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                                BILLING CODE 3510-22-P 

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration  

15 CFR Part 902 

50 CFR Part 679 

[Docket No. 120416009-4095-02] 

RIN 0648-BB78 

Fisheries of the Exclusive Economic Zone Off Alaska; Individual Fishing Quota Program 

AGENCY: National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS), National Oceanic and 

Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), Commerce. 

ACTION: Final rule. 

SUMMARY: NMFS adopts a final rule that modifies the vessel ownership requirement 

for an exemption from the owner-on-board requirement in the Individual Fishing Quota 

(IFQ) Program for the fixed-gear commercial Pacific halibut and sablefish fisheries off 

Alaska.  This rule imposes a 12-month vessel ownership requirement on initial individual 

recipients of quota share (QS) who wish an exemption from the owner-on-board 

requirement and who wish to use a hired master to harvest their IFQ.  For the 12-month 

period prior to applying to use a hired master, an individual QS holder must own a 

minimum 20-percent interest in the vessel that the hired master will use to fish the IFQ on 

behalf of the individual QS holder.  The rule temporarily suspends the 12-month vessel 

ownership requirement for an initial individual recipient of QS whose vessel has been 

totally lost, irreparably damaged, or so damaged that the vessel requires at least 60 days 
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for repairs.  This action is intended to maintain a predominantly owner-operated fishery 

in the Pacific halibut and sablefish fisheries.  This action is intended to promote the goals 

and objectives of the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act, the 

Northern Pacific Halibut Act of 1982, the Fishery Management Plan for Groundfish of 

the Bering Sea and Aleutian Islands Management Area, the Fishery Management Plan for 

Groundfish of the Gulf of Alaska, and other applicable laws.  This rule will go into effect 

13 months after the publication of the rule in the Federal Register.  

DATES:  Effective [INSERT DATE 390 DAYS AFTER PUBLICATION IN THE 

FEDERAL REGISTER], except for § 679.5(l)(7)(i), which will be effective on [INSERT 

DATE 30 DAYS AFTER PUBLICATION IN THE FEDERAL REGISTER]. 

ADDRESSES:  An electronic copy of the Regulatory Impact Review/Initial Regulatory 

Flexibility Analysis (RIR/IRFA or Analysis) prepared for this action may be obtained 

from http://www.regulations.gov or from the Alaska Region website at 

https://alaskafisheries.noaa.gov/cm/analyses/.  An electronic copy of the RIR/IRFA dated 

November 9, 2005, prepared for the prior action on the same subject is also at 

https://alaskafisheries.noaa.gov/cm/analyses/.  An electronic copy of the Proposed Rule 

(77 FR 65843, October 31, 2012) may be obtained from http://www.regulations.gov or 

from the Alaska Region website at https://alaskafisheries.noaa.gov/regs/summary.htm.   

Written comments regarding the burden-hour estimates or other aspects of the 

collection of information requirements contained in this final rule may be submitted by 

mail to NMFS, Alaska Region, P.O. Box 21668, Juneau, AK  99802-1668, Attn: Ellen 

Sebastian, Records Officer; in person at NMFS, Alaska Region, 709 West 9th Street, 

Room 420A, Juneau, AK; or by e-mail to OIRA_submission@omb.eop.gov or fax to 
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(202) 395-7285. 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:  Mary Alice McKeen, 907-586-7228. 

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:  This rule amends the vessel ownership 

requirement for initial individual recipients of QS in the IFQ Program who wish to hire a 

master to harvest their IFQ rather than be on board the vessel themselves for the harvest 

of their IFQ.  IFQ Program regulations are located primarily at 50 CFR 679.40 to 679.45.  

This rule also modifies regulations at § 679.5 that specify reporting requirements for 

Registered Buyers who receive and purchase landings of halibut and sablefish.  This 

modification corrects an unintended error in a final rule recently promulgated by NMFS. 

Under the current regulations of the IFQ Program, initial recipients of catcher 

vessel QS may receive an exemption from the owner-on-board provision, and may hire a 

master to harvest their annual IFQ, if those initial recipients own a minimum 20-percent 

interest in the vessel that the hired master will use (§ 679.42(i)(1)).  This rule adds a 12-

month vessel ownership requirement for initial individual recipients of catcher vessel QS.  

This rule provides that for the 12-month period prior to applying to use a hired master, an 

individual QS holder must own a minimum 20-percent interest in the vessel that the hired 

master will use to harvest the IFQ.  This rule temporarily suspends the 12-month vessel 

ownership requirement for an individual QS holder who loses a vessel.  This rule does 

not apply to individual QS holders in Southeast Alaska (halibut QS for IFQ regulatory 

Area 2C and sablefish QS for the IFQ regulatory area east of 140° long.) because they 

may not hire a master to harvest their IFQ.  

NMFS published a proposed rule with the 12-month vessel ownership provision 

in the Federal Register on October 31, 2012 (77 FR 65843).  The 30-day comment period 
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on the proposed rule ended on November 30, 2012.  NMFS received six comment letters 

by November 30, 2012, and one comment letter on December 5, 2012.  NMFS 

considered these 7 comment letters, which contained 22 unique comments.  These 

comments are summarized and responded to in the “Comments and Responses” section 

of this preamble.  In response to public comments on the proposed rule and further 

review by NMFS, NMFS changed the regulatory text between the proposed rule and this 

final rule.  These changes are described in the “Changes From the Proposed  Rule” 

section of this preamble.   

Background 

The International Pacific Halibut Commission (IPHC) and NMFS manage fishing 

for Pacific halibut through regulations established under the authority of the Northern 

Pacific Halibut Act of 1982 (Halibut Act).  The IPHC promulgates regulations governing 

the halibut fishery under the Convention between the United States and Canada for the 

Preservation of the Halibut Fishery of the Northern Pacific Ocean and Bering Sea.  The 

IPHC regulations are subject to approval by the Secretary of State with concurrence of 

the Secretary of Commerce.   

Under the Halibut Act, the North Pacific Fishery Management Council (Council) 

may recommend that the Secretary of Commerce adopt additional management 

regulations for the halibut fishery in Alaska waters that are not in conflict with 

regulations adopted by the IPHC (16 U.S.C. 773c(c)). The Council exercised this 

authority through development of the IFQ Program and continues to exercise this 

authority when it recommends changes to the IFQ Program.  

NMFS manages sablefish as a groundfish species under the Fishery Management 
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Plan for Groundfish of the Gulf of Alaska (GOA groundfish FMP) and the Fishery 

Management Plan for Groundfish of the Bering Sea and Aleutian Islands Management 

Area (BSAI groundfish FMP).  The fishery management plans are prepared by the 

Council under the Magnuson-Stevens Act (16 U.S.C. 1801 et seq.) and are implemented 

by regulations at 50 CFR part 679.  After consulting with the Council, NMFS establishes 

an annual total allowable catch (TAC) for each groundfish species, including sablefish, in 

the Gulf of Alaska and BSAI.  NMFS establishes TACs and other groundfish harvest 

specifications 2 years in advance.  For an example, see the Groundfish Harvest 

Specifications for 2013 and 2014 for BSAI (78 FR 13813, March 1, 2013).   

Individual Fishing Quota (IFQ) Program 

In 1995, NMFS implemented the IFQ Program under the authority of the 

Magnuson-Stevens Act and the Halibut Act (58 FR 59375, November 9, 1993).  The IFQ 

Program applies to the fixed-gear commercial halibut and sablefish fisheries in the 

Exclusive Economic Zone off Alaska.  Under the IFQ Program, NMFS initially awarded 

quota share (QS) to applicants that owned or leased vessels from which halibut or 

sablefish landings occurred in 1988 to 1990 (50 CFR 679.40).  A person that received QS 

as an initial recipient was either an (1) individual or natural person or (2) a non-individual 

entity or legal person, such as a corporation, partnership, or association.   

NMFS initially issued QS in Category A, B, C, and D.  Once issued, the category 

of QS limits how the QS holder can use the QS.  Category A QS is catcher/processor QS.  

Category A QS authorizes the QS holder to harvest and process the pounds specified on 

the IFQ permit from a vessel of any length.  Category A QS has no owner-on-board 

requirement.  Category B, C, and D QS is catcher vessel QS.  Category B, C, and D QS 
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authorizes the QS holder to catch or harvest the pounds specified on the QS holder’s IFQ 

permit from vessels within specific categories of vessel length (see § 679.42(a)(5) for 

additional detail).  This rule applies only to catcher vessel QS:  Category B, C, and D QS.  

When this preamble refers to QS, it means catcher vessel QS—Category B, C and, D 

QS—unless otherwise indicated. 

Each year, in accordance with the Halibut Act and the Magnuson-Stevens Act, 

NMFS establishes a halibut catch limit and sablefish TAC.  NMFS divides among QS 

holders the portion of the halibut catch limit and sablefish TAC that is allocated to the 

fixed gear fishery (§ 679.40).  NMFS translates each QS holder’s units into a number of 

halibut or sablefish pounds that the QS holder may harvest.  This number of pounds is the 

Individual Fishing Quota or IFQ belonging to the QS holder.  With a few exceptions not 

relevant to this rule, NMFS sends every QS holder an annual IFQ permit.  The IFQ 

permit authorizes the IFQ permit holder to harvest a specified number of halibut or 

sablefish pounds in a particular year.  The IFQ may only be harvested in the regulatory 

area designated on the IFQ permit.  If the IFQ permit is for a catcher vessel, the IFQ 

permit specifies the maximum length of the catcher vessel from which the IFQ may be 

fished.   

Owner-on-board Requirement in the IFQ Program 

The owner-on-board requirement is a central feature of the IFQ Program.  The 

IFQ regulations require individuals who hold catcher vessel QS to be on board the vessel 

at all times during an IFQ fishing trip and to be present during the landing at the end of 

the trip (§ 679.42(c)).  The purpose of the owner-on-board requirement is to maintain the 

predominantly owner-operator character of the IFQ fisheries and to ensure that catcher 
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vessel QS remains largely in the hands of active fishermen.   

In designing the IFQ Program, however, the Council exempted initial individual  

recipients of catcher vessel QS from the owner-on-board requirement, as long as the 

initial individual recipients owned the vessels from which their IFQ was fished (§ 

679.42(i)).  The exemption from the owner-on-board requirement did not, however, apply 

to individuals who received QS for Southeast Alaska:  halibut QS for IFQ regulatory 

Area 2C and sablefish QS for the IFQ regulatory area east of 140° long. (§ 679.42(i)(3)).  

The Council also exempted non-individual entities that were initial recipients of 

QS from the owner-on-board requirement, as long as they owned the vessel from which 

the IFQ was fished (§ 679.42(j)).  Unlike individuals, non-individual entities do not have 

the option of being “on the boat” while their IFQ is fished.  That is because non-

individual entities are legal entities only.  A corporation cannot get on a vessel.  If non-

individual entities are to harvest their IFQ at all, they must use a hired master or hired 

skipper.  Thus, non-individual entities must own the vessel that the hired master will use 

simply as a condition of being able to harvest their QS and associated IFQ at all. 

For all initial recipients of QS—individuals and non-individuals—the Council 

recommended, and NMFS adopted, a regulation in 1999 that specified a minimum 

percentage of ownership that an initial recipient must have to show that they “owned” a 

vessel that a hired master will use (64 FR 24960, May 10, 1999).  Under current 

regulations, an initial recipient must own a minimum 20-percent ownership interest in the 

vessel that a hired master will use on behalf of an initial recipient.  But current 

regulations do not specify a duration—for how long—an initial recipient must have that 

20-percent vessel ownership interest.  
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Acquiring QS by Transfer in the IFQ Program 

The IFQ Program has two ways to acquire QS:  (1) by initial issuance and (2) by 

transfer.  Only initial recipients of QS are exempt from the owner-on-board requirement 

by owning the vessel that their hired master will use.  Under current regulation, an initial 

recipient may be exempt from the owner-on-board requirement for all QS that an initial 

recipient holds:  whether the initial recipient acquired the QS by initial issuance or by 

transfer.  NMFS has proposed a regulation that would prevent an initial recipient from 

using a hired master to harvest QS that an initial recipient acquired by transfer after 

February 12, 2010, with a limited exception for small amounts of QS (78 FR 24707, 

April 26, 2013).  The IFQ Program restricts who may acquire QS by transfer.  If an 

individual wishes to acquire QS by transfer, the  individual must be  an initial recipient of 

QS or an individual who has 150 days experience  in a harvesting crew in a commercial 

fishery in the United States (§ 679.2, § 679.42(g)).  

Except for Community Quota Entities, which are discussed in Comment 10, if a 

non-individual entity, such as a corporation or a partnership, wishes to acquire QS by 

transfer, the non-individual entity must have been an initial recipient of QS.  

