditions, when referring to units of measure, 

means a temperature of 68 °F (20 °C) and a pressure of 1 

atmosphere (101.3 kilopascals). 

Startup period means the period of time between the 

activation of the system and the first charge to the unit. 

Waste-burning kiln means a kiln that is heated, in whole or 

in part, by combusting solid waste (as the term is defined by 

the Administrator in 40 CFR part 241). Secondary materials used 

in Portland cement kilns shall not be deemed to be combusted 

unless they are introduced into the flame zone in the hot end of 

the kiln or mixed with the precalciner fuel. 

Wet scrubber means an add-on air pollution control device 

that uses an aqueous or alkaline scrubbing liquor to collect 

particulate matter (including nonvaporous metals and condensed 

organics) and/or to absorb and neutralize acid gases. 

Wood waste means untreated wood and untreated wood 

products, including tree stumps (whole or chipped), trees, tree 

limbs (whole or chipped), bark, sawdust, chips, scraps, slabs, 

millings, and shavings. Wood waste does not include: 

(1) Grass, grass clippings, bushes, shrubs, and clippings 

from bushes and shrubs from residential, commercial/retail, 

institutional, or industrial sources as part of maintaining 

yards or other private or public lands. 

(2) Construction, renovation, or demolition wastes. 



Page 325 of 340 

 

(3) Clean lumber. 

Table 1 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Increments of 
Progress and Compliance Schedules 

Comply with these increments of 
progress By these datesa 

Increment 1—Submit final control 
plan 

(Dates to be specified in state 
plan). 

Increment 2—Final compliance (Dates to be specified in state 
plan).b 

a Site-specific schedules can be used at the discretion of the state. 
b The date can be no later than 3 years after the effective date of state 

plan approval or December 1, 2005 for CISWI units that commenced 
construction on or before November 30, 1999. The date can be no later than 
3 years after the effective date of approval of a revised state plan or 
February 7, 2018, for CISWI units that commenced construction on or before 
June 4, 2010. 

 

Table 2 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Emission 
Limitations That Apply to Incinerators Before [Date to be 
specified in state plan] b 

For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet 
this emission 
limitation a 

Using this averaging 
time 

And determining 
compliance using 
this method 

Cadmium 0.004 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 of 
appendix A of this 
part) 

Carbon monoxide 157 parts per 
million by 
dry volume 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 10, 10A, 
or 10B, of 
appendix A of this 
part) 

Dioxins/furans 
(toxic 
equivalency 
basis) 

0.41 
nanograms per 
dry standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 23 of 
appendix A of this 
part) 

Hydrogen 
chloride 

62 parts per 
million by 
dry volume 

3-run average (For 
Method 26, collect a 
minimum volume of 120 
liters per run. For 
Method 26A, collect a 
minimum volume of 1 

Performance test 
(Method 26 or 26A 
at 40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8). 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet 
this emission 
limitation a 

Using this averaging 
time 

And determining 
compliance using 
this method 

dry standard cubic 
meter per run) 

Lead 0.04 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 of 
appendix A of this 
part) 

Mercury 0.47 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 or 30B 
at 40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8) or 
ASTM D6784-02 
(Reapproved 
2008).c 

Opacity 10 percent Three 1-hour blocks 
consisting of ten 6-
minute average opacity 
values 

Performance test 
(Method 9 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

Oxides of 
nitrogen 

388 parts per 
million by 
dry volume 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Methods 7or 7E at 
40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

Particulate 
matter 

70 milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 5 or 29 of 
appendix A of ths 
part) 

Sulfur dioxide 20 parts per 
million by 
dry volume 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 6 or 6c of 
appendix A of this 
part) 

a All emission limitations (except for opacity) are measured at 7 percent 
oxygen, dry basis at standard conditions. 

b Applies only to incinerators subject to the CISWI standards through a 
state plan or the Federal plan prior to June 4, 2010. The date specified 
in the state plan can be no later than 3 years after the effective date of 
approval of a revised state plan or February 7, 2018. 

c Incorporated by reference,see§ 60.17. 