Furthermore, if a non-individual entity undergoes a change, and a change includes the 

addition of any shareholder to a cooperation or any partner to a partnership, the non-

individual entity cannot acquire additional QS by transfer and loses the ability to use a 

hired master for all of its QS (§ 679.42(j)).  The result of the restrictions in current 

regulations is that new entrants into the IFQ fisheries—persons who did not receive QS at 

the inception of the IFQ Program—must be individuals with substantial crew experience 

in a domestic commercial fishery.   
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By limiting the exemption from the owner-on-board requirement to initial 

recipients and by requiring that new QS holders have crew experience, the Council 

anticipated that all QS would eventually be held by active fishermen who would be 

subject to the owner-on-board requirement.  The Council anticipated that initial recipients 

who were individuals would retire from the fishery and transfer their QS.  The Council 

took this action because it concluded that initial individual recipients of QS were hiring 

masters instead of retiring from the fishery.     

Rationale for this Final Rule 

This rule results from a long-standing commitment by the Council to enforce a 

feature of the IFQ Program that has been present since the beginning of the IFQ Program, 

namely that if an individual QS holder wishes an exemption from the owner-on-board 

requirement, the QS holder must have an ownership interest in the vessel that the hired 

master will use.  The Council concluded that the current IFQ regulations did not prevent 

initial individual recipients of QS from circumventing the intention of the vessel 

ownership requirement and from hiring masters to harvest their IFQ from vessels in 

which individual QS holders had an ownership interest only for the duration of an IFQ 

trip.   

This rule specifies the duration of vessel ownership interest that an individual QS 

holder must have if the QS holder wishes an exemption from the owner-on-board 

requirement.  An initial individual recipient of QS must own a minimum 20-percent 

ownership interest in the vessel that the hired master will use to fish the IFQ for the 12-

month period prior to when the individual QS holder applies to use a hired master.  If an 

individual QS holder experiences a vessel loss, this rule suspends the 12-month vessel 
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ownership requirement until December 31 of the year following the vessel loss.  This rule 

suspends the vessel ownership requirement in three situations of vessel loss:  a total, 

physical loss of a vessel; a vessel that has been irreparably damaged; and a temporary 

loss or temporary disablement of a vessel, meaning an accident that materially and 

adversely affects the vessel’s seaworthiness or fitness for service and requires at least 60 

days of repairs.  

The preamble to the proposed rule contains further explanation of the need for 

this action, previous actions on the same subject, and the rationale for this rule (77 FR 

65843, October 31, 2012).  NMFS’ responses to comments also provide additional detail 

on this action.   

Terminology 

 This preamble refers to “the individual QS holder” as the individual who is 

subject to the owner-on-board requirement and who may be exempt from the owner-on-

board requirement by owning the vessel that the hired master will use.  To apply for a 

hired master permit, the QS holder must have received an IFQ permit.  However, this 

preamble generally uses the term individual QS holder rather than individual IFQ permit 

holder.   

This preamble uses the terms “hired skipper” and “hired master” interchangeably 

as is common practice by participants in the IFQ fishery.  The Analysis for this action 

uses the term “hired skipper.”  The proposed rule and final rule text use the term “hired 

master.”  A hired skipper or hired master is the person who is named on a hired master 

permit.  The hired master permit enables the hired master to harvest the halibut or 

sablefish on the IFQ permit that NMFS has issued to the QS holder.  The QS holder 
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applies for the hired master permit, designates the individual who will be the hired 

master, and designates the vessel that the hired master will use.  

This preamble uses the term “vessel loss” to refer to the three types of vessel loss 

described in the preceding section.  

Changes From the Proposed Rule  

 This section explains the 16 changes in the regulatory text from the proposed rule 

to the final rule.  Changes 14 and 15 were made in response to public comments.  The 

other changes make minor clarifications in the text of the final rule and correct an 

unintended error in a final rule recently promulgated by NMFS.  This section also 

clarifies a statement in the preamble to the proposed rule regarding the submission of 

United States Coast Guard Form 2692 to report a marine casualty.   

The changes from the proposed rule text in the final rule text are as follows.  

1.  The final rule clarifies the role of additional written documentation in § 

679.42(i)(1)(i) and (ii).  The final rule clarifies that if an individual QS holder wishes an 

exemption from the owner-on-board  requirement, the formal ownership documents for 

the vessel that the hired master will use must list the individual QS holder as an owner of 

the vessel.  If these formal documents do not show the individual QS holder as owning 

the required 20-percent ownership for 12 months, the individual QS holder may prove 

that  fact with additional written documentation.  The proposed rule at § 679.42(i)(1)(i) 

stated that for a documented vessel, the individual QS holder must have “continuously 

owned a minimum 20-percent interest in the vessel for the previous 12 months as shown 

by the U.S. Abstract of Title issued by the U.S. Coast Guard, and any other 

documentation that shows the individual as an owner indicating percentage ownership.”  
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The proposed rule at § 679.42(i)(1)(ii) stated that for an undocumented vessel, which 

means a vessel that is not federally documented, the individual QS holder must have 

“continuously owned a minimum 20-percent interest in the vessel for the previous 12 

months as shown by a State of Alaska license or registration, and any other 

documentation that shows the individual as an owner indicating percentage of 

ownership.”  This language does not clearly state what must be on the Abstract of Title or 

State license and what may be on other written documentation.   

The preamble to the proposed rule clearly stated that the individual QS holder 

must be an owner on the documents of record showing vessel ownership—the Abstract of 

Title for federally documented vessels and the State license for State-documented 

vessels—and that the individual QS holder could submit additional written 

documentation only if those documents did not show the required 20-percent ownership 

interest for  the 12-month ownership period:  “If the U.S. Abstract of Title or State of 

Alaska documents do not prove the required percentage interest and duration, the QS 

holder would be required to submit additional written documentation to NMFS 

establishing the required percentage of ownership interest and duration” (77 FR 65847, 

October 31, 2012).   

Accordingly, NMFS clarifies the final rule in § 679.42(i)(1)(i) and (ii) and 

conforms it to the preamble to the proposed rule and the current regulation.  The final 

rule provides that an individual QS holder may claim an exemption from the owner-on-

board requirement if the individual QS holder is an owner of a documented vessel “as 

shown by the U.S. Abstract of Title issued by the U.S. Coast Guard that lists the 

individual [QS holder] as an owner and, if necessary to show 20-percent ownership for 
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12 months, additional written documentation.”  With a non-documented vessel, an 

individual QS holder may claim an exemption from the owner-on-board requirement if 

the individual QS holder is an owner of the vessel “as shown by a State of Alaska license 

or registration that lists the individual [QS holder] as an owner and, if necessary to show 

20-percent ownership for 12 months, additional written documentation.”  

2.  The final rule revises the proposed regulatory text at § 679.42(i)(1)(i), § 

679.42(i)(1)(ii), and § 679.42(i)(1)(v) by replacing “for the previous 12 months” with 

“during the 12-month period previous to the application by the individual [QS holder] for 

a hired master permit.”   This change more precisely defines the 12-month period.   

3.  The final rule revises proposed regulatory text at § 679.42(i)(1)(iv)(B) by 

replacing the phrase “individual entity” with “individual” because “individual entity” is 

not a recognized term and is a confusing term.   

4.  The final rule clarifies that the 12-month vessel ownership requirement applies 

to all individual QS holders who seek exemption from the owner-on-board requirement 

based on ownership of a vessel from which their IFQ will be fished.  Under current 

regulation, § 679.42(i)(1) establishes the general requirement that an individual QS 

holder can be exempt from the owner-on-board requirement by owning 20 percent of the 

vessel that the hired master will use.  Under current regulation, § 679.42(i)(4) states that 

the exemption in § 679.42(i)(1) is available to an individual that meets the 20-percent 

vessel ownership requirement by owning an interest in the non-individual entity, such as 

a corporation, that owns the vessel that the hired master will use.  For example, under § 

679.42(i)(4), if a corporation is the sole owner of a vessel, and an individual QS holder 

owns 20 percent of the corporation (typically by owning 20 percent of the shares in a 
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corporation), the individual QS holder meets the 20-percent vessel ownership 

requirement and may hire a master to fish IFQ from that vessel.   

The proposed rule modified the 20-percent vessel ownership requirement in § 

679.42(i)(1) by adding a time requirement to it:  the individual QS holder is exempt from 

the owner-on-board requirement if the individual owns 20 percent of the vessel for the 

12-month period prior to  when the individual applies for a hired master permit.  The 

proposed rule did not explicitly modify § 679.42(i)(4) to apply the 12-month vessel 

ownership requirement when an individual QS holder claims an exemption from the 

owner-on-board requirement by owning an interest in the entity that owns the vessel.  

The final rule corrects that omission and revises § 679.42(i)(4).  The final rule 

revises § 679.42(i)(4) by applying the 12-month ownership requirement to individual QS 

holders who claim an exemption from the owner-on-board requirement by owning an 

interest in the corporation or other entity that owns the vessel.   Under the final rule, those 

QS holders must show a 20-percent ownership interest in the vessel “during the 12-month 

period previous to the application by the individual for a hired master permit.” Every part 

of the rationale in the proposed rule applies with equal force to individual QS holders 

who claim an exemption from the owner-on-board requirement by owning 20 percent of 

a vessel in their own name and individual QS holders who claim an exemption by owning 

an interest in the corporation or partnership that owns the vessel.   

5.  The final rule changes § 679.42(i)(4) to clarify the provision.    The last 

sentence in § 679.42(i)(4) currently states, “For purposes of this paragraph, interest in a 

vessel is determined as the percentage ownership of a corporation, partnership, 

association or other non-individual entity by that individual multiplied by the percentage 
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of ownership of the vessel by the corporation, partnership, or other non-individual 

entity.”  The final rule revises this sentence in § 679.42(i)(4) to more clearly state whose 

interest in the vessel must be determined, namely the interest of the individual QS holder, 

and how to calculate that interest,  “For purposes of this paragraph, an individual’s 

interest in a vessel is determined by the percentage ownership by the individual of a 

corporation, partnership, association or other non-individual entity that has an ownership 

interest in the vessel multiplied by the percentage of ownership of the vessel by the 

corporation, partnership, or other non-individual entity.”  For example, under the existing 

regulation and this final rule, if an individual owns 50 percent of a corporation, and the 

corporation has a 50 percent ownership interest in the vessel, the individual’s ownership 

interest in the vessel is .50 multiplied by .50, which means the individual has a .25 or 25 

percent ownership interest in the vessel.    

6.  The final rule clarifies the proposed rule at § 679.42(i)(6) and (7) to state that, 

in the event of vessel loss and vessel disablement, the QS holder does not have to meet 

the 12-month vessel ownership requirement but still must meet the 20-percent vessel 

ownership interest requirement.   

The Council clearly stated its intent on this point at its October and November 

2007 meetings.  The Council motions at both meetings explicitly state that, in the event 

of a total vessel loss or a vessel needing significant repairs, the QS holder is exempt from 

the 12-month vessel ownership requirement, but not the 20-percent vessel ownership 

requirement (Council Minutes, NPFMC website, 

http://www.alaskafisheries.noaa.gov/npfmc).  The Analysis states that, in the event of 

total vessel loss or temporary vessel loss due to repairs, the QS holder would be exempt 
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from the 12-month vessel ownership requirement, but not the 20-percent requirement.  

The proposed rule explicitly stated in the preamble:  “The exemption for loss of or 

damage to a vessel applies to the 12-month ownership requirement only, and not the 20-

percent ownership requirement.  If a QS holder’s vessel is damaged and undergoing 

repairs that will take at least 60 days, the QS holder may acquire temporary interest in 

another vessel in order to hire a master, but that temporary interest must constitute a 

minimum of 20-percent ownership of the vessel.” (77 FR 65847, October 31, 2012).   

The text of the proposed rule stated that in the event of total loss or temporary 

disablement of a vessel, the owner of the vessel “may remain exempt” from the owner-

on-board requirement but did not specify completely the terms of the QS holder’s 

continuing exemption.  The Council motions, the Analysis, and the preamble to the 

proposed rule all clearly state that, in the event that the individual QS holder suffers a 

total or temporary loss of a vessel, the QS holder’s exemption from the owner-on-board 

requirement is still conditioned on the QS holder owning a 20-percent interest in the 

vessel that will fish the QS holder’s IFQ.  The final rule corrects the proposed rule on this 

point.   

7.  The final rule revises the proposed regulatory text at § 679.42(i)(6) and § 

679.42(i)(7) by replacing  “owner,” “owner of such vessel,” and “owner of lost vessel” 

with “individual.”   NMFS makes this change because the rule applies to individuals who 

are initial recipients of QS and because the existing regulatory text uses “individual.”   

8.  The final rule reorganizes the proposed regulatory text in § 679.4(i)(6) and 

(i)(7) by adding the phrase “provided the individual meets the following requirements,” 

and then numbering all the requirements that the individual QS holder must meet, 
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because the proposed rule included only two of four requirements in the numbered list.  

9.  The final rule revises the opening phrase in the proposed regulatory text at § 

679.42(i)(6) from “[i]n the event of the total loss of a vessel” to “[i]n the event of the 

total loss or irreparable damage to a vessel,” because the rule applies to situations of a 

total loss of a vessel and irreparable damage to a vessel.  For the same reason, the final 

rule makes a similar change later in § 679.42(i)(6), namely from “[t]he lost vessel must 

be” in  679.42(i)(6)(i) to “[t]he lost vessel or irreparably damaged vessel is” in § 

679.42(i)(6)(ii).   

10.  The final rule revises the first sentence of § 679.42(i)(6) and (i)(7) by 

substituting  the phrase “the year following the year in which” for the phrase “the year 

following the year that which” so that the final rule text states, “the individual may 

remain exempt [from the owner-on-board requirement] under paragraph (i)(1) of this 

section until December 31 of the year following the year in which the vessel was [lost, 

damaged, or disabled].”  This change eliminates the grammatically incorrect phrase “the 

year that which” and makes clear the ending date of the exemption.   

11.  The final rule revises the proposed regulatory text in § 679.42(i)(6) and (i)(7) 

from that the lost or disabled vessel must have been used to harvest halibut IFQ or 

sablefish IFQ “by the owner” to that the vessel must have been used to harvest halibut 

IFQ or sablefish IFQ “of the individual.’  NMFS makes this change because the lost or 

disabled vessel must have harvested IFQ belonging to the individual QS holder but the 

IFQ did not have to be harvested by the individual QS holder.   

12.  The final rule changes the references in the proposed regulatory text at § 

679.42(i)(7) from “damaged” vessel to “disabled” vessel to distinguish the disabled 
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vessel in § 679.42(i)(7) from the irreparably damaged vessel in § 679.42(i)(6).   

13.  The final rule revises the proposed regulatory text in § 679.42(i)(7) from the 

requirement that “necessary repairs require at least 60 days to be completed” to the more 

precise requirement that “[t]he repairs from the accident require at least 60 days to be 

completed.”   

14.  The final rule eliminates the phrase “or negligence” from the proposed rule at 

§ 679.42(i)(6).  The proposed rule at § 679.42(i)(6) temporarily suspended the 12-month 

vessel ownership requirement for a QS holder who suffered a total loss of a vessel as long 

as the QS holder showed that the total loss was caused by “an act of God, an act of war, a 

collision, an act or omission of a party other than the owner or agent of the vessel, or any 

other event not caused by the willful misconduct or negligence of the owner or agent.”   

The “or negligence” phrase was the subject of a public comment noted in 

Comment 11.  The commenter noted that the proposed rule limited the ability of a QS 

holder to use a hired master on a replacement vessel if the QS holder lost their prior 

vessel due to an act of negligence by the vessel owner or the vessel owner’s agent.  The 

commenter identified vessel groundings as an event that could cause a vessel loss.  The 

commenter stated that most vessel groundings are the result of some level of negligence, 

that a common cause for grounding is that a skipper or a crew member falls asleep during 

wheel watches and that it would be difficult for NMFS to determine negligence.   

NMFS agrees with the comment.  NMFS concludes that the proposed rule 

mistakenly required NMFS to determine if a QS holder lost a vessel due to negligence 

and to deny suspension of the 12-month vessel ownership requirement on that basis.  

Except for the negligence language, the proposed rule incorporated the standard in the 
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American Fisheries Act (AFA) for determining the cause of a total vessel loss and for 

limiting the use of a replacement vessel.  The AFA did not require NMFS to determine 

whether negligence was the cause of any loss or damage to an AFA vessel.  The standard 

in the AFA in 2007, when the Council considered this action, was that in the event of a 

total or constructive loss of an AFA vessel, the owner of the vessel could replace the 

vessel if the loss was caused by any of the causes that were specifically enumerated, 

namely “an act of God, an act of war, a collision, an act or omission of a party other than 

the owner or agent of the vessel,” or if the cause of the vessel loss fell within a remaining 

catchall category, “any other event not caused by the willful misconduct of the owner or 

agent” (section 208(g) of the AFA, 

https://alaskafisheries.noaa.gov/sustainablefisheries/afa/afa.pdf).   

The Analysis for this action contains no indication that the Council intended that 

NMFS determine whether a total vessel loss was due to negligence--a determination that 

could be difficult and time-consuming--and deny the suspension of the 12-month 

ownership requirement on that basis.  The preamble to the proposed rule did not state that 

NMFS should determine whether a total vessel loss was due to negligence and deny the 

suspension of the 12-month ownership requirement on that basis.  NMFS concludes that 

the proposed rule text did not comport with Council intent and erroneously contained the 

negligence limitation.  The final rule retains the AFA standard at § 679.42(i)(6)(i), 

modified for the IFQ context, namely to use a hired master on a replacement vessel, the 

individual QS holder must show that the “loss or irreparable damage to the vessel was 

caused by an act of God, an act of war, a collision, an act or omission of a party other 

than the individual [QS holder] or agent of the individual [QS holder], or any other event 



20 

 

not caused by the willful misconduct of the individual [QS holder] or agent of the 

individual [QS holder].”   

15.  The final rule eliminates the changes in the proposed rule to § 679.42(j).  

Section 679.42(j) is the current regulation that governs the use of IFQ by corporations, 

partnerships, associations, or other non-individual entities that hold QS.  The proposed 

rule added the 12-month ownership requirement to § 679.42(j).  The application of the 

proposed rule to QS holders that are non-individual entities was the subject of the public 

comment described in Comment 17.  In response to this  comment, NMFS reexamined 

the record of this action.  NMFS concluded that the Council did not intend to impose the 

12-month vessel ownership requirement on non-individual QS holders, such as 

corporations, partnerships, or associations.  NMFS therefore eliminates the changes to § 

679.42(j) in the final rule.   

The Analysis for this action states unequivocally that the action approved by the 

Council imposed the 12-month ownership requirement only on individual QS holders.  

Section 5 of the Analysis states: “For clarity, QS and QS holders who must hire skippers 

are not subject to this action or considered in this analysis.  Persons who ‘must’ hire 

skippers are all non-individual QS holders.”  Non-individual QS holders means  

corporations, partnerships, associations, and other legal entities that hold QS.  Non-

individual QS holders were “not subject to this action or considered in this analysis.”   

Individual QS holders were subject to the Council’s action and were considered in 

the Analysis of this action.  Individual QS holders means natural persons that hold QS.  

Individual QS holders who initially received Quota Share may, but not must, hire a 

skipper to harvest their annual IFQ.  The Analysis showed that from 1995 to 2010, the 
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number of individual QS holders declined through attrition but the remaining individual 

QS holders were increasing their use of hired masters (Analysis, Table 3, Table 4, Table 

7; see ADDRESSES).  

The proposed rule cited this evidence to describe the problem that the rule was 

designed to solve, “Over the course of the IFQ Program, the number of initial QS holders 

who may hire a master has declined through attrition, while the reliance on hired masters 

by those QS holders has increased.  While this may appear contradictory, it demonstrates 

that initial recipients who used to be active in the fishery are retired from active 

participation and instead are hiring skippers to fish their IFQ permits.” (77 FR 65846, 

October 31, 2012).  This problem statement only applies, and only could apply, to 

individual QS holders because it is only individual QS holders, who could have retired 

from active participation and begun hiring skippers to fish their IFQ permits.  Non-

individual QS holders never were, and never could have been, active in the fishery by 

fishing their own IFQ permits. Thus, the record of this action does not support applying 

the proposed rule to QS held by non-individual entities.NMFS also clarifies a statement 

in the preamble to the proposed rule with regard to Form 2692 and a QS holder’s claim 

that a vessel is temporarily disabled.  Form 2692 is a United States Coast Guard (USCG) 

form.  The current title of Form 2692 is “Report of Marine Casualty.”  The former title of 

Form 2692 was “Report of Marine Accident, Injury or Death.”  The preamble to the 

proposed rule stated:  “If USCG Form 2692 is not required to be completed for a vessel at 

the time of an incident that caused the 60-day duration of repair, then the vessel owner 

would be required to provide additional documentation to NMFS demonstrating that the 

vessel meets the requirements of this exception” (77 FR 65847, October 31, 2012).   
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The preamble implies that Form 2692 may not be required in situations where a 

QS holder claims that he or she cannot meet the 12-month vessel ownership requirement 

because the QS holder’s vessel is temporarily disabled.  This is not the case.  To prove a 

claim of temporary vessel disablement under § 679.42(i)(7), the individual QS holder 

must show that the vessel is disabled “from repairs required by an accident that materially 

and adversely affected the vessel’s seaworthiness or fitness for service.”  Under USCG 

regulations at 46 CFR 4.05-1, if a vessel is involved in “an occurrence materially and 

adversely affecting the vessel’s seaworthiness or fitness for service or route,” a vessel 

operator or other person in charge of the vessel must report the incident to the USCG.  

The USCG form for reporting marine accidents is Form 2692:  

http://marineinvestigations.us.  Thus, although it is true that a vessel operator does not 

have to report all accidents to the USCG, a vessel operator or other person in charge of a 

vessel does have to report to the USCG on Form 2692 all accidents that constitute a 

“temporary vessel disablement” under this rule.  To prove a claim of temporary vessel 

disablement, the individual QS holder must submit to NMFS a copy of Form 2692 that 

has been submitted to the USCG concerning the accident.   

NMFS notes that if an individual submits to NMFS a copy of Form 2692 that has 

been submitted to the USCG, that form alone does not show that the individual QS holder 

meets the requirements in the rule to show that a vessel is temporarily disabled.  The 

individual QS holder must also submit documentation that the accident will require, or 

has required, at least 60 days of repairs. 

16.  The final rule modifies regulations at § 679.5(l)(7)(i) to correct reporting 

requirements for Registered Buyers who receive and purchase landings of sablefish or 
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halibut or Community Development Quota (CDQ) halibut.  The regulations at § 

679.5(l)(7)(i) require Registered Buyers to annually submit  an IFQ Buyer Report to 

NMFS.  The information submitted on IFQ Buyer Reports is used to calculate and assess 

fees to recover the costs of managing and enforcing the IFQ Program from fishery 

participants (§ 679.43).  NMFS also uses information submitted on IFQ Buyer Reports to 

calculate and assess observer deployment fees for the North Pacific Groundfish Observer 

Program (§ 679.55).  These reporting requirements were promulgated in a 2012 observer 

program final rule (77 FR 70062, November 21, 2012).  NMFS inadvertently revised 

these reporting requirements in a final rule to implement a halibut catch sharing plan for 

guided sport and commercial fisheries in Alaska (78 FR 75844, December 12, 2013).  

The halibut catch sharing plan final rule incorrectly removed the requirement for 

Registered Buyers of landings of CDQ halibut to submit an IFQ Buyer Report.  The 

halibut catch sharing plan final rule also incorrectly revised regulations specifying the 

information that must be included on an IFQ Buyer Report and the methods for 

submitting the report to NMFS.  This final rule revises § 679.5(l)(7)(i) to correct these 

inadvertent errors.    

Comments and Responses 

NMFS received 7 letters that contained 22 comments on the proposed rule.  

Comment 1.  One commenter supports the proposed rule.  The commenter 

supports the Council’s goal of preserving the historical character of the commercial 

Pacific halibut and sablefish fisheries as owner/operator fisheries and believes the 

proposed rule is an effective way to promote that goal. 

Response.  NMFS notes this support.  
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Comment 2.  The commenter asserts that the Federal system of fishery 

management is a fraud and does not benefit the public who are the real owners of these 

fish.  

Response.  This comment does not specifically address the proposed rule.  The 

issue of the overall validity of Federal management of marine resources is outside the 

scope of this action.  The commenter raises no relevant issues or concerns that were not 

addressed in the preamble to the proposed rule or the Analysis prepared for this action 

Comment 3.  The proposed rule accomplishes little in light of recent Council 

action that limits the exemption that initial individual recipients have from the owner-on-

board requirement for QS that they acquire after February 12, 2010.  This other Council 

action violates the American with Disabilities Act. 

Response.  The commenter is correct that the Council has recommended, and 

NMFS has recently proposed, a rule that largely eliminates the exemption from the 

owner-on-board requirement for QS that initial individual QS recipients acquire by 

transfer after February 12, 2010 (78 FR 24707, April 26, 2013).  NMFS will consider 

comments that it receives on that proposed rule when it responds to comments on that 

proposed rule. 