 

Table 3 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Operating Limits 
for Wet Scrubbers 

For these You must And monitor using these minimum frequencies
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operating 
parameters 

establish 
these 

operating 
limits 

Data 
measurement

Data 
recording Averaging time 

Charge rate Maximum 
charge rate 

Continuous Every 
hour 

Daily (batch units). 
3-hour rolling 
(continuous and 
intermittent units) a

Pressure drop 
across the wet 
scrubber or 
amperage to wet 
scrubber 

Minimum 
pressure 
drop or 
amperage 

Continuous Every 15 
minutes 

3-hour rolling a 

Scrubber liquor 
flow rate 

Minimum flow 
rate 

Continuous Every 15 
minutes 

3-hour rolling a 

Scrubber liquor 
pH 

Minimum pH Continuous Every 15 
minutes 

3-hour rolling a 

a Calculated each hour as the average of the previous 3 operating hours. 

 

Table 4 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Toxic Equivalency 
Factors 

Dioxin/furan isomer Toxic equivalency factor

2,3,7,8-tetrachlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxin 1 

1,2,3,7,8-pentachlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxin 0.5 

1,2,3,4,7,8-hexachlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxin 0.1 

1,2,3,7,8,9-hexachlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxin 0.1 

1,2,3,6,7,8-hexachlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxin 0.1 

1,2,3,4,6,7,8-heptachlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxin 0.01 

octachlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxin 0.001 

2,3,7,8-tetrachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.1 

2,3,4,7,8-pentachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.5 

1,2,3,7,8-pentachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.05 

1,2,3,4,7,8-hexachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.1 

1,2,3,6,7,8-hexachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.1 

1,2,3,7,8,9-hexachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.1 

2,3,4,6,7,8-hexachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.1 

1,2,3,4,6,7,8-heptachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.01 
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Dioxin/furan isomer Toxic equivalency factor

1,2,3,4,7,8,9-heptachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.01 

octachlorinated dibenzofuran 0.001 
 

Table 5 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Summary of 
Reporting Requirements a 

Report Due date Contents Reference

Waste 
Management 
Plan 

No later than the 
date specified in 
table 1 for 
submittal of the 
final control 
plan 

• Waste management plan § 60.2755. 

Initial Test 
Report 

No later than 60 
days following 
the initial 
performance test 

• Complete test report for 

the initial performance 
test 

• The values for the site-

specific operating 
limits 

• Installation of bag leak 

detection systems for 
fabric filters 

§ 60.2760. 
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Report Due date Contents Reference

Annual report No later than 12 
months following 
the submission of 
the initial test 
report. 
Subsequent 
reports are to be 
submitted no more 
than 12 months 
following the 
previous report 

• Name and address 

• Statement and signature 

by responsible official 

• Date of report 

• Values for the operating 

limits 

• Highest recorded 3-hour 

average and the lowest 
3-hour average, as 
applicable, for each 
operating parameter 
recorded for the 
calendar year being 
reported 

• If a performance test 

was conducted during the 
reporting period, the 
results of the test 

• If a performance test 

was not conducted during 
the reporting period, a 
statement that the 
requirements of § 
60.2720(a) were met 

• Documentation of periods 

when all qualified CISWI 
unit operators were 
unavailable for more 
than 8 hours but less 
than 2 weeks 

• If you are conducting 

performance tests once 
every 3 years consistent 
with § 60.2720(a), the 
date of the last 2 
performance tests, a 
comparison of the 
emission level you 
achieved in the last 2 
performance tests to the 
75 percent emission 
limit threshold required 
in § 60.2720(a) and a 
statement as to whether 
there have been any 
operational changes 
since the last 
performance test that 
could increase emissions 

§§ 60.2765 and 
60.2770. 
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Report Due date Contents Reference

Emission 
limitation or 
operating 
limit 
deviation 
report 

By August 1 of 
that year for 
data collected 
during the first 
half of the 
calendar year. By 
February 1 of the 
following year 
for data 
collected during 
the second half 
of the calendar 
year 

• Dates and times of 

deviation 

• Averaged and recorded 

data for those dates 

• Duration and causes of 

each deviation and the 
corrective actions taken 

• Copy of operating limit 

monitoring data and any 
test reports 

• Dates, times and causes 

for monitor downtime 
incidents 

§ 60.2775 and 
60.2780. 