NMFS agrees that this other proposed rule, if adopted, would prevent initial 

individual QS recipients from expanding the amount of QS that is subject to an 

exemption from the owner-on-board requirement.  This other proposed rule, however, 

does not obviate the need for this rule.  First, the other action is a proposed, not a final, 

rule.  Second, the other action does not affect in any way QS that initial individual 

recipients of QS acquired on or before February 12, 2010, either by initial issuance or 
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transfer.  Without the rule that is the subject of this action, for all QS acquired on or 

before February 12, 2010, an initial individual recipient of QS could still use a hired 

master to harvest that QS from a vessel in which the QS holder had only a temporary 

ownership interest.  With the rule that is the subject of this action, except for situations of 

total or temporary vessel loss, an initial individual QS holder who wishes an exemption 

from the owner-on-board requirement for any QS that the individual holds must maintain 

a minimum 20-percent ownership interest in the vessel that the hired master will use for 

the 12-month period before the individual applies to use a hired master.  The effect of this 

rule is separate and distinct from the action that was the subject of this comment.  

Comment 4.  The proposed rule does very little to promote the movement of QS 

from the first-generation fishing families to Community Quota Entities or second-

generation fishermen.   

Response.  The rule gives initial individual recipients of QS a choice among three 

responses to this rule:  1) the individual QS holder harvests his or her IFQ by being on 

board the vessel; 2) the individual QS holder harvests his or her IFQ through a hired 

master and maintains a 20-percent ownership interest in the vessel for the 12 months 

before hiring the master; or 3) the individual QS holder transfers his or her QS.  Any of 

these actions by individual QS holders represents an improvement over the status quo and 

furthers an objective of the Council in taking this action.   

To the extent that individual QS holders choose the first alternative, and harvest 

their IFQ by being on board the vessel, this furthers the Council’s objective of 

compliance with the owner-on-board requirement in the IFQ fisheries.  To the extent that 

individual QS holders choose the second alternative, and maintain the required vessel 
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ownership interest, this promotes the Council’s objective that QS holders have a 

meaningful interest in the vessel from which their IFQ is fished as a condition for using a 

hired master.  To the extent that individual QS holders choose the third alternative, and 

transfer QS, this increases the opportunity for Community Quota Entities (CQEs) and 

individuals with substantial crew experience to acquire QS because CQEs and individuals 

with substantial crew experience meet the requirements in regulation to receive QS by 

transfer.    NMFS notes that if a CQE acquires QS, the QS will be fished by a resident of 

a small, rural community that the CQE represents.  NMFS examines CQEs further in 

Comment 10.   

Comment 5.  The proposed rule is like requiring a homeowner to own a new 

home for 12 months before moving into it. 

Response.  Under this rule, an initial individual recipient of QS may fish his or 

her IFQ from any vessel, including a vessel in which the individual has no ownership 

interest, as long as the individual is on board the vessel for the entire trip and landing.  

Thus, for the first 12 months that an individual owns a 20-percent interest in a vessel, the 

individual can fish his or her IFQ from that vessel, as long as the individual is on board 

the vessel.  If the individual QS holder does not want to harvest IFQ from a vessel he or 

she has owned for 12 months, and does not want to be on board a new vessel, the 

individual has a transferable asset, namely QS, an asset that the individual received as an 

initial recipient and that the individual may transfer for value.   

Comment 6.  The proposed rule makes it difficult for QS holders to acquire a new 

vessel by purchase or by construction because the QS holder cannot use that new vessel 

to fish his or her IFQ for 12 months.  The proposed rule makes it difficult to obtain 
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financing for a new vessel because the QS holder cannot use that new vessel to fish his or 

her IFQ for 12 months.  

Response.  An initial individual recipient of QS may fish his or her IFQ from any 

vessel for any reason, as long as the individual QS holder is on board the vessel during 

the trip and landing.  If the ability to use a vessel immediately to fish IFQ is a key to 

financing purchase of a new vessel, the individual QS holder can use a new vessel 

immediately by being on board the vessel during the harvest of the IFQ.   

If the individual is unwilling or unable to be on board the vessel, this suggests that 

the individual has ceased active participation in the fishery.  When an individual is no 

longer an active participant in the IFQ fishery, the Council intended that person would 

transfer his or her QS and, in that way, allow future generations to participate in the 

commercial harvest of Pacific halibut and sablefish in Alaska.  If the proposed rule 

causes QS holders who are no longer active fishermen to divest themselves of QS, that is 

what the Council intended.   

Comment 7.  The proposed rule is an attempt to cause well-meaning fishing 

families to sell out.  

Response.  NMFS disagrees.  As noted, the proposed rule gives initial individual 

recipients of QS a choice:  1) harvest their IFQ by being on board the vessel; 2) harvest 

their IFQ through a hired master and maintain a 20-percent ownership interest in the 

vessel for the 12 months prior to using the hired master; 3) transfer their QS.  If the QS 

holder chooses to transfer QS, the QS holder can transfer it to a family member, as long 

as the family member is eligible to receive QS by transfer.  To receive QS by transfer, an 

individual either must have initially received QS or must have 150 days experience 
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working as part of a harvesting crew in any U.S. commercial fishery, a requirement that 

favors fishing families.  The QS holder may transfer their QS to a family member on 

terms that the QS holder chooses:  as a gift, at a discounted price, or at full-market value.  

Comment 8.  The proposed rule discriminates against initial recipients.  The 

proposed rule does not apply to second generation QS holders.  

Response.  The commenter is correct that the proposed rule only applies to first- 

generation QS holders, or initial individual recipients of QS, because  initial individual 

recipients are exempt from the owner-on-board requirement by owning the vessel from 

which their IFQ will be harvested.  This rule tightens the vessel ownership exemption by 

requiring that initial individual recipients own the vessel for 12 months prior to using a 

hired master.  Individuals who are second-generation QS holders are never exempt from 

the owner-on-board requirement based on vessel ownership.  Therefore, the proposed 

rule does not, and actually could not, apply to them.   

Comment 9.  The proposed rule is an attempt to prevent QS holders from 

marketing quota to different vessels. 

Response.  NMFS agrees that the rule seeks to prevent individuals from 

marketing their QS to different vessels if, by that, the commenter means that a QS holder 

will use hired masters to harvest IFQ on a number of different vessels in which the QS 

holder has only a short-term ownership interest, such as an ownership interest for only 

the duration of the IFQ trip.  If an individual QS holder has a substantial, long-term 

interest in a vessel, which the Council specified as a 20-percent ownership interest for 12 

months, the proposed rule allows the QS holder to “market” his or her QS to that vessel.   

Comment 10.  The proposed rule does not apply to Community Development 
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Quota (CDQ) groups or Community Quota Entities (CQEs).  CDQ groups and CQEs 

have an unfair financial advantage over other QS holders because CDQ groups and CQEs 

are tax-exempt.   

Response.  The CDQ Program was established in 1992 (57 FR 54936, November 

23, 1992).  The CDQ groups are six non-profit corporations that represent one or more 

communities in western Alaska.  CDQ groups do not receive QS.  CDQ groups do 

receive an annual allocation of Pacific halibut, sablefish, and other species in the BSAI.  

CDQ groups use the revenue derived from the harvest of their fisheries allocations to 

fund economic development activities and provide employment opportunities for the 

communities they represent (77 FR 6492, February 8, 2012). 

CQEs are non-profit corporations that may acquire halibut QS by transfer.  CQEs 

represent one or more small, rural communities that are located adjacent to the coast of 

the Gulf of Alaska.  Since NMFS began issuing QS in 1995, the amount of QS and the 

number of resident QS holders has declined substantially in these communities.  The 

purpose of CQEs is to minimize the adverse, economic impact of the IFQ Program on 

these communities and to provide the opportunity for the sustained participation of these 

communities in the IFQ fisheries.  NMFS adopted the CQE rule in 2004 (69 FR 23681, 

April 30, 2004).  If a CQE acquires QS, it must harvest its IFQ through a resident of the 

community that the CQE represents (50 CFR 679.41(c)(10)).  Twenty-nine CQEs have 

formed representing 30 communities.  Only two CQEs hold any QS.  For additional detail 

on CQE holdings, see https://alaskafisheries.noaa.gov/ram/. 

The commenter is correct that this rule does not apply to CDQ groups and CQEs. 

This rule applies to individual QS holders to prevent these QS holders from using hired 
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masters to harvest their QS based on short-term ownership of vessels that the hired 

masters are using.  CDQ groups and CQEs are non-profit corporations.  CDQ groups 

must use hired masters to harvest fish on their behalf.  CQEs must lease their IFQ to 

community residents.  Neither entity is causing the problem that this rule seeks to solve.   

The commenter is also correct that CDQ groups and CQEs are non-profit 

corporations that are tax-exempt according to the provisions in Federal and State laws.  

The question of tax exemption for non-profit corporations is beyond the scope of this 

rule.   

NMFS notes that this rule applies to individual QS holders who received QS as 

initial recipients and who may transfer that QS on financial terms of their choosing.  

CDQ groups do not receive a transferable asset; they can harvest their allocation every 

year but they cannot sell or transfer the allocation.  CQEs do hold QS and may transfer it, 

subject to restrictions.  But CQEs only acquire QS by purchase.   

Comment 11.  The proposed rule at § 679.42(i)(6) limits the ability of a QS holder 

to use a hired master if the QS holder lost their prior vessel due to any act of negligence 

by the vessel owner or the vessel owner’s agent.  Most vessel groundings are the result of 

some level of negligence.  A common cause for grounding is that a skipper or a crew 

member falls asleep during wheel watches.  It would be difficult for NMFS to determine 

negligence.   

Response.  NMFS agrees with the action requested by this comment and 

eliminates the negligence limitation in § 679.42(i)(6) in the final rule.  NMFS concludes 

that the rule, as proposed, did not comport with Council intent.  NMFS explains the basis 

for this conclusion in the section, “Changes From the Proposed Rule.”   
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Comment 12.  The proposed rule will encourage vessel owners to continue fishing 

in smaller, unsafe vessels because the cost of having a new vessel without any revenue 

for 12 months could be prohibitive.  

Response.  NMFS does not believe that the rule will result in a less safe IFQ fleet.  

First, all vessels are subject to safety regulations.  Second, a primary benefit of the IFQ 

program is to promote safety by decreasing the race for fish.  A QS holder has a specific 

amount of halibut or sablefish that the QS holder is authorized to harvest throughout the 

season and therefore does not need to fish in poor weather.  Third, the commenter does 

not provide evidence that the status quo is leading QS holders to invest in newer, safer, or 

larger IFQ vessels.  The problem that led to this rule was that the Council concluded that 

some QS holders were claiming exemption from the owner-on-board requirement by 

acquiring an ownership interest in a vessel for only the duration of the IFQ trip.  It does 

not seem likely that short-term ownership of a vessel would motivate a QS holder to 

invest in improvements to the vessel or to invest in a new vessel.  In fact, the opposite 

seems more likely, namely that if a QS holder can only be exempt from the owner-on-

board requirement by owning an interest in a vessel for 12 months, then the QS holder 

may be more interested in upgrading the vessel.   

Most importantly, the rule does not prevent a QS holder from owning a newer, 

bigger, or safer vessel and immediately using that vessel to harvest his or her IFQ.  An 

individual QS holder can immediately use a new vessel to harvest his or her IFQ, and 

immediately get revenue from the new vessel, as long as the individual QS holder is on 

board the vessel for the IFQ trip and landing.   

Comment 13.  The proposed rule is based on a false assumption that a vessel lease 
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cannot be a long-term arrangement—extending for 12 months or more—that shows as 

meaningful a commitment to the fishery as a 20-percent ownership of a vessel.   

Response.  From the inception of the IFQ Program, an individual QS holder had 

to either fish his or her own IFQ permit by being on board the vessel or use a hired 

master who fished from a vessel that the QS holder owned.  A vessel leased by the QS 

holder has never been a sufficient basis for the QS holder to use a hired master in the IFQ 

Program.   

NMFS acknowledges it is possible that a QS holder could lease a vessel and that 

the vessel owner and the QS holder would agree that the QS holder would pay expenses 

that a vessel owner normally would.  The commenter does not provide any evidence that 

this is a common practice and any rationale why a QS holder would want to lease a vessel 

and take on expenses, such as repairs, that contribute to the long-term life of the vessel 

beyond the lease period.  However, if a QS holder has leased a vessel on financial terms 

that more closely resemble a 20-percent ownership interest for 12 months, the final rule 

gives the QS holder 13 months to choose whether to be on board the vessel during the 

IFQ harvest, convert the lease to an ownership interest, or transfer the QS. 

Comment 14.  Under the proposed rule, a QS holder might have an ownership 

interest in a vessel that was a paper transaction only.   

Response.  The commenter is correct that this rule only requires that an individual  

QS holder prove the required 12-month period of vessel ownership as reflected in the 

formal records of the title to the vessel.  The QS holder does not have to submit details to 

NMFS of the financial transactions that led to the ownership interest.  The Council, 

however, believes that imposing a 12-month period of vessel ownership, coupled with the 
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requirement that the QS holder prove ownership by standardized documentation, 

decreases the likelihood that QS holders will have an ownership interest on “paper only.”  