Qualified 
Operator 
Deviation 
Notification 

Within 10 days of 
deviation 

• Statement of cause of 

deviation 

• Description of efforts 

to have an accessible 
qualified operator 

• The date a qualified 

operator will be 
accessible 

§ 
60.2785(a)(1).

Qualified 
Operator 
Deviation 
Status Report 

Every 4 weeks 
following 
deviation 

• Description of efforts 

to have an accessible 
qualified operator 

• The date a qualified 

operator will be 
accessible 

• Request for approval to 

continue operation 

§ 
60.2785(a)(2).

Qualified 
Operator 
Deviation 
Notification 
of Resumed 
Operation 

Prior to resuming 
operation 

• Notification that you 

are resuming operation 
§ 60.2785(b) 

a This table is only a summary, see the referenced sections of the rule for 
the complete requirements. 

 

Table 6 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Emission 
Limitations That Apply to Incinerators on and After [Date to be 
specified in state plan] a 

For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet 
this emission 
limitation b Using this averaging time 

And determining 
compliance using 
this method 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet 
this emission 
limitation b Using this averaging time 

And determining 
compliance using 
this method 

Cadmium 0.0026 
milligrams per 
dry standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 2 
dry standard cubic 
meters) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8). 
Use ICPMS for 
the analytical 
finish. 

Carbon monoxide 17 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 10 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

Dioxins/furans 
(total mass 
basis) 

4.6 nanograms 
per dry 
standard cubic 
meter 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 2 
dry standard cubic 
meters) 

Performance test 
(Method 23 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-7). 

Dioxins/furans 
(toxic 
equivalency 
basis) 

0.13 nanograms 
per dry 
standard cubic 
meter 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 2 
dry standard cubic 
meters) 

Performance test 
(Method 23 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-7). 

Hydrogen 
chloride 

29 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average (For 
Method 26, collect a 
minimum volume of 60 
liters per run. For 
Method 26A, collect a 
minimum volume of 1 dry 
standard cubic meter 
per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 26 or 
26A at 40 CFR 
part 60, 
appendix A-8). 

Lead 0.015 
milligrams per 
dry standard 
cubic meter. c

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 2 
dry standard cubic 
meters) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8). 
Use ICPMS for 
the analytical 
finish. 

Mercury 0.0048 
milligrams per 
dry standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (For 
Method 29 an ASTM 
D6784-02 (Reapproved 
2008) d, collect a 
minimum volume of 2 dry 
standard cubic meters 
per run. For Method 
30B, collect a minimum 
sample as specified in 
Method 30B at 40 CFR 

Performance test 
(Method 29 or 
30B at 40 CFR 
part 60, 
appendix A-8) or 
ASTM D6784-02 
(Reapproved 
2008). d 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet 
this emission 
limitation b Using this averaging time 

And determining 
compliance using 
this method 

part 60, appendix A) 

Oxides of 
nitrogen 

53 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average (for 
Method 7E, 1 hour 
minimum sample time per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 7 or 7E 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
4). 

Particulate 
matter 
filterable 

34 milligrams 
per dry 
standard cubic 
meter 

3-run average (collect 
a minimum volume of 1 
dry standard cubic 
meter) 

Performance test 
(Method 5 or 29 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-3 
or appendix A-
8). 

Sulfur dioxide 11 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 6 or 6c 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
4). 

Fugitive ash Visible 
emissions for 
no more than 
5% of the 
hourly 
observation 
period 

Three 1-hour 
observation periods 

Visible emission 
test (Method 22 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
7). 

a The date specified in the state plan can be no later than 3 years after 
the effective date of approval of a revised state plan or February 7, 
2018. 

b All emission limitations are measured at 7 percent oxygen, dry basis at 
standard conditions. For dioxins/furans, you must meet either the total 
mass basis limit or the toxic equivalency basis limit. 

c If you are conducting stack tests to demonstrate compliance and your 
performance tests for this pollutant for at least 2 consecutive years show 
that your emissions are at or below this limit, you can skip testing 
according to § 60.2720 if all of the other provisions of § 60.2720 are 
met. For all other pollutants that do not contain a footnote “c”, your 
performance tests for this pollutant for at least 2 consecutive years must 
show that your emissions are at or below 75 percent of this limit in order 
to qualify for skip testing. 

d Incorporated by reference, see § 60.17. 
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Table 7 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Emission 
Limitations That Apply to Energy Recovery Units After May 20, 

2011 [Date to be specified in state plan]
a
 

For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet this emission 
limitation b 

Using this 
averaging time 

And determining 
compliance using 

this method Liquid/Gas Solids 

Cadmium 0.023 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 

Biomass—
0.0014 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter.
Coal—0.0095 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter.