The Council took this action because it believed that some individual QS holders 

owned a 20-percent interest in the vessel only for the duration of a trip as a way to claim 

an exemption from the owner-on-board requirement.  The Council concluded that if the 

QS holder had to own a 20-percent interest for 12 months, the QS holder would more 

likely have an actual, meaningful ownership interest in the vessel.  This rule increases the 

likelihood that a QS holder would be interested in the condition of the vessel for at least a 

12-month period, not merely for the duration of the IFQ trip.   

The Council also recommended, and NMFS adopted, a regulation that QS holders 

who wish an exemption from the owner-on-board requirement must submit formal 

documents showing a minimum 20-percent ownership interest in the vessel from which 

their IFQ would be fished:  an United States Coast Guard Abstract of Title for federally-

documented vessels, a State of Alaska vessel license or registration for State-documented 

vessels (72 FR 44795, August 9, 2007).  This means that the QS holder’s claimed 

ownership interest in the vessel cannot be proven merely by a verbal agreement or 

informal written agreement between the QS holder and other owner(s) of the vessel.  The 

QS holder’s interest must be reflected in formal vessel ownership documents maintained 

by the Federal or State government.   

Comment 15.  If a QS holder experienced an engine failure near the end of the 

season, and the repairs would only take 30 days, the QS holder would lose the rest of the 

fishery for that year.  

Response.  The commenter is correct that if an individual QS holder’s vessel has 
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an accident that will take less than 60 days to repair, then the individual QS holder may 

not hire a master to fish his or her IFQ on a vessel that the individual QS holder has not 

owned for 12 months.  As the commenter implies, the QS holder can harvest his or her 

IFQ any time during the year and this scenario is only a potential problem if the engine 

failure occurred near the end of the season.  In that situation, the individual QS holder 

could finish out the season with any vessel as long as the individual QS holder was on 

board the vessel during the harvest of the QS holder’s IFQ.   

Comment 16.  The proposed rule underestimates the documentation and time 

required to prove ownership of a vessel by other types of documentation.   

Response.  Under the current regulation, a QS holder must prove a minimum 20-

percent ownership of a vessel by standard documents that a vessel owner should have 

fairly easily available:  an Abstract of Title for a federally documented vessel and a State 

of Alaska vessel license or registration for a State-licensed vessel.  If those documents 

show a minimum of 20-percent ownership for the past 12 months, the QS holder need not 

submit other types of documentation.  If, for any reason, the standard documents do not 

show that the QS holder has a 20-percent ownership interest for at least 12 months, the 

QS holder must submit additional documentation.   

The need to submit other types of documentation seems most likely to occur when 

an individual QS holder owns a vessel with other persons.  NMFS hopes, and expects, 

that most QS holders would have formalized their ownership arrangements with other 

persons in documents that exist independently from the application by the QS holder to 

use a hired master.  Proving vessel ownership should not require creating documents but 

merely retrieving them.   
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But since retrieving documents takes time, and that time should be included in the 

estimate of compliance time, NMFS agrees that the time estimate in the proposed rule 

was too low.  The time estimate in the proposed rule was an estimate of an average of 30 

minutes to fill out the form, “Application for IFQ/CDQ Hired Master Permit.”  NMFS 

agrees that the average time to fill out the form would likely be more than 30 minutes.  

NMFS revises its estimate to the average time to fill out the Application for IFQ/CDQ 

Hired Master Permit from 30 minutes to 60 minutes.   

Comment 17.  Corporate owners of vessels do not have the ability to be on board 

the vessel and thus have no alternative to fishing their IFQ from a vessel that they have 

owned for the 12 months prior to the harvest.  Corporate owners could not upgrade to a 

new vessel and use it immediately to fish their IFQ.  Corporate owners would have to 

maintain a 20-percent interest in a second vessel in case they experienced a problem with 

their first vessel that was not covered by this rule.   

Response.  NMFS agrees with this comment.  NMFS withdraws the changes in 

the proposed rule to § 679.42(j), which is the regulation that governs the use of QS held 

by corporations and other non-individual entities.  NMFS concludes that the Council did 

not intend to apply the 12-month vessel ownership requirement to the use of QS by non-

individual entities.  NMFS explains the basis for this conclusion in the section, “Changes 

From the Proposed Rule.”   

Comment 18.  The proposed rule makes it harder for new entrants, such as IFQ 

crewmembers, to get into the fishery.  Under the current rules, new entrants to the halibut 

and sablefish fishery can buy a vessel, convey a 20-percent interest to an initial recipient, 

and make money immediately by harvesting IFQ under a hired skipper permit.  A new 
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entrant into the IFQ fisheries cannot afford to purchase a vessel and own the vessel for 12 

months, but not get any money from the use of the vessel to harvest IFQs for 12 months.  

Response.  NMFS disagrees that the overall effect of the rule will make it harder 

for new entrants, such as IFQ crew members, to enter the fishery.  First, the Analysis for 

this action does not show that the status quo management is promoting new entrants into 

the IFQ fisheries.  In the 12-year period of 1998 to 2010, the annual fishable IFQ halibut 

pounds held by initial individual recipients decreased only slightly from 43 percent to 40 

percent of the total IFQ halibut pool.  Over the same period, the annual fishable IFQ 

sablefish pounds held by initial individual recipients decreased only slightly from 28 

percent to 22 percent of the total IFQ sablefish pool (Analysis, Table 6; see 

ADDRESSES).  Under current regulations, new entrants are acquiring QS at a very slow 

rate.  

Second, the final rule still allows QS holders to form agreements with individuals 

seeking entry into the IFQ fisheries.  The commenter states that the status quo promotes 

the entry of new persons into the IFQ fisheries by allowing new entrants to purchase 

vessels.  The commenter is correct that under the status quo, a person who owns a vessel 

may agree with an individual QS holder to fish their IFQ immediately, without the QS 

holder being on board the vessel, as long as the QS holder acquires a 20-percent interest 

in the vessel for the duration of the IFQ trip.  The commenter is also correct that after the 

final rule goes into effect, individual QS holders will not be able to receive an exemption 

from the owner-on-board requirement, unless they maintain an ownership interest in the 

vessel for the 12 months before they want the exemption.   

After the final rule goes into effect, an individual seeking entry into the IFQ 
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fishery by buying a vessel first, rather than buying QS first, will still be able to offer a QS 

holder the immediate use of a vessel to harvest IFQ, but only if the QS holder is on board 

the vessel for the harvest.  The rule will not put any individual seeking entry into the IFQ 

fishery at a competitive disadvantage:  no vessel owner will be able to offer an individual 

QS holder an immediate exemption from the owner-on-board requirement.  Except for 

vessel loss situations, all individual QS holders will have to wait 12 months to claim an 

exemption from the owner-on-board requirement.   

When faced with the choice between 1) being on board the vessel for the harvest 

of their QS, 2) maintaining a 20-percent ownership interest in a vessel for 12 months, or 

3) transferring their QS, some QS holders will choose to be on board the vessel.  Some 

QS holders will choose to maintain a 20-percent interest in a vessel for 12 months as a 

way of preserving their eligibility for an exemption from the owner-on-board 

requirement.  This will result in an increased demand by QS holders for longer-term 

ownership agreements with individuals who are seeking entry into the IFQ fisheries and 

who own vessels suitable for fishing IFQ.  Some QS holders will choose the third 

alternative and transfer their QS.  This will result in the increased availability of QS to 

persons seeking entry into the IFQ fisheries.   

Comment 19.  The proposed rule is an attempt by Alaskans to make non-Alaskans 

sell out.   

 Response.  The 12-month vessel ownership requirement in this rule applies to all 

initial individual recipients of QS who wish to use a hired master to harvest their IFQ.  

The proposed rule applies equally to residents and non-residents of Alaska and does not 

discriminate based on residency.  
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 Comment 20.  The proposed rule would drive down prices for used vessels and 

weaken construction of new vessels.   

 Response.  With regard to the claim that the proposed rule would drive down the 

price of used vessels, the commenter does not clearly explain why he believes this would 

happen and why it would be bad if it did happen.  It seems that the commenter is 

asserting that the proposed rule will cause a decrease in demand for vessels to harvest 

IFQ, and therefore a decrease in the price of used vessels, because QS holders will 

collectively use fewer vessels to harvest their IFQ allotments.   

NMFS does not believe that this is a problem with the proposed rule for four 

reasons. First, it is not NMFS’s responsibility to manage the IFQ fisheries to maintain 

any particular price level for IFQ vessels.  When vessel prices decrease, this helps people 

who want to buy vessels and enter the fishery.  When vessel prices increase, this helps 

people who want to sell their vessels.  It is NMFS’s responsibility to establish the rules 

for the issuance, use, and transfer of QS through the Council process in the Halibut Act 

and the Magnuson-Stevens Act.  Within those rules, the market establishes the price of 

QS and the market establishes the price of vessels that harvest QS.   

Second, the rule established by this regulation is that QS holders cannot use a 

hired master by “owning” a 20-percent interest in a vessel for the duration of a trip, 

“owning” a 20-percent interest in another vessel for the duration of a trip, “owning” a 20-

percent interest in another vessel for the duration of a trip, and so forth.  Under this rule, a 

QS holder must now own one vessel for 12 months before the QS holder can use a hired 

master to fish QS from that vessel. If this rule decreases the total number of vessels that 

harvest IFQ allotments, that means that QS holders were using hired masters on several 
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vessels during a fishing year, which is the practice that the Council action and this rule 

seeks to stop.   

 Third, this rule may result in some QS holders transferring their QS.  To the 

extent that this occurs, the rule will result in more QS on the market and could increase 

the number of vessels harvesting IFQ.   

 Finally, NMFS does not anticipate that this rule will have a significant effect on 

IFQ vessel prices upward or downward.  The market determines the price of vessels that 

harvest IFQ as a result of the overall demand for these vessels and the overall supply of 

these vessels. This rule affects, at most, vessels that harvest 40 percent of the halibut QS 

pool and 32 percent of the sablefish QS pool, the percent of the QS pool held by initial 

individual recipients.  The restrictions in this rule thus will not affect the demand for 

vessels that harvest 60 percent of the halibut QS pool and 68 percent of the sablefish QS 

pool.  The restrictions in this rule do not affect other factors that determine price of 

vessels and the supply of vessels, such as the price of halibut, the price of sablefish, the 

amount of the TAC for each species, the extent to which IFQ vessels can harvest other 

species, the availability and terms of financing, and general economic conditions.     

As for the assertion that the proposed rule will weaken the construction of new 

vessels, the commenter offers no evidence that the status quo is leading to the 

construction of new vessels to participate in the IFQ fisheries.  Under the final rule, an 

individual QS holder can arrange for construction of a vessel and use the vessel to fish 

IFQ as long as the individual QS holder is on board the vessel during the harvest of the 

IFQ.   

For NMFS’s response to other comments involving new vessels, upgrading 
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vessels and new entrants into the IFQ fisheries, see NMFS’s response to Comments 6, 12, 

and 18.  

Comment 21.  The problem—short-term ownership of vessels so the QS holders 

do not have to be on board the vessel—has never been quantified.  The “problem” is a 

personal issue brought forth by two Alaskans with strong political ties.   

 Response.  NMFS disagrees that the 12-month vessel ownership requirement in 

this rule is the result of personal issues rather than policy judgments.  In recommending 

the 12-month ownership requirement, the Council was responding to genuine, 

longstanding policy concerns and data supporting those concerns.  As described in the 

preamble to the proposed rule, from the beginning of the IFQ Program, the Council has 

sought to enforce an important feature of the program, namely if a QS holder wishes to 

harvest his or her IFQ through a hired master, the QS must have an ownership interest in 

the vessel which the hired master will use.  The preamble also describes the actions that 

the Council has recommended, and that NMFS has adopted, to ensure that if a QS holder 

takes advantage of the exemption from the owner-on-board requirement, the QS holder’s 

ownership interest in the vessel is actual and meaningful (77 FR 65843, October 31, 

2012).  This rule establishes the benchmark for a meaningful and actual ownership 

interest in a vessel, namely the QS holder maintains a continuous 20-percent ownership 

interest in the vessel for 12 months prior to when the QS holder wishes to use the hired 

master.  

 The preamble to the proposed rule described the data supporting the Council’s 

concerns:  “Over the course of the IFQ Program, the number of initial QS holders who 

may hire a master has declined through attrition, while the reliance on hired masters by 
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those QS holders has increased.  While this may appear contradictory, it demonstrates 

that initial recipients who used to be active in the fishery are retired from active 

participation and instead are hiring skippers to fish their IFQ permits” (77 FR 65846, 

October 31, 2012).  The Analysis for this action shows that for the IFQ halibut fishery, 

from 1998 to 2010, the number of individual QS holders that had landings and could hire 

masters declined from 1,005 individual QS holders to 696 individual QS holders, a 

decline of approximately 30 percent, but the number of individual QS holders that had 

landings and did hire masters increased from 110 to 216, an increase of approximately 

100 percent (Analysis, Table 3; see ADDRESSES).  For the IFQ sablefish fishery, from 

1998 to 2010, the number of individual QS holders that had landings and could hire 

masters declined from 232 to 151, a decline of 35 percent, but the number of individual 

QS holders that had landings and did hire masters increased from 46 to 92, an increase of 

100 percent. (Analysis, Table 4; see ADDRESSES).  This data shows that the number of 

individual QS holders is declining but the remaining individual QS holders are 

increasingly using hired masters.  

Comment 22. The alleged problem—sham ownership of vessels fishing IFQ 

without the QS holder on board the vessel—will solve itself because all initial recipients 

will eventually die.   

Response.  NMFS agrees that in the long run this problem will be resolved 

because all initial individual recipients of QS will eventually leave the fishery because of 

voluntary retirement or death and eventually all QS will be held by individuals who are 

subject to the owner-on-board requirement.  However, initial individual recipients of QS 

still hold a considerable amount of QS.  As of 2010, initial individual recipients held 40 
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percent of the halibut QS pool and 32 percent the sablefish QS pool (Analysis, Table 3, 

Table 4; see ADDRESSES).   

Under current regulation, these QS holders must have a 20-percent ownership 

interest in the vessel that a hired master uses to fish their IFQ, but these QS holders may 

only own a 20-percent interest in the vessel for the duration of a trip.  The Council 

recommended this rule to require that, if initial recipients of QS wish to continue to hire 

masters to fish their QS, they must maintain a longer-term ownership interest—namely 

12 months—in the vessel that the hired master will use to fish their IFQ.  

OMB Revisions to Paperwork Reduction Act References in 15 CFR 902.1(b) 

Section 3507(c)(B)(i) of the PRA requires that agencies inventory and display a 

current control number assigned by the Director, OMB, for each agency information 

collection. Section 902.1(b) identifies the location of NOAA regulations for which OMB 

approval numbers have been issued. Because this final rule revises and adds data 

elements within a collection-of-information for recordkeeping and reporting 

requirements, 15 CFR 902.1(b) is revised to reference correctly the sections resulting 

from this final rule.  In addition, corrections and omissions from previous rules are added.    

Classification  

Pursuant to sections 304(b)(1)(A) and 305(d) of the Magnuson-Stevens Act, the 

NMFS Assistant Administrator has determined that this final rule is consistent with the 

Halibut Act, the GOA groundfish FMP, the BSAI groundfish FMP, the national standards 

and other provisions of the Magnuson-Stevens Act, and other applicable laws. 

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. 553(b)(B), the Assistant 

Administrator of Fisheries finds good cause to waive prior notice and opportunity for 



43 

 

public comment otherwise required by the section for the revisions to registered buyer 

reporting requirements found at § 679.5(l)(7)(i) that are implemented by this final rule.  

NOAA finds that prior notice and opportunity for public comment are unnecessary 

because the revisions to § 679.5(l)(7)(i) do not substantively change the recordkeeping 

and reporting requirements specified in that section.  The revisions correct an inadvertent 

error made by a final rule recently promulgated by NOAA as described in the “Changes 

from Proposed to Final Rule” section of the preamble above.  Prior notice and comment 

are also unnecessary because the public had an opportunity to comment on the registered 

buyer reporting requirements during the observer program rule-making.  Prior notice and 

comment are also contrary to the public interest because immediate publication reduces 

potential public confusion associated with the catch-sharing plan rule’s inadvertent error 

in registered buyer reporting requirements.  Because prior notice and opportunity for 

public comment are not required by 5 U.S.C. 553(b)(B), or any other law, for the 

regulatory revision at § 679.5(l)(7)(i), the analytical requirements of the Regulatory 

Flexibility Act, 5. U.S.C. 601 et. seq. are inapplicable. 

Regulatory Impact Review 

The Council and NMFS conducted a Regulatory Impact Review (RIR) pursuant 

to Executive Order 12866.  NMFS published a summary of the RIR in the preamble to 

the proposed rule (77 FR 65843, October 31, 2012).  The RIR assessed the costs and 

benefits of Alternative 1 and Alternative 2.  Alternative 1 was no action or the status quo.  

Alternative 2 was imposition of the 12-month vessel ownership requirement on initial 

individual QS holders as a condition of their using a hired master and an exemption from 

the 12-month vessel ownership requirement in situations of permanent vessel loss or 



44 

 

temporary vessel disablement.  The Council concluded that Alternative 2 is likely to 

result in net benefits to the nation and recommended Alternative 2.  NMFS published the 

RIR with the Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis (IRFA) and in this rule refers to the 

RIR/IRFA as the Analysis.  A copy of the Analysis is available from NMFS (see 

ADDRESSES).  The NMFS Assistant Administrator has determined that this rule is not 

significant for purposes of Executive Order 12866.  

Small Entity Compliance Guide 

Section 212 of the Small Business Regulatory Enforcement Fairness Act of 1996 

states that, for each rule or group of related rules for which an agency is required to 

prepare a FRFA, the agency shall publish one or more guides to assist small entities in 

complying with the rule, and shall designate such publications as “small entity 

compliance guides.”  The agency shall explain the actions a small entity is required to 

take to comply with a rule or group of rules. This section shall be the Small Entity 

Compliance Guide for this rule.  

This rule modifies § 679.42(i) of part 679, Title 50.  The full text of 50 CFR 

679.42 and all IFQ regulations is available at http://www.ecfr.gov. 

This rule applies to individuals who were initial recipients of catcher vessel QS, 

namely QS in Category B, C, or D, with one geographical exception.  This rule does not 

apply to catcher vessel QS that initial individual recipients received in what is commonly 

known as Southeast Alaska: it does not apply to QS issued for halibut in IFQ regulatory 

area 2C and sablefish in the IFQ regulatory area east of 140° long.  This rule does not 

apply to initial recipients of QS that were non-individual entities, such as corporations, 

partnerships, or associations.  This rule does not apply to initial recipients of catcher 
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processor QS, which is Category A QS. 

To harvest halibut or sablefish in a fishing year, an initial individual recipient of 

QS in Category B, C, or D receives an annual IFQ permit.  The QS holder/IFQ permit 

holder must be present on board the vessel at all times during the fishing trip and during 

the landing which occurs pursuant to the authority of the IFQ permit, except if IFQ 

regulations authorize a hired master to harvest and land IFQ species without the QS 

holder being on board the vessel.  If a QS holder wishes to use a hired master to harvest 

his or her IFQ, the QS holder must apply for, and receive, a hired master permit that will 

authorize the hired master to harvest the IFQ belonging to the QS holder.  The 

Application for IFQ/CDQ Hired Master Permit and all other IFQ applications are on the 

NMFS Alaska Region website at https://alaskafisheries.noaa.gov/ram/ifq.htm. 

Under this rule, an individual QS holder may use a hired master to harvest his or 

her IFQ, if the QS holder was an initial individual recipient of QS and if the QS holder 

continuously owned a minimum 20-percent ownership interest in the vessel that the hired 

vessel will use to harvest the IFQ for 12 months prior to the QS holder’s application for a 

hired master permit. 

An individual QS holder may claim an ownership interest in a documented or 

non-documented vessel.  A documented vessel means a vessel documented with the 

United States Coast Guard in accord with Federal requirements.  A non-documented 

vessel means a vessel that is not federally documented but is documented with the State 

of Alaska.   

If the hired master will use a documented vessel to harvest the IFQ belonging to 

the QS holder, the QS holder must submit, with the application for a hired master permit, 



46 

 

documentation showing that the QS holder has owned a minimum 20-percent ownership 

interest in the vessel for the 12 months before the application.  For a documented vessel, 

the QS holder must submit an Abstract of Title showing that the QS holder is an owner of 

the vessel.  If the Abstract of Title does not show that the QS holder owns at least a 20-

percent ownership interest in the vessel or does not show that the QS holder has owned a 

20-percent ownership interest for 12 months prior to the application, the QS holder must 

submit additional written documentation to prove either the 20-percent vessel ownership 

interest or the 12-month ownership period.   

If the hired master will use a non-documented vessel to harvest the IFQ belonging 

to the individual QS holder, the individual QS holder must submit, with the application 

for a hired master permit, a State of Alaska vessel license or vessel registration that lists 

the QS holder as an owner of the vessel.  If the State of Alaska vessel license or vessel 

registration does not show that the QS holder owns at least a 20-percent ownership 

interest in the vessel that the hired master will use for the 12-month period prior to the 

application by the QS holder for a hired master permit, the QS holder must submit 

additional documentation.   

Suspension of 12-month Vessel Ownership Requirement if QS Holder Experiences a 

Total Physical Loss of a Vessel or Irreparable Damage to a Vessel 

This rule provides a temporary suspension of the 12-month vessel ownership 

requirement if an individual QS holder experiences a total, physical loss of a vessel or 

irreparable damage to a vessel and the vessel has been used to harvest IFQ belonging to 

the QS holder.  If an individual QS holder experiences a total loss of a vessel, either 

because the vessel is physically lost or irreparably damaged, and wishes an exemption 
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from the owner-on-board requirement on that basis, the individual QS holder must 

completely fill out the sections of the Application for IFQ/CDQ Hired Master Permit that 

pertain to the total loss of a vessel or irreparable damage to a vessel.  Through the 

Application, and the materials submitted with it, the individual QS holder must show that 

he or she meets the following requirements:  

1.  The total loss or the irreparable damage to the vessel was caused by an act of 

God, an act of war, a collision, an act or omission of a party other than the 

owner or agent of the vessel, or any other event not caused by the willful 

misconduct of the individual QS holder or agent of the individual QS holder;   

2. The vessel that was lost or irreparably damaged was a commercial fishing 

vessel that had been previously used to harvest halibut IFQ or sablefish IFQ of 

the individual QS holder who is applying for a hired master permit;  

3. The individual QS holder submits to NMFS a copy of the USCG Form 2692 

that has been submitted to the United States Coast Guard.  Form 2692 is 

“Report of Marine Casualty.”  An operator of a commercial vessel operating 

in the navigable waters of the United States is required to file Form 2692 any 

time that a vessel is involved in an unintended grounding; a loss of life; an 

injury that requires professional medical treatment; an occurrence causing 

property damage in excess of $25,000; an occurrence materially and adversely 

affecting the vessel’s seaworthiness or fitness for service or route; and other 

situations as specified in 46 CFR 4.05-1.  Form 2692 and instructions to fill it 

out are at http://marineinvestigations.us;   

4. The individual QS holder is applying to use a hired master on a vessel in 
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which the individual QS holder has a minimum 20-percent ownership interest 

as of the date of the application by the individual QS holder for a hired master 

permit. 

If the applicant meets the requirements for issuance of a hired master permit 

based on total loss or irreparable damage to a vessel, the individual QS holder may use a 

hired master until December 31 of the year following the total loss or irreparable damage.   

Suspension of 12-month Vessel Ownership Requirement if Temporary Disablement of a 

Vessel  

If an individual QS holder experiences a temporary disablement of a vessel, and 

wishes an exemption from the owner-on-board requirement, the individual QS holder 

must completely fill out the sections of the Application for IFQ/CDQ Hired Master 

Permit that pertain to the temporary disablement of a vessel.  Through the application, 

and materials submitted with it, the individual QS holder must show that he or she meets 

the following requirements:  

1.  The temporary disablement of the vessel results from repairs required by an 

accident that materially and adversely affected the vessel’s seaworthiness or 

fitness for service; 

2.  The repairs from the accident require at least 60 days to be completed;   

3.  The disabled vessel is a commercial fishing vessel that was previously used to 

harvest halibut IFQ or sablefish IFQ of the individual QS holder who is applying 

for a hired master permit;   

4.  The individual QS holder submits to NMFS a copy of the USCG Form 2692 

that has been submitted to the United States Coast Guard.  Form 2692 is “Report 
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of Marine Casualty.”  An operator of a commercial vessel operating in the 

navigable waters of the United States is required to file Form 2692 any time that a 

vessel is involved in an occurrence that materially and adversely affecting the 

vessel’s seaworthiness or fitness for service, as specified in 46 CFR 4.05-1.  Form 

2692 and instructions to fill it out are available at http://marineinvestigations.us;   

5.  The individual QS holder is applying to use a hired master on a vessel in which 

the individual QS holder has a minimum 20-percent ownership interest as of the 

date of the application by the individual QS holder for a hired master permit.   

An applicant will need to submit documentation to show that the repairs required 

by the accident require at least 60 days to be completed.  That documentation will 

typically be an estimate or statement from the business entity that will conduct the 

repairs.  

 If the applicant meets the requirements for a hired master permit based on 

temporary disablement of a vessel, the individual QS holder may use a hired master until 

December 31 of the year following the temporary disablement of the vessel.   

Review of Application for a Hired Master Permit  

NMFS will review all applications for a hired master permit.  If NMFS concludes 

that the applicant meets the requirements for a hired master permit, NMFS will approve 

the Application for IFQ/CDQ Hired Master Permit and issue a hired master permit to the 

individual specified on the application.   