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume 
of 2 dry 
standard cubic 
meters) 

Performance 
test (Method 29 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
8). Use ICPMS 
for the 
analytical 
finish. 

Carbon 
monoxide 

35 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

Biomass—260 
parts per 
million dry 
volume 
Coal—95 
parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average 
(1 hour minimum 
sample time per 
run) 

Performance 
test (Method 10 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
4). 

Dioxins/furans 
(total mass 
basis) 

2.9 
nanograms 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 

Biomass—0.52 
nanograms 
per dry 
standard 
cubic 
meter. c 
Coal—5.1 
nanograms 
per dry 
standard 
cubic 
meter. c 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume 
of 4 dry 
standard cubic 
meter) 

Performance 
test (Method 23 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
7). 

Dioxins/furans 
(toxic 
equivalency 
basis) 

0.32 
nanograms 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 

Biomass—0.12 
nanograms 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 
Coal—0.075 
nanograms 
per dry 
standard 
cubic 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume 
of 4 dry 
standard cubic 
meters) 

Performance 
test (Method 23 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
7). 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet this emission 
limitation b 

Using this 
averaging time 

And determining 
compliance using 

this method Liquid/Gas Solids 

meter. c 

Hydrogen 
chloride 

14 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

Biomass—0.20 
parts per 
million dry 
volume 
Coal—13 
parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average 
(for Method 26, 
collect a 
minimum of 120 
liters; for 
Method 26A, 
collect a 
minimum volume 
of 1 dry 
standard cubic 
meter) 

Performance 
test (Method 26 
or 26A at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8). 

Lead 0.096 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 

Biomass—
0.014 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic 
meter. c 
Coal—0.14 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic 
meter. c 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume 
of 2 dry 
standard cubic 
meters) 

Performance 
test (Method 29 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
8). Use ICPMS 
for the 
analytical 
finish. 

Mercury 0.0024 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 

Biomass—
0.0022 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 
Coal—0.016 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average 
(For Method 29 
and ASTM D6784-
02 (Reapproved 
2008) d, 
collect a 
minimum volume 
of 2 dry 
standard cubic 
meters per run. 
For Method 30B, 
collect a 
minimum sample 
as specified in 
Method 30B at 
40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A) 

Performance 
test (Method 29 
or 30B at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8) 
or ASTM D6784-
02 (Reapproved 
2008) d. 

Oxides of 
nitrogen 

76 parts per 
million dry 

Biomass—290 
parts per 

3-run average 
(for Method 7E, 

Performance 
test (Method 7 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet this emission 
limitation b 

Using this 
averaging time 

And determining 
compliance using 

this method Liquid/Gas Solids 

volume million dry 
volume 
Coal—340 
parts per 
million dry 
volume 

1 hour minimum 
sample time per 
run) 

or 7E at 40 CFR 
part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

Particulate 
matter 
filterable 

110 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 

Biomass—11 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 
Coal—160 
milligrams 
per dry 
standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume 
of 1 dry 
standard cubic 
meter) 

Performance 
test (Method 5 
or 29 at 40 CFR 
part 60, 
appendix A-3 or 
appendix A-8) 
if the unit has 
an annual 
average heat 
input rate less 
than or equal 
to 250 
MMBtu/hr; or PM 
CPMS (as 
specified in § 
60.2710(x)) if 
the unit has an 
annual average 
heat input rate 
greater than 
250 MMBtu/hr. 