If NMFS concludes that it cannot approve the application based on the application 

and the materials submitted with the application, NMFS will provide the applicant with 

an opportunity to submit additional information or submit a revised application.  NMFS 
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will review any additional submissions by the applicant.  If NMFS still concludes that the 

applicant does not meet the requirements of a hired master permit, NMFS will provide 

the applicant with an Initial Administrative Determination (IAD). The IAD will explain 

the basis for the denial of the application and will explain how the applicant may appeal 

the denial of the application.  

Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis (FRFA) 

The Regulatory Flexibility Act (RFA) contains the requirements for the FRFA in 

section 604(a)(1) through (5) of the RFA.  The FRFA must contain: 

1. A succinct statement of the need for, and objectives of, the rule; 

2. A summary of the significant issues raised by the public comments in response 

to the initial regulatory flexibility analysis, a summary of the assessment of the 

agency of such issues, and a statement of any changes made in the proposed rule 

as a result of such comments; 

3. A description and an estimate of the number of small entities to which the rule 

will apply, or an explanation of why no such estimate is available; 

4. A description of the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other compliance 

requirements of the rule, including an estimate of the classes of small entities 

which will be subject to the requirement and the type of professional skills 

necessary for preparation of the report or record; and 

5. A description of the steps the agency has taken to minimize the significant 

economic impact on small entities consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable statutes, including a statement of the factual, policy, and legal reasons 

for selecting the alternative adopted in the final rule and why each one of the 
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other significant alternatives to the rule considered by the agency which affect 

the impact on small entities was rejected. 

 NMFS prepared an Initial Review Flexibility Analysis (IRFA) that addressed the 

requirements described in section 603(b)(1) through (5) of the RFA.  This FRFA 

incorporates the IRFA and the summary of the IRFA in the proposed rule (77 FR 65843, 

October 31, 2012).  NMFS published the IRFA with the Regulatory Impact Review on 

January 5, 2012.  The RIR/IRFA or Analysis is available at the NMFS Alaska Region 

website:  http://alaskafisheries.noaa.gov.   

A Succinct Statement of the Need for, and Objectives of, the Rule 

The objective of this rule is to amend halibut and sablefish IFQ regulations to 

implement Council intent for initial individual recipients of QS who wish to exercise the 

hired skipper privilege.  The need for, and objectives of, this rule are further explained in 

the preamble to the proposed rule in the sections, “The Need for Action” and “The 

Proposed Action.”  (77 FR 65843, October 31, 2012). 

Summary of Significant Issues Raised During Public Comment 

NMFS did not receive any public comments that were explicitly directed to the 

Analysis (RIR/IRFA).  But several comments objected to the proposed rule on the 

grounds that, short of a QS holder experiencing the a total or temporary loss of a vessel, 

the proposed rule would prevent a QS holder from using a hired master to fish their IFQ, 

unless the hired master was using a vessel that the QS holder had owned for 12 months. 

One comment on the proposed rule stated that the proposed rule would have a special 

impact on non-individual QS holders, namely QS holders that are corporations, 

partnerships, associations, or any other type of non-individual entity, because these QS 
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holders do not have the option of fishing their QS themselves rather than using a hired 

master.   

The comments on the proposed rule were not accurate with respect to individual 

QS holders because under the proposed rule, individual QS holders can use any vessel to 

harvest their IFQ as long as they are on board the vessel.  The comments were accurate 

with respect to QS held by non-individual entities because, under the proposed rule, a 

non-individual entity such as a corporation or a partnership does not have the option of 

getting on the vessel and fishing their QS themselves.   

These comments implicitly raised an issue with the Analysis because Section 5 of 

the Analysis explicitly stated that the Council action imposed the 12-month ownership 

requirement on individual QS holders and did not impose the 12-month ownership 

requirement on non-individual QS holders, such as corporations, partnerships, or 

associations.  Section 5 of the Analysis also stated that the Analysis did not analyze the 

effect of imposing the 12-month ownership requirement on non-individual entities.  The 

Analysis also described the regulated entities as individuals only, namely the 1,307 

individual holders of catcher vessel QS eligible to hire skippers in 2010 that may hire 

skippers (Analysis, Table 2; see ADDRESSES). The Classification Section in the 

proposed rule described the regulated entities as individual QS holders only (77 FR 

65843, October 31, 2012).  As a result of these public comments, NMFS realized that it 

was an error for the proposed rule to apply the 12-month ownership requirement to non-

individual entities.  NMFS therefore eliminated those provisions in the final rule.  NMFS 

provides further explanation of this change in the section of this preamble, “Changes 

From the Proposed  Rule.”   
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Number and Description of Small Entities Regulated by the Final Rule   

The Small Business Administration (SBA) has established size criteria for all 

major industry sectors in the United States, including fish harvesting and fish processing 

businesses.  On June 20, 2013, the SBA issued a final rule revising the small business 

size standards for several industries effective July 22, 2013.  (78 FR 37398, June 20, 

2013).  The rule increased the size standard for Finfish Fishing from $ 4.0 to 19.0 million, 

Shellfish Fishing from $ 4.0 to 5.0 million, and Other Marine Fishing from $4.0 to 7.0 

million.  Id. at 37400 (Table 1). 

Pursuant to the Regulatory Flexibility Act, and prior to SBA’s June 20 final rule, 

a final regulatory flexibility analysis was developed for this action using SBA's former 

size standards.  NMFS has reviewed the analyses prepared for this action in light of the 

new size standards and determined that the new size standards do not affect the analyses 

prepared for this action. Under the former, lower, size standards, all entities subject to 

this action were considered small entities; thus they all would continue to be considered 

small under the new standards. 

The “universe” of entities to be considered in a FRFA generally includes only 

those small entities that can reasonably be expected to the directly regulated by the 

action.  This action directly regulates individuals who were initial recipients of catcher 

vessel QS and who still hold catcher vessel QS.  In 2010, there were a total of 1,307 

initial individual recipients of catcher vessel QS:  1,056 halibut QS holders and 251 

sablefish QS holders (Analysis, Table 2; see ADDRESSES).  Under current regulations, 

these individual QS holders may use a hired master to harvest their IFQ if the individual 

QS holder owns a 20-percent interest in the vessel that the hired master uses to harvest 
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the IFQ.  This rule adds a 12-month ownership period to the vessel ownership provision.  

Under the final rule, an initial individual QS holder may use a hired master to harvest 

their IFQ if the individual QS holder owns a 20-percent ownership interest in the vessel 

for the 12 months prior to the application by the QS holder to use a hired master.   

Although, under the current regulation, all initial individual QS holders may hire 

masters based on vessel ownership, not all individual QS holders do hire masters.  The 

Analysis contained data on how many individual QS holders had landings and did hire 

masters in 2010. Looking at halibut QS holders first, 665 individual QS holders had 

landings under an IFQ permit; 216 of these individual QS holders, or 32 percent, used 

hired masters (Analysis, Table 3; see ADDRESSES).  Turning to sablefish QS holders, 

151 individual QS holders had landings under an IFQ permit; 92 of these individual QS 

holders, or 61 percent, used hired masters (Analysis, Table 4; see ADDRESSES).   

The final rule also directly regulates hired masters.  Under the current regulation, 

an individual may receive a hired master permit to harvest and land IFQ upon proof that 

the QS holder/IFQ permit holder owns a minimum 20-percent interest in the vessel that 

the hired master will use.  Under the final rule, an individual may receive a hired master 

permit to harvest and land IFQ upon proof that the hired master will use a vessel in which 

the IFQ permit holder has owned a 20-percent interest for the 12 months prior to the 

application by the IFQ permit holder for the hired master permit.  In 2010, the number of 

individuals with hired master permits in the halibut IFQ fishery was 217; the number of 

individuals with hired master permits in the sablefish IFQ fishery was 127 (Analysis, 

Table 7; see ADDRESSES).   

It is unknown to what extent this rule will result in individual QS holders 
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choosing not to use hired masters in the future.  It is unknown because that will depend 

on how individual QS holders respond to this rule:  how many QS holders will choose to 

harvest their IFQ themselves rather than use a hired skipper; how many will meet the 12-

month ownership requirement and continue to use a hired skipper; and how many will 

transfer their QS, which will likely make QS available to a number of hired skippers 

because hired skippers are likely to meet the requirements to receive QS by transfer.   

Only individuals may receive QS by transfer and the individual either must be an 

initial recipient of QS or must have participated for 150 days in a harvesting crew in a 

U.S. commercial fishery.  In 2010, approximately 60 percent of halibut IFQ hired 

skippers also owned their own QS; 70 percent of sablefish IFQ hired skippers also owned 

their own QS (Analysis, Table 8; see ADDRESSES).  NMFS does not know how many 

of these hired skippers received QS as initial recipients.  However, almost all persons 

who have a hired skipper permit are likely to have, or can get, 150 days of participating 

in a harvest crew in a U.S. commercial fishery by fishing pursuant to their hired skipper 

permit.  If this rule results in the transfer of QS, the persons holding hired skipper permits 

are therefore likely to be eligible to acquire that QS by transfer. 

Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements 

 To use a hired master, an individual QS holder must submit a complete 

Application for IFQ/CDQ Hired Master Permit.  To complete this application, an 

individual QS holder must submit documentation that he or she owns a minimum 20-

percent ownership interest in the vessel that the hired master will use for the period of 12 

months prior to the application by the QS holder to use the hired master.  If the QS holder 

claims ownership of a documented vessel, the QS holder must submit an Abstract of Title 
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that shows the QS as an owner.  If the Abstract of Title does not show that the QS holder 

has a minimum 20-percent vessel ownership interest for the 12-month period prior to the 

application for a hired master, the QS holder must submit additional written 

documentation.  If the QS holder claims ownership of a non-documented vessel, the QS 

holder must submit a State of Alaska license or registration showing the QS holder is an 

owner of the vessel.  As with the Abstract of Title, if the State document does not show 

that the QS holder has a minimum 20-percent vessel ownership interest for the 12-month 

period prior to the application for a hired master permit, then the QS holder must submit 

additional written documentation.   

 Under the final rule, if the individual QS holder wishes to use a hired master and 

receive an exemption from the 12-month vessel ownership requirement, then the QS 

holder must show that the QS holder’s vessel has been lost, irreparably damaged, or 

temporarily disabled by an accident that materially and adversely affects the vessel’s 

seaworthiness or fitness for service.  To receive this exemption, the QS holder must 

provide to NMFS a copy of USCG Form 2692 that has been submitted to the USCG.  

Under 46 CFR 4.05, a vessel owner is already under an obligation to submit Form 2692 

to the USCG when a vessel is lost, irreparably damaged, or suffers an accident that 

materially and adversely affects the vessel’s seaworthiness or fitness for service.  If the 

QS holder is seeking an exemption from the 12-month vessel ownership based on 

temporary disablement of the vessel, the QS holder must also submit documentation that 

the vessel needs repairs that require 60 days or more.  

 The skills necessary to comply with the recordkeeping and reporting requirements 

for small entities regulated by this rule are the ability to read, write, and understand 
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English; the ability to retrieve and submit vessel ownership documents; and the ability to 

submit other documents necessary to complete an application for a hired master permit, 

including Form 2692 in the event of vessel loss or temporary vessel disablement.  No 

professional skills are necessary to comply with these recordkeeping and reporting 

requirements.   

Description of Significant Alternatives to the Proposed Action that Minimize Adverse 

Impacts on Small Entities 

 The Council and NMFS analyzed the alternative of no action and the action 

contained in the proposed and final rules.  The “no-action” alternative would not achieve 

the objective of the proposed rule because it would allow individual QS holders to use a 

hired master to harvest their IFQ based on ownership of a vessel only for the duration of 

the IFQ trip.  NMFS is not aware of any alternatives that would accomplish the objectives 

of this action while minimizing the adverse economic impact on small entities.  

In adopting the preferred alternative, the Council chose 12 months as the 

appropriate length of time that an individual QS holder had to own a vessel before the 

individual QS holder could hire a master to fish IFQ from that vessel.  In 2005, when the 

Council first recommended the 12-month ownership requirement, it considered different 

periods of time during which a QS holder would have to own the vessel in advance of 

using a hired master:  6 months, 12 months, 24 months, and the year of application for a 

hired master period plus the previous calendar year.  (RIR/IRFA, November 9, 2005, see 

ADDRESSES) The Council chose one year (12 months) because that time period 

typically includes an entire fishing season and most QS holders make operating 

decisions, including a decision to hire a skipper, on a year-to-year basis.  NMFS affirms 
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that reasoning for this action.  

Collection of Information Requirements 

This final rule contains a collection-of-information requirement subject to the 

Paperwork Reduction Act (PRA) and which has been approved by the Office of Management 

and Budget (OMB) under OMB Control Number 0648-0272.  Public reporting burden for 

Application for IFQ/CDQ Hired Master Permit is estimated to average 60 minutes per 

response, including the time for reviewing instructions, searching existing data sources, 

gathering and maintaining the data needed, and completing and reviewing the collection of 

information.  The time-to-complete the application was changed from 30 minutes per 

response to 60 minutes per response due to a public comment on the proposed rule. 