Sulfur dioxide 720 parts 
per million 
dry volume 

Biomass—7.3 
parts per 
million dry 
volume 
Coal—650 
parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average 
(1 hour minimum 
sample time per 
run) 

Performance 
test (Method 6 
or 6c at 40 CFR 
part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

Fugitive ash Visible 
emissions 
for no more 
than 5 
percent of 
the hourly 
observation 
period 

Visible 
emissions 
for no more 
than 5 
percent of 
the hourly 
observation 
period 

Three 1-hour 
observation 
periods 

Visible 
emission test 
(Method 22 at 
40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-7). 
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a The date specified in the state plan can be no later than 3 years after 
the effective date of approval of a revised state plan or February 7, 
2018. 

b All emission limitations (except for opacity) are measured at 7 percent 
oxygen, dry basis at standard conditions. For dioxins/furans, you must 
meet either the total mass basis limit or the toxic equivalency basis 
limit. 

c If you are conducting stack tests to demonstrate compliance and your 
performance tests for this pollutant for at least 2 consecutive years show 
that your emissions are at or below this limit, you can skip testing 
according to § 60.2720 if all of the other provisions of § 60.2720 are 
met. For all other pollutants that do not contain a footnote “c”, your 
performance tests for this pollutant for at least 2 consecutive years must 
show that your emissions are at or below 75 percent of this limit in order 
to qualify for skip testing, with the exception of annual performance 
tests to certify a CEMS or PM CPMS. 

d Incorporated by reference, see § 60.17. 

 

Table 8 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Emission 
Limitations That Apply to Waste-Burning Kilns After May 20, 2011 
[Date to be specified in state plan.] a 

For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet this 
emission limitation b 

Using this 
averaging time 

And determining 
compliance using 
this method 

Cadmium 0.0014 milligrams 
per dry standard 
cubic meter. c 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume of 
2 dry standard 
cubic meters) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8). 

Carbon monoxide 110 (long kilns)/790 
(preheater/precalcin
er) parts per 
million dry volume 

3-run average (1 
hour minimum 
sample time per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 10 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

Dioxins/furans 
(total mass 
basis) 

1.3 nanograms per 
dry standard cubic 
meter. c 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume of 
4 dry standard 
cubic meters) 

Performance test 
(Method 23 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-7). 

Dioxins/furans 
(toxic 
equivalency 
basis) 

0.075 nanograms per 
dry standard cubic 
meter. c 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume of 
4 dry standard 
cubic meters) 

Performance test 
(Method 23 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-7). 

Hydrogen 
chloride 

3.0 parts per 
million dry 
volume. c 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume of 
1 dry standard 

Performance test 
(Method 321 at 40 
CFR part 63, 
appendix A of 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet this 
emission limitation b 

Using this 
averaging time 

And determining 
compliance using 
this method 

cubic meter) or 
30-day rolling 
average if HCl 
CEMS is being 
used 

this part) or HCl 
CEMS if a wet 
scrubber or dry 
scrubber is not 
used. 

Lead 0.014 milligrams per 
dry standard cubic 
meter. c 

3-run average 
(collect a 
minimum volume of 
2 dry standard 
cubic meters) 

Performance test 
(Method 29 at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8). 

Mercury 0.011 milligrams per 
dry standard cubic 
meter 

30-day rolling 
average 

Mercury CEMS or 
sorbent trap 
monitoring system 
(performance 
specification 12A 
or 12B, 
respectively, of 
appendix B of 
this part.) 

Oxides of 
nitrogen 

630 parts per 
million dry volume 

3-run average 
(for Method 7E, 1 
hour minimum 
sample time per 
run) 

Performance test 
(Method 7 or 7E 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
4). 

Particulate 
matter 
filterable 

4.6 milligrams per 
dry standard cubic 
meter 

30-day rolling 
average 

PM CPMS (as 
specified in § 
60.2710(x)) 

Sulfur dioxide 600 parts per 
million dry volume 

3-run average 
(for Method 6, 
collect a minimum 
of 20 liters; for 
Method 6C, 1 hour 
minimum sample 
time per run) 

Performance test 
(Method 6 or 6c 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
4). 

a The date specified in the state plan can be no later than 3 years after 
the effective date of approval of a revised state plan or February 7, 
2018. 

b All emission limitations are measured at 7 percent oxygen, dry basis at 
standard conditions. For dioxins/furans, you must meet either the total 
mass basis limit or the toxic equivalency basis limit. 

c If you are conducting stack tests to demonstrate compliance and your 
performance tests for this pollutant for at least 2 consecutive years show 
that your emissions are at or below this limit, you can skip testing 
according to § 60.2720 if all of the other provisions of § 60.2720 are 
met. For all other pollutants that do not contain a footnote “c”, your 
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performance tests for this pollutant for at least 2 consecutive years must 
show that your emissions are at or below 75 percent of this limit in order 
to qualify for skip testing, with the exception of annual performance 
tests to certify a CEMS or PM CPMS. 