This final rule also corrects an error in regulatory text in a previous final rule 

pertaining to the IFQ Value and Volume Report that does not affect the burden or cost of 

completing the form.  Public reporting burden includes the time for reviewing instructions, 

searching existing data sources, gathering and maintaining the data needed, and completing 

and reviewing the collection of information.Send comments regarding this burden estimate or 

any other aspect of this data collection, including suggestions for reducing the burden, to 

NMFS (see ADDRESSES) and by e-mail to OIRA_Submission@omb.eop.gov, or fax to 

202-395-7285. 

Notwithstanding any other provision of the law, no person is required to respond 

to, nor shall any person be subject to a penalty for failure to comply with, a collection of 

information subject to the requirements of the PRA, unless that collection of information 

displays a currently valid OMB control number. 
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List of Subjects 

15 CFR Part 902 

 Reporting and recordkeeping requirements. 

50 CFR Part 679 

 Alaska, Fisheries, Reporting and recordkeeping requirements.  

Dated:  February 18, 2014 

 

 

________________________________ 

Samuel D. Rauch III, 

Deputy Assistant Administrator 

For Regulatory Programs, 

National Marine Fisheries Service 

 

For the reasons set out in the preamble, NMFS amends 15 CFR part 902 and 50 

CFR part 679 as follows: 

TITLE 15—COMMERCE AND FOREIGN TRADE 

PART 902—NOAA INFORMATION COLLECTION REQUIREMENTS UNDER THE 

PAPERWORK REDUCTION ACT:  OMB CONTROL NUMBERS 

 1. The authority citation for part 902 continues to read as follows: 

 Authority: 44 U.S.C. 3501 et seq. 

 2. In § 902.1, in the table in paragraph (b), under the entry ‘‘50 CFR’’; 

 a. Remove entries  for “679.7(a)(7)(vii) through (ix), 679.7(n)(1)(x)”;  “679.7(f)”; 
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“679.7(f)(8)(ii)”;  “679.7(k)”;  “679.7(n)(4)(ii)”;  “679.20(a)(8)(ii)”; “679.21(f) and (g)”; 

679.21(h)”; “679.27(j)(5)”; “679.28(b), (c), (d), (e), (g), and (j)”; “679.28(k)”; “679.30”; 

“679.32(c)(1) and (2)”; “679.32(f)”; “679.42”; “679.42(a)(1)(i) through (ii), (b) through 

(e), (g), (h)(1), (h)(1)(i), (h)(2), and (h)(2)(i)”;  “679.42(a)(2)(iii), (h)(1)(ii), and 

(h)(2)(ii)”; “679.61(c), (d), (e), and (f)”; “679.65(a), (c), and (d)”; and “679.65(b) through 

(e)”; 

 b. Add entries in alphanumeric order for “679.7(a)(7)(i)”; “679.7(a)(7)(vii) 

through (ix)”; “679.7(b)(6)and (7) and (c)(3) and (c)(4)”; “679.7(f)(1) through (f)(7) and 

(f)(9) through (16)”; “679.7(f)(8)”; “679.7(k)”; “679.7(n)(1)”;  “679.7(n)(2) and (n)(4) 

through (8)”; “679.7(n)(3)”; “679.21(f) and (g)”; “679.28(b) through (e) and (i)” 

“679.28(j) and (k)”;  “679.31(c)”;  “679.32(c)(1) through (3)”;  “679.42(a) through (j)”; 

“679.42(k)”; “679.61(a) through (f)”; and “679.65”.             

The additions read as follows: 

§ 902.1 OMB control numbers assigned pursuant to the Paperwork Reduction Act. 

* * * * * 

 (b) * * * 

CFR part or section where the information collection 
requirement is located 

Current OMB control No. 
(all numbers begin with 0648–) 

* * * * * * * 
50 CFR 
* * * * * * * 
679.7(a)(7)(i) -0206 
679.7(a)(7)(vii) through (ix) -0334 
* * * * * * * 
679.7(b)(6) and (7) and (c)(3) and (c)(4) -0206, -0334 
* * * * * * * 
679.7(f)(1) through (f)(7) and (f)(9) through (16) -0269, -0272 
679.7(f)(8) -0206, -0334 
* * * * * * * 
679.7(k) -0393, -0330 



61 

 

* * * * * * * 
679.7(n)(1) -0334 
679.7(n)(2) and (n)(4) through (8) -0545 
679.7(n)(3) -0445 
* * * * * * * 
679.21(f) and (g) -0393, -0401 
* * * * * * * 
679.28(b) through (e) and (i) -0330 
679.28(j) and (k) -0515 
* * * * * * * 
679.31(c) -0269 
679.32(c)(1) through (3) -0269 
* * * * * * * 
679.42(a) through (j) -0272, -0665 
679.42(k) -0445 
* * * * * * * 
679.61(a) through (f) -0393, -0401 
* * * * * * * 
679.65 -0633 
* * * * * * * 
 
TITLE 50—WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

PART 679—FISHERIES OF THE EXCLUSIVE ECONOMIC ZONE OFF ALASKA 

3. The authority citation for part 679 continues to read as follows: 

Authority: 16 U.S.C. 773 et seq.; 1801 et seq.; 3631 et seq.; Pub. L. 108–447. 

4.  In § 679.5, revise paragraph (l)(7)(i) to read as follows: 

§ 679.5 Recordkeeping and reporting (R&R). 

* * * * * 

(l) * * * 

(7) * * * 

(i) IFQ Registered Buyer Ex-vessel Volume and Value Report (IFQ Buyer 

Report)—(A) Applicability. An IFQ Registered Buyer that operates as a shoreside 

processor and receives and purchases IFQ landings of sablefish or halibut or CDQ 

landings of halibut must submit annually to NMFS a complete IFQ Buyer Report as 
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described in this paragraph (l) and as provided by NMFS for each reporting period, as 

described at § 679.5(1)(7)(i)(E), in which the Registered Buyer receives IFQ fish or CDQ 

halibut. 

(B) Due date. A complete IFQ Buyer Report must be postmarked or received by 

the Regional Administrator not later than October 15 following the reporting period in 

which the IFQ Registered Buyer receives the IFQ fish or CDQ halibut. 

(C) Information required. A complete IFQ Buyer Report must include the 

following information as instructed on the report form at 

http://alaskafisheries.noaa.gov/ram: 

(1) IFQ Registered Buyer identification. 

(2) Pounds purchased and values paid. (i) The monthly total weights, represented 

in IFQ equivalent pounds by IFQ species or CDQ halibut, that were landed at the landing 

port location and purchased by the IFQ Registered Buyer; 

(ii) The monthly total gross ex-vessel value, in U.S. dollars, of IFQ pounds, by 

IFQ species or CDQ halibut, that were landed at the landing port location and purchased 

by the IFQ Registered Buyer; 

(3) Value paid for price adjustments — (i) Retro-payments. The monthly total 

U.S. dollar amount of any retro-payments (correlated by IFQ species or CDQ halibut, 

landing month(s), and month of payment) made in the current year to IFQ, or to CDQ 

halibut permit holders for landings made during the previous calendar year;  

(ii) Electronic submittal. Certification, including the NMFS ID and password of 

the IFQ Registered Buyer; or 

(iii) Non-electronic submittal. Certification, including the printed name and 
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signature of the individual submitting the IFQ Buyer Report on behalf of the Registered 

Buyer, and date of signature. 

(D) Submittal. If applicable, the Registered Buyer must complete an IFQ Buyer 

Report and submit by mail or FAX to NMFS at the address provided on the form, or 

electronically to NMFS online at http://alaskafisheries.noaa.gov/ram. 

(E) Reporting period. The reporting period of the IFQ Buyer Report shall extend 

from October 1 through September 30 of the following year, inclusive. 

* * * * * 

5.  In § 679.42,  

a. Revise paragraphs (i)(1)(i), (i)(1)(ii), and (i)(4); and 

b. Add paragraphs (i)(1)(iv), (i)(1)(v), (i)(6) and (i)(7) to read as follows: 

§ 679.42 Limitations on use of QS and IFQ. 

* * * * * 

(i) * * * 

(1) * * * 

(i) For a documented vessel, during the 12-month period previous to the 

application by the individual for a hired master permit, continuously owned a minimum 

20-percent interest in the vessel as shown by the U.S. Abstract of Title issued by the U.S. 

Coast Guard that lists the individual as an owner and, if necessary to show 20-percent 

ownership for 12 months, additional written documentation; or 

(ii) For an undocumented vessel, during the 12-month period previous to the 

application by the individual for a hired master permit, continuously owned a minimum 

20-percent interest in the vessel as shown by a State of Alaska license or registration that 
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lists the individual as an owner and, if necessary to show the 20-percent ownership for 12 

months, additional written documentation; and 

* * * * * 

(iv) NMFS review of application for exemption—(A) Initial evaluation. The 

Regional Administrator will evaluate an application for a hired master submitted in 

accordance with paragraphs (i)(1), (i)(6), and (i)(7) of this section. An applicant who fails 

to submit the information specified in the application for a hired master will be provided 

a reasonable opportunity to submit the specified information or submit a revised 

application.  

(B) Initial administrative determinations (IAD). The Regional Administrator will 

prepare and send an IAD to an individual submitting an application for a hired master 

submitted in accordance with paragraphs (i)(1), (i)(6), and (i)(7) of this section if the 

Regional Administrator determines that the information required to be submitted to 

NMFS is deficient or if the applicant fails to submit the required information. The IAD 

will indicate the deficiencies with the information submitted. An applicant who receives 

an IAD may appeal under the appeals procedures set out at § 679.43. 

(v) Upon request by the Regional Administrator or an authorized officer, a person 

must submit additional written documentation necessary to establish the required 

minimum 20-percent interest in the vessel during the 12-month period previous to the 

application by the individual for a hired master permit. 

* * * * * 

(4) The exemption provided in paragraph (i)(1) of this section may be exercised 

by an individual on a vessel owned by a corporation, partnership, association or other 
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non-individual entity in which the individual is a shareholder, partner, or member, 

provided that during the 12-month period previous to the application by the individual for 

a hired master permit, the individual continuously maintained a minimum 20-percent 

ownership interest in the vessel owned by the corporation, partnership, association or 

other non-individual entity.  For purposes of this paragraph, an individual’s interest in a 

vessel is determined by the percentage ownership by the individual of a corporation, 

partnership, association or other non-individual entity that has an ownership interest in 

the vessel  multiplied by the percentage of ownership of the vessel by the corporation, 

partnership, or other non-individual entity. 

* * * * * 

(6) In the event of the total loss or irreparable damage to a vessel owned by an 

individual who qualifies for the exemption in paragraph (i)(1) of this section, the 

individual may remain exempt under paragraph (i)(1) of this section until December 31 

of the year following the year in which the vessel was lost or damaged, provided that the 

individual meets the following requirements: 

(i) The loss or irreparable damage to the vessel was caused by an act of God, an 

act of war, a collision, an act or omission of a party other than the individual or agent of 

the individual, or any other event not caused by the willful misconduct of the individual 

or agent of the individual;   

(ii) The lost or irreparably damaged vessel is a commercial fishing vessel that was 

previously used to harvest halibut IFQ or sablefish IFQ of the individual who qualifies 

for the exemption in paragraph (i)(1) of this section;   

(iii) As part of the application for exemption, the individual submits to NMFS a 



66 

 

copy of the USCG Form 2692submitted to the USCG as specified in 46 CFR 4.05; and 

(iv) The individual is applying to use a hired master on a vessel in which the 

individual has a minimum 20-percent ownership interest as of the date of the application 

by the individual for a hired master permit.   

(7) In the event of temporary disablement of a vessel owned by an individual who 

qualifies for the exemption in paragraph (i)(1) of this section, the individual may remain 

exempt under paragraph (i)(1) of this section until December 31 of the year following the 

year in which the vessel was disabled, provided that the individual meets the following 

requirements:   

(i) The temporary disablement of the vessel results from repairs required by an 

accident that materially and adversely affected the vessel’s seaworthiness or fitness for 

service, such as from sinking, grounding, or fire; 

(ii) The repairs from the accident require at least 60 days to be completed;  

(iii) The disabled vessel is a commercial fishing vessel that was previously used 

to harvest halibut IFQ or sablefish IFQ of the individual who qualifies for the exemption 

in paragraph (i)(1) of this section;   

(iv) The individual submits to NMFS a copy of the USCG Form 2692submitted to 

the USCG as specified in 46 CFR 4.05; and 

(v) The individual is applying to use a hired master on a vessel in which the 

individual has a minimum 20-percent ownership interest as of the date of the application 

by the individual for a hired master permit.   

* * * * * 
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