 

Table 9 to Subpart DDDD of Part 60—Model Rule—Emission 
Limitations That Apply to Small, Remote Incinerators After May 
20, 2011 [Date to be specified in state plan] a 

For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet 
this emission 
limitationb Using this averaging time 

And determining 
compliance using 
this method 

Cadmium 0.95 
milligrams per 
dry standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (collect a 
minimum volume of 1 dry 
standard cubic meters 
per run) 

Performance 
test (Method 29 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
8). 

Carbon monoxide 64 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average (1 hour 
minimum sample time per 
run) 

Performance 
test (Method 10 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
4). 

Dioxins/furans 
(total mass 
basis) 

4,400 
nanograms per 
dry standard 
cubic meter b 

3-run average (collect a 
minimum volume of 1 dry 
standard cubic meters 
per run) 

Performance 
test (Method 23 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
7). 

Dioxins/furans 
(toxic 
equivalency 
basis) 

180 nanograms 
per dry 
standard cubic 
meter b 

3-run average (collect a 
minimum volume of 1 dry 
standard cubic meters) 

Performance 
test (Method 23 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
7). 

Fugitive ash Visible 
emissions for 
no more than 5 
percent of the 
hourly 
observation 
period 

Three 1-hour observation 
periods 

Visible 
emissions test 
(Method 22 at 
40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A-7). 

Hydrogen 
chloride 

300 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average (For 
Method 26, collect a 
minimum volume of 120 
liters per run. For 
Method 26A, collect a 
minimum volume of 1 dry 
standard cubic meter per 
run) 

Performance 
test (Method 26 
or 26A at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8). 
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For the air 
pollutant 

You must meet 
this emission 
limitationb Using this averaging time 

And determining 
compliance using 
this method 

Lead 2.1 milligrams 
per dry 
standard cubic 
meter 

3-run average (collect a 
minimum volume of 1 dry 
standard cubic meters) 

Performance 
test (Method 29 
at 40 CFR part 
60, appendix A-
8). Use ICPMS 
for the 
analytical 
finish. 

Mercury 0.0053 
milligrams per 
dry standard 
cubic meter 

3-run average (For 
Method 29 and ASTM 
D6784-02 (Reapproved 
2008),ccollect a minimum 
volume of 2 dry standard 
cubic meters per run. 
For Method 30B, collect 
a minimum sample as 
specified in Method 30B 
at 40 CFR part 60, 
appendix A) 

Performance 
test (Method 29 
or 30B at 40 
CFR part 60, 
appendix A-8) 
or ASTM D6784-
02 (Reapproved 
2008). c 

Oxides of 
nitrogen 

190 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average (for 
Method 7E, 1 hour 
minimum sample time per 
run) 

Performance 
test (Method 7 
or 7E at 40 CFR 
part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

Particulate 
matter 
(filterable) 

270 milligrams 
per dry 
standard cubic 
meter 

3-run average (collect a 
minimum volume of 1 dry 
standard cubic meters) 

Performance 
test (Method 5 
or 29 at 40 CFR 
part 60, 
appendix A-3 or 
appendix A-8). 

Sulfur dioxide 150 parts per 
million dry 
volume 

3-run average (for 
Method 6, collect a 
minimum of 20 liters per 
run; for Method 6C, 1 
hour minimum sample time 
per run) 

Performance 
test (Method 6 
or 6c at 40 CFR 
part 60, 
appendix A-4). 

a The date specified in the state plan can be no later than 3 years after 
the effective date of approval of a revised state plan or February 7, 
2018. 

b All emission limitations (except for opacity) are measured at 7 percent 
oxygen, dry basis at standard conditions. For dioxins/furans, you must 
meet either the total mass basis limit or the toxic equivalency basis 
limit. 

c Incorporated by reference, see § 60.17. 
